DETAILED ACTION
Priority
Acknowledgment is made of applicant’s claim for foreign priority under 35 U.S.C. 119 (a)-(d). The certified copy has been filed in parent Application No. KR10-2024-0039756, filed on 3/22/2024.
Claim Objections
Claim 1 is objected to because of the following informalities:
Claim 1 – The punctuation after the recitations of “a basic COD control” and “a protection-focused control focused on protection of the fuel cell” are inconsistent, and should be replaced with a comma or a semi-colon.
Claim 1 – the recitation, “initiating, by the controller based on the execution of COD…” should be amended to recite: --initiating, by the controller based on the startup execution of COD…--
Appropriate correction is required.
Claim Rejections - 35 USC § 112
Claims 1-20 are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 112(b) or 35 U.S.C. 112 (pre-AIA ), second paragraph, as being indefinite for failing to particularly point out and distinctly claim the subject matter which the inventor or a joint inventor (or for applications subject to pre-AIA 35 U.S.C. 112, the applicant), regards as the invention.
Claims 1 and 15 recite selecting and performing a startup control comprising one or more of: "a basic COD control; a protection-focused control focused on protection of the fuel cell system, or a quickness-focused control focused on quick startup". Under MPEP 2173.05(b), relative terms or terms of degree render a claim indefinite when the claim language fails to provide an objective standard or criteria delineating the scope of the terms. Here, the designations "basic COD control," "protection-focused control," and "quickness-focused control" are defined in Claims 1 and 15 purely by intended result or subjective focus (e.g., "focused on protection", "focused on quick startup") rather than by concrete physical machine steps or operational thresholds. Although the claims recite that the selection is based on an integral current value Q and an operating point in a current-voltage plane, Claims 1 and 15 recite no objective boundaries, voltage/current thresholds, or charge ranges that distinguish where "basic" control ends and "protection-focused" or "quickness-focused" control begins. Consequently, a person having ordinary skill in the art cannot determine with reasonable certainty the metes and bounds of the control strategies encompassed by Claims 1 and 15.
Claims 2-14 and 16-20 are indefinite by virtue of their direct or indirect dependency on independent claims 1 and 15, respectively.
Claim 13 recites: "...based on a second opening degree of the ACV exceeding the reference opening degree, opening the ACV; initiating a second execution of the startup COD..." Claim 1 introduces only "an opening degree of an air control valve (ACV)" without defining a "first" opening degree or establishing an initial opening degree evaluation. Reciting "a second opening degree" without a parent "first opening degree," and "a second execution" when no first execution has taken place (as Claim 13 is directed to an alternative fault-branch upon initial valve inspection per Step S20 to RT3 of Figs. 2 and 5), renders the temporal sequence and structural antecedent basis indefinite.
Claim 14 depends from Claim 1 and recites: "wherein the resistive electrical load is turned on and a designated COD purge is performed." Under MPEP 2173.05(p), a process claim that introduces passive states without reciting active steps tied to the execution sequence of the parent method is indefinite. Claim 14 fails to define when, in what order, or by what entity these acts are performed, leaving the operational scope of the method indefinite.
Claim 16 recites: "...based on an operating area to which the operating point of the COD circuit belongs and assigned a reference Q value, of the plurality of reference Q values, that the reference value Q reaches." Claim 15 introduces "an integral value Q of current supplied..." but never introduces an accumulating "reference value Q." The threshold to be reached is "a reference Q value," whereas the dynamic accumulating variable is "the integral value Q." Reciting that "the reference value Q reaches" a reference Q value is circular, lacks antecedent basis, and renders the limitation unintelligible.
Claim Rejections - 35 USC § 103
Claim(s) 1, 2, 9, 11-12, 14-16 and 19 is/are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being unpatentable over Lee (US20210175527A1) in view of Reiser (US20110200901A1).
