DETAILED ACTION
Response to Arguments
Applicant's arguments filed 10/28/2025 have been fully considered but they are not persuasive.
The Examiner notes applicant’s remark with respect to claim 20, but the claim is unclear as to the function is implemented by an electronic device of a first user as suggested in amended claims 1 and 13. Since the claim is not clearly shows that feature, the examiner maintains the rejection of claim 20.
Applicant’s arguments with respect to claim(s) 1-3, 11-14, 8, 19 and 21-22 have been considered but are moot because the new ground of rejection does not rely on any reference applied in the prior rejection of record for any teaching or matter specifically challenged in the argument.
Claim Rejections - 35 USC § 102
Claim 20 is rejected under 35 U.S.C. 102(a)(2) as being anticipated by CHEN et al. Pub. No.: US 2015/0200999 A1 (Hereinafter “Chen”).
Regarding Claim 20, Chen discloses a non-transitory computer-readable storage medium, wherein the computer readable storage medium stores computer executable instructions, and when a processor executes the computer executable instructions (see paragraph [0068]), the processor is caused to:
display first information in response to a second user having generated second multimedia content using first multimedia content, wherein the first multimedia content is multimedia content published by a first user (see figs. 1, 2C, paragraphs [0054, 0059] and [0082-0083, 0087]); and
acquire the second multimedia content in response to an operation on the first information and playing the second multimedia content (see paragraphs [0071] and [0078]).
Claim Rejections - 35 USC § 103
Claims 1-3, 11-14, 8, 19 and 21-22 are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being
unpatentable over CHEN et al. Pub. No.: US 2015/0200999 (Hereinafter “Chen”) in
view of Tseytlin, Patent No.: US 9143542 B1 (Hereinafter “Tseytlin”).
Regarding Claim 1, Chen discloses an information processing method (see abstract) implemented by an electronic device of a first user (see paragraph [0050]), comprising:
displaying first information using first multimedia content, wherein the first multimedia content is multimedia content published by a first user (see figs. 1, 2C, paragraphs [0054, 0059] and [0082-0083, 0087]);
Chen fails to disclose:
displaying first information in response to a second user having generated second multimedia content using first multimedia content,
acquiring the second multimedia content in response to an operation on the first information and playing the second multimedia content.
In analogous art, Tseytlin teaches:
displaying first information in response to a second user having generated second multimedia content using first multimedia content (see col.6, lines 34-46 and col.10, lines 52-60),
acquiring the second multimedia content in response to an operation on the first information and playing the second multimedia content (see col.6, lines 34-46 and col.10, lines 52-60).
Therefore, it would have been obvious to one ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date of the claimed invention to modify the method of Chen with the teaching as taught by Tseytlin in order to facilitate collaboration for generating, modifying and/or distributing media content.
Regarding Claim 2, Chen in view of Tseytlin disclose the method as discussed in the rejection of claim 1. Tseytlin further teaches wherein the acquiring the second multimedia content comprises: acquiring the number of the second user (see col.13, lines 5-43); and acquiring the second multimedia content according to the number of the second user (see col.13, lines 5-43).
Regarding Claim 3, Chen in view of Tseytlin disclose the method as discussed in the rejection of claim 1. Tseytlin further discloses wherein the acquiring the second multimedia content according to the number of the second user comprises: if the number of the second user is 1, acquiring the second multimedia content generated by the second user using the first multimedia content (see col.13, lines 5-43)
Regarding Claim 11, Chen in view of Tseytlin disclose the method as discussed in the rejection of claim 1. Chen further discloses wherein the displaying the first information comprises: displaying the first information on a lock screen page of an electronic device; or, displaying the first information on a user page of the first user (see paragraph [0055]).
Regarding Claim 12, Chen in view of Tseytlin disclose the method as discussed in the rejection of claim 1. Chen further discloses wherein after the playing the second multimedia content, the method further comprises: acquiring an editing operation performed by the first user on the second multimedia content (see paragraph [0055]).; and sending prompt information to the second user according to the editing operation (see paragraphs [0056]).
Regarding Claim 13, Chen in view of Tseytlin disclose an electronic device (see abstract), comprising: a processor and a memory (Chen, see paragraph [0068]); wherein the memory stores computer executable instructions (Chen, see paragraph [0068]); and the processor executes the computer executable instructions stored in the memory, causing the processor to perform the method as discussed in the rejection of claim 1.
Regarding Claim 14, the claim is being analyzed with respect to claim 2.
Regarding Claim 18, the claim is being analyzed with respect to claim 11.
Regarding Claim 19, the claim is being analyzed with respect to claim 12.
Regarding Claim 21, Chen in view of Tseytlin disclose the method as discussed in the rejection of claim 1. Tseytlin further discloses wherein the first information comprises an identifier of the second user and an identifier of the first multimedia content (see col.8, lines 4-43).
Regarding Claim 22, Chen in view of Tseytlin disclose the method as discussed in the rejection of claim 1. Tseytlin further discloses wherein the display of the first information is triggered by a response message sent from a server to the electronic device of the first user, and the response message is sent by the server based on information of the second multimedia content from the second user (see col.8, lines 60-63).
Claims 4-8, 10 and 17 are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being
unpatentable over CHEN et al. Pub. No.: US 2015/0200999 A1 (Hereinafter “Chen”) in
view of Tseytlin, Patent No.: US 9143542 B1 (Hereinafter “Tseytlin”), further in view of
Boyd et al. Pub. No.: US 2022/0319082 A1 (Hereinafter “Boyd”).
Regarding Claim 4, Chen in view of Tseytlin disclose the method as discussed in the rejection of claim 2.
