DETAILED ACTION
Information Disclosure Statement
The information disclosure statement (IDS)s submitted on 09/13/2024, 09/03/2025 and 10/15/2025 have been considered by the examiner.
Priority
Acknowledgment is made of applicant’s claim for foreign priority based on Japanese Patent Application No JP2020-146391, filed on August 31, 2020.
Double Patenting
Claims 1-9 are non-provisionally rejected on the ground of nonstatutory double patenting as being unpatentable over claims 1-7 and 12-13 of copending Application No. 17/406,420 (US12114241B2) (reference application). Although the claims at issue are not identical, they are not patentably distinct from each other because the instant application has similar claims than the similar but broader claims of the reference application.
This is a non-provisional nonstatutory double patenting rejection because the patentably indistinct claims have not in fact been patented.
Claim Interpretation
This application includes one or more claim limitations that do not use the word “means,” but are nonetheless being interpreted under 35 U.S.C. 112(f) or pre-AIA 35 U.S.C. 112, sixth paragraph, because the claim limitation(s) uses a generic placeholder that is coupled with functional language without reciting sufficient structure to perform the recited function and the generic placeholder is not preceded by a structural modifier. Such claim limitation(s) is/are: an information acquisition section configured to, display section and a display control section configured to as in SPEC (pages 42 and 67) in claims 1-8.
Claim Rejections - 35 USC § 101
Claims 1-9 are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 101 because the claimed invention is directed to non-statutory subject matter.
In particular, claims are directed to a judicial exception (abstract idea) without significantly more.
Re Claim 1:
Claim 1 recites:
A display control device installed in a vehicle configured to enable autonomous driving, the display control device comprising:
an information acquisition section configured to acquire information relating to a peripheral vehicle that is present ahead of the vehicle and in a subject vehicle lane in which the vehicle is currently traveling,
and information relating to a vehicle requiring caution that is present outside of the subject vehicle lane and has implications for control during the autonomous driving;
and a display control section configured to display an image of the peripheral vehicle, regarding which information has been acquired by the information acquisition section, on a display section provided inside a cabin of the vehicle,
and to additionally display, on the display section, an image of the vehicle requiring caution, by employing a different display mode from that for the image of the peripheral vehicle, in a case in which information relating to the vehicle requiring caution has been acquired by the information acquisition section.
Under Step 1 Claim 1 is a system claim same as claims 2-7.
Under Step 2A -Prong 1:
The identified claim limitations that recite an abstract idea fall within the enumerated groupings of abstract ideas in Section 1 of the 2019 Revised Patent Subject Matter Eligibility Guidance published in the Federal Register (84 FR 50) on January 7, 2019. These fall under mental process.
Claim 1 recites “autonomous driving; and
Under Step 2A - Prong 2; the claims recite the additional elements of “a display control device installed in a vehicle configured to enable autonomous driving, the display control device comprising”, “an information acquisition section”, “a display control section configured to display”, “the information acquisition section, on a display section provided inside a cabin of the vehicle” and “to additionally display, on the display section, an image” steps is not more than adding the words “apply it” (or an equivalent) with the judicial exception, or mere instructions to implement an abstract idea on a computer, or merely uses a computer as a tool to perform an abstract idea - see MPEP 2106.05(f). Accordingly, these additional elements, when considered separately and as an ordered combination, do not integrate the abstract idea without a practical application because they do not impose any meaningful limits on practicing the abstract idea and are at a high level of generality. Therefore, claim 1 is directed to an abstract idea without a practical application.
Under Step 2B:
The claims do not include additional elements that are sufficient to amount to significantly more that the judicial exception because, when considered separately and as an ordered combination, they do not add significantly more (also known as an “inventive concept”) to the exception. As discussed above with respect to integration of the abstract idea into a practical application, the additional element of using a computer hardware amounts to no more than mere instructions to apply the exception using a generic computer component. Mere instructions to apply an exception using a generic computer component cannot provide an inventive concept. Accordingly, these additional elements, do not change the outcome of the analysis, when considered separately and as an ordered combination. Thus, claims 1-7 are not patent eligible.
Therefore, the method claim 8 and the processor claim 9 are rejected under the same rationales used in the rejections of claim 1 outlined above.
