DETAILED ACTION
Priority
Receipt is acknowledged of certified copies of papers required by 37 CFR 1.55.
Information Disclosure Statement
The IDS filed to date have been considered.
Response to Arguments
Applicant's arguments filed 06/25/2026 have been fully considered but they are not persuasive.
With regard to the applicant arguments that the prior art does not disclose:
Positioning determination based on the zone and user in order to determine the best location for sending and receiving information by the hologram system.
The examiner respectfully disagrees:
With regard to positioning and controlling of information within the vehicle by the system, with respect to the position of the user D1 teaches:
in at least paragraphs [0018], [0121] with regard to voice interaction and selection of a speaker near the user as well as the air conditioning
[0259] teaches “The in-vehicle user positioning method in this embodiment of this application may be applied to a plurality of in-vehicle interaction scenarios, and specifically, may be applied to a scenario in which a user needs to be located.”
And [0261] for interaction with the hologram
As such it is taught by D1 that the system determines positioning of a user or “receiver” in a zone and then selects the equipment best suited to the position of the user to activate for said user, and given voice activation any and all equipment can be activated from each location.
Therefore, due to those reasons stated above the rejection is believed to be proper and has been restated below while including any and all amendments.
Claim Rejections - 35 USC § 103
Claim(s) 1-20 is/are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being unpatentable over Nusbaum (US20230335138) herein after referred to as D1, further in view of Zhao (US 2023038039) herein after referred to as D2.
With regard to claim 1, D1 teaches a system for communicating in an aircraft, in at least (figure 2); comprising: a hologram generator configured to project a hologram in a zone ([0046]) of an aircraft cabin ([0005]); a sensor ([0004]) subassembly configured to sense a position ([0046]) of a receiver (232) of information in the zone ([0046]); and a controller ([0032]) including a processor ([0005]) configured to: receive, from the sensor ([0004]) subassembly, positional ([0046]) information pertaining to the receiver (232) of information; determine, based on the received positional ([0046]) information, a position ([0046]) of the receiver (232) of information within the zone ([0046]); and operate, based on the determined position ([0046]) of the receiver (232) of information within the zone ([0046]), the hologram generator to communicate information, by the hologram, to the receiver (232) of information pertaining to the determined position ([0046]) of the receiver (232) of information within the zone ([0046]).
However, D1 does not expressly disclose a hologram generator.
In a related endeavor, D2 teaches a vehicle mounted apparatus, in at least ([0261]) comprising: a hologram generator ([0261]), a position of the receiver of information within the zone relative to equipment located within the zone; ([0118]; and [0121]: via voice control determines location of user then activates equipment near the user).
Therefore, it would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date of the claimed invention to provide the invention of D1, with the holographic generator of D2, for the purpose of better relaying and interacting with displayed information to the receiver.
With regard to claim 2, D1 in view of D2, teach all of the claimed limitations of the instant invention as have been outlined above with respect to claim 1, wherein D1 further teaches an interactive digital assistant, in at least (Fig. 1 and 2); wherein: the zone ([0046]) includes equipment ([0021] and [0036]) usable by the receiver (232) of information; the determined position ([0046]) of the receiver (232) of information is with respect to the equipment ([0021] and [0036]); and the information communicated to the receiver (232) of information, by the hologram, includes instructional information ([0024]) pertaining to use of the equipment ([0021] and [0036]).
However, D1 does not expressly disclose includes instructional information pertaining to use of the equipment and is selected based on the determined position of the receiver of information relative to the equipment.
In a related endeavor, D2 teaches a vehicle mounted apparatus, in at least ([0261]); includes instructional information pertaining to use of the equipment and is selected based on the determined position of the receiver of information relative to the equipment. ([0118]; and [0121]: via voice control determines location of user then activates equipment near the user).
Therefore, it would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date of the claimed invention to provide the invention of D1, with the holographic generator of D2, for the purpose of better relaying and interacting with displayed information to the receiver.
With regard to claim 3, D1 in view of D2, teach all of the claimed limitations of the instant invention as have been outlined above with respect to claim 2, wherein D1 further teaches an interactive digital assistant, in at least (Fig. 1 and 2); wherein the controller ([0032]) is operably coupled to the equipment ([0021] and [0036]), and the processor ([0005]) is further configured to: receive, from the receiver (232) of information, a verbal command ([0053]) pertaining to an operation of the equipment ([0021] and [0036]); process the received verbal command ([0053]); and operate the equipment ([0021] and [0036]) to execute the processed verbal command ([0053]).
