DETAILED ACTION
Election/Restrictions
Applicant’s election without traverse of species A (claims 1-10 in the reply filed on 09/21/20026 is acknowledged.
Claim Rejections - 35 USC § 103
Claim(s) 1-4, 9 and 10 is/are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being unpatentable over Park Sang Hyun (KR 20200055639A) (hereinafter Hyun) in view of Do Dae Young (KR 20070120763 A) (hereinafter Young).
Hyun discloses a substrate processing apparatus comprising: an loading stage (29) configured to receive first and second substrates (11 and 41) (¶0045). Hyun discloses coating stage (27) configured to sequentially receive the first substrate and the second substrate from the loading stage, the coating stage including a first discharge nozzle (17) for discharging a first chemical solution onto the first substrate and a second discharge nozzle (19) for discharging a second chemical solution onto the second substrate (Fig. 2, ¶0039); and unloading stage configured to sequentially unload the first substrate and the second substrate from the coating stage (Fig. 2, RC 29).
The examiner would like to point out that the first and second substrate are considered as material worked upon by the apparatus as opposed to apparatus itself. Hyun is capable of working on two different substrate. Hyun further discloses the use of aligning tool to align substrate (¶0076). However, Hyun is silent about first substrate alignment portion and second substrate alignment portion.
Young also discloses a substrate processing apparatus. The apparatus discloses the use of alignment assembly (200) for substrate processing apparatus (10). The alignment assembly (200) includes a pair of alignment pin array 220 arranged side by side on both sides of the substrate and the alignment pin driver (250) driving the alignment pin array (220) substantially horizontally. The alignment pin array (220) is composed of a plurality of alignment pins (210), the plurality of alignment pins (210) are formed on the first support (230) (corresponding to first substrate alignment portion) and the second support (240) (corresponding to second substrate alignment portion). The alignment pin driver (250) may be a cylinder or the like. The alignment pin driver (250) is formed on both sides of the first support part (230) and the second support part (240) to drive the first support part (230) and the second support part (240) substantially horizontally. As a result, when the substrate (500) is introduced into the first substrate transfer device (100), the first support part (230) and the second support part (240) are moved by the alignment pin driver (250), so that the alignment pin array (220) is moved. Contact both sides of the substrate. As a result, the size of the substrate can be determined, and the substrate can be arranged by size.
Given the wealth of knowledge, it would have been obvious to a person of ordinary skill in the art to utilize an alignment portions as taught by Young within the substrate processing apparatus as taught by Hyun. The benefit of doing so would have been to determine and arrange the substrate based on size.
Regarding claim 2, Hyun discloses a transfer device (31) configured to sequentially transfer the first and second substrates to the loading stage (Fig. 1).
Regarding claim 3, Hyun discloses wherein the transfer device further comprises a plurality of rollers (31) that are aligned on one side of the loading stage and rotate to move the first and second substrates (Fig. 1, RC 31).
Regarding claim 4, Hyun disclose the use of transfer unit (15, 13) which grips one side of the substrate and transfer it along the first direction (¶0079). The transfer unit are considered as robot arm. Young discloses the use of support pin for determining the and arranging to panels based on size. It would have been obvious to place the support pins on loading stage to assur the panels are arranged accordingly prior to coating stage.
Regarding claim 9, Hyun discloses wherein when one of the first discharge nozzle and the second discharge nozzles is driven, another one of the first discharge nozzle and the second discharge nozzle stops driving (¶0039).
Regarding claim 10, Hyung discloses wherein the first discharge (17) nozzle is provided adjacent to the loading stage (entry stage), and the second discharge nozzle is provided adjacent to the unloading stage (discharge stage).
Allowable Subject Matter
Claims 5-8 are objected to as being dependent upon a rejected base claim, but would be allowable if rewritten in independent form including all of the limitations of the base claim and any intervening claims.
Conclusion
/VISHAL I PATEL/Primary Examiner, Art Unit 1746