Claim Rejections - 35 USC § 103
Claim(s) 1-3, 9-10 and 14-16 is/are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being unpatentable over GUO et al., US 2025/0063521 A1 (using PCT application filing date of February 15, 2022 corresponding to PCT/CN2022/076332; referred to as Guo hereinafter), in view of Comsa et al., US 2024/0188015 A1 (Comsa hereinafter), in view of Heo et al. US 2014/0092865 A1 (Heo hereinafter).
Here is how the references teach the claims.
Regarding claim 1, Guo discloses a wireless device (Guo, Fig. 9 and paragraph [0116], FIG. 9 is a block diagram of an exemplary UE 900 according to some aspects of the present disclosure) comprising:
one or more processors (Guo, Fig. 9, element 902 and paragraph [0116], FIG. 9 is a block diagram of an exemplary UE 900 according to some aspects of the present disclosure. The UE 900 may be a UE 115 as discussed in FIG. 1 or a UE 515 as discussed in FIG. 5. As shown, the UE 900 may include a processor 902, a memory 904); and
memory storing instructions that, when executed by the one or more processors (Guo, Fig. 9, element 904 and paragraph [0116], FIG. 9 is a block diagram of an exemplary UE 900 according to some aspects of the present disclosure. The UE 900 may be a UE 115 as discussed in FIG. 1 or a UE 515 as discussed in FIG. 5. As shown, the UE 900 may include a processor 902, a memory 904. Also see paragraph [0118], In an aspect, the memory 904 includes a non-transitory computer-readable medium. The memory 904 may store, or have recorded thereon, instructions 906. The instructions 906 may include instructions that, when executed by the processor 902, cause the processor 902 to perform the operations described herein), cause the wireless device to:
receive a radio resource control (RRC) message comprising configuration parameters (Guo, Fig. 5, step 504, indicates UE 515 (i.e., a wireless device) receives serving cell configurations. Also see paragraph [0083], In some aspects, action 504 includes receiving one or more radio resource control (RRC) information elements (IEs) indicating (i.e., RRC message comprising configuration parameters)) indicating:
two control resource set (coreset) pool indexes for a cell (Guo, Fig. 5, step 504 and paragraph [0083], action 504 includes receiving one or more radio resource control (RRC) information elements (IEs) indicating one or more DL control channel configurations and one or more TAG configurations. The DL control channel configurations may also include or indicate one or more CORESET pool index values (i.e., configuration parameters indicating two control resource set pool indexes));
two timing advance groups (TAGs), for the cell, comprising a first TAG and a second TAG (Guo, Fig. 5, step 504 and paragraph [0083], one or more radio resource control (RRC) information elements (IEs) indicating one or more DL control channel configurations and one or more TAG configurations (i.e., first and second TAGs) … The TAG indicators and/or CORESET pool index values may be configured and/or indicated for each serving cell of the UE 515);
Regarding claim 9, Guo discloses a base station (Guo, Fig. 8 and paragraph [0104], FIG. 8 is a block diagram of an exemplary BS 800 according to some aspects of the present disclosure. The BS 800 may be a BS 105 as discussed in FIG. 1, and or a TRP as discussed in FIGS. 2 and 5) comprising:
one or more processors (Guo, Fig. 8 and paragraph [0104], As shown, the BS 800 may include a processor 802, a memory 804); and
memory storing instructions that, when executed by the one or more processors (Guo, paragraph [0106], The memory 804 may store instructions 806. The instructions 806 may include instructions that, when executed by the processor 802, cause the processor 802 to perform operations described herein), cause the base station to:
transmit, to a wireless device, a radio resource control (RRC) message comprising configuration parameters (Guo, Fig. 5, step 504, indicates UE 515 (i.e., a wireless device) receives serving cell configurations (i.e., transmitted by the base station). Also see paragraph [0083], In some aspects, action 504 includes receiving one or more radio resource control (RRC) information elements (IEs) indicating (i.e., RRC message comprising configuration parameters)) indicating:
