Claim Rejections - 35 USC § 102
Claim(s) 14 is/are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 102(a)(1) as being anticipated by U.S. Pat. No. 6,728,978 to Nordin.
Claim 14, Nordin discloses a method of positioning a person on a pad comprising rolling the person to a first lateral decubitus position; placing the absorbent repositioning pad adjacent the person in the first lateral decubitus position, and rolling the person to a second lateral decubitus position above the absorbent repositioning pad (col. 1 lines 30-48)(col. 2 lines 45-56). With regard to the Applicant's recitations "an upper layer including a liquid permeable material; a lower layer having relatively lower friction surface than the upper layer; a first intermediate layer between the upper and lower layers and including an absorbent material; and a second intermediate layer between the first intermediate layer, the lower layer and including a liquid impermeable material, and wherein the first intermediate layer has an absorption capacity within a range of 50 cc/m2 to 20,000 cc/m2", determination of patentability is based on the process itself. The patentability of a method does not depend on the structural limitations of the apparatus as stated above. Under the principles of inherency, if a prior art device, in its normal and usual operation, would necessarily perform the method of positioning a person as claimed, then the method of positioning a person as claimed will be considered to be anticipated by the prior art device.
Claim Rejections - 35 USC § 103
Claim(s) 1, 3, 9-12, and 23-24 is/are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being unpatentable over U.S. Pat. No. 6,728,978 to Nordin in view of U.S. Pub. No. 2011/0184366 to Carbonari et al.
Claims 1 and 23-24, Nordin discloses pad comprising an upper layer 3 including a liquid permeable material; a lower layer 6 having relatively lower friction surface than the upper layer; a first intermediate layer 2 between the upper and lower layers and including an absorbent material; and a second intermediate layer 5 between the first intermediate layer and the lower layer and including a liquid impermeable material, but is silent to an absorption capacity and an absorption weight within a range of 40g to 3500g, a range of 50 cc/m² to 20,000 cc/m², or 50 cc/m² to 5000 cc/m². Carbonari discloses an absorbent pad having a range of absorbent weight and capacity from 260-800g or 350-1000 g/m2 [0005]-[0006];[0048]-[0049]. Selecting a range of values for absorption capacity and weight is considered an obvious modification and it would have been obvious for one having ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date of the invention to combine the range of absorbent weight and capacity in Cargonari with the pad of Nordin with a reasonable expectation of success because it would have provided a very high absorbent capacity to the pad of Nordin.
Claim 3, Nordin discloses the pad, but is silent to the lower layer including woven extruded fabric. Selecting from a plethora of known materials is considered an obvious modification and it would have been obvious for one having ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date of the invention to select a woven extruded fabric for the lower layer of Nordin with a reasonable expectation of success because it would have provided an equivalent and alternative material for the lower layer.
Claim 9, Nordin discloses the pad wherein the upper layer, lower layer, and first and second intermediate layers include washable materials such that the reusable absorbent repositioning pad is washable and reusable [Abstract](col. 5 lines 27-31).
Claim 10, Nordin discloses the pad further comprising an edge strip 10 that extends about at least a portion of a perimeter of the reusable absorbent repositioning pad (col. 5 lines 8-16)(fig. 4).
Claim 11, Nordin discloses the pad wherein the edge binding extends above the upper layer and below the lower layer and is secured to the upper and lower layers (col. 5 lines 8-16)(fig. 4).
Claim 12, Nordin discloses the pad, but is silent to the edge strip and the upper layer include the same material. Selecting from a plethora of known materials is considered an obvious modification and it would have been obvious for one having ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date of the invention select the same material for the edge strip in Nordin with a reasonable expectation of success because it would have provided an equivalent and alternative material to form the edge strip of Nordin.
Claim(s) 2 is/are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being unpatentable over U.S. 5. Pat. No. 6,728,978 to Nordin in view of U.S. Pub. No. 2011/0184366 to Carbonari et al., and further in view of U.S. Pub. No. 2013/0270881 to Fowler et al.
Claim 2, Nordin discloses the pad, wherein the lower layer includes an outer surface that is not brushed, but is silent to a brushed outer surface. Fowler discloses pad having an upper layer including a brushed outer surface 46 [0056]. Selecting from a plethora of known materials is considered an obvious modification and it would have been obvious for one having ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date of the invention to combine the brushed material disclosed in Fowler with the upper surface of
Claim(s) 5 is/are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being unpatentable over U.S. Pat. No. 6,728,978 to Nordin in view of U.S. Pub. No. 2011/0184366 to Carbonari et al., and further in view of U.S. Pat. No. 5,300,054 to Feist et al.
