This Office Action is in response to the amendments dated May 13, 2026.
Claims 1-20 and 22-34 are pending.
Claim Rejections - 35 USC § 103
The present rejection(s) reference specific passages from cited prior art. However, Applicant is advised that the rejections are based on the entirety of each cited prior art. That is, each cited prior art reference “must be considered in its entirety”. Therefore, Applicant is advised to review all portions of the cited prior art if traversing a rejection based on the cited prior art.
Claims 1, 3-7, 9-13, 16-17, 20, and 22-33 are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being unpatentable over Yamaya (US PGPUB 2021/0068628 – “Yamaya”) in view of Yoshinaga et al. (US PGPUB 20200253460 – “Yoshinaga”) and Menn (US PGPUB 2008/0277853 – “Menn”).
Regarding Claim 1, Yamaya discloses:
A connecting device (Yamaya FIG. 10, fixation member 85) for connecting a second endoscope (Yamaya FIG. 10, endoscope 2), comprising:
a body (Yamaya FIG. 12, fixation block 88) comprising a connecting portion (Yamaya FIG. 12, C-shape clip 87) for connecting, wherein the body is further provided with a receiving groove (Yamaya FIG. 10, groove 81) that is configured to face away from the connecting portion (Yamaya FIG. 10, showing groove 81 facing away from clip 87);
a connecting component (Yamaya FIG. 12, distal end of clip 87) provided on the body, wherein the connecting component is configured to connect the second endoscope so that the second endoscope may be fixed in the receiving groove (Yamaya FIG. 10, showing clip 10 fixed in groove 81).
Yamaya does not explicitly disclose that the connection device disclosed by Yamaya connects a first endoscope to a second endoscope. That is, Yamaya discloses in Yamaya FIG. 10 a wire mechanism portion 80 connected to endoscope 1, but does not explicitly disclose connecting a first endoscope and a second endoscope connected to each other.
Yoshinaga is analogous art in the field of endoscopy that teaches connecting a first endoscope (Yoshinaga FIG. 3, endoscope 2) and a second endoscope (Yoshinaga FIG. 3, endoscope 1) connected to each other by fixing member 3 shown in Yoshinaga FIG. 3.
It would have been obvious to a person having ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date of the claimed invention to substitute Yoshinaga’s endoscope 1 for Yamaya’s wire mechanism portion 80 in the connecting device 85 disclosed by Yamaya. A person having ordinary skill in the art would be motivated to make this simple substitution of one known element for another to obtain the predictable result of a mother-daughter endoscope that can be manipulated by one hand of the user (see Yoshinaga paragraph [0085]).
Yamaya in view of Yoshinaga does not explicitly teach:
wherein the connecting component comprises:
a protrusion that is formed on an inner wall of the receiving groove, wherein the protrusion is configured to protrude with respect to an inner wall of the receiving groove;
wherein the protrusion is configured to contact with the second endoscope when the second endoscope is received within the receiving groove, wherein a contact surface between the protrusion and the second endoscope is a rough surface.
Menn is analogous art in the field of endoscopy that teaches:
wherein the connecting component (Menn FIG. 3, clip 100 for connecting endoscope 2 to an endoscopic tool 1 shown in Menn FIG. 2; Examiner notes that Menn’s endoscopic tool 1 is structurally analogous to Yoshinaga’s endoscopes 1/2; see also Menn paragraph [0027], “While FIG. 2 shows the clip being used with a rigid tool 1 and scope 2, those skilled in the art will readily appreciate that flexible tools and scopes may be used with the clip in alternative embodiments.”) comprises:
a protrusion (Menn FIG. 3, elongated protrusions 300a) that is formed on an inner wall of the receiving groove (Menn FIG. 3, first opening 200), wherein the protrusion is configured to protrude with respect to an inner wall of the receiving groove (Menn FIG. 3, knurled surface 300; Menn paragraph [0036], “knurled surface 300 may include generally elongated protrusions 300a extending in a direction generally perpendicular to a first diameter D.sub.1 of the first opening”);
wherein the protrusion is configured to contact with the second endoscope when the second endoscope is received within the receiving groove (Menn paragraph [0036], “cylindrical body 110 may also have a knurled surface 300 configured to engage the peripheral surface of the endoscopic tool 1”), wherein a contact surface between the protrusion and the second endoscope is a rough surface (Menn FIG. 3, elongated protrusions 300a forming a rough surface on the interior of first opening 200).