two control resource set (coreset) pool indexes for a cell (Guo, Fig. 5, step 504 and paragraph [0083], action 504 includes receiving one or more radio resource control (RRC) information elements (IEs) indicating one or more DL control channel configurations and one or more TAG configurations. The DL control channel configurations may also include or indicate one or more CORESET pool index values (i.e., configuration parameters indicating two control resource set pool indexes));
two timing advance groups (TAGs), for the cell, comprising a first TAG and a second TAG (Guo, Fig. 5, step 504 and paragraph [0083], one or more radio resource control (RRC) information elements (IEs) indicating one or more DL control channel configurations and one or more TAG configurations (i.e., first and second TAGs) … The TAG indicators and/or CORESET pool index values may be configured and/or indicated for each serving cell of the UE 515);
Regarding claim 14, Guo discloses a non-transitory computer-readable medium comprising instructions that, when executed by one or more processors of a wireless device (Guo, paragraph [0118], In an aspect, the memory 904 includes a non-transitory computer-readable medium. The memory 904 may store, or have recorded thereon, instructions 906. The instructions 906 may include instructions that, when executed by the processor 902, cause the processor 902 to perform the operations described herein), cause the wireless device to:
receive a radio resource control (RRC) message comprising configuration parameters (Guo, Fig. 5, step 504, indicates UE 515 (i.e., a wireless device) receives serving cell configurations. Also see paragraph [0083], In some aspects, action 504 includes receiving one or more radio resource control (RRC) information elements (IEs) indicating (i.e., RRC message comprising configuration parameters)) indicating:
two control resource set (coreset) pool indexes for a cell (Guo, Fig. 5, step 504 and paragraph [0083], action 504 includes receiving one or more radio resource control (RRC) information elements (IEs) indicating one or more DL control channel configurations and one or more TAG configurations. The DL control channel configurations may also include or indicate one or more CORESET pool index values (i.e., configuration parameters indicating two control resource set pool indexes));
two timing advance groups (TAGs), for the cell, comprising a first TAG and a second TAG (Guo, Fig. 5, step 504 and paragraph [0083], one or more radio resource control (RRC) information elements (IEs) indicating one or more DL control channel configurations and one or more TAG configurations (i.e., first and second TAGs) … The TAG indicators and/or CORESET pool index values may be configured and/or indicated for each serving cell of the UE 515);
Gu does not explicitly discloses the following features.
Regarding claim 1, and a configured uplink grant with a first transmission configuration indication (TCI) state that is associated with the first TAG;
receive a medium access control control element (MAC CE) indicating the first TCI state; and
in response to a first time alignment timer (TAT) of the first TAG being expired while a second TAT of the second TAG is running, clear the configured uplink grant with the first TCI state that is associated with the first TAG with the first TAT.
Regarding claim 9, and a configured uplink grant with a first transmission configuration indication (TCI) state that is associated with the first TAG;
transmit a medium access control control element (MAC CE) indicating the first TCI state; and
in response to a first time alignment timer (TAT) of the first TAG being expired while a second TAT of the second TAG is running, clear the configured uplink grant with the first TCI state that is associated with the first TAG with the first TAT.
Regarding claim 14, and a configured uplink grant with a first transmission configuration indication (TCI) state that is associated with the first TAG;
receive a medium access control control element (MAC CE) indicating the first TCI state; and
in response to a first time alignment timer (TAT) of the first TAG being expired while a second TAT of the second TAG is running, clear the configured uplink grant with the first TCI state that is associated with the first TAG with the first TAT.
In the same field of endeavor (e.g., communication system) Comsa discloses a method related to inter-cell multi TRP operation in wireless communication systems that comprises the following features.