Regarding Claim 1, Lee discloses a method [pars. 0020-25,0106-24; Figs. 1,5, Tables 1,2] comprising:
initiating, by a controller of a fuel cell system, hydrogen supply to an anode (controller 60 initiates hydrogen supply from hydrogen supply valve FSV to the fuel electrode/anode of fuel cell stack 10) [pars. 0042,0046,0054,0139; Figs. 1,5; Table 1];
determining, by the controller, that an opening degree of an air control valve ACV, having received a cut-off command, is less than or equal to a reference opening degree (controller 60 controls air cut-off valve ACV to be closed/cut-off and verifies the cut-off state [pars. 0061,0124,0133; Fig. 1; Table 1];
driving, by the controller based on the opening degree of the ACV being less than or equal to the reference opening degree, an air compressor to supply bypass air (controller 60 operates air compressor ACP while ACV blocks air to the cathode [pars. 0052,0061,0124; Fig. 1; Table 1];
determining, by the controller, whether an execution of startup cathode oxidation depletion (COD) is necessary (controller 60 determines whether voltage depletion/oxygen removal across the stack via the COD resistor in coolant heater CHT 63 is required before main power generation [pars. 0062,0108,0130-34; Fig. 5; Table 1];
initiating, by the controller based on the execution of COD being determined necessary, the execution of the startup COD (controller 60 closes COD relay 64 to connect the COD resistor of CHT 63 to consume residual oxygen and bleed stack voltage [pars. 0062,0089-94,0130-34; Figs. 1,5; Table 1];
selecting, by the controller based on an integral value Q of current supplied from a fuel cell stack of the fuel cell system to a resistive electrical load and an operating point, comprising an operating current and an operating voltage, in a current-voltage plane of a COD circuit comprising the fuel cell stack connected to the resistive electrical load, a startup control comprising one or more of:
a basic COD control;
a protection-focused control focused on protection of the fuel cell system, or
a quickness-focused control focused on quick startup; and
performing, by the controller, the selected startup control (controller 60 controls startup power routines, monitoring stack voltage and current [pars. 0103-04,0121,0137; Fig. 1], and specifically discharges until an integral value of current reaches a predetermined current amount [par. 0118; Claim 16].
Lee does not explicitly disclose that the current integrated to obtain the value Q is the current supplied from the fuel cell stack specifically to the resistive electrical load (COD circuit) to determine oxygen consumption and select the startup control mode. However, Reiser, from the same field of endeavor, discloses a fuel cell power plant and control process [pars. 0020-25; Figs. 1,2] wherein an auxiliary resistive load 60 is connected across the fuel cell stack 6 to consume residual air-side oxygen and stabilize the stack [Reiser – pars. 0024-25,0028]. Reiser explicitly teaches determining the duration of flowing hydrogen while consuming oxygen by counting coulombs through integrating the electric current through the auxiliary resistive load via current sensor 75 (Q =integral (I dt)) until the integrated coulombs equate to the volume of oxygen consumed in the air side of the power plant [Reiser – pars. 0012-14,0025,0028-32]. Therefore, before the effective filing date of the claimed invention, it would have been obvious for an ordinary skilled artisan to modify Lee by integrating current directly through the resistive electrical load (COD resistor of CHT 63) to calculate the cumulative charge Q as taught by Reiser in order to provide an accurate, quantitative determination of when residual oxygen in the cathode is fully eliminated without relying on sluggish, inaccurate gas sensors, thereby protecting the stack and resistive load while preventing premature main relay closure.
Regarding Claim 2, Modified Lee in view of Reiser discloses the method of Claim 1, wherein:
the operating point is from one of a plurality of operating areas defined by current-voltage lines of the fuel cell stack and resistive electrical load (Lee monitors stack output voltage and current in relation to operating ranges) [pars. 0103-04,0118-21,0135; Figs. 1,4];
a plurality of reference Q values is assigned to the plurality of operating areas (Reiser teaches integrating to specific predetermined coulomb counts corresponding to specific operational stages) [pars. 0028-32]; and
the selecting the startup control is based on an operating area to which the operating point belongs and assigned a reference Q value that the integral value Q reaches (Lee teaches controlling load switching and timing based on whether integrated current reaches a predetermined threshold) [par. 0118; Claim 16].