It would have been obvious to a person having ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date of the claimed invention to combine Menn’s protrusions with the connecting device taught by Yamaya in view of Yoshinaga. A person having ordinary skill in the art would be motivated to combine these prior art elements according to known methods to yield the predictable result of a connecting device that prevents sliding or rotation of the attached tool/endoscope (see Menn paragraph [0028], “knurled surface 30 configured to engage the peripheral surface of the endoscopic tool 1 to restrict rotation of the tool within the clip 10”).
Regarding Claim 3, Yamaya in view of Yoshinaga and Menn teaches the features of Claim 1, as described above.
Yoshinaga further teaches:
a hook portion (Yoshinaga FIG. 3, connecting portion 35 and mounting portion 31) connected to the body (Yoshinaga FIG. 3, section 12), wherein at least a portion of the hook portion is located further away in the second direction (Y) with respect to the body, and the second direction (Y) is defined as the extension direction of the receiving groove (Yoshinaga FIG. 3, receiving groove / surface 12b of engaging portion 32);
the hook portion is configured to hook on the second endoscope for connecting with the second endoscope (Yoshinaga FIG. 3, showing first endoscope 2 and second endoscope 1 connected together).
Regarding Claim 4, Yamaya in view of Yoshinaga and Menn teaches the features of Claim 3, as described above.
Yoshinaga further teaches wherein the second endoscope (Yoshinaga FIG. 3, endoscope 1) comprises an endoscope body (Yoshinaga FIG. 3, operating section 12) and a clip entrance (Yoshinaga FIG. 3, entrance to engaging portion 32) connected with each other, wherein the clip entrance protrudes from the endoscope body (Yoshinaga FIG. 3, operating section 12), and the hook portion (Yoshinaga FIG. 3, hook/mounting portion 31) is configured to at least partially hook on the clip entrance (Yoshinaga FIG. 3, showing hook 31 hooking into the entrance of engaging portion 32).
Regarding Claim 5, Yamaya in view of Yoshinaga and Menn teaches the features of Claim 4, as described above.
Yoshinaga further teaches wherein the hook portion is configured to wind around the clip entrance (Yoshinaga FIG. 3, connecting portion 35 winding around the inner surface 12b that receives the hook 31).
Regarding Claim 6, Yamaya in view of Yoshinaga and Menn teaches the features of Claim 4, as described above.
Yoshinaga further teaches:
wherein the hook portion (Yoshinaga FIG. 3, connecting portion 35 and mounting portion 31) comprises:
an extension arm (Yoshinaga FIG. 3, hook 31) connected to the body (Yoshinaga FIG. 3, section 12), wherein at least a portion of the extension arm is located on a side of the body that extends further away in the second direction (Y);
a clamping lug (Yoshinaga FIG. 3, engaging portion 32) which is opposite to and spaced apart from the extension arm;
an abutting arm (Yoshinaga FIG. 3, middle portion of hook 31) which is connected between the extension arm and the clamping lug;
wherein the abutting arm is configured for contacting with a top surface of the clip entrance (Yoshinaga FIG. 3, showing hook 31 contacting top surface of engaging portion 32), and the extension arm and the clamping lug are respectively configured for contacting with two opposite entrance side faces of the clip entrance, such that the hook portion may hook on the clip entrance; wherein the two entrance side faces are respectively connected to the top surface of the clip entrance (Yoshinaga FIG. 3, showing hook 31 contacting opposite openings of portion 32).
Regarding Claim 7, Yamaya in view of Yoshinaga and Menn teach the features of Claim 6, as described above.