Regarding claim 1, and a configured uplink grant with a first transmission configuration indication (TCI) state that is associated with the first TAG (Comsa, paragraph [0218], For example, when a TCI state is configured, an associated TAG information (e.g., TAG-id) may be configured. When a WTRU received an uplink grant with a TCI state (or spatial relation info) for the uplink transmission (i.e., a configured uplink grant with a first transmission configuration indication (TCI) state that is associated with the first TAG), the WTRU may apply, use, or determine a TA value based on the associated TAG information for the TCI state (or spatial relation info, SRS resource indicator/index));
receive a medium access control control element (MAC CE) indicating the first TCI state (Comsa, paragraph, [0302], In response to receiving the first TCI state activation MAC-CE message, the WTRU may determine (e.g., identify) indicated/activated first TCI-state(s) in the first MAC-CE message (i.e., WTRU receives a MAC CE message indicating a first TCI State) are among the second plurality of TCI-states, e.g., ( all) associated with the second inter-cell PCI);
Regarding claim 9, and a configured uplink grant with a first transmission configuration indication (TCI) state that is associated with the first TAG (Comsa, paragraph [0218], For example, when a TCI state is configured, an associated TAG information (e.g., TAG-id) may be configured. When a WTRU received an uplink grant with a TCI state (or spatial relation info) for the uplink transmission (i.e., a configured uplink grant with a first transmission configuration indication (TCI) state that is associated with the first TAG), the WTRU may apply, use, or determine a TA value based on the associated TAG information for the TCI state (or spatial relation info, SRS resource indicator/index));
transmit a medium access control control element (MAC CE) indicating the first TCI state (Comsa, paragraph, [0302], In response to receiving the first TCI state activation MAC-CE message, the WTRU may determine (e.g., identify) indicated/activated first TCI-state(s) in the first MAC-CE message (i.e., WTRU receives a MAC CE message indicating a first TCI State transmitted by the base station) are among the second plurality of TCI-states, e.g., ( all) associated with the second inter-cell PCI);
Regarding claim 14, and a configured uplink grant with a first transmission configuration indication (TCI) state that is associated with the first TAG (Comsa, paragraph [0218], For example, when a TCI state is configured, an associated TAG information (e.g., TAG-id) may be configured. When a WTRU received an uplink grant with a TCI state (or spatial relation info) for the uplink transmission (i.e., a configured uplink grant with a first transmission configuration indication (TCI) state that is associated with the first TAG), the WTRU may apply, use, or determine a TA value based on the associated TAG information for the TCI state (or spatial relation info, SRS resource indicator/index));
receive a medium access control control element (MAC CE) indicating the first TCI state (Comsa, paragraph, [0302], In response to receiving the first TCI state activation MAC-CE message, the WTRU may determine (e.g., identify) indicated/activated first TCI-state(s) in the first MAC-CE message (i.e., WTRU receives a MAC CE message indicating a first TCI State) are among the second plurality of TCI-states, e.g., ( all) associated with the second inter-cell PCI);
Thus, it would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date of the claimed invention to modify the system of Guo by using the features, as taught by Comsa, in order to support base station and WTRUs to implement LTE radio access and NR radio access together using dual connectivity (DC) principles (see Comsa, paragraphs [0001] and [0020]).
Guo and Comsa do not explicitly disclose the following features.
Regarding claim 1, and in response to a first time alignment timer (TAT) of the first TAG being expired while a second TAT of the second TAG is running, clear the configured uplink grant with the first TCI state that is associated with the first TAG with the first TAT.
Regarding claim 9, and in response to a first time alignment timer (TAT) of the first TAG being expired while a second TAT of the second TAG is running, clear the configured uplink grant with the first TCI state that is associated with the first TAG with the first TAT.
Regarding claim 14, and in response to a first time alignment timer (TAT) of the first TAG being expired while a second TAT of the second TAG is running, clear the configured uplink grant with the first TCI state that is associated with the first TAG with the first TAT.
In the same field of endeavor (e.g., communication system) Heo discloses a method related to wireless communication system that comprises the following features.