With regard to claim 4, D1 in view of D2, teach all of the claimed limitations of the instant invention as have been outlined above with respect to claim 2, wherein D1 further teaches an interactive digital assistant, in at least (Fig. 1 and 2); wherein the equipment ([0021] and [0036]) comprises emergency equipment ([0021] and [0036]), and the information communicated to the receiver (232) of information pertaining to the use of the equipment ([0021] and [0036]) includes a tutorial, by the hologram, demonstrating use of the emergency equipment ([0021] and [0036]).
With regard to claim 5, D1 in view of D2, teach all of the claimed limitations of the instant invention as have been outlined above with respect to claim 2, wherein D1 further teaches an interactive digital assistant, in at least (Fig. 1 and 2); wherein the information communicated to the receiver (232) of information, by the hologram, includes information pertaining to an existence of the equipment ([0021] and [0036]) and physical location of the equipment ([0021] and [0036]) within the zone ([0046]).
With regard to claim 6, D1 in view of D2, teach all of the claimed limitations of the instant invention as have been outlined above with respect to claim 2, wherein D1 further teaches an interactive digital assistant, in at least (Fig. 1 and 2); wherein the equipment ([0021] and [0036]) comprises at least one of an adjustable passenger seat, media equipment ([0021] and [0036]), lighting equipment ([0021] and [0036]), climatization equipment ([0021] and [0036]), and privacy equipment ([0021] and [0036]).
With regard to claim 7, D1 in view of D2, teach all of the claimed limitations of the instant invention as have been outlined above with respect to claim 2, wherein D1 further teaches an interactive digital assistant, in at least (Fig. 1 and 2); wherein the processor ([0005]) is further configured to, based on the determined position ([0046]) of the receiver (232) of information in the zone ([0046]), provide a tutorial of the equipment ([0021] and [0036]) available for use in the zone ([0046]).
However, D1 does not expressly disclose provide a tutorial of the equipment available for use in the zone by projecting the hologram proximate the equipment associated with the tutorial.
In a related endeavor, D2 teaches a vehicle mounted apparatus, in at least ([0261]); provide a tutorial of the equipment available for use in the zone by projecting the hologram proximate the equipment associated with the tutorial. ([0118]; and [0121]: via voice control determines location of user then activates equipment near the user).
Therefore, it would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date of the claimed invention to provide the invention of D1, with the holographic generator of D2, for the purpose of better relaying and interacting with displayed information to the receiver.
With regard to claim 8, D1 in view of D2, teach all of the claimed limitations of the instant invention as have been outlined above with respect to claim 1, wherein D1 further teaches an interactive digital assistant, in at least (Fig. 1 and 2); wherein the system further comprises at least one additional hologram generator configured to project a hologram in at least one additional zone ([0046]) of the aircraft cabin ([0005]); and wherein: the sensor ([0004]) subassembly is configured to sense a position ([0046]) of the receiver (232) of information in the at least one additional zone ([0046]); and the processor ([0005]) is further configured to: determine, based on the received positional ([0046]) information, the position ([0046]) of the receiver (232) of information in the at least one additional zone ([0046]); and operate, based on the determined position ([0046]) of the receiver (232) of information in the at least one additional zone ([0046]), the at least one additional hologram generator to communicate information, by the hologram, to the receiver (232) of information pertaining to the determined position ([0046]) of the receiver (232) of information in the at least one additional zone ([0046]).
With regard to claim 9, D1 in view of D2, teach all of the claimed limitations of the instant invention as have been outlined above with respect to claim 8, wherein D1 further teaches an interactive digital assistant, in at least (Fig. 1 and 2); wherein the zone ([0046]) includes a passenger seating ([0046]) area and the at least one additional zone ([0046]) includes at least one of a galley ([0020]), a lavatory ([0020]), and a bedroom ([0046]).