Regarding Claim 9, Modified Lee in view of Reiser discloses the method of Claim 1, wherein the protection-focused control is configured to cause:
turning off the resistive electrical load and the air compressor (Lee teaches opening COD relay 64/65 to turn off CHT 63 and stopping air compressor ACP) [pars. 0061,0124,0132; Table 1];
standing by until one or more of: voltage of the fuel cell stack becomes less than a designated drop completion reference voltage; or a designated reference time elapses (Lee teaches maintaining standby until stack output voltage is reduced to a predetermined voltage) [pars. 0111,0127,0132];
after the standing by: connecting a main relay (first main relay 43); and
opening the ACV (Lee teaches connecting first main relay 43 and opening air cut-off valve ACV) [pars. 0124,0139; Table 1];
turning on the air compressor configured to supply air to a cathode (Lee operates air compressor ACP to supply air to the cathode) [pars. 0124,0139; Table 1]; and
performing a startup purge (Lee opens purge valve FPV for a predetermined time to discharge anode post-reaction gas) [pars. 0056-59,0067].
Regarding Claim 11, Modified Lee in view of Reiser discloses the method of Claim 1, wherein the basic COD control is configured to cause:
standing by until one or more of: a voltage of the fuel cell stack becomes less than a drop completion reference voltage; or a reference time elapses (Lee waits until stack output terminal voltage drops below a predetermined voltage) [pars. 0124,0132; Table 1];
after the standing by, turning off the resistive electrical load (Lee opens COD relay 64/65 to disconnect CHT 63) [pars. 0124,0132,0134; Table 1];
connecting a main relay (first main relay 43) (Lee closes first main relay 43) [pars. 0124,0139; Table 1];
performing a startup purge (Lee opens purge valve FPV) [pars. 0056-59,0067]; and
opening the ACV (Lee opens air cut-off valve ACV) [pars. 0124,0139; Table 1].
Regarding Claim 12, Modified Lee in view of Reiser discloses the method of Claim 1, further comprising:
based on determining that the execution of the startup COD is not necessary, connecting a main relay without performing the startup COD, performing a startup purge, and opening the ACV (Lee teaches entering power generation by connecting the main relay 43, opening ACV, and performing purge without operating the COD relays when stack voltage is already stabilized) [pars. 0056-59,0124,0139-45; Tables 1,2].
Regarding Claim 14, Modified Lee in view of Reiser discloses the method of Claim 1, wherein the resistive electrical load is turned on (CHT 63 connected via COD relay 64) [pars. 0089-94,0130] and a designated COD purge is performed (purge valve FPV opened during oxygen removal/depletion) [pars. 0055-59,0067].
Regarding Claim 15, Lee discloses a control apparatus of a fuel cell system [pars. 0041-53,0083-96; Figs. 1,6,7] comprising:
a fuel cell stack (fuel cell stack 10) [par. 0043; Fig. 1];
an air control valve (ACV) configured to control air supplied to a cathode of the fuel cell stack (air cut-off valve ACV) [pars. 0041,0061; Fig. 1];
an air compressor configured to supply air to the ACV (air compressor ACP) [pars. 0051-52; Fig. 1];
a resistive electrical load installed to be electrically connected to the fuel cell stack (coolant heater CHT 63 comprising embedded COD resistor) [pars. 0052,0089-90; Fig. 1]; and
a controller (controller 60) [par. 0070; Fig. 1] configured to:
initiate hydrogen supply to an anode of the fuel cell stack (controller 60 opens FSV) [pars. 0054,0139; Table 1];
drive the air compressor based on an opening degree of the ACV to supply bypass air (controller 60 drives ACP while ACV is shut off) [pars. 0061,0124; Table 1];
initiate execution of startup cathode oxidation depletion (COD) (controller 60 closes COD relay 64) [pars. 0089-94,0130; Table 1];
select a startup control comprising one or more of basic COD control, protection-focused control focused on protection of the fuel cell system, or quickness-focused control focused on quick startup, wherein the selecting is based on an operating point, comprising an operating current and an operating voltage, in a current-voltage plane of a COD circuit comprising the fuel cell stack connected to the resistive electrical load; and
perform the selected startup control (controller 60 monitors voltage/current and manages load depletion routines) [pars. 0103-04,0118-21,0135; Fig. 1].
