Drawings
The drawings are objected to under 37 CFR 1.83(a). The drawings must show every feature of the invention specified in the claims. Therefore, the grinding shield (claim 21), welding lens (claim 21), first position (claim 21 and 23), second position (claim 21 and 23), the light source attached to helmet shell (claim 22), an auto darkening lens (claim 24), a removeable cover (claim 25), a controller (claim 30), a sensor (claim 30) must be shown or the feature(s) canceled from the claim(s). No new matter should be entered.
Claim Rejections - 35 USC § 112
Claims 21-31 are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 112(b) or 35 U.S.C. 112 (pre-AIA ), second paragraph, as being indefinite for failing to particularly point out and distinctly claim the subject matter which the inventor or a joint inventor (or for applications subject to pre-AIA 35 U.S.C. 112, the applicant), regards as the invention.
Claims 21-31 recite “welding -type helmet”. It is unclear what constitutes a “welding-type” helmet. The metes and bounds of the claim are unclear, as it is not clear what structure applicant is attempting to limit to “welding-type”. Appropriate correction is required.
Claim 29 recites the limitation “the" with respect to a bezel. There is insufficient antecedent basis for this limitation in the claim.
Claim Rejections - 35 USC § 102
Claim(s) 21-24 and 26-31 is/are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 102(a)(1) as being anticipated by Robinson (US 2011/0101890). The device of Robinson teaches,
With respect to claim 21, A welding-type helmet (60) comprising:
a grinding shield (shield area surrounding 61; Figures 1 and 2);
a welding lens (1) configured to selectively cover at least a portion of the grinding shield (Figure 2) and shield a field of view of the wearer while in a first position (Figure 1) and to allow the wearer to view through only the grinding shield while in a second position (figure 2);
a lens (62) defining a top, a bottom, a first side, a second side, an interior side, and an exterior side (see all sides shown in figure 2), wherein the lens (62) is coupled to the helmet (60) and configured to protect a user wearing the helmet. It is noted the language “configured to protect a user wearing the helmet is a recitation of intended use; the prior art teaches a lens attached to a helmet as required by the claims and would be capable for use to protect a user, see MPEP 2114;
and a light source (10) configured to illuminate (Figures 8 and 9) at least partially forward and at least partially downward both while the welding lens is in the first position and while the welding lens is in the second position (Figure 1). It is noted the language “configured to illuminate at least partially forward and at least partially downward both while the welding lens is in the first position and while the welding lens is in the second positioned is a functional limitation. The light is shown to radiate outwards both at least partially forward and down, and is operable in both a first and second position of the welding lens 61, therefore meeting the claim language as currently recited. See MPEP 2114.
With respect to claim 22, further comprising a helmet shell (see exterior of 60), wherein the light source (10) is attached to the helmet shell (Figures 1 and 3).
With respect to claim 23, wherein the welding lens (61) is configured to move from the first position to the second position by rotating with respect to the helmet shell. (Figure 1 and Figure 2).
With respect to claim 24, wherein the welding lens comprises an auto-darkening lens (para 0032).
With respect to claim 26, further comprising a bezel (see frame on the helmet base, figure 2) around the welding lens (when in the closed position), wherein the bezel is configured to hold the light source (10, figure 2).
With respect to claim 27, wherein the bezel (see frame figure 2) comprises a channel (Para 0034), the light source being positioned within the channel (para 0034).
With respect to claim 28, wherein the channel is recessed from the bezel (Figure 9; para 0034).
With respect to claim 29, wherein the light source (10) is positioned on a lower perimeter of the bezel (Figure 2).
With respect to claim 30, further comprising a controller (para 003 and 0014) to selectively activate the light source in response to a signal from a sensor (41, 44). The language to selectively activate is a functional recitation. The prior art teaches a controller that is capable for uses to activate a light source in response to a sensor and therefore meets the claim language as recited, see MPEP 2114.
With respect to claim 31, wherein the light source (10) comprises a light emitting diode (para 0012) or a strip that includes a plurality of light emitting diodes.
Claim Rejections - 35 USC § 103
Claim(s) 21, 22, 24, 25, 30 and 31 is/are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being unpatentable over Wright (US 9,271,871) in view of Graham (US 9,629,752). The device of Wright teaches
With respect to claim 21, A welding-type helmet comprising:
a grinding shield (110);
a welding lens (220) configured to selectively cover at least a portion of the grinding shield (Figure 1) and shield a field of view of the wearer while in a first position (Figure 1) and to allow the wearer to view through only the grinding shield while in a second position (when removed)
a lens (230) defining a top (top side; figure 1), a bottom (bottom edge, figure 1), a first side (left side, figure 1), a second side (right side, figure 1), an interior side (inner surface, figure 2), and an exterior side (outer surface, figure 1), wherein the lens (230) is removably coupled to the helmet (Figure 1) and configured to protect a user wearing the helmet. It is noted the language “configured to protect a user wearing the helmet is a recitation of intended use; the prior art teaches a lens attached to a helmet as required by the claims and would be capable for use to protect a user, see MPEP 2114;
The device of Wright substantially discloses the claimed invention but is lacking a light source.
The device of Graham teaches a welding helmet having a light source (40) configured to illuminate at least partially forward and at least partially downward (figure 3) both while the welding lens is in the first position and while the welding lens is in the second position (when removed). It is noted the language “configured to illuminate at least partially forward and at least partially downward both while the welding lens is in the first position and while the welding lens is in the second positioned is a functional limitation. The light is shown to radiate outwards both at least partially forward and down, and would be operable to radiate in both a first and second position of the welding lens since it would be positioned above the removable lens structure when combined, therefore meeting the functional claim language as currently recited. See MPEP 2114. It would have been obvious to a person having ordinary skill in the art at the time the invention as effectively filed to utilize the light source taught by Graham in order to provide improved viewing while welding (Column 2, lines 55-60).
With respect to claim 22, further comprising a helmet shell (20) wherein the light source (40) is attached to the helmet shell (Figures 1).
With respect to claim 24, wherein the welding lens comprises an auto-darkening lens (para 0010).
With respect to claim 25, further comprising a removable cover lens (210) configured to cover the welding lens. It is noted the language “configured to cover the welding lens a functional recitation; the prior art teaches a lens attached to a helmet as required by the claims and would be covering the welding lens as recited, see MPEP 2114.
With respect to claim 30, the device of Graham further comprising a controller (53) to selectively activate the light source in response to a signal from a sensor (42). The language to selectively activate is a functional recitation. The prior art teaches a controller that is capable for uses to activate a light source in response to a sensor and therefore meets the claim language as recited, see MPEP 2114.
With respect to claim 31, wherein the light source (40) comprises a light emitting diode (abstract) or a strip that includes a plurality of light emitting diodes.
Conclusion
The prior art made of record and not relied upon is considered pertinent to applicant's disclosure. See PTO 892
Please Note, the art of recorded cited in the PTO-892 may be relevant to the features of the invention both claimed and unclaimed or are relevant to the overall inventive concept. The best art has been set forward in the office action, as determined by the examiner and the art references provided are to establish other significant and relevant art and to promote compact prosecution.
RICHALE LEE. QUINN
Primary Examiner
Art Unit 3765
/RICHALE L QUINN/Primary Examiner, Art Unit 3732