DETAILED ACTION
The following is an initial Office Action upon examination of the above-identified application on the merits. Claims 1-20 are pending in this application.
Priority
Applicant’s claim for the benefit of a prior-filed application under 35 U.S.C. 119(e) or under 35 U.S.C. 120, 121, 365(c), or 386(c) is acknowledged. Applicant has not complied with one or more conditions for receiving the benefit of an earlier filing date under 35 U.S.C. 120.
Information Disclosure Statement
The examiner has considered the information disclosure statements (IDS) submitted on 17 June 2026, 5 February 2026, 14 July 2025, 12 March 2025, 11 February 2025, 11 October 2024 and 28 August 2024.
Claim Rejections - 35 USC § 103
(a) A patent may not be obtained though the invention is not identically disclosed or described as set forth in section 102, if the differences between the subject matter sought to be patented and the prior art are such that the subject matter as a whole would have been obvious at the time the invention was made to a person having ordinary skill in the art to which said subject matter pertains. Patentability shall not be negated by the manner in which the invention was made.
Claims 1, 2, 11, and 12 is/are rejected under pre-AIA 35 U.S.C. 103(a) as being unpatentable over US Pub. No. 2003/0013949 A1 (USPN 6,659,939 B2) to Moll et al. in view of US Pub. No. 2007/0013336 A1 (USPN 8,004,229 B2) to Nowlin et al.
As per claim 1, the Moll et al. reference discloses a system comprising: a first manipulator (see figure 11, “master manipulator 404”); a second manipulator (see figure 11, “slave manipulator 416”); an input device (see figure 11, “master input controller 406, slave input/output module 414”) for commanding movement (see [0118], “movement”) of the first manipulator (“master manipulator 404”) or the second manipulator (“slave manipulator 416”); and one or more controllers (see figure 11, “master and slave joint controllers 560, 420”); wherein the one or more controllers (“master and slave joint controllers 560, 420”) are configured to: detect movement of the input device (“master input controller 406, slave input/output module 414”); when movement of the first manipulator (“master manipulator 404”) is responsive to movement (see [0070], “in response to movement”) of the input device (“master input controller 406”): determine a commanded movement (“movement”) for the first manipulator (“master manipulator 404”) from the detected movement of the input device (“master input controller 406”); and command the second manipulator (“slave manipulator 416”) to move in response, at least in part, to the commanded movement (“movement”) of the first manipulator (“master manipulator 404”); and when movement of the second manipulator (“slave manipulator 416”) is responsive to the movement of the input device (“slave input/output module 414”): determine a commanded movement (“movement”) for the second manipulator (“slave manipulator 416”) from the detected movement of the input device (“slave input/output module 414”); and command the first manipulator (“master manipulator 404”) to move in response, at least in part, to the commanded movement (“movement”) of the second manipulator (“slave manipulator 416”).
The Moll et al. reference does not expressly disclose the further limitations taught by the Nowlin et al. reference, namely: command the second manipulator to move in response, at least in part, to the commanded movement (see [0059], “movement”) of the first manipulator (see [0005], “joints optionally being driven in response to movements of other joints”) and command the first manipulator to move (see [0009], “movement of the first manipulator assembly”) in response, at least in part, to the commanded movement (“movement”) of the second manipulator (“second manipulator assembly state signals being taken into consideration”).
Before the invention was filed, it would have been obvious to a person of ordinary skill in the art to modify the three degrees of freedom of movement to the surgical instrument taught by the Moll et al. reference with the redundant degrees of freedom (RDOF) surgical robotic system taught by the Nowlin et al. reference.
One of ordinary skill in the art would have been motivated to modify the three degrees of freedom of movement to the surgical instrument with the redundant degrees of freedom (RDOF) surgical robotic system so as to inhibit collisions between the manipulator assemblies.
As per claim 2, the Moll et al. reference discloses the first manipulator (“master manipulator 404”) is a robotic arm assembly (see [0073], “one or more robotic arms”) having one or more joints (see [0078], “joints 222”) and one or more links (see [0078], “plurality of links 220”).