Lee does not explicitly disclose that the controller selects the startup control based on an integral value Q of current supplied specifically to the resistive electrical load. However, Reiser, from the same field of endeavor, discloses integrating current (Q) through an auxiliary resistive load connected across a fuel cell stack to monitor cumulative charge for controlling stack depletion [pars. 0013,0025,0028-32]. Therefore, before the effective filing date of the claimed invention, it would have been obvious for an ordinary skilled artisan to program controller 60 of Lee to calculate the integral value Q through the COD resistor as taught by Reiser in order to establish an objective quantitative metric for oxygen depletion and system control.
Regarding Claim 16, Modified Lee in view of Reiser discloses the apparatus of Claim 15, wherein the operating point is from one of a plurality of operating areas defined by current-voltage lines of the stack and resistive load [pars. 0103-04,0118-21], a plurality of reference Q values is assigned to the operating areas [pars. 0028-32], and the controller selects the control based on an operating area and assigned reference Q value [par. 0118].
Regarding Claim 19, Modified Lee in view of Reiser discloses the apparatus of Claim 15, wherein the controller performs protection-focused control by causing: turning off the resistive electrical load and the air compressor [pars. 0061,0124,0132; Table 1], standing by until voltage becomes less than a designated drop completion reference voltage or reference time elapses [pars. 0111,0127,0132], after standing by: connecting a main relay and opening the ACV [pars. 0124,0139; Table 1], turning on the air compressor to supply air to the cathode [pars. 0124,0139; Table 1], and performing a startup purge [pars. 0056-59,0067].
Claims 3, 4, 13, and 17 are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being unpatentable over Lee (US20210175527A1) and Reiser (US20110200901A1), as applied to claims 1, 2 or 16, respectively, and further in view of Hoshi (US20160240904A1).
Regarding Claims 3, 4, and 17, Modified Lee in view of Reiser discloses dividing the operating plane into operating areas based on stack and load current-voltage characteristics. Lee and Reiser do not explicitly disclose defining operating boundaries via BOL (beginning of life) with a first margin, EOL (end of life) with a second margin, a normal COD execution line, and allowable maximum output, maximum resistance, and minimum resistance lines of the resistive load. However, Hoshi, from the same field of endeavor, discloses fuel cell startup and warming-up control [pars. 0004-08,0077-84; Figs. 1,2] wherein the controller stores and calculates fuel cell stack current-voltage output characteristics and minimum cell voltage boundaries [pars. 0098,0114,0123; Figs. 2,9]. Hoshi explicitly teaches comparing real-time operating points against predetermined upper and lower performance requirement lines and minimum allowable cell voltage threshold lines [pars. 0140-50,0160-70,0201-11; Figs. 4,6,9], and evaluating the operating points against maximum and minimum allowable output and resistance boundaries of the auxiliary machines (compressor and heater) [pars. 0174-82,0228-34,0241-48; Figs. 5,7,8]. Therefore, before the effective filing date of the claimed invention, it would have been obvious for an ordinary skilled artisan to define the boundary lines of Lee using BOL/EOL stack margins and allowable load operational limits as taught by Hoshi in order to ensure that the fuel cell stack is operated within verified durability margins across its operating life while preventing electrical overloading of the auxiliary heater.