Regarding claim 1, and in response to a first time alignment timer (TAT) of the first TAG being expired while a second TAT of the second TAG is running, clear the configured uplink grant with the first TCI state that is associated with the first TAG with the first TAT (Heo, paragraph [0067], a receiver to communicate with a first eNB corresponding to a PCell in the wireless network and a second eNB corresponding to an SCell in the wireless network; and a processor configured to: determine an expiration of a first time alignment timer (i.e., a first TAT) associated with a TAG of the PCell (i.e., a first TAG); and respond to the determination of the expiration of the first time alignment timer (i.e., in response to a first TAT of the first TAG being expired) by performing at least one of: (A) flushing HARQ buffers corresponding to the PCell and keeping HARQ buffers corresponding to the SCell; (B) notifying RRC to release a first PUCCH in the PCell; (C) clearing configured downlink assignments and uplink grants corresponding to the PCell (i.e., clearing the configured uplink grant associated with the first TAT with the first TAG) and … considering a running third time alignment timer of the SCell as still running (i.e., while the second TAT associated with the second TAG still running)).
Regarding claim 9, and in response to a first time alignment timer (TAT) of the first TAG being expired while a second TAT of the second TAG is running, clear the configured uplink grant with the first TCI state that is associated with the first TAG with the first TAT (Heo, paragraph [0067], a receiver to communicate with a first eNB corresponding to a PCell in the wireless network and a second eNB corresponding to an SCell in the wireless network; and a processor configured to: determine an expiration of a first time alignment timer (i.e., a first TAT) associated with a TAG of the PCell (i.e., a first TAG); and respond to the determination of the expiration of the first time alignment timer (i.e., in response to a first TAT of the first TAG being expired) by performing at least one of: (A) flushing HARQ buffers corresponding to the PCell and keeping HARQ buffers corresponding to the SCell; (B) notifying RRC to release a first PUCCH in the PCell; (C) clearing configured downlink assignments and uplink grants corresponding to the PCell (i.e., clearing the configured uplink grant associated with the first TAT with the first TAG) and … considering a running third time alignment timer of the SCell as still running (i.e., while the second TAT associated with the second TAG still running)).
Regarding claim 14, and in response to a first time alignment timer (TAT) of the first TAG being expired while a second TAT of the second TAG is running, clear the configured uplink grant with the first TCI state that is associated with the first TAG with the first TAT (Heo, paragraph [0067], a receiver to communicate with a first eNB corresponding to a PCell in the wireless network and a second eNB corresponding to an SCell in the wireless network; and a processor configured to: determine an expiration of a first time alignment timer (i.e., a first TAT) associated with a TAG of the PCell (i.e., a first TAG); and respond to the determination of the expiration of the first time alignment timer (i.e., in response to a first TAT of the first TAG being expired) by performing at least one of: (A) flushing HARQ buffers corresponding to the PCell and keeping HARQ buffers corresponding to the SCell; (B) notifying RRC to release a first PUCCH in the PCell; (C) clearing configured downlink assignments and uplink grants corresponding to the PCell (i.e., clearing the configured uplink grant associated with the first TAT with the first TAG) and … considering a running third time alignment timer of the SCell as still running (i.e., while the second TAT associated with the second TAG still running)).
Thus, it would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date of the claimed invention to modify the system of Guo and Comsa by using the features, as taught by Heo, in order to support UE for communication in a wireless network supporting inter-eNB carrier aggregation (CA) (see Heo, paragraphs [0002] and [0067]).
Guo and Heo do not explicitly disclose the following features.
Regarding claim 2, wherein the configuration parameters indicate a second configured uplink grant with a second TCI state that is associated with the second TAG.
Regarding claim 10, wherein the configuration parameters indicate a second configured uplink grant with a second TCI state that is associated with the second TAG.
Regarding claim 15, wherein the configuration parameters indicate a second configured uplink grant with a second TCI state that is associated with the second TAG.
In the same field of endeavor (e.g., communication system) Comsa discloses a method related to inter-cell multi TRP operation in wireless communication systems that comprises the following features.