Yoshinaga further teaches:
wherein the extension arm (Yoshinaga FIG. 3, hook 31) comprises:
a first surface (Yoshinaga FIG. 3, left side of surface 31a) that extends away from the connecting portion (Yoshinaga FIG. 3, connecting portion 35) in the first direction (X), and is configured for abutting against a side surface of the endoscope body (Yoshinaga FIG. 3, section 22 of second endoscope 2) that faces towards the body (Yoshinaga FIG. 3, connector/weld between section 22 and hook 31);
a second surface (Yoshinaga FIG. 3, right side of surface 31a) that is connected to the first surface at an end away from the body, and is configured for abutting against a side face of the clip entrance that faces towards the body (Yoshinaga FIG. 3, showing hook 31 abutting against inner sides of engaging portion 32).
Yamaya further discloses wherein the first direction (X) is a direction extending from the receiving groove (Yamaya FIG. 10, groove 81) towards the connecting portion (Yamaya FIG. 10, engaging/connecting portion of clip 87).
Regarding Claim 9, Yamaya in view of Yoshinaga and Menn teaches the features of Claim 1, as described above.
Yamaya further discloses:
wherein the direction extending from the receiving groove (Yamaya FIG. 12, interior of C-shape clip 87) towards the connecting portion is defined as a first direction (X) (Yamaya FIG. 12, showing C-shape clip 87 facing away from fixation block 88), the extension direction of the receiving groove is defined as a second direction (Y) (Yamaya FIG. 12, showing the C-shape clip 87 extending towards the fixation block 88, and C-shape clip 87 having an orthogonal/linear direction), and the body (Yamaya FIG. 12, fixation block 88 has a third direction (Z), the first direction (X), the second direction (Y) and the third direction (Z) intersecting with each other (Yamaya FIG. 12, showing the X-Y-Z axes, which are in every three-dimensional object, of the fixation member 85);
the connecting component (Yamaya FIG. 10, fixation member 85) forms a first orthographic projection on a plane perpendicular to the first direction (X), the body forms a second orthographic projection on this plane, wherein at least parts of the first orthographic projection fall outside the second orthographic projection, and are symmetrically distributed at two sides of the second orthographic projection with respect to the third direction (Z) (Yamaya FIG. 12, showing fixation member 85 with three orthogonal planes that are in every three-dimensional object).
Regarding Claim 10, Yamaya in view of Yoshinaga and Menn teaches the features of Claim 1, as described above.
Yamaya further discloses:
wherein the connecting component (Yamaya FIG. 12, distal end of clip 87) comprises:
a snapping portion (Yamaya FIG. 12, distal end of clip 87) that is connected on one side of the body (Yamaya FIG. 12, fixation block 88) opposite to the connecting portion and is provided on both sides of the receiving groove with respect to a third direction (Z) (Yamaya FIG. 10, showing distal end of claim 87 on both sides of groove 81); a direction extending from the receiving groove to the connecting portion is defined as a first direction (X), an extending direction of the receiving groove is defined as the second direction (Y), with the first direction (X), the second direction (Y) and the third direction (Z) intersecting with each other;
wherein the snapping portion is configured to clamp on both sides of the second endoscope such that the second endoscope may be fixed within the receiving groove (Yamaya FIG. 10, showing the groove 81 of second endoscope 2 fixing endoscope to the fixation block 88).
Regarding Claim 11, Yamaya in view of Yoshinaga and Menn teaches the features of Claim 10, as described above.
Yamaya further discloses:
wherein the snapping portion (Yamaya FIG. 12, distal end of clip 87) forms an opening communicated with the receiving groove, and the snapping portion is so configured that the second endoscope may be received into the receiving groove via the opening (Yamaya FIG. 10, showing clip engaged with groove 81);
wherein the opening has a maximum dimension D in the third direction (Z), and a portion of the second endoscope that is accommodated within the receiving groove has a maximum size L, wherein D≤L (Yamaya FIG. 12, showing mouth of clip 87 being less than or equal to the diameter of the groove 81 to which clip 87 is secured in Yamaya FIG. 10).
Regarding Claim 12, Yamaya in view of Yoshinaga and Menn teaches the features of Claim 10, as described above.
Yamaya further discloses:
wherein the snapping portion (Yamaya FIG. 12, distal end of clip 87) comprises:
at least two side wings (Yamaya FIG. 12, sides of clip 87) that are oppositely arranged with respect to the third direction (Z), wherein the at least two side wings are connected to the body and are respectively provided at two side edges of the receiving groove with respect to the third direction (Z) (Yamaya FIG. 12, showing side edges of clip 87 attached to fixation block 88).