Regarding Claim 13, Modified Lee, Reiser, and Hoshi disclose initial ACV inspection and startup COD control. Lee does not explicitly disclose the alternative branch wherein, based on the opening degree of the ACV exceeding the reference opening degree, the controller opens the ACV, initiates execution of the startup COD, stands by until voltage drops below the drop reference or reference time elapses, turns off the resistive load, connects the main relay, drives the air compressor, and performs startup purge. However, Hoshi, from the same field of endeavor, discloses that when an auxiliary actuator or valve is detected to be in an abnormal or open state upon startup, the controller modifies startup sequencing by actively executing warming-up/depletion while driving auxiliary compressors and purging to prevent stack deterioration [pars. 0103-07,0114-21,0160-64; Figs. 3,4]. In Lee, the ACV is normally commanded to open once startup proceeds [pars. 0061,0124]. Therefore, before the effective filing date of the claimed invention, it would have been obvious for an ordinary skilled artisan to modify the effective filing date of the claimed invention, it would have been obvious for an ordinary skilled artisan to configure the controller of Lee to execute the alternative branch of Claim 13 when the ACV fails to seat properly in order to avoid wasting time attempting to provide bypass air through a malfunctioning valve and to accelerate fuel cell startup safely.
Allowable Subject Matter
Claims 5-8, 10, 18 and 20 are objected to as being dependent upon a rejected base claim, but would be allowable if rewritten in independent form including all of the limitations of the base claim and any intervening claims. These claims would be allowable if rewritten to overcome the rejection(s) under 35 U.S.C. 112(b) or 35 U.S.C. 112 (pre-AIA ), 2nd paragraph, set forth in this Office action and to include all of the limitations of the base claim and any intervening claims.
The following is an examiner’s statement of reasons for allowance.
Claims 5 and 18 recite that the plurality of reference Q values comprises Q1, Q2, Q3, Q4, and Q5, wherein Q1 < Q2 < Q3 < Q4 < Q5, and Q5 is inversely proportional to the operating voltage. The prior art of record, alone or in combination, fails to teach or suggest an accumulating electrical charge threshold Q that is dynamically scaled in inverse proportion to stack operating voltage during cathode oxygen depletion. While Reiser teaches integrating coulombs to fixed volumetric end-points [pars. 0028-32], and Hoshi discloses static current-voltage power requirement curves [Figs. 4,6], the prior art does not teach varying a charge threshold based on operating voltage to improve diagnostic discrimination along an ambiguous COD confirmation boundary line (LN3).
Claim 7 recites selecting the startup control based on a specific tripartite partition of the current-voltage plane bounded by:
a first area below and bounded by the normal COD confirmation line of the fuel cell stack (LN3), selecting basic COD control;
a second area bounded by the normal COD line (LN3), the allowable maximum resistance line of the resistive load (LN5), and the stack EOL minus decision margin line (LN2), selecting quickness-focused control; and
a third area outside the first and second areas, selecting protection-focused control.
The prior art fails to teach or suggest this multi-variable geometric boundary coordination combining stack aging lines (LN2), normal depletion thresholds (LN3), and load resistance limits (LN5) to route real-time startup execution between basic, expedited, and protective modes.
Claims 10 and 20 recite an operational sequence specifically configured to:
turn off the air compressor;
stand by until stack voltage becomes less than a drop completion reference voltage or reference time elapses;
after the standing by, turn off the resistive electrical load;
connect the main relay and open the ACV;
turn on the air compressor to supply air to the cathode; and
perform a startup purge.
The prior art fails to teach or suggest turning off the reactant air supply while maintaining the resistive depletion load in an active ON state during the standby wait period specifically to accelerate bleeding stack voltage down below the contactor closure threshold before turning off the load.
Conclusion
HAROON S. SHEIKH
Primary Examiner
Art Unit 1751
/Haroon S. Sheikh/ Primary Examiner, Art Unit 1751