DETAILED ACTION
Response to Amendment
This action is responsive to communication filed on 06/09/2026. Claims 1-2, 5-13 remain pending, with claim 1 currently amended.
Priority
Acknowledgment is made of applicant's claim for foreign priority based on an application filed in JP on 08/29/2023. It is noted, however, that applicant has not filed a certified copy of the JP2023-138611 application as required by 37 CFR 1.55. An attempt to retrieve the documents electronically was unsuccessful on 01/29/2025.
Claim Rejections - 35 USC § 102
Claim(s) 1, 6-7, and 10-11 is/are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 102(a)(1) as being anticipated by US Patent 8,769,733 (hereinafter Galyean).
Regarding claim 1, Galyean discloses a water discharge device comprising: a first water discharge unit (504) configured to discharge hot water toward a first discharge range corresponding to a back side of a neck of a user who is to be at a predetermined position (shoulders are below a neck; see annotated fig. below); and a second water discharge unit (506) configured to discharge hot water toward a second discharge range corresponding to a front side of a body of the user below the first discharge range (upper torso is below shoulder; see annotated fig. below), wherein the first water discharge unit and the second water discharge unit are disposed facing each other with the predetermined position being located between the first water discharge unit and the second water discharge unit (see annotated fig. below), the first water discharge unit and the second water discharge unit are configured to discharge hot water such that the hot water is spread out (see fig. 7C shows a spread out pattern of fluid dispensed), the hot water discharged from the first water discharge unit is locally spread-out discharged, while the hot water discharged from the second water discharge unit is discharged more widely spread-out than the hot water discharged from the first water discharge unit (the system has configurable spray patterns determined by flow rate and number of activated valves; accordingly the system is able to produce the claimed discharge pattern since a user can select such a comparative spray pattern if so desired; col. 3, ln. 45-58), and
a temperature of the hot water when the hot water reaches the user after having been discharged from the first water discharge unit is lower than a temperature of the hot water when the hot water reaches the user after having been discharged from the second water discharge unit (“Each of the sources 202-208 can be connected to a zone by opening one of solenoid valves S1-S16 to each of zones 210-216. For example, opening solenoid valve S1 connects 70.degree. F. water from source 202 to zone 1 (210). Similarly, opening solenoid valve S2 connects 70.degree. F. water from source 202 to zone 2 (213). Opening solenoid valve S3 connects 70.degree. F. water from source 202 to zone 3 (214). Finally, opening solenoid valve S4 connects 70.degree. F. water from source 202 to zone 4 (216). In a like manner, opening valve S5 connects 98.degree. F. water from source 204 to zone 1 (210). etc.” col. 4, ln. 26-35).
Regarding claim 6, Galyean discloses wherein the second water discharge unit is configured to discharge the hot water toward a front side, a left side and a right side of the user (a user can turn or rotate their body to face the second discharge unit such that each of a front, left, and right side is contacted by water).
Regarding claim 7, Galyean discloses further comprising: an operation unit (500) configured to perform an operational input to the first water discharge unit and/or the second water discharge unit, wherein the first water discharge unit and the operation unit are disposed facing each other with the predetermined position being located between the first water discharge unit and the operation unit (see annotated fig. 7C above regarding button location).
Regarding claim 10, Galyean discloses further comprising: a mixing valve (“thermostatic mixing valve” col. 3, ln. 66-67) connected to a cold water supply pipe (222) and a hot water supply pipe (220) to generate the hot water; a first flow channel portion connecting the mixing valve and the first water discharge unit (see annotated fig. 2 – shows flow path channel that connects mixing valve at 204 to zone 2/212); and a second flow channel portion connecting the mixing valve and the second water discharge unit (see annotated fig. 2 – show flow path channel that connects mixing valve at 204 to zone 3/214) (col. 4, ln. 26-35), wherein the first flow channel portion and the second flow channel portion branch off from a branch portion provided downstream of the mixing valve (see annotated fig. 2), a flow velocity of the hot water discharged from the second water discharge unit after having been flown through the second flow channel portion is slower than a flow velocity of the hot water discharged from the first water discharge unit after having been flown through the first flow channel portion (col. 4, ln. 52-64), and a length of the second flow channel portion is longer than a length of the first flow channel portion (see annotated fig. 2).
Regarding claim 11, Galyean discloses further comprising: a mixing valve (“thermostatic mixing valve” col. 3, ln. 66-67) connected to a cold water supply pipe (222) and a hot water supply pipe (220) to generate the hot water; a first flow channel portion connecting the mixing valve and the first water discharge unit (see annotated fig. 2 – shows flow path channel that connects mixing valve at 204 to zone 2/212); a second flow channel portion connecting the mixing valve and the second water discharge unit (see annotated fig. 2 – show flow path channel that connects mixing valve at 204 to zone 3/214) (col. 4, ln. 26-35); and a temperature lowering device (solenoid valves) provided to actively lower a temperature of the hot water discharged from the first water discharge unit after having been flown through the first flow channel portion (col. 4, ln. 52-64), wherein the first flow channel portion and the second flow channel portion branch off from a branch portion provided downstream of the mixing valve (see annotated fig. 2 above), and a length of the second flow channel portion is longer than a length of the first flow channel portion (see annotated fig. 2 above).
Claim Rejections - 35 USC § 103
Claim(s) 2, 5, 8-9, and 12-13 is/are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being unpatentable over Galyean in view of US Patent Application Publication 2016/0000273 (hereinafter Shah).