Dependent claims 2-7 Dependent claims further define the abstract idea that is present in their respective independent claim 1 and thus correspond to Mental Processes and hence are abstract for the reasons presented above. The dependent claims do not include any additional elements that integrate the abstract idea into a practical application or are sufficient to amount to significantly more than the judicial exception when considered both individually and as an ordered combination. Therefore, the dependent claims are directed to an abstract idea. Thus, the claims 1-9 are not patent-eligible.
Claim Rejections - 35 USC § 103
Claims 1-9 are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being unpatentable in view of Mimura (US 2020/0079379 A1) in view of Kimura (US 2017/0240109 A1).
Regarding claim 1, Mimura discloses a display control device installed in a vehicle configured to enable autonomous driving, the display control device comprising: (see Mimura figure 2 and para “0038” “a display device displays results of recognition of the vicinity of a vehicle when the vehicle performs automated driving (autonomous driving) control”),
an information acquisition section configured to acquire information relating to a peripheral vehicle that is present ahead of the vehicle and in a subject vehicle lane in which the vehicle is currently traveling (see Mimura figure 8 and paras “0063” and “0097” “a display that displays an image; a recognizer that recognizes objects including other vehicles present in the vicinity of a subject vehicle; a driving controller that generates a target trajectory of the subject vehicle on the basis of states of the objects recognized by the recognizer” and “FIG. 8 is a diagram illustrating one example of an image IM1 displayed on the second display 32B…the subject vehicle M runs in a lane L1, and another vehicle m1 is a vehicle running ahead that runs in front of the subject vehicle M in the same lane. Other vehicles m2 to m4 are vehicles running in a lane L2 adjacent to the right side of the lane L1” and via para “0130” regarding showing on a display as shown in figure 8 a target vehicle traveling in same lane ahead of the subject vehicle),
and a display control section configured to display an image of the peripheral vehicle, regarding which information has been acquired by the information acquisition section, on a display section provided inside a cabin of the vehicle (see Mimura figure 8 and paras “0063” and “0097” “a display that displays an image; a recognizer that recognizes objects including other vehicles present in the vicinity of a subject vehicle; a driving controller that generates a target trajectory of the subject vehicle on the basis of states of the objects recognized by the recognizer” and “FIG. 8 is a diagram illustrating one example of an image IM1 displayed on the second display 32B…the subject vehicle M runs in a lane L1, and another vehicle m1 is a vehicle running ahead that runs in front of the subject vehicle M in the same lane. Other vehicles m2 to m4 are vehicles running in a lane L2 adjacent to the right side of the lane L1” and via para “0130” regarding showing on a display as shown in figure 8 a target vehicle traveling in same lane ahead of the subject vehicle),
Mimura discloses another subject vehicle outside of the subject vehicle in the adjacent lane (see Mimura at least figure 8 and para “0097”) and to additionally display, on the display section, an image of the vehicle (see at least Mimura fig 8 and para “0104”), But Mimura fails to explicitly teach and information relating to a vehicle requiring caution that is present outside of the subject vehicle lane and has implications for control during the autonomous driving and to additionally display, on the display section, an image of the vehicle requiring caution, by employing a different display mode from that for the image of the peripheral vehicle, in a case in which information relating to the vehicle requiring caution has been acquired by the information acquisition section.
