February 25, 2026
DETAILED ACTION
Claim Objections
Claims 3-4 are objected to because of the following informalities: On line 1 of claims 3-4, “an other-end portion” is improper grammar. Usually, “an other” is usually written as a single word - - another - -. However, it would be better if Applicant claimed - - a second end portion - - in both claims. Appropriate correction is required.
Claim Rejections - 35 USC § 103
Claims 1 and 5 are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being unpatentable over Binner (U.S. Patent No. 11,571,998 B2) in view of Schmale (U.S. Patent No. 6,481,801 B1).
Binner teaches the structure substantially as claimed including a vehicle seat, comprising: a pad main body 2 configuring part of a pad that supports an occupant with a seating surface; slide pad 6 that configures another part of the pad, and that approaches or moves away from the pad main body by sliding in a direction oriented along the seating surface; a cover that covers the pad main body and the slide pad, that includes a porous cover main body portion covering the pad main body, and a movable cover portion that is positioned between the pad main body and the slide pad and that is deformed by the sliding, wherein the cover includes a close-off cover portion that closes off a gap between an end portion on a slide pad side of the seal member and the cover main body portion. (see Claim 5 where it reads “….an air-permeable tensioned layer or a textile layer of an upholstery covering of the seat part element.”); and an air moving machine 13 that moves air. Binner also teaches a sealing mat 20, which is implemented, in particular, as a sealing nonwoven fabric provided on an opposite side of the pad main body from the seating surface but it is not clear if the sealing mat forms a flow path between the seal member and the pad main body reaching to an opposing face of the pad main body opposing the slide pad; an air moving machine that moves air inside the flow path (see Fig. 4)
However, Schmale teaches the concept of a ventilated vehicle seat that includes a main pad 1 has a flow path 16 that is formed at an opposite side of the pad main body from a seating surface 2; an air moving machine that moves air inside the flow path; wherein the flow path reaches as far as an opposing face of the pad main body; a main body groove portion 14 that is in communication with the flow path 16 and that reaches as far as the seating surface is formed in the opposing face and the main body groove portion is formed narrower at a location 6 on a seating surface side than at a location on a flow path side (see Fig. 4); wherein the main body groove portion is configured by a single fat groove at a location on the flow path side and is configured by a plurality of fine grooves at a location on the seating surface side, as defined in claim 2. It would have been obvious and well within the level of ordinary skill in the art to modify the vehicle seat, as taught by Binner, to include a main pad that has a flow path that is formed at an opposite side of the pad main body from a seating surface; an air moving machine that moves air inside the flow path; wherein the flow path reaching as far as an opposing face of the pad main body; a main body groove portion that is in communication with the flow path and that reaches as far as the seating surface is formed in the opposing face and the main body groove portion is formed narrower at a location 6 on a seating surface side than at a location on a flow path side, as taught by Schmale, since such an arrangement would improve and optimize the air circulation inside the seat padding.
As for Claim 5, Binner teaches that the pad is a seat cushion pad provided at a seat cushion for supporting buttocks and thighs of a seated occupant; and the slide pad is disposed at a seat front side with respect to the pad main body, and slides along a seat front-rear direction with respect to the pad main body.
Claims 1 and 5 are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being unpatentable over Binner (U.S. Patent No. 11,571,998 B2) in view of Yoshinori et al. (U.S. Patent No. 6,179,706 B1).
Binner teaches the structure substantially as claimed including a vehicle seat, comprising: a pad main body 2 configuring part of a pad that supports an occupant with a seating surface; slide pad 6 that configures another part of the pad, and that approaches or moves away from the pad main body by sliding in a direction oriented along the seating surface; a cover that covers the pad main body and the slide pad, that includes a porous cover main body portion covering the pad main body, and a movable cover portion that is positioned between the pad main body and the slide pad and that is deformed by the sliding, wherein the cover includes a close-off cover portion that closes off a gap between an end portion on a slide pad side of the seal member and the cover main body portion. (see Claim 5 where it reads “….an air-permeable tensioned layer or a textile layer of an upholstery covering of the seat part element.”); and an air moving machine 13 that moves air. Binner also teaches a sealing mat 20, which is implemented, in particular, as a sealing nonwoven fabric provided on an opposite side of the pad main body from the seating surface but it is not clear if the sealing mat forms a flow path between the seal member and the pad main body reaching to an opposing face of the pad main body opposing the slide pad; an air moving machine that moves air inside the flow path (see Fig. 4)
However, Yoshinori et al. teach the concept of a ventilated vehicle seat that includes a main pad 1 has a flow path 110 that is formed at an opposite side of the pad main body from a seating surface; an air moving machine 5 that moves air inside the flow path; wherein the flow path reaching as far as an opposing face of the pad main body; a main body groove portion 120 that is in communication with the flow path 110 and that reaches as far as the seating surface is formed in the opposing face and the main body groove portion is formed narrower at a location 130 on a seating surface side than at a location on a flow path side (see Figures 12-13 above); wherein the main body groove portion is configured by a single fat groove at a location on the flow path side and is configured by a plurality of fine grooves at a location on the seating surface side, as defined in claim 2. It would have been obvious and well within the level of ordinary skill in the art to modify the vehicle seat, as taught by Binner, to include a main pad that has a flow path that is formed at an opposite side of the pad main body from a seating surface; an air moving machine that moves air inside the flow path; wherein the flow path reaching as far as an opposing face of the pad main body; a main body groove portion that is in communication with the flow path and that reaches as far as the seating surface is formed in the opposing face and the main body groove portion is formed narrower at a location 6 on a seating surface side than at a location on a flow path side, as taught by Yoshinori et al., since such an arrangement would improve and optimize the air circulation inside the seat padding.
As for Claim 5, Binner teaches that the pad is a seat cushion pad provided at a seat cushion for supporting buttocks and thighs of a seated occupant; and the slide pad is disposed at a seat front side with respect to the pad main body, and slides along a seat front-rear direction with respect to the pad main body.
Claim 2 is rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being unpatentable over Binner (U.S. Patent No. 11,571,998 B2) in view of Schmale (U.S. Patent No. 6,481,801 B1), as applied to claim 1 above, and further in view of Kimbara (U.S. Patent No. 11,938,845 B2).
Binner in view of Schmale teaches the structure substantially as claimed but does specify if a one-end portion of the close-off cover portion is stitched together with a sewn seam where the cover main body portion and the movable cover portion are stitched together.
However, Kimbara teaches the concept of a one-end portion of the close-off cover portion is stitched together with a sewn seam 33 where the cover main body portion and the movable cover portion are stitched together (see Fig. 7 above. It would have been obvious and well within the level of ordinary skill in the art to modify the close-off cover portion, as taught by Binner in view of Schmale, to include close-off cover portion is stitched together with a sewn seam 33 where the cover main body portion and the movable cover portion are stitched together, as taught by Kimbara, since it would create a more aesthetic appearance on the seat surface.
Allowable Subject Matter
Claims 3-4 are objected to as being dependent upon a rejected base claim, but would be allowable if rewritten in independent form including all of the limitations of the base claim and any intervening claims.
The prior art made of record and not relied upon is considered pertinent to applicant's disclosure because it teaches structures and concepts similar to those of the present invention.
/Rodney B White/ Primary Examiner, Art Unit 3636