Regarding claim 2, wherein the configuration parameters indicate a second configured uplink grant with a second TCI state that is associated with the second TAG (Comsa, paragraph [0218], a TCI state (or spatial relation info, SRS resource indicator/index) may be associated with a TAG. For example, when a TCI state is configured, an associated TAG information (e.g., TAG-id) may be configured. When a WTRU received an uplink grant with a TCI state ( or spatial relation info) for the uplink transmission, the WTRU may apply, use, or determine a TA value based on the associated TAG information for the TCI state (or spatial relation info, SRS resource indicator/index)).
Regarding claim 10, wherein the configuration parameters indicate a second configured uplink grant with a second TCI state that is associated with the second TAG (Comsa, paragraph [0218], a TCI state (or spatial relation info, SRS resource indicator/index) may be associated with a TAG. For example, when a TCI state is configured, an associated TAG information (e.g., TAG-id) may be configured. When a WTRU received an uplink grant with a TCI state ( or spatial relation info) for the uplink transmission, the WTRU may apply, use, or determine a TA value based on the associated TAG information for the TCI state (or spatial relation info, SRS resource indicator/index)).
Regarding claim 15, wherein the configuration parameters indicate a second configured uplink grant with a second TCI state that is associated with the second TAG (Comsa, paragraph [0218], a TCI state (or spatial relation info, SRS resource indicator/index) may be associated with a TAG. For example, when a TCI state is configured, an associated TAG information (e.g., TAG-id) may be configured. When a WTRU received an uplink grant with a TCI state ( or spatial relation info) for the uplink transmission, the WTRU may apply, use, or determine a TA value based on the associated TAG information for the TCI state (or spatial relation info, SRS resource indicator/index)).
Thus, it would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date of the claimed invention to modify the system of Guo and Heo by using the features, as taught by Comsa, in order to support base station and WTRUs to implement LTE radio access and NR radio access together using dual connectivity (DC) principles (see Comsa, paragraphs [0001] and [0020]).
Guo and Compsa do not explicitly disclose the following features.
Regarding claim 3, wherein the instructions further cause the wireless device to maintain the second configured uplink grant based on the second TAT running.
Regarding claim 16, wherein the instructions further cause the wireless device to maintain the second configured uplink grant based on the second TAT running.
In the same field of endeavor (e.g., communication system) Heo discloses a method related to wireless communication system that comprises the following features.
Regarding claim 3, wherein the instructions further cause the wireless device to maintain the second configured uplink grant based on the second TAT running (Heo, paragraph [0067], clearing configured downlink assignments and uplink grants corresponding to the PCell and maintaining the downlink assignments and uplink grants corresponding to the SCell; and (D) considering a running second time alignment timer of the PCell as expired and considering a running third time alignment timer of the SCell as still running).
Regarding claim 16, wherein the instructions further cause the wireless device to maintain the second configured uplink grant based on the second TAT running (Heo, paragraph [0067], clearing configured downlink assignments and uplink grants corresponding to the PCell and maintaining the downlink assignments and uplink grants corresponding to the SCell; and (D) considering a running second time alignment timer of the PCell as expired and considering a running third time alignment timer of the SCell as still running).
Thus, it would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date of the claimed invention to modify the system of Guo and Comsa by using the features, as taught by Heo, in order to support UE for communication in a wireless network supporting inter-eNB carrier aggregation (CA) (see Heo, paragraphs [0002] and [0067]).
Claim(s) 4-6, 8, 11, 13 and 17-19 is/are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being unpatentable over GUO et al., US 2025/0063521 A1 (using PCT application filing date of February 15, 2022 corresponding to PCT/CN2022/076332; referred to as Guo hereinafter), in view of Comsa et al., US 2024/0188015 A1 (Comsa hereinafter), in view of Heo et al. US 2014/0092865 A1 (Heo hereinafter), as applied to the claims above and further in view of ZHOU et al., (Zhou hereinafter).
Here is how the references teach the claims.
Regarding claims 4-6, 8, 11, 13 and 17-19, Guo, Comsa and Heo disclose the wireless device of claim 1, the base station of claim 9 and the non-transitory computer-readable medium of claim 14. Guo, Comsa and Heo do not explicitly disclose the following features.