However Kimura teaches information relating to a vehicle requiring caution that is present outside of the subject vehicle lane and has implications for control during the autonomous driving (see Kimura paras “0186” “In addition, there is no need for the display device to limit the projection of the blinking display P only during autonomous driving. The host vehicle M need not be capable of traveling in autonomous driving mode. The display device may project the blinking display P for the squeezing candidate vehicle Na, for the preceding vehicle Nb, and for the white line that the host vehicle has approached, also during manual driving (including driving assistance in which the manual driving by the driver is mainly performed). In addition, even when the host vehicle M is traveling on a monotonous road that requires little driving operation, the blinking display P, if projected, alerts the driver by and, at the same time, prevents the driving awareness from being reduced. In this case, the flowcharts shown in FIGS. 9, 10, and 15 are executed when the host vehicle M is traveling” and via para “0188” “the display control unit 18 projects the second blinking display Pb for alerting the driver to the preceding vehicle.” regarding alerting the driver of the subject vehicle (through a blinker on a display) that a preceding vehicle is trying to merge in the travelling lane of the subject vehicle, in order to be notified by the driver that the autonomous driving will be switched to the driver to drive the vehicle manually in order to act with caution while the preceding vehicle squeeze in front of the subject vehicle),
requiring caution, by employing a different display mode from that for the image of the peripheral vehicle, in a case in which information relating to the vehicle requiring caution has been acquired by the information acquisition section (see Kimura paras “0186” “In addition, there is no need for the display device to limit the projection of the blinking display P only during autonomous driving. The host vehicle M need not be capable of traveling in autonomous driving mode. The display device may project the blinking display P for the squeezing candidate vehicle Na, for the preceding vehicle Nb, and for the white line that the host vehicle has approached, also during manual driving (including driving assistance in which the manual driving by the driver is mainly performed). In addition, even when the host vehicle M is traveling on a monotonous road that requires little driving operation, the blinking display P, if projected, alerts the driver by and, at the same time, prevents the driving awareness from being reduced. In this case, the flowcharts shown in FIGS. 9, 10, and 15 are executed when the host vehicle M is traveling” and via para “0188” “the display control unit 18 projects the second blinking display Pb for alerting the driver to the preceding vehicle.” regarding alerting the driver of the subject vehicle (through a blinker on a display) that a preceding vehicle trying to merge in the travelling lane of the subject vehicle, in order to be notified by the driver that the autonomous driving will be switched to the driver to drive the vehicle manually in order to act with caution while the preceding vehicle squeeze in front of the subject vehicle).
It would have been obvious to a person having ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date of the claimed invention to modify the invention of Mimura for a vehicle control device, vehicle control method and storage medium to “alert the driver of an object ahead of the subject vehicle through a warning on a display” as taught by Kimura (paras. [0177]- [0186]) in order to prevent the driving awareness of the driver from being reduced.
Regarding claim 2, Mimura discloses wherein the display section is a heads-up display configured to display the respective images overlaid on a scene ahead as viewed through a windshield of the vehicle by an occupant in a driver's seat of the vehicle (see Mimura para “0048” “A head-up display (HUD) device may be included in the display device 32 instead of (or in addition to) the first display 32A and the second display 32B. The HUD device is a device causing an image to be visually recognized with being superimposed on a landscape and, as one example, is a device allowing an observer to visually recognize a virtual image by transmitting light including an image to a front windshield or a combiner of the subject vehicle M. The observer, for example, is a driver and may be a vehicle occupant other than the driver.”).
Regarding claim 3, Mimura teaches wherein the display control section displays the image of the object and emphasis an image when another vehicle is influencing the travel trajectory of the vehicle (see at least paras “0013-0014” and “0104”) but Mimura fails to explicitly teach wherein the display control section displays the image of the vehicle requiring caution on the display section with greater emphasis than the image of the peripheral vehicle.
However Kimura teaches wherein the display control section displays the image of the vehicle requiring caution on the display section with greater emphasis than the image of the peripheral vehicle (see Kimura paras “0177” and “0186” “When it is determined that the squeezing candidate vehicle Na has entered the traveling lane R1, the display control unit 18 projects the blinking display Pd below the image of the squeezing candidate vehicle Na on the windshield W within the display outer frame C1 as seen by the driver sees from the driver eye point Ep. Since there is a strong need to alert the driver, the number of blinks of the after-squeezing blinking display Pd may be set larger than the number of blinks Ni of first blinking display Pa before the squeezing. Instead of increasing the number of blinks, the visual stimulus may be strengthened by making the blinking cycle shorter to make it easier for driver to notice the squeezing.).
It would have been obvious to a person having ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date of the claimed invention to modify the invention of Mimura for a vehicle control device, vehicle control method and storage medium to “alert the driver of an object ahead of the subject vehicle through a warning on a display” as taught by Kimura (paras. [0177]- [0186]) in order to prevent the driving awareness of the driver from being reduced.
Regarding claim 4, Mimura teaches wherein the display control section displays the image of the vehicle in a different color from the image of the peripheral vehicle (see Mimura figure 8 regarding showing the peripheral target vehicle “m1” with a different highlight than the vehicle “m2” [i.e. image of the object] and also via para “0104”), but Mimura fails to explicitly teach an object requiring caution.