As per claim 11, the Moll et al. reference discloses a method for controlling a device having a plurality of manipulators (see figure 11, “master manipulator 404, slave manipulator 416”), the method comprising: detecting, by one or more controllers (see figure 11, “master and slave joint controllers 560, 420”), movement of an input device (see figure 11, “master input controller 406, slave input/output module 414”); when movement of a first manipulator (“master manipulator 404”) is responsive to the movement (see [0070], “in response to movement”) of the input device (“master input controller 406”): determining, by the one or more controllers (“master and slave joint controllers 560, 420”), a commanded movement (see [0059], “movement”) for the first manipulator (“master manipulator 404”) from the detected movement of the input device (“master input controller 406”); and commanding, by the one or more controllers (“master and slave joint controllers 560, 420”), a second manipulator (“slave manipulator 416”) to move in response, at least in part, to the commanded movement (“movement”) of the first manipulator (“master manipulator 404”); and when movement of the second manipulator (“slave manipulator 416”) is responsive to the movement of the input device (slave input/output module 414”): determining, by the one or more controllers (“master and slave joint controllers 560, 420”), a commanded movement (“movement”) for the second manipulator (“slave manipulator 416”) from the detected movement of the input device (slave input/output module 414”); and commanding, by the one or more controllers (“master and slave joint controllers 560, 420”), the first manipulator (“master manipulator 404”) to move in response, at least in part, to the commanded movement (“movement”) of the second manipulator (“slave manipulator 416”).
The Moll et al. reference does not expressly disclose the further limitations taught by the Nowlin et al. reference, namely: commanding, by the one or more controllers (see [0085], “master/slave controller 532”), a second manipulator to move in response, at least in part, to the commanded movement of the first manipulator (see [0005], “joints optionally being driven in response to movements of other joints”) and commanding, by the one or more controllers (“master/slave controller 532”), the first manipulator to move (see [0009], “movement of the first manipulator assembly”) in response, at least in part, to the commanded movement of the second manipulator (“second manipulator assembly state signals being taken into consideration”).
Before the invention was filed, it would have been obvious to a person of ordinary skill in the art to modify the three degrees of freedom of movement to the surgical instrument taught by the Moll et al. reference with the redundant degrees of freedom (RDOF) surgical robotic system taught by the Nowlin et al. reference.
One of ordinary skill in the art would have been motivated to modify the three degrees of freedom of movement to the surgical instrument with the redundant degrees of freedom (RDOF) surgical robotic system so as to inhibit collisions between the manipulator assemblies.
As per claim 12, the Moll et al. reference discloses the first manipulator (“master manipulator 404”) is a robotic arm assembly (see [0073], “one or more robotic arms”) having one or more joints (see [0078], “joints 222”) and one or more links (see [0078], “plurality of links 220”).
Claims 3 and 13 are rejected under pre-AIA 35 U.S.C. 103(a) as being unpatentable over US Pub. No. 2003/0013949 A1 (USPN 6,659,939 B2) to Moll et al. in view of US Pub. No. 2007/0013336 A1 (USPN 8,004,229 B2) to Nowlin et al., as applied to claims 1, 2, 11, 12 above, and further in view of US Pub. No. 2009/0036902 A (USPN 8,398,541 B2) to DiMaio et al.
As per claims 3 and 13, the Moll et al. reference discloses the one or more controllers (“master and slave joint controllers 560, 420”) comprise a first controller (“master and slave joint controllers 560, 420”) and a second controller (“master and slave joint controllers 560, 420”); and the first controller (“master and slave joint controllers 560, 420”) is coupled to the second controller (“master and slave joint controllers 560, 420”) via a coupling block.
Neither the Moll et al. nor Nowlin et al. reference expressly discloses the further limitations taught by the DiMaio et al. reference, namely: the first controller (see [0121], “master device”) is coupled to the second controller (“slave device”) via a coupling block (“collaborative control block 1508”).
Before the invention was filed, it would have been obvious to a person of ordinary skill in the art to further modify the redundant degrees of freedom (RDOF) surgical robotic system taught by both the Moll et al. and Nowlin et al. references with the collaborative control block taught by the DiMaio et al. reference.
One of ordinary skill in the art would have been motivated to further modify the redundant degrees of freedom (RDOF) surgical robotic system with the collaborative control block to provides a means to coordinate multiple manipulators.
Allowable Subject Matter
Claims 4-10 and 14-20 are objected to as being dependent upon a rejected base claim, but would be allowable if rewritten in independent form including all of the limitations of the base claim and any intervening claims.
Conclusion
The prior art made of record and not relied upon is considered pertinent to applicant's disclosure.
The following references are cited to further show the state of the art with respect to robotic surgical system with multiple control modes:
US 11337765 B2 to Mintz et al.
US 10532467 B2 to Diolaiti et al.
US 10405934 B2 to Prisco et al.
US 10258416 B2 to Mintz et al.
US 9566124 B2 to Prisco et al.
US 9402689 B2 to Prisco et al.
US 9241767 B2 to Prisco et al.
US 9198730 B2 to Prisco et al.
US 8914150 B2 to Moll et al.
US 8666544 B2 to Moll et al.
US 2009/0048611 A1 to Funda et al.
JP 2004129782 A to FUJIO et al.
JP 2641757 B2 to FURANKO
CA 2289778 C to NISHIZAWA et al.
/CRYSTAL J BARNES-BULLOCK/Primary Examiner, Art Unit 2117 22 October 2026