Regarding claim 4, wherein the second TCI state indicates a pathloss reference signal.
Regarding claim 5, wherein the instructions further cause the wireless device to transmit an uplink signal with a transmit power that is determined based on the second TCI state.
Regarding claim 6, wherein the transmit power is further determined based on a pathloss reference signal indicated by the second TCI state.
Regarding claim 8, wherein the first TCI state is at least one of: a joint TCI state; or a unified TCI state.
Regarding claim 11, wherein the second TCI state indicates a pathloss reference signal.
Regarding claim 13, wherein the first TCI state is at least one of: a joint TCI state; or a unified TCI state.
Regarding claim 17, wherein the second TCI state indicates a pathloss reference signal.
Regarding claim 18, wherein the instructions further cause the wireless device to transmit an uplink signal with a transmit power that is determined based on the second TCI state.
Regarding claim 19, wherein the transmit power is further determined based on a pathloss reference signal indicated by the second TCI state.
In the same field of endeavor (e.g., communication system) Zhou discloses a method related to wireless communication system that comprises the following features.
Regarding claim 4, wherein the second TCI state indicates a pathloss reference signal (Zhou, paragraph [0292], The transmission component 804 may transmit an indication of whether the UE supports a receive beam for a pathloss reference signal associated with the unified TCI state being different than a transmit beam indicated by the unified TCI state).
Regarding claim 5, wherein the instructions further cause the wireless device to transmit an uplink signal with a transmit power that is determined based on the second TCI state (Zhou, paragraph [0089], In some aspects, the UE 120 may transmit an indication of whether the UE 120 supports TCI-specific power control parameters for each uplink TCI state type, in the unified TCI state framework, supported by the UE 120 (for example, an uplink TCI state type may be a TCI state type that can be used to provide, or define, information for an uplink beam)).
Regarding claim 6, wherein the transmit power is further determined based on a pathloss reference signal indicated by the second TCI state (Zhou, paragraph [0089], the UE 120 may transmit an indication of whether the UE 120 supports TCI-specific power control parameters for each joint downlink and uplink TCI state type or each uplink TCI state type supported by the UE 120. Also see paragraph [0090], A power control parameter may include a maximum transmit power level parameter, a target receive power level parameter (for example, a PO parameter), a fractional power control parameter (for example, an alpha or a parameter), a closed loop index parameter, or a pathloss reference signal parameter, among other examples).
Regarding claim 8, wherein the first TCI state is at least one of: a joint TCI state; or a unified TCI state (Zhou, paragraph [0289], The transmission component 804 may transmit an indication of whether the UE supports at least one of: joint downlink and uplink TCI states, or separate downlink and uplink TCI states).
Regarding claim 11, wherein the second TCI state indicates a pathloss reference signal (Zhou, paragraph [0292], The transmission component 804 may transmit an indication of whether the UE supports a receive beam for a pathloss reference signal associated with the unified TCI state being different than a transmit beam indicated by the unified TCI state).
Regarding claim 13, wherein the first TCI state is at least one of: a joint TCI state; or a unified TCI state (Zhou, paragraph [0289], The transmission component 804 may transmit an indication of whether the UE supports at least one of: joint downlink and uplink TCI states, or separate downlink and uplink TCI).
Regarding claim 17, wherein the second TCI state indicates a pathloss reference signal (Zhou, paragraph [0292], The transmission component 804 may transmit an indication of whether the UE supports a receive beam for a pathloss reference signal associated with the unified TCI state being different than a transmit beam indicated by the unified TCI state).
Regarding claim 18, wherein the instructions further cause the wireless device to transmit an uplink signal with a transmit power that is determined based on the second TCI state (Zhou, paragraph [0089], In some aspects, the UE 120 may transmit an indication of whether the UE 120 supports TCI-specific power control parameters for each uplink TCI state type, in the unified TCI state framework, supported by the UE 120 (for example, an uplink TCI state type may be a TCI state type that can be used to provide, or define, information for an uplink beam)).