However Kimura teaches the image of the vehicle requiring caution (see Kimura paras “0177” and “0186” “When it is determined that the squeezing candidate vehicle Na has entered the traveling lane R1, the display control unit 18 projects the blinking display Pd below the image of the squeezing candidate vehicle Na on the windshield W within the display outer frame C1 as seen by the driver sees from the driver eye point Ep. Since there is a strong need to alert the driver, the number of blinks of the after-squeezing blinking display Pd may be set larger than the number of blinks Ni of first blinking display Pa before the squeezing. Instead of increasing the number of blinks, the visual stimulus may be strengthened by making the blinking cycle shorter to make it easier for driver to notice the squeezing.).
It would have been obvious to a person having ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date of the claimed invention to modify the invention of Mimura for a vehicle control device, vehicle control method and storage medium to “alert the driver of an object ahead of the subject vehicle through a warning on a display” as taught by Kimura (paras. [0177]- [0186]) in order to prevent the driving awareness of the driver from being reduced.
Regarding claim 5, Mimura teaches wherein, in a case in which the information acquisition section has acquired information relating to the object requiring caution that is present ahead of the vehicle and a HUD to display images on the windshield in front of the driver or passenger (see at least Mimura paras “0048”, “0063”, “0097” and “0104”) but fails to explicitly teach wherein, in a case in which the information acquisition section has acquired information relating to the vehicle requiring caution that is present ahead of the vehicle, the display control section displays the vehicle requiring caution on the display section as an image simulating a state viewed through a windshield of the vehicle by an occupant in a driver's seat of the vehicle.
However Kimura teaches wherein, in a case in which the information acquisition section has acquired information relating to the vehicle requiring caution that is present ahead of the vehicle, the display control section displays the vehicle requiring caution on the display section as an image simulating a state viewed through a windshield of the vehicle by an occupant in a driver's seat of the vehicle (see Kimura paras “0008-0009” “a display unit configured to display an image on a windshield of a host vehicle; and an electronic control unit configured to recognize other vehicles that are present around the host vehicle; determine whether a squeezing candidate vehicle presents ahead of the host vehicle, based on a recognition result of the other vehicles” and “if it is determined that there is a squeezing candidate vehicle that may squeeze before the host vehicle, the display device projects the first blinking display onto the windshield to alert the driver to the squeezing candidate vehicle”).
It would have been obvious to a person having ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date of the claimed invention to modify the invention of Mimura for a vehicle control device, vehicle control method and storage medium to “alert the driver of an object ahead of the subject vehicle through a warning on a display such as a blinker” as taught by Kimura (paras. [0008-0009]) in order to prevent the driving awareness of the driver from being reduced.
Regarding claim 6, Mimura teaches wherein, in a case in which the information acquisition section has acquired information relating to the vehicle , which is present to the rear or to a side of the vehicle, the display control section displays the vehicle and the vehicle on the display section as an image simulating a state viewed from obliquely above and to the rear of the vehicle (see Mimura figure 8 regarding displaying an image simulating the own vehicle from above and to the rear of the own vehicle).
But Mimura fails to teach the vehicle requiring caution.
However Kimura teaches wherein, in a case in which the information acquisition section has acquired information relating to the vehicle requiring caution, which is present to the rear or to a side of the vehicle, the display control section displays the vehicle requiring caution (see Kimura paras “0186” “In addition, there is no need for the display device to limit the projection of the blinking display P only during autonomous driving. The host vehicle M need not be capable of traveling in autonomous driving mode. The display device may project the blinking display P for the squeezing candidate vehicle Na, for the preceding vehicle Nb, and for the white line that the host vehicle has approached, also during manual driving (including driving assistance in which the manual driving by the driver is mainly performed). In addition, even when the host vehicle M is traveling on a monotonous road that requires little driving operation, the blinking display P, if projected, alerts the driver by and, at the same time, prevents the driving awareness from being reduced. In this case, the flowcharts shown in FIGS. 9, 10, and 15 are executed when the host vehicle M is traveling” and via para “0188” “the display control unit 18 projects the second blinking display Pb for alerting the driver to the preceding vehicle.” regarding alerting the driver of the subject vehicle (through a blinker on a display) that a preceding vehicle trying to merge in the travelling lane of the subject vehicle, in order to be notified by the driver that the autonomous driving will be switched to the driver to drive the vehicle manually in order to act with caution while the preceding vehicle squeeze in front of the subject vehicle).
