DETAILED ACTION
Priority
Acknowledgment is made of applicant's claim for foreign priority based on an application filed in Korea on 22 December 2023. It is noted, however, that applicant has not filed a certified copy of the KR 10-2023-0189285 application as required by 37 CFR 1.55.
An attempt by the Office to electronically retrieve, under the priority document exchange program, the foreign application 10-2023-0189285 to which priority is claimed has FAILED on 05/22/2025, as per the letter mailed on 05/22/2025.
Drawings
The drawings are objected to under 37 CFR 1.83(a). The drawings must show every feature of the invention specified in the claims. Therefore, the “steam generator 542” and the “steam nozzle 543” must be shown or the feature(s) canceled from the claim(s). No new matter should be entered.
Claim Rejections - 35 USC § 102
Claim(s) 1-2, is/are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 102(a)(1) as being anticipated by US 2021/0140095 to Kim et al. (“Kim”).
Regarding independent claim 1, Kim discloses an apparatus (1000) for treating laundry, the apparatus comprising:
a cabinet forming an exterior and having an opening formed in a front to put the laundry therethrough;
a first case (formed around receiving case 14) provided within the cabinet to mount the laundry put through the opening thereon;
a second case (formed between panel 130 and door 110; see Figs. 8-9) rotatable coupled to the cabinet to open/close the opening and having an open surface in a front to put the laundry therethrough;
a door (110; see Figs. 8-9) rotatably coupled to the second case to open/close the open surface; and
a machine room (20) comprising:
a suction unit disposed under the first case to suck air inside the first case (see outlet 36 which discharges air from the first case to the heat exchanger via fan 32);
a heat exchange unit (31) disposed ahead of the suction unit to dry the sucked air at a high temperature; and
a supply unit disposed ahead of the heat exchange unit to supply the air having passed through the heat exchange unit to the first case and the second case (see duct leading to cabinet inflow hole 50 to the first case and duct leading to door inflow hole 148 to the second case in Fig. 8 and ¶ [0181]-[0182], which read on the claimed supply unit),
wherein the first case and the second case are configured to be simultaneously supplied with the air from the supply unit (note fan 32 is configured to perform such operation of flow into the two cases/chambers).
Regarding claim 2, Kim further discloses wherein the first case comprises a first supply hole communicating with the supply unit, wherein the second case comprises a second supply hole communicating with the supply unit, and wherein the first supply hole and the second supply hole are configured to face the supply unit (note the door inflow hole 148 and cabinet inflow hole 50 are configured to face the supply unit, which includes the ducts in which they are attached).
Claim Rejections - 35 USC § 103
Claim(s) 3-5 and 10 is/are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being unpatentable over Kim.
Regarding claim 3, Kim further discloses the machine room comprising a steam supply unit supplying steam, the steam supply unit comprising: a water supply container (see water tanks 45,47) detachably provided under the supply unit to store water (water tanks may be detachable; see ¶ [0126] and [0132]); a steam generator (41) accommodating a heater part (411) generating steam from heating water supplied by communicating with the water supply container; and a steam nozzle located on a side of the supply unit and communicating with the steam generator to inject the steam generated by the steam generator (implicit to a steam supply from steam generator to the supply unit). Kim discloses supplying steam to the first case but does not expressly disclose wherein the steam nozzle is configured to supply the steam to the first case by being disposed behind the second case to face the first supply hole. It would have been obvious to one having ordinary skill in the art at the time the invention was made to rearrange the steam supply/nozzle as desired to achieve the same and predictable results of supplying steam into the first case, since it has been held that rearranging parts of an invention involves only routine skill in the art. See MPEP § 2144.04(VI)(C) regarding Obviousness and Rearrangement of Parts.
Regarding claim 4, Kim discloses the claimed supply unit in the form of a duct configuration for supplying/circulating air. Kim does not expressly disclose wherein an area of the supply unit increases upward. However, absent an adequate showing of secondary considerations, the position is taken that it would have been obvious to one having ordinary skill in the art at the time of effective filing to modify the duct size and/or shape in order to achieve the desired air supply therethrough, since such a modification would have involved a mere change in the size and/or shape of a component. A change in size or shape is generally recognized as being within the level of ordinary skill in the art. See MPEP § 2144.04(IV)(A) & (B) regarding Obviousness and Changes in Size & Shape, respectively.
Regarding claim 5, Kim discloses the supply unit holes 148,50 as separated or partitioned.
Regarding claim 10, Kim discloses the first case having a hanger unit (51,516) coupled to an upper surface of the first case, and an embodiment with a hanger support (521) extending from a rear toward a front (see, e.g., Figs. 1 and 8). Kim does not expressly disclose the first case having said hanger unit extending from a rear toward a front. It would have been obvious to one having ordinary skill in the art at the time the invention was made to rearrange the hanger support in the first case to extend from a rear toward a front to achieve the same and predictable laundry supporting results, since it has been held that rearranging parts of an invention involves only routine skill in the art. See MPEP § 2144.04(VI)(C) regarding Obviousness and Rearrangement of Parts.
Claim(s) 11 is/are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being unpatentable over Kim in view of US 2002/0133969 to Cassella.
Kim, supra, discloses the claimed invention including the cabinet having a door. Kim does not expressly disclose wherein the door is formed of a transparent material to view an inside of the second case. However, transparent (glass) door components are known in the art for allowing user visual access to the inside of laundry treating cabinets. Cassella teaches an art-related drying and dewrinkling cabinet having a transparent door component “to allow a user to see the clothing disposed within the compartment” (Cassella at ¶ [0051]).
Therefore, the position is taken that it would have been obvious to one having ordinary skill in the art at the time of effective filing to form the door of Kim with known transparent materials, such as that taught in Cassella, to yield the same and predictable results of allowing user to see clothing within the cabinet.
Allowable Subject Matter
Claims 6-9 are objected to as being dependent upon a rejected base claim, but would be allowable if rewritten in independent form including all of the limitations of the base claim and any intervening claims.
The following is a statement of reasons for the indication of allowable subject matter: The prior art of record fails to teach or reasonably suggest the claimed first and second communication holes connected by a connection passage between the first case and second case. Such configuration provides an air circulation passage in the form of a connection passage that may be shortened or lengthened (see Applicant’s specification at ¶ [0052].
Conclusion
Joseph L. Perrin, Ph.D.
Primary Examiner
Art Unit 1711
/Joseph L. Perrin/Primary Examiner, Art Unit 1711