Election/Restrictions
Applicant's election with traverse of Species I in the reply filed on 12/30/25 is acknowledged. The traversal is on the ground(s) that “a thorough search for the subject matter of any one species would encompass a search for the subject matter of the remaining species.” This is not found persuasive because for example a thorough search for the subject matter of species I, would include a search for an area fraction of pores present in a specified portion of the belt, but would not include a search focused on the average pore diameters.
The requirement is still deemed proper and is therefore made FINAL.
Claims 5 and 14 are withdrawn from further consideration pursuant to 37 CFR 1.142(b), as being drawn to a nonelected species, there being no allowable generic or linking claim. Applicant timely traversed the restriction (election) requirement in the reply filed on 12/30/25.
Drawings
The drawings are objected to under 37 CFR 1.83(a). The drawings must show every feature of the invention specified in the claims. Therefore, the endless belt having pores which “are present such that a fraction of the pores increases from an outer peripheral surface side toward an inner peripheral surface side” must be shown or the feature(s) canceled from the claim(s). No new matter should be entered.
Claim Rejections - 35 USC § 102
Claim(s) 1, 4, 9, 10, 13 and 18-20 is/are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 102(a)(1) and (a)(2) as being anticipated by Takazawa (US 2015/0139703).
With respect to claims 1, 4, 9, 10, 13 and 18-20, Takazawa discloses an intermediate transfer belt comprising an endless belt (e.g., fig. 1, intermediate transfer belt 3) comprising: a resin (as discussed at least in paragraphs 66 and/or 67); and electrically conductive particles (as discussed at least in paragraphs 66 and/or 67 for example by “carbon black”), wherein the endless belt has pores (e.g., “cavities (voids) 30”) inside, and the pores are present such that a fraction of the pores increases from an outer peripheral surface side toward an inner peripheral surface side (as discussed at least in paragraphs 64-69 and/or as shown at least by fig. 4).
With respect to claim 4, Takazawa further discloses wherein an area fraction A of the pores when an outer peripheral surface is observed is 0.01% or more and 1.0% or less (as discussed at least in paragraphs 64-69 and/or as shown at least by fig. 4).
With respect to claim 9, Takazawa further discloses wherein the resin is a polyimide-based resin (as discussed at least in paragraphs 64-69 and/or 115).
With respect to claim 19, Takazawa further discloses a transfer device (20) comprising: an intermediate transfer belt (3) having an outer peripheral surface onto which a toner image is to be transferred, the intermediate transfer belt including the endless belt according to claim 1 (as discussed above); a first transfer unit including a first transfer member (21) that first-transfers a toner image formed on a surface of an image holding member (11) onto the outer peripheral surface of the intermediate transfer belt (3); and a second transfer unit (25) including a second transfer member (24) that is disposed in contact with the outer peripheral surface of the intermediate transfer belt (3) and that second-transfers the toner image transferred onto the outer peripheral surface of the intermediate transfer belt (3) onto a surface of a recording medium (8, as shown at least by fig. 1).
With respect to claim 20, Takazawa further discloses an image forming apparatus (fig. 1) comprising: a toner image forming device that includes an image holding member (11) and that forms a toner image on a surface of the image holding member (11); and a transfer device (3 and/or 20) that transfers the toner image formed on the surface of the image holding member (11) onto a surface of a recording medium (8), the transfer device being the transfer device according to claim 19 (as discussed above).
Claim Rejections - 35 USC § 103
Claim(s) 6-8 and 15-17 is/are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being unpatentable over Takazawa (US 2015/0139703) in view of Ono et al. (US 2022/0146966).
With respect to claims 6-8 and 15-17, Takazawa disclose the endless intermediate transfer belt belt according to claim 1 (as discussed above)., but are silent with regards to an oil of the belt and thus do not specifically disclose, comprising a polyether-modified silicone oil has a number-average molecular weight of 300 or more and 10,000 or less.7. The endless belt according to claim 6, wherein the silicone oil is a polyether-modified silicone oil.
With further respect to claims 6-8 and 15-17, Ono et al. teach wherein the polyether-modified silicone oil has a number-average molecular weight of 300 or more and 10,000 or less (as discussed at least in paragraphs 66-69, 109-112 and/or as shown at least by figs. 1-2).
It would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art at the time the invention was effectively filed to use the silicone oil of Ono et al. with the belt of Takazawa at least because there would have been a reasonable expectation of success in achieving transfer of an image.
Allowable Subject Matter
Claims 2, 3, 11 and 12 are objected to as being dependent upon a rejected base claim, but would be allowable if rewritten in independent form including all of the limitations of the base claim and any intervening claims.
The following is an examiner’s statement of reasons for indicating allowable subject matter: The prior art of record does not disclose or suggest the claimed area fraction Ao of the pores present on the outer peripheral surface side is 0.05% or more and 1.5% or less, an area fraction Am of the pores present in a thickness center portion is 1.0% or more and 5.0% or less, and an area fraction Ai of the pores present on the inner peripheral surface side is 2.0% or more and 20.0% or less in a section in a belt thickness direction, in combination with the remaining claim elements as set forth in the claims.
Prior Art of Record
The prior art made of record and not relied upon is considered pertinent to applicant’s disclosure. Inagaki (US 8831490) discloses an intermediate transfer belt with a resin and electrically conductive particles and having protrusions over an outer surface thereof; Shingu et al. (US 2023/0242358) disclose an intermediate transfer belt having a resin and electrically conductive particles.
Remarks
/JOSEPH S WONG/Primary Examiner, Art Unit 2852
JSW