Chen in view of Tseytlin fail to disclose:
wherein the acquiring the second multimedia content according to the number of the second user comprises: if the number of the second user is greater than 1, generating a first page and displaying the first page; and acquiring the second multimedia content in response to an operation on the first page.
In analogous art, Boyd teaches:
wherein the acquiring the second multimedia content according to the number of the second user comprises: if the number of the second user is greater than 1, generating a first page and displaying the first page (see paragraph [0073]); and acquiring the second multimedia content in response to an operation on the first page (see paragraph [0041]).
Therefore, it would have been obvious to one ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date of the claimed invention to modify the method of Chen in view of Tseytlin with the teaching as taught by Boyd in order to generate content by a client application executed by a client device of a content creator and sent to a server system that may distribute the content to one or more additional client devices of recipients of the content.
Regarding Claim 5, Chen in view of Tseytlin and Boyd disclose the method as discussed in the rejection of claim 4. Boyd further discloses wherein the first page comprises a first area and a second area; and the generating the first page comprises: acquiring a first parameter corresponding to each second user, wherein the first parameter comprises at least one of the following: time when the second user publishes the second multimedia content, a popularity of the second user, and view counts of the second multimedia content (see paragraph [0156]); and generating an identifier of the first multimedia content in the first area, and generating identifiers and/or first parameters of a plurality of second users in the second area to obtain the first page (see paragraph [0052] and [0191]).
Regarding Claim 6, Chen in view of Tseytlin and Boyd disclose the method as discussed in the rejection of claim 5. Boyd further discloses wherein the generating the identifiers and/or the first parameters of the plurality of second users in the second area comprises: determining an arrangement order of the second users in the second area according to the first parameters corresponding to the plurality of second users (see paragraph [0052,0114, 0191]); and displaying the identifiers of the plurality of second users and/or the first parameters corresponding to the plurality of second users according to the arrangement order (see paragraph [0052] and [0191]).
Regarding Claim 7, Chen in view of Tseytlin and Boyd disclose the method as discussed in the rejection of claim 6. Chen further discloses wherein the first parameter is the time when the second user publishes the second multimedia content (see paragraph [0073]); and the determining the arrangement order of the second users in the second area according to the first parameters corresponding to the plurality of second users comprises: acquiring time differences between the time when the second users publish the second multimedia content and a current moment (see paragraphs [0017, 0057, and 0073]); sorting the time differences in an order from small to large to obtain a first order (see paragraphs [0017, 0057, and 0073]); and determining the first order as the arrangement order of the second users in the second area (see paragraphs [0017, 0057, and 0073]).
Regarding Claim 8, Chen in view of Tseytlin and Boyd disclose the method as discussed in the rejection of claim 6. Chen further discloses wherein the determining the arrangement order of the second users in the second area according to the first parameters corresponding to the plurality of second users comprises: determining arrangement parameters of the second users according to the first parameters corresponding to the second users (see paragraph [0052,0114 and 0191]); and determining the arrangement order of the second users in the second area according to the arrangement parameters (see paragraph [0052,0114 and 0191]).
Regarding Claim 10, Chen in view of Tseytlin and Boyd disclose the method as discussed in the rejection of claim 5. Chen further discloses wherein the acquiring the second multimedia content in response to the operation on the first page comprises: displaying a second page if the operation on the first page is an operation on the identifier of the first multimedia content, wherein the second page comprises identifiers of a plurality pieces of second multimedia content, and acquiring the second multimedia content in response to the operation on the identifier of the second multimedia content (see paragraph [0052,0114 and 0191]); and acquiring the second multimedia content generated by the second user using the first multimedia content if the operation on the first page is an operation on the identifier of the second user (see paragraph [0052,0114 and 0191]).
Regarding Claim 17, the claim is being analyzed with respect to claim 10.
Claim 9 is rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being unpatentable over CHEN et al. Pub. No.: US 2015/0200999 A1 (Hereinafter “Chen”) in view of Tseytlin, Patent No.: US 9143542 B1 (Hereinafter “Tseytlin in view of Boyd et al. Pub. No.: US 2022/0319082 A1 (Hereinafter “Boyd”), further in view of Federov et al. Pub. No.: US 2013/0073568 A1 (Hereinafter “Federov”).
Regarding Claim 9, Chen in view of Tseytlin and Boyd disclose the method as discussed in the rejection of claim 8.
Chen in view of Tseytlin and Boyd fail to disclose:
wherein, for any second user, the determining the arrangement parameter of the second user according to the first parameter corresponding to the second user comprises: acquiring a first value corresponding to the time when the second user publishes the second multimedia content; acquiring a second value corresponding to the popularity of the second user; acquiring a third value corresponding to the view counts of the second multimedia content; and acquiring the arrangement parameter of the second user according to at least one of the first value, the second value and the third value.
In analogous art, Federov teaches:
wherein, for any second user, the determining the arrangement parameter of the second user according to the first parameter corresponding to the second user comprises: acquiring a first value corresponding to the time when the second user publishes the second multimedia content (see paragraph [0045]); acquiring a second value corresponding to the popularity of the second user (see paragraph [0141]); acquiring a third value corresponding to the view counts of the second multimedia content (see paragraph [0069]); and acquiring the arrangement parameter of the second user according to at least one of the first value, the second value and the third value (see paragraph [0045], [0069] and [0141]);
Therefore, it would have been obvious to one ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date of the claimed invention to modify the method of Chen in view of Tseytlin and Boyd with the teaching as taught by Federov in order to rank structured objects and actions on a social networking system, thereby generating an extremely rich store of socially relevant information.
Conclusion
THIS ACTION IS MADE FINAL. Applicant is reminded of the extension of time policy as set forth in 37 CFR 1.136(a).
/ALAZAR TILAHUN/
Primary Examiner
Art Unit 2424
/A.T/Primary Examiner, Art Unit 2424