Regarding Claim 13, Yamaya in view of Yoshinaga and Menn teaches the features of Claim 12, as described above.
Yamaya further discloses:
wherein the side wing comprises:
a main body (Yamaya FIG. 12, attachment point between clip 87 and fixation block 88) that connected to the body and is provided with a fitting slot (Yamaya FIG. 12, slide holes 88a); and
a rotating body (Yamaya FIG. 12, body of clip 87) that is rotatably connected to the main body and is arranged in the fitting slot, wherein the rotating body is configured for contacting the second endoscopes in a rotatable way to guide the second endoscope into the receiving groove (Yamaya paragraph [0091], “fixation member 85 includes a C-shape clip 87 removably attached to the fixation groove 81”),
Regarding Claim 16, Yamaya in view of Yoshinaga and Menn teaches the features of Claim 12, as described above.
Yamaya further discloses wherein a plurality of the snapping portions (Yamaya FIG. 12, distal end of clip 87) are provided and are spaced apart in the second direction (Y).
Regarding Claim 17, Yamaya in view of Yoshinaga and Menn teaches the features of Claim 13, as described above.
Yamaya further discloses wherein a plurality of the snapping portions (Yamaya FIG. 12, distal end of clip 87) are provided and are spaced apart in the second direction (Y).
Regarding Claim 20, Yamaya in view of Yoshinaga and Menn teaches the features of Claim 16, as described above.
Yamaya further discloses wherein a minimum spacing between at least two side wings (151) in one snapping portions (Yamaya FIG. 12, distal end of clip 87) is different from a minimum spacing between at least two side wings(Yamaya FIG. 12, sides of clip 87) in another snapping portion (Yamaya FIG. 12, distal end of clip 87; Yamaya FIG. 10 shows clip 87 that is clipped to groove 81. Examiner interprets this connection as being secured by clip 87 expanding to firmly engage with groove, such that the tips of the clip expand at different stages of the attachment of the clip 87 to the groove 81; see also the clip 87 in Yamaya FIG. 12, having a narrowed end of clip 87).
Regarding Claim 22, Yamaya in view of Yoshinaga and Menn teaches the features of Claim 1, as described above.
Menn further teaches wherein the protrusion (Menn FIG. 3, elongated protrusions 300a that form knurled surface 300) is made of elastic materials (Menn FIG. 3, cylindrical body 110 of clip 100; Menn paragraph [0036], “cylindrical body 110 may also have a knurled surface 300…clip 100 may be formed of a resilient material”).
Regarding Claim 23, Yamaya in view of Yoshinaga and Menn teaches the features of Claim 1, as described above.
Yamaya further discloses wherein a plurality of protrusions are provided in a spaced manner in the second direction (Y), wherein the second direction (Y) is the extension direction of the receiving groove (Yamaya Fig. 10, showing side edges of clip 87 adjacent to the inner wall of groove 81).
Regarding Claim 24, Yamaya in view of Yoshinaga and Menn teaches the features of Claim 1, as described above.
Yamaya further discloses:
wherein a direction extending from the receiving groove (Yamaya FIG. 10, groove 81) towards the connecting portion (Yamaya FIG. 10, C-shape clip 87) is defined as a first direction (X);
wherein the connecting component forms a first orthographic projection on a plane perpendicular to the first direction (X), the body forms a second orthographic projection on the plane, and the first orthographic projection falls within the second orthographic projection (Yamaya FIG. 10, showing C-shape clip 87 and groove 81 forming orthographic planes that overlap).
Regarding Claim 25, Yamaya in view of Yoshinaga and Menn teaches the features of Claim 1, as described above.
Yamaya further discloses a bonding portion (Yamaya FIG. 10, interior surface of clip 87) that is connected to the body (Yamaya FIG. 10, fixation block 88) and is adhered to at least a portion of an inner wall of the receiving groove (Yamaya FIG. 10, groove 81);
the bonding portion is configured for bonding the second endoscope so that the second endoscope may be fixed within the receiving groove (Yamaya FIG. 10, showing endoscope 2 bonded to clip 87).