With regard to claim 10, D1 in view of D2, teach all of the claimed limitations of the instant invention as have been outlined above with respect to claim 8, wherein D1 further teaches an interactive digital assistant, in at least (Fig. 1 and 2); wherein: the at least one additional zone ([0046]) includes equipment ([0021] and [0036]) usable by the receiver (232) of information; and the information communicated to the receiver (232) of information, by the hologram generated by the at least additional hologram generator, includes instructional information ([0024]) pertaining to use of the equipment ([0021] and [0036]) in the at least one additional zone ([0046]).
With regard to claim 11, D1 in view of D2, teach all of the claimed limitations of the instant invention as have been outlined above with respect to claim 10, wherein D1 further teaches an interactive digital assistant, in at least (Fig. 1 and 2); wherein the controller ([0032]) is operably coupled to the equipment ([0021] and [0036]) in the at least one additional zone ([0046]), and the processor ([0005]) is further configured to: receive, from the receiver (232) of information, a verbal command ([0053]) pertaining to an operation of the equipment ([0021] and [0036]) in the at least one additional zone ([0046]); process the received verbal command ([0053]); and operate the equipment ([0021] and [0036]) to execute the processed verbal command ([0053]).
With regard to claim 12, D1 in view of D2, teach all of the claimed limitations of the instant invention as have been outlined above with respect to claim 10, wherein D1 further teaches an interactive digital assistant, in at least (Fig. 1 and 2); wherein the information communicated to the receiver (232) of information, by the hologram, further includes information pertaining to an existence of the equipment ([0021] and [0036]) and physical location of the equipment ([0021] and [0036]) in the at least one additional zone ([0046]).
With regard to claim 13, D1 in view of D2, teach all of the claimed limitations of the instant invention as have been outlined above with respect to claim 10, wherein D1 further teaches an interactive digital assistant, in at least (Fig. 1 and 2); wherein the equipment ([0021] and [0036]) comprises at least one of furniture, appliances, media equipment ([0021] and [0036]), lighting equipment ([0021] and [0036]), climatization equipment ([0021] and [0036]), and privacy equipment ([0021] and [0036]).
With regard to claim 14, D1 in view of D2, teach all of the claimed limitations of the instant invention as have been outlined above with respect to claim 10, wherein D1 further teaches an interactive digital assistant, in at least (Fig. 1 and 2); wherein the processor ([0005]) is further configured to, based on the determined position ([0046]) of the receiver (232) of information in the at least one additional zone ([0046]), provide a tutorial of the equipment ([0021] and [0036]) available for use in the at least one additional zone ([0046]).
With regard to claim 15, D1 teaches a method for communicating with a receiver (232) of information in an aircraft cabin ([0005]), the aircraft cabin ([0005]) comprising a hologram generator, a sensor ([0004]) subassembly, and a controller ([0032]) including a processor ([0005]), and the method comprising: receiving, by the controller ([0032]), an output from the sensor ([0004]) subassembly pertaining to a position ([0046]) of the receiver (232) of information in a zone ([0046]) of the aircraft cabin ([0005]); determining, based on the received positional ([0046]) information, a position ([0046]) of the receiver (232) of information within the zone ([0046]); and with respect to equipment ([0021] and [0036]) within the zone ([0046]); and operating, based on the determined position ([0046]) of the receiver (232) of information within the zone ([0046]), and with respect to the equipment ([0021] and [0036]) within the zone ([0046]), the hologram generator to communicate information, by the hologram, to the receiver (232) of information pertaining to the equipment ([0021] and [0036]) within the zone ([0046]).
However, D1 does not expressly disclose a hologram generator, and selected according to the predetermined position of the receiver of information relative to the equipment.
In a related endeavor, D2 teaches a vehicle mounted apparatus, in at least ([0261]) comprising: a hologram generator ([0261]), selected according to the predetermined position of the receiver of information relative to the equipment ([0118]; and [0121]: via voice control determines location of user then activates equipment near the user).
Therefore, it would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date of the claimed invention to provide the invention of D1, with the holographic generator of D2, for the purpose of better relaying and interacting with displayed information to the receiver.
With regard to claim 16, D1 in view of D2, teach all of the claimed limitations of the instant invention as have been outlined above with respect to claim 15, wherein D1 further teaches an interactive digital assistant, in at least (Fig. 1 and 2); wherein: the equipment ([0021] and [0036]) within the zone