DETAILED ACTION
Claim Rejections - 35 USC § 103
Claims 1-20 are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being unpatentable over Vaudo et al. (US 2005/0009310).
Considering claim 1, Vaudo teaches a large-area semi-insulating gallium nitride substrate with a dopant of Mn, etc. (abstract). The GaN comprises a deep acceptor dopant (Paragraph 43) and comprises one or more of Mn, etc. with Mn being a particularly preferred material (Paragraph 46) and the trapped donor impurities can become thermally active at high operating temperatures and the activation energy of the deep acceptor is greater than 0.35 eV and more preferably greater than 0.75 eV (Paragraph 45).
While not expressly teaching a singular example of the claimed GaN substrate this would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date in view of the teachings of Vaudo as this is considered a combination of conventionally known deep acceptor dopant in an amount to achieve an activation energy of greater than 0.35 eV and most preferably greater than 0.75 eV overlapping that which is claimed and one would have had a reasonable expectation of success. While not expressly taught as according to the claimed expression, Vaudo teaches open-ended activation energy ranges and where this is at high temperatures overlapping that which is claimed and the method by which the activation energy is measured is not considered to render a patentable distinction over the prior art, absent an objective showing. See MPEP 2113. Further, the courts have held that where claimed ranges overlap or lie inside of those disclosed in the prior art a prima facie case of obviousness exists. See MPEP 2144.05.
Considering claim 2, Vaudo teaches where the activation energy is preferably greater than 0.75 eV (Paragraph 45). See MPEP 2144.05.
Considering claims 3-4, Vaudo teaches an overlapping activation energy as that which is claimed as outlined above and the method by which the value is measured is not considered to render a patentable distinction, absent an objective showing. See MPEP 2113 and 2144.05.
Considering claim 5, Vaudo teaches examples where the concentration of deep acceptor is 3×1016 - 7×1016 atoms (Paragraph 82) overlapping that which is claimed and the temperature at which it is measured is not considered to render a patentable distinction over the prior art. See MPEP 2113 and 2144.05.
Considering claim 6, in addition to the disclosure as outlined above, Vaudo teaches where the resistance of the doped GaN substrate is greater than 105 Ωcm (Paragraph 36) and while not disclosed at 900 K, this range overlaps and renders obvious that which is claimed, absent an objective showing. See MPEP 2144.05.
Considering claims 7 and 14, Vaudo teaches Mn as a dopant (Paragraph 46).
Considering claims 8, 12, and 16-20, Vaudo teaches a substantially identical deep acceptor as that which is claimed and therefore is considered to meet the claimed p-type carrier as a material and its properties are inseparable, absent an objective showing. See MPEP 2112.01.
Considering claims 9 and 15, Vaudo teaches where the dislocation density is not in excess of 1×107 (Paragraph 52). See MPEP 2144.05.
Considering claims 10-11, Vaudo does not expressly teach the claimed positive correlation or carrier mobility ratio, but teaches where Mn is a preferred dopant (Paragraph 46) and teaches a substantially identical deep acceptor as that which is claimed and therefore is considered to meet the claimed positive correlation and/or carrier mobility ratio as a material and its properties are inseparable, absent an objective showing. See MPEP 2112.01.
Considering claim 13, Vaudo teaches where the GaN substrate is semi-insulating (Paragraph 12), where the deep acceptor is Mn (Paragraph 46) and teaches a substantially identical deep acceptor as that which is claimed and therefore is considered to meet the claimed carrier mobility as a material and its properties are inseparable, absent an objective showing. See MPEP 2112.01.
Conclusion
The prior art made of record and not relied upon is considered pertinent to applicant's disclosure. Dwilinski et al. (US 2002/0192507 and US 2010/0327292), D’Evelyn (US 2011/0220912), and Enatsu et al. (US 2021/0384336) teach Mn doped GaN similar to that which is claimed.
SETH DUMBRIS
Primary Examiner
Art Unit 1784
/SETH DUMBRIS/Primary Examiner, Art Unit 1784