Regarding Claim 26, Yamaya in view of Yoshinaga and Menn teaches the features of Claim 25, as described above.
Yamaya further discloses wherein a plurality of bonding portions (Yamaya FIG. 12, showing different sections of the interior surface of clip 87) spaced apart from each other is provided.
Regarding Claim 27, Yamaya in view of Yoshinaga and Menn teaches the features of Claim 1, as described above.
Yamaya further discloses wherein the body (Yamaya FIG. 12, fixation block 88) and the connecting component (Yamaya FIG. 12, clip 37) are of an integrally formed structure (Yamaya paragraph [0091], “fixation block 88 formed integrally with the C-shape clip 87”).
Regarding Claim 28, Yamaya in view of Yoshinaga and Menn teaches the features of Claim 1, as described above.
Thus, Yamaya in view of Yoshinaga teaches the features of the connecting device according to claim 1.
Yoshinaga further teaches a first endoscope (Yoshinaga FIG. 3, first endoscope 1) connected to the connecting portion (Yoshinaga FIG. 3, mounting portion 31).
Regarding Claim 29, Yamaya in view of Yoshinaga and Menn teaches the features of Claim 28, as described above.
Yoshinaga further teaches wherein the connecting device (Yoshinaga FIG. 3, engaging portion 32) and the first endoscope (Yoshinaga FIG. 3, endoscope 1) are of an integrally formed structure.
Regarding Claim 30, Yamaya in view of Yoshinaga and Menn teaches the features of Claim 28, as described above.
Yamaya further discloses a second endoscope (Yamaya FIG. 10, endoscope 2) that is received in the receiving groove (Yamaya FIG. 10, groove 81) of the connecting device (Yamaya FIG. 10, fixation block 88), and is connected with the connecting component (Yamaya FIG. 12, distal end of clip 87) of the connecting device so as to be fixed within the receiving groove.
Regarding Claim 31, Yamaya in view of Yoshinaga and Menn teaches the features of Claim 30, as described above.
Yamaya further discloses:
wherein the second endoscope (Yamaya FIG. 10, endoscope 2) comprises:
an endoscope body that is received within the receiving groove (Yamaya FIG. 10, groove 81).
Yoshinaga further teaches:
a clip entrance (Yoshinaga FIG. 3, entrance to engaging portion 32) provided on the endoscope body;
wherein a hook portion (Yoshinaga FIG. 3, connecting portion 35 and mounting portion 31)) of the connecting component hooks on the clip entrance (Yoshinaga FIG. 3, entrance to engaging portion 32) to connect with the second endoscope (Yoshinaga FIG. 3, child endoscope 2).
Regarding Claim 32, Yamaya in view of Yoshinaga and Menn teaches the features of Claim 30, as described above.
Yamaya further discloses:
wherein the second endoscope (Yamaya FIG. 10, endoscope 2) comprises:
an endoscope body (Yamaya FIG. 10, endoscopic tool) that is received within the receiving groove (Yamaya FIG. 10, groove 81) and engages with the snapping portion (Yamaya FIG. 12, distal end of clip 87) of the connecting component (Yamaya FIG. 12, distal end of clip 87) in a snapping way.
Regarding Claim 33, Yamaya in view of Yoshinaga and Menn teaches the features of Claim 30, as described above.
Yamaya further discloses:
an endoscope body (Yamaya FIG. 10, endoscopic tool) received in the receiving groove (Yamaya FIG. 10, groove 81);
wherein a bonding portion (Yamaya FIG. 10, interior surface of clip 87) of the connecting component is bonded to the second endoscope so that the second endoscope can be fixed within the receiving groove (Yamaya FIG. 10, showing endoscope 2 bonded to clip 87).
Claim 2 is rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being unpatentable over Yamaya (US PGPUB 2021/0068628 – “Yamaya”) in view of Yoshinaga et al. (US PGPUB 20200253460 – “Yoshinaga”), Menn (US PGPUB 2008/0277853 – “Menn”), and Barnhill (US PGPUB 2022/0239077 – “Barnhill”).
Regarding Claim 2, Yamaya in view of Yoshinaga and Menn teaches the features of Claim 1, as described above.