It would have been obvious to a person having ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date of the claimed invention to modify the invention of Mimura for a vehicle control device, vehicle control method and storage medium to “alert the driver of an object ahead of the subject vehicle through a warning on a display” as taught by Kimura (paras. [0177]- [0186]) in order to prevent the driving awareness of the driver from being reduced.
Regarding claim 7, Mimura teaches wherein: the display section is a heads-up display configured to display the respective images overlaid on a scene ahead as viewed through a windshield of the vehicle by an occupant in a driver's seat of the vehicle; a meter display having a larger display region than the heads-up display is provided at an instrument panel of the vehicle (see Mimura paras “0047-0048” “FIG. 2 is a diagram schematically illustrating a view of a vehicle cabin of a subject vehicle M. For example, the first display 32A is disposed near a front face of a driver' seat (for example, a seat that is the closest to a steering wheel) on an instrument panel IP and is disposed at a position at which it can be visually recognized by a vehicle occupant through a gap of the steering wheel or over the steering wheel.” and “The HUD device is a device causing an image to be visually recognized with being superimposed on a landscape and, as one example, is a device allowing an observer to visually recognize a virtual image by transmitting light including an image to a front windshield or a combiner of the subject vehicle M. The observer, for example, is a driver and may be a vehicle occupant other than the driver”)
and the display control section is configured to display the vehicle and the periphery of the vehicle on the meter display as an image simulating a state viewed from obliquely above and to the rear of the vehicle (as shown in figure 8 regarding showing the back of the subject vehicle and the periphery).
Regarding claim 8, Mimura discloses a display control method for implementation by a processor installed in a vehicle configured to enable autonomous driving, the display control method comprising: (see Mimura figure 2 and paras “0013” and “0038” “A vehicle control method according to one aspect of the present invention is a vehicle control method using an in-vehicle computer mounted in a subject vehicle including a display that displays images” and “a display device displays results of recognition of the vicinity of a vehicle when the vehicle performs automated driving (autonomous driving) control”),
attempting to acquire information relating to a peripheral vehicle that is present ahead of the vehicle and in a subject vehicle lane in which the vehicle is currently traveling (see Mimura figure 8 and paras “0063” and “0097” “a display that displays an image; a recognizer that recognizes objects including other vehicles present in the vicinity of a subject vehicle; a driving controller that generates a target trajectory of the subject vehicle on the basis of states of the objects recognized by the recognizer” and “FIG. 8 is a diagram illustrating one example of an image IM1 displayed on the second display 32B…the subject vehicle M runs in a lane L1, and another vehicle m1 is a vehicle running ahead that runs in front of the subject vehicle M in the same lane. Other vehicles m2 to m4 are vehicles running in a lane L2 adjacent to the right side of the lane L1” and via para “0130” regarding showing on a display as shown in figure 8 a target vehicle traveling in same lane ahead of the subject vehicle),
displaying an image of the peripheral vehicle, regarding which information has been acquired, on a display section provided inside a cabin of the vehicle (see Mimura figure 8 and paras “0063” and “0097” “a display that displays an image; a recognizer that recognizes objects including other vehicles present in the vicinity of a subject vehicle; a driving controller that generates a target trajectory of the subject vehicle on the basis of states of the objects recognized by the recognizer” and “FIG. 8 is a diagram illustrating one example of an image IM1 displayed on the second display 32B…the subject vehicle M runs in a lane L1, and another vehicle m1 is a vehicle running ahead that runs in front of the subject vehicle M in the same lane. Other vehicles m2 to m4 are vehicles running in a lane L2 adjacent to the right side of the lane L1” and via para “0130” regarding showing on a display as shown in figure 8 a target vehicle traveling in same lane ahead of the subject vehicle),
Mimura discloses another subject vehicle outside of the subject vehicle in the adjacent lane (see Mimura at least figure 8 and para “0097”) and additionally displaying, on the display section, an image of the vehicle (see at least Mimura fig 8 and para “0104”), But Mimura fails to explicitly teach information relating to a vehicle requiring caution that is present outside of the subject vehicle lane and has implications for control during the autonomous driving and additionally displaying, on the display section, an image of the vehicle requiring caution, by employing a different display mode from that for the image of the peripheral vehicle, in a case in which information relating to the vehicle requiring caution has been acquired.