Regarding claim 2, Galyean shows different zones for different parts of the body but fails to show the first discharge range is configured to be variably set to accommodate a height of the user (par. 26, par. 76). Attention is turned to Shah in the same field of endeavor of hydrotherapy systems which shows providing vertical adjustability for a spray nozzle to accommodate the height of a user. It would have been obvious to one having ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing of the claimed invention to modify the water discharge device of Galyean to such that the first discharge range is configured to be variably set to accommodate a height of the user as evidenced by the teachings above.
Regarding claim 5, Galyean fails to show an angle formed by a discharge center direction of the first water discharge unit with respect to a vertical direction is larger than an angle formed by a discharge center direction of the second water discharge unit with respect to the vertical direction. Attention is again turned to Shah which shows allowing a user to make angle adjustments for a nozzle depending on a user’s needs and preferences (par. 76; fig. 2). It would have been obvious to one having ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing of the claimed invention to modify the angle formed by a discharge center direction of the first water discharge unit with respect to a vertical direction is larger than an angle formed by a discharge center direction of the second water discharge unit with respect to the vertical direction to allow a user to direct the spray at a desired location as evidenced by the teachings above.
Regarding claim 8, Galyean shows further comprising: a mixing valve (“thermostatic mixing valve” col. 3, ln. 66-67) connected to a cold water supply pipe (222) and a hot water supply pipe (220) to generate the hot water; a first flow channel portion connecting the mixing valve and the first water discharge unit (see annotated fig. 2 – shows flow path channel that connects mixing valve at 204 to zone 2/212); and a second flow channel portion connecting the mixing valve and the second water discharge unit (fig. 2 – shows flow path channel that connects mixing valve at 204 to the second water discharge unit zone 3/214) (col. 4, ln. 26-35), but is silent as to particle size and thus fails to show wherein a particle size of the hot water discharged from the first water discharge unit after having been flown through the first flow channel portion is smaller than a particle size of the hot water discharged from the second water discharge unit after having been flown through the second flow channel portion. Attention is turned again to Shah which teaches configuring a spray nozzle selectively as a mist allows for a quick shower and comfortable for a user (par. 14, 15). Shah further teaches that the nozzle sprays can have different internal diameters (par. 43, 44) to optimize the desired effect of the mist spray. Accordingly, it would have been obvious to one having ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing of the claimed invention to modify the system of Galyean such that a particle size of the hot water discharged from the first water discharge unit after having been flown through the first flow channel portion is smaller than a particle size of the hot water discharged from the second water discharge unit after having been flown through the second flow channel portion to allow a user different affects from sized droplets as evidenced by the teachings above.
Regarding claim 9, Galyean shows further comprising: a mixing valve (“thermostatic mixing valve” col. 3, ln. 66-67) connected to a cold water supply pipe (222) and a hot water supply pipe (220) to generate the hot water; a first flow channel portion connecting the mixing valve and the first water discharge unit (see annotated fig. 2 – shows flow path channel that connects mixing valve at 204 to zone 2/212); and a second flow channel portion connecting the mixing valve and the second water discharge unit (see annotated fig. 2 – shows flow path channel that connects mixing valve at 202 to the second water discharge unit zone 3/214) (col. 4, ln. 26-35), wherein the first flow channel portion and the second flow channel portion branch off from a branch portion provided downstream of the mixing valve (see annotated fig. 2 above), and a length of the second flow channel portion is longer than a length of the first flow channel portion (note annotated fig. 2 above) but is silent as to particular size and relative flow channel lengths and thus fails to show a particle size of the hot water discharged from the second water discharge unit after having been flown through the second flow channel portion is larger than a particle size of the hot water discharged from the first water discharge unit after having been flown through the first flow channel portion. Attention is turned again to Shah which teaches configuring a spray nozzle selectively as a mist allows for a quick shower and comfortable for a user (par. 14, 15). Shah further teaches that the nozzle sprays can have different internal diameters (par. 43, 44) to optimize the desired effect of the mist spray. Accordingly, it would have been obvious to one having ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing of the claimed invention to modify the system of Galyean such that a particle size of the hot water discharged from the first water discharge unit after having been flown through the first flow channel portion is smaller than a particle size of the hot water discharged from the second water discharge unit after having been flown through the second flow channel portion to allow a user different affects from sized droplets as evidenced by the teachings above.
Regarding claim 12, under the modification set forth above, Shah shows wherein the first water discharge unit is configured to discharge the hot water in a mist form (par. 14, 15).
Regarding claim 13, Galyean discloses a plurality of second water discharge units are provided (see fig. 7C), and one or a plurality of second branch portions are provided between the plurality of second water discharge units and the branch portion (see annotated fig. 2 above and fig. 7C).
Response to Arguments
Applicant's arguments filed 06/09/2026 have been fully considered but they are not persuasive. Applicant merely alleges that the prior art fails to show the claimed features but fails to point out any specifics as to how the rejection above fails to teach the limitations. Notably, the language from claims 3 and 4 have been incorporated into claim 1 as well as additional limitations pertaining to the spray pattern spread. The rejection of claims 3 and 4 was not argued and is maintained. Regarding the new limitations pertaining to the spray pattern spread, the Examiner has presently addressed this feature as being taught by Galyean above.
Conclusion
THIS ACTION IS MADE FINAL. Applicant is reminded of the extension of time policy as set forth in 37 CFR 1.136(a).
/JANIE M LOEPPKE/Primary Examiner, Art Unit 3754