Claim 5, Nordin discloses the pad, but is silent to the pad having an average time of acquisition of less than 120 seconds. Feist et al. discloses an absorbent layer having a high speed of absorption (col. 3 lines 39-68). Selecting a range of times for the average time of acquisition is considered an obvious modification and it would have been obvious for one having ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date of the invention to combine the times of acquisition in Feist with the pad of Nordin with a reasonable expectation of success because it would have provided a structure that is capable of quickly storing the absorbed liquids in the pad of Nordin.
Claim(s) 8 is/are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being unpatentable over
U.S. Pat. No. 6,728,978 to Nordin in view of U.S. Pub. No. 2011/0184366 to Carbonari et al., and further in view of U.S. Pat. No. 6,494,871 to Lariviere et al.
Claim 8, Nordin discloses the pad, but is silent to a portion of the upper layer
being hydrophilic. Lariviere discloses an upper layer of a pad having hydrophilic
portions (col. 4 lines 20-55). It would have been obvious for one having ordinary skill in
the art before the effective filing date of the invention to combine the hydrophobic
fibers disclosed in Lariviere with the upper surface of Nordin with a reasonable
expectation of success because it would have allowed fluid to pass through the upper
layer of Nordin readily.
Claim(s) 17, 19, and 21-22 is/are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being unpatentable over U.S. Pat. No. 6,728,978 to Nordin in view of U.S. Pub. No. 2012/0186013 to Ponsi.
Claims 17 and 21, Nordin discloses a method of repositioning a person, but is silent to pulling the pad together with the person above a wedge. Ponsi discloses a method of repositioning a person by pulling the absorbent repositioning pad together with the person above at least one wedge [0062]-[0066]. It would have been obvious for one having ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date of the invention to combine the pulling the pad together with the person above a wedge disclosed in Ponsi with the method of Nordin with a reasonable expectation of success because it would have provided a method to place the patient in an angled resting position on the pad of Nordin.
Claim 19, Regarding to the Applicant's recitation " wherein the wedge includes a base surface and a ramp surface, the ramp surface being relatively a lower friction surface than the base surface", determination of patentability is based on the process itself. The patentability of a method does not depend on the structural limitations of the apparatus as stated above. Under the principles of inherency, if a prior art device, in its normal and usual operation, would necessarily perform the method of positioning a person as claimed, then the method of positioning a person as claimed will be considered to be anticipated by the prior art device.
Claim 22, Nordin discloses the method further comprising after wetting of the absorbent repositioning pad by the person, laundering the absorbent repositioning pad(col. 5 lines 27-31).
Claim(s) 25 is/are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being unpatentable over
U.S. Pat. No. 6,728,978 to Nordin in view of U.S. Pub. No. 2011/0184366 to Carbonari et al., and further in view of U.S. Pub. No. 2014/0207096 to Love et al.
Claim 25, Nordin discloses the pad, but is silent to the liquid impermeable material of the second intermediate layer being comprised of a plurality of pores dimensioned to permit water vapor and gases to pass therethrough and to prohibit liquid droplets to pass therethrough. Love discloses a pad including a liquid impermeable layer having a plurality of perforations [0031]. It would have been obvious for one having ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date of the invention to combine the plurality of perforations in Ponsi with the pad of Nordin with a reasonable expectation of success because it would have provided air circulation within the pad of Nordin to prevent heat and vapor moisture build up.
The prior art made of record and not relied upon is considered pertinent to applicant's disclosure.
U.S. Pub. No. 2012/0022492 to Roe discloses a high capacity absorbent inserts having a range of absorbent capacity.
U.S. Pat. No. 4,675,925 to Littleton discloses a pad for positioning a patient.
Conclusion
Examiner interviews are available via telephone, in-person, and video conferencing using a USPTO supplied web-based collaboration tool. To schedule an interview, applicant is encouraged to use the USPTO Automated Interview Request (AIR) at http://www.uspto.gov/interviewpractice. If attempts to reach the examiner by telephone are unsuccessful, the examiner’s supervisor, Matthew Troutman can be reached on (571) 270-3654. The fax phone number for the organization where this application or proceeding is assigned is 571-273-8300.
/FREDRICK C CONLEY/Primary Examiner, Art Unit 3679