Regarding claim 19, wherein the transmit power is further determined based on a pathloss reference signal indicated by the second TCI state (Zhou, paragraph [0089], the UE 120 may transmit an indication of whether the UE 120 supports TCI-specific power control parameters for each joint downlink and uplink TCI state type or each uplink TCI state type supported by the UE 120. Also see paragraph [0090], A power control parameter may include a maximum transmit power level parameter, a target receive power level parameter (for example, a PO parameter), a fractional power control parameter (for example, an alpha or a parameter), a closed loop index parameter, or a pathloss reference signal parameter, among other examples).
Thus, it would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date of the claimed invention to modify the system of Guo, Comsa and Heo by using the features, as taught by Zhou, in order to support UE capability signaling for enhanced beam management features (see Zhou, abstract and paragraphs [0002]).
Claim(s) 7, 12 and 20 is/are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being unpatentable over GUO et al., US 2025/0063521 A1 (using PCT application filing date of February 15, 2022 corresponding to PCT/CN2022/076332; referred to as Guo hereinafter), in view of Comsa et al., US 2024/0188015 A1 (Comsa hereinafter), in view of Heo et al. US 2014/0092865 A1 (Heo hereinafter), as applied to the claims above and further in view of Yan et al., US 2024/0340074 A1 (using PCT application filing date of August 4, 2021 corresponding to PCT/CN2021/110553; referred to as Yan hereinafter).
Here is how the references teach the claims.
Regarding claims 7, 12 and 20, Guo, Comsa and Heo disclose the wireless device of claim 1, the base station of claim 9 and the non-transitory computer-readable medium of claim 14. Guo, Comsa and Heo do not explicitly disclose the following features.
Regarding claim 7, wherein the instructions further cause the wireless device to:
receive a random access response (RAR) indicating a timing advance value for the first TAG; and start the first TAT in response to receiving the RAR.
Regarding claim 12, wherein the instructions further cause the base station to: transmit a random access response (RAR) indicating a timing advance value for the first TAG; and start the first TAT in response to transmitting the RAR.
Regarding claim 20, wherein the instructions further cause the wireless device to: receive a random access response (RAR) indicating a timing advance value for the first TAG.
In the same field of endeavor (e.g., communication system) Yan discloses a method related to wireless communication system that comprises the following features.
Regarding claim 7, wherein the instructions further cause the wireless device to:
receive a random access response (RAR) indicating a timing advance value for the first TAG (Jan, paragraph [0062], Upon receiving a TA command in an RAR message for a serving cell belonging to a TAG); and start the first TAT in response to receiving the RAR (Jung, paragraph, [0064], Upon receiving an RAR from the BS, the UE starts the time alignment timer, and transmits a message 3 (Msg3) during running of the time alignment timer).
Regarding claim 12, wherein the instructions further cause the base station to: transmit a random access response (RAR) indicating a timing advance value for the first TAG (Jan, paragraph [0062], Upon receiving a TA command in an RAR message for a serving cell belonging to a TAG); and start the first TAT in response to transmitting the RAR (Jung, paragraph, [0064], Upon receiving an RAR from the BS, the UE starts the time alignment timer, and transmits a message 3 (Msg3) during running of the time alignment timer).
Regarding claim 20, wherein the instructions further cause the wireless device to: receive a random access response (RAR) indicating a timing advance value for the first TAG (Jan, paragraph [0062], Upon receiving a TA command in an RAR message for a serving cell belonging to a TAG); and start the first TAT in response to receiving the RAR (Jung, paragraph, [0064], Upon receiving an RAR from the BS, the UE starts the time alignment timer, and transmits a message 3 (Msg3) during running of the time alignment timer).
Thus, it would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date of the claimed invention to modify the system of Guo, Comsa and Heo by using the features, as taught by Yan, in order to support determining a synchronization validity timer in a wireless communication system (see Yan, abstract and paragraphs [0001]).
Conclusion
/OBAIDUL HUQ/Primary Examiner, Art Unit 2473 Dated: 07/20/2026