However Kimura teaches information relating to a vehicle requiring caution that is present outside of the subject vehicle lane and has implications for control during the autonomous driving (see Kimura paras “0186” “In addition, there is no need for the display device to limit the projection of the blinking display P only during autonomous driving. The host vehicle M need not be capable of traveling in autonomous driving mode. The display device may project the blinking display P for the squeezing candidate vehicle Na, for the preceding vehicle Nb, and for the white line that the host vehicle has approached, also during manual driving (including driving assistance in which the manual driving by the driver is mainly performed). In addition, even when the host vehicle M is traveling on a monotonous road that requires little driving operation, the blinking display P, if projected, alerts the driver by and, at the same time, prevents the driving awareness from being reduced. In this case, the flowcharts shown in FIGS. 9, 10, and 15 are executed when the host vehicle M is traveling” and via para “0188” “the display control unit 18 projects the second blinking display Pb for alerting the driver to the preceding vehicle.” regarding alerting the driver of the subject vehicle (through a blinker on a display) that a preceding vehicle trying to merge in the travelling lane of the subject vehicle, in order to be notified by the driver that the autonomous driving will be switched to the driver to drive the vehicle manually in order to act with caution while the preceding vehicle squeeze in front of the subject vehicle),
requiring caution, by employing a different display mode from that for the image of the peripheral vehicle, in a case in which information relating to the vehicle requiring caution has been acquired (see Kimura paras “0186” “In addition, there is no need for the display device to limit the projection of the blinking display P only during autonomous driving. The host vehicle M need not be capable of traveling in autonomous driving mode. The display device may project the blinking display P for the squeezing candidate vehicle Na, for the preceding vehicle Nb, and for the white line that the host vehicle has approached, also during manual driving (including driving assistance in which the manual driving by the driver is mainly performed). In addition, even when the host vehicle M is traveling on a monotonous road that requires little driving operation, the blinking display P, if projected, alerts the driver by and, at the same time, prevents the driving awareness from being reduced. In this case, the flowcharts shown in FIGS. 9, 10, and 15 are executed when the host vehicle M is traveling” and via para “0188” “the display control unit 18 projects the second blinking display Pb for alerting the driver to the preceding vehicle.” regarding alerting the driver of the subject vehicle (through a blinker on a display) that a preceding vehicle trying to merge in the travelling lane of the subject vehicle, in order to be notified by the driver that the autonomous driving will be switched to the driver to drive the vehicle manually in order to act with caution while the preceding vehicle squeeze in front of the subject vehicle).
It would have been obvious to a person having ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date of the claimed invention to modify the invention of Mimura for a vehicle control device, vehicle control method and storage medium to “alert the driver of an object ahead of the subject vehicle through a warning on a display” as taught by Kimura (paras. [0177]- [0186]) in order to prevent the driving awareness of the driver from being reduced.
Regarding claim 9, Mimura discloses a display control program executable by a processor installed in a vehicle configured to enable autonomous driving, the display control program comprising: (see Mimura figure 2 and paras “0013-0014” and “0038” “A vehicle control method according to one aspect of the present invention is a vehicle control method using an in-vehicle computer mounted in a subject vehicle including a display that displays images” and “a display device displays results of recognition of the vicinity of a vehicle when the vehicle performs automated driving (autonomous driving) control”),
attempting to acquire information relating to a peripheral vehicle that is present ahead of the vehicle and in a subject vehicle lane in which the vehicle is currently traveling (see Mimura figure 8 and paras “0063” and “0097” “a display that displays an image; a recognizer that recognizes objects including other vehicles present in the vicinity of a subject vehicle; a driving controller that generates a target trajectory of the subject vehicle on the basis of states of the objects recognized by the recognizer” and “FIG. 8 is a diagram illustrating one example of an image IM1 displayed on the second display 32B…the subject vehicle M runs in a lane L1, and another vehicle m1 is a vehicle running ahead that runs in front of the subject vehicle M in the same lane. Other vehicles m2 to m4 are vehicles running in a lane L2 adjacent to the right side of the lane L1” and via para “0130” regarding showing on a display as shown in figure 8 a target vehicle traveling in same lane ahead of the subject vehicle),