Yamaya further discloses:
wherein a direction extending from the receiving groove towards the connecting portion is defined as a first direction (X), an extending direction of the receiving groove is defined as a second direction (Y), with the first direction (X) intersecting with the second direction (Y) (Yamaya FIG. 12, showing the C-shape clip 87 extending towards the fixation block 88, and C-shape clip 87 having an orthogonal/linear direction).
Yamaya in view of Yoshinaga and Menn does not explicitly teach wherein the connecting component forms a first orthographic projection on a plane perpendicular to the first direction X, and the body forms a second orthographic projection on this plane; wherein at least a portion of the first orthographic projection falls outside the second orthographic projection, and is located further away in the second direction (Y) with respect to the second orthographic projection.
Barnhill is analogous art in the field of component connectors that teaches:
wherein the connecting component (Barnhill FIG. 2, catch arm hook 240 on guide arm 200) forms a first orthographic projection on a plane perpendicular to the first direction X, and the body forms a second orthographic projection on this plane; wherein at least a portion of the first orthographic projection falls outside the second orthographic projection, and is located further away in the second direction (Y) with respect to the second orthographic projection (that is, when Barnhill’s catch arm hook 240 is combined with d with Yamaya’s shape clip 87, the catch arm hook 240 is orthogonal to the X direction of Yamaya’s clip, Yamaya’s fixation block 88 is orthogonal a first orthographic projection on a plane perpendicular to the first direction X such that fixation block 88 forms a second orthographic projection on this plane; wherein at least a portion of the Barnhill’s catch arm hook 240 falls outside the second orthographic projection, and is located further away in the second direction (Y) with respect to the second orthographic projection.
It would have been obvious to a person having ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date of the claimed invention to combine Barnhill’s catch arm hook 240 with the connecting device taught by Yamaya in view of Yoshinaga and Menn. A person having ordinary skill in the art would be motivated to combine these prior art elements according to known methods to yield the predictable result of a redundant clip/hook for securing the two devices that are coupled by Yamaya’s fixation member (see Barnhill paragraph [0056]).
Claims 8 and 34 are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being unpatentable over Yamaya (US PGPUB 2021/0068628 – “Yamaya”) in view of Yoshinaga et al. (US PGPUB 20200253460 – “Yoshinaga”), Menn (US PGPUB 2008/0277853 – “Menn”), and Wang et al. (US PGPUB 2020/0245853 – “Wang”).
Regarding Claim 8, Yamaya in view of Yoshinaga and Menn teaches the features of Claim 1, as described above.
Yamaya in view of Yoshinaga does not explicitly teach:
wherein the connecting component comprises:
a winding portion connected to the body, wherein at least a portion of the winding portion is provided at one side of the body that extends further away in the second direction (Y), said second direction (Y) being an extension direction of the receiving groove;
wherein the winding portion is configured for winding around the second endoscope so as to connect with the second endoscope.
Wang is analogous art in the field of endoscopy that teaches:
wherein the connecting component comprises:
a winding portion (Wang FIG. 1, belt fixing member 3 on mother endoscope 1) connected to the body (Wang FIG. 1, section 12), wherein at least a portion of the winding portion is provided at one side of the that extends further away in the second direction (Y), said second direction (Y) being an extension direction of the receiving groove (Wang recess portion 225 on baby endoscope 2);
wherein the winding portion is configured for winding around the second endoscope so as to connect with the second endoscope (Wang FIG. 1, showing mother endoscope 1 connected to baby endoscope 2).
It would have been obvious to a person having ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date of the claimed invention to combine Wang’s belt with the connecting device taught by Yamaya in view of Yoshinaga and Menn. A person having ordinary skill in the art would be motivated to combine these prior art elements according to known methods to yield the predictable result of a connecting device that has redundant connectors to hold a first endoscope to a second endoscope.
Regarding Claim 34, Yamaya in view of Yoshinaga and Menn teaches the features of Claim 30, as described above.
Yamaya further discloses an endoscope body (Yamaya FIG. 10, endoscopic tool) received in the receiving groove (Yamaya FIG. 10, groove 81).