displaying an image of the peripheral vehicle, regarding which information has been acquired, on a display section provided inside a cabin of the vehicle (see Mimura figure 8 and paras “0063” and “0097” “a display that displays an image; a recognizer that recognizes objects including other vehicles present in the vicinity of a subject vehicle; a driving controller that generates a target trajectory of the subject vehicle on the basis of states of the objects recognized by the recognizer” and “FIG. 8 is a diagram illustrating one example of an image IM1 displayed on the second display 32B…the subject vehicle M runs in a lane L1, and another vehicle m1 is a vehicle running ahead that runs in front of the subject vehicle M in the same lane. Other vehicles m2 to m4 are vehicles running in a lane L2 adjacent to the right side of the lane L1” and via para “0130” regarding showing on a display as shown in figure 8 a target vehicle traveling in same lane ahead of the subject vehicle),
Mimura discloses another subject vehicle outside of the subject vehicle in the adjacent lane (see Mimura at least figure 8 and para “0097”) and additionally displaying, on the display section, an image of the vehicle (see at least Mimura fig 8 and para “0104”), But Mimura fails to explicitly teach information relating to a vehicle requiring caution that is present outside of the subject vehicle lane and has implications for control during the autonomous driving and additionally displaying, on the display section, an image of the vehicle requiring caution, by employing a different display mode from that for the image of the peripheral vehicle, in a case in which information relating to the vehicle requiring caution has been acquired.
However, Kimura teaches information relating to a vehicle requiring caution that is present outside of the subject vehicle lane and has implications for control during the autonomous driving (see Kimura paras “0186” “In addition, there is no need for the display device to limit the projection of the blinking display P only during autonomous driving. The host vehicle M need not be capable of traveling in autonomous driving mode. The display device may project the blinking display P for the squeezing candidate vehicle Na, for the preceding vehicle Nb, and for the white line that the host vehicle has approached, also during manual driving (including driving assistance in which the manual driving by the driver is mainly performed). In addition, even when the host vehicle M is traveling on a monotonous road that requires little driving operation, the blinking display P, if projected, alerts the driver by and, at the same time, prevents the driving awareness from being reduced. In this case, the flowcharts shown in FIGS. 9, 10, and 15 are executed when the host vehicle M is traveling” and via para “0188” “the display control unit 18 projects the second blinking display Pb for alerting the driver to the preceding vehicle.” regarding alerting the driver of the subject vehicle (through a blinker on a display) that a preceding vehicle trying to merge in the travelling lane of the subject vehicle, in order to be notified by the driver that the autonomous driving will be switched to the driver to drive the vehicle manually in order to act with caution while the preceding vehicle squeeze in front of the subject vehicle),
requiring caution, by employing a different display mode from that for the image of the peripheral vehicle, in a case in which information relating to the vehicle requiring caution has been acquired. (see Kimura paras “0186” “In addition, there is no need for the display device to limit the projection of the blinking display P only during autonomous driving. The host vehicle M need not be capable of traveling in autonomous driving mode. The display device may project the blinking display P for the squeezing candidate vehicle Na, for the preceding vehicle Nb, and for the white line that the host vehicle has approached, also during manual driving (including driving assistance in which the manual driving by the driver is mainly performed). In addition, even when the host vehicle M is traveling on a monotonous road that requires little driving operation, the blinking display P, if projected, alerts the driver by and, at the same time, prevents the driving awareness from being reduced. In this case, the flowcharts shown in FIGS. 9, 10, and 15 are executed when the host vehicle M is traveling” and via para “0188” “the display control unit 18 projects the second blinking display Pb for alerting the driver to the preceding vehicle.” regarding alerting the driver of the subject vehicle (through a blinker on a display) that a preceding vehicle trying to merge in the travelling lane of the subject vehicle, in order to be notified by the driver that the autonomous driving will be switched to the driver to drive the vehicle manually in order to act with caution while the preceding vehicle squeeze in front of the subject vehicle).
It would have been obvious to a person having ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date of the claimed invention to modify the invention of Mimura for a vehicle control device, vehicle control method and storage medium to “alert the driver of an object ahead of the subject vehicle through a warning on a display” as taught by Kimura (paras. [0177]- [0186]) in order to prevent the driving awareness of the driver from being reduced.
Conclusion
/HOSSAM M ABD EL LATIF/Examiner, Art Unit 3664