Yamaya in view of Yoshinaga and Menn does not explicitly teach wherein a winding portion of the connecting component is configured to wind around the second endoscope so as to be connected to the second endoscope.
Wang teaches a winding portion (Wang FIG. 1, belt fixing member 3 on mother endoscope 1) of the connecting component is configured to wind around the second endoscope so as to be connected to the second endoscope (Wang FIG. 1, showing mother endoscope 1 connected to baby endoscope 2 by the belt fixing member 3).
It would have been obvious to a person having ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date of the claimed invention to combine Wang’s belt with the connecting device taught by Yamaya in view of Yoshinaga and Menn. A person having ordinary skill in the art would be motivated to combine these prior art elements according to known methods to yield the predictable result of a connecting device that has redundant connectors to hold a first endoscope to a second endoscope.
Claims 14-15 and 18-19 are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being unpatentable over Yamaya (US PGPUB 2021/0068628 – “Yamaya”) in view of Yoshinaga et al. (US PGPUB 20200253460 – “Yoshinaga”), Menn (US PGPUB 2008/0277853 – “Menn”), and Guardiola (US Patent 5,294,283 – “Guardiola”).
Regarding Claim 14, Yamaya in view of Yoshinaga and Menn teaches the features of Claim 13, as described above.
Yamaya in view of Yoshinaga and Menn does not explicitly teach wherein the rotating body is provided with a plurality of anti-slip recesses, wherein the plurality of anti-slip recesses are spaced apart along an outer circumferential surface of the rotating body.
Guardiola is analogous art in the field of component connectors that teaches wherein the rotating body (Guardiola FIG. 1, roller 6) is provided with a plurality of anti-slip recesses (Guardiola col. 5, lines 62-68, “machine presents an actuating means to move the strip which comprises a roller 6 with its anti-slip surface (for example, with a covering of rubber or the like)”), wherein the plurality of anti-slip recesses are spaced apart along an outer circumferential surface of the rotating body (Examiner interprets Guardiola as analogous art that teaches a roller with an anti-slip surface for guiding material; see Guardiola col. 3, lines 27-32).
It would have been obvious to a person having ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date of the claimed invention to combine Guardiola’s anti-slip rollers with the connecting device taught by Yamaya in view of Yoshinaga and Menn. A person having ordinary skill in the art would be motivated to combine these prior art elements according to known methods to yield the predictable result of a connector that guides two elements together in an anti-slip manner, such that the two elements move consistently.
Regarding Claim 15, Yamaya in view of Yoshinaga and Menn teaches the features of Claim 13, as described above.
Yamaya in view of Yoshinaga and Menn does not explicitly teach wherein the rotating body is made of elastic materials.
Guardiola teaches wherein the rotating body (Guardiola FIG. 1, roller 6) is made of elastic materials (Guardiola col. 5, lines 62-68, “machine presents an actuating means to move the strip which comprises a roller 6 with its anti-slip surface (for example, with a covering of rubber or the like)”).
It would have been obvious to a person having ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date of the claimed invention to combine Guardiola’s rubber rollers with the connecting device taught by Yamaya in view of Yoshinaga and Menn. A person having ordinary skill in the art would be motivated to combine these prior art elements according to known methods to yield the predictable result of a connector that guides two elements together in an anti-slip manner, such that the two elements move consistently.
Regarding Claim 18, Yamaya in view of Yoshinaga, Menn, and Guardiola teaches the features of Claim 14, as described above.
Yamaya further discloses wherein a plurality of the snapping portions (Yamaya FIG. 12, distal end of clip 87) are provided and are spaced apart in the second direction (Y).
Regarding Claim 19, Yamaya in view of Yoshinaga, Menn, and Guardiola teaches the features of Claim 15, as described above.
Yamaya further discloses wherein a plurality of the snapping portions (Yamaya FIG. 12, distal end of clip 87) are provided and are spaced apart in the second direction (Y).
Response to Arguments
Applicant’s arguments, see page 10, filed May 13, 2026, with respect to the objection to Claim 13 have been fully considered and are persuasive in view of the present amendment to Claim 13. The objection to Claim 13 has been withdrawn.
Applicant’s arguments, see pages 10-11, filed May 13, 2026, with respect to the rejection of Claim 21 are moot, due to the cancellation of Claim 21. However, Examiner finds similar features to those in cancelled Claim 21, now incorporated into Claim 1, to be clear and definite, such that no rejection under 35 U.S.C. 112(b) against Claim 1 is deemed appropriate by Examiner.
Applicant’s arguments, see pages 11-15, filed May 13, 2026, with respect to the rejection of Claim 1 under 35 U.S.C. 103 have been fully considered and are persuasive, particularly in view of the present amendments to Claim 1. Therefore, the rejection has been withdrawn. However, upon further consideration, a new ground(s) of rejection is made in view of Menn (US PGPUB 2008/0277853 – “Menn”).
More specifically, Applicant asserts on pages 11-15 that Yamaya in view of Yoshinaga fails to teach or suggest wherein the connecting component (130) comprises: a protrusion (160) that is formed on an inner wall (121) of the receiving groove (120), wherein the protrusion (160) is configured to protrude with respect to an inner wall (121) of the receiving groove (120); wherein the protrusion (160) is configured to contact with the second endoscope (30) when the second endoscope (30) is received within the receiving groove (120), wherein a contact surface between the protrusion (160) and the second endoscope (30) is a rough surface (161). However, these features are clearly taught by Menn, as described above in the rejection of Claim 1.
On pages 12-14, Applicant further asserts that Yamaya fails to teach wherein the body (100) is further provided with a receiving groove (120) that is configured to face away from the connecting portion (110) to receive the second endoscope (30). Examiner respectfully disagrees. As described above, Yamaya discloses wherein the body is further provided with a receiving groove (Yamaya FIG. 10, groove 81) that is configured to face away from the connecting portion (Yamaya FIG. 10, showing groove 81 facing away from clip 87). That is, the claim does not state that the receiving groove is part of the body, but rather that the body is provided with the receiving groove. If Applicant intended for this feature to mean that the body includes a receiving groove, then an interior of clip 87 shown in Yamaya FIG. 12 would read on this interpretation. Applicant is also directed to Examiner’s citation to Kamler (US PGPUB 2019/0328210 – “Kamler”) and Dillon et al. (US PGPUB 2015/0057537 – “Dillon”) in the conclusion section below.
Finally, on page 14, Applicant asserts that in Yamaya it is not possible to connect two different/separate endoscopes with the Yamaya’s connecting device 85. Applicant does not provide a reason for this conclusory statement. That is, Examiner believes that Yamaya’s connecting device 85 connects two endoscopic devices. Making such a simple substitution would be obvious to a person having ordinary skill in the art of endoscope configuration/construction.
As such, the rejection of Claim 1, as well as dependent Claims 2-20 and 22-34 under 35 U.S.C. 103 is maintained.
Conclusion
The prior art made of record and not relied upon is considered pertinent to applicant's disclosure includes, but is not limited to:
Kamler (US PGPUB 2019/0328210 – “Kamler”), which teaches in Kamler FIG. 5D an attachment device 400, having protruding internal ridges 405 for gripping, that secures a shaft 411 to a handle 410 of colonoscope 450 as shown in Kamler FIG. 4B; Examiner believes that Kamler’s attachment device 400 would be an obvious option to a person having ordinary skill in the art for securing two endoscopes; and
Dillon et al. (US PGPUB 2015/0057537 – “Dillon”), which teaches in Dillon FIG. 1B a strap 143 that secures a “baby scope” 140 to a “mother scope” 110; Examiner believes that it would be obvious to a person having ordinary skill in the art to replace Dillon’s strap 143 with a clamp, such as Kamler’s attachment device 400.
Applicant's amendment necessitated the new ground(s) of rejection presented in this Office action. Accordingly, THIS ACTION IS MADE FINAL. See MPEP § 706.07(a). Applicant is reminded of the extension of time policy as set forth in 37 CFR 1.136(a).
JIM BOICE
Examiner
Art Unit 3795
/JAMES EDWARD BOICE/Examiner, Art Unit 3795
/ANHTUAN T NGUYEN/Supervisory Patent Examiner, Art Unit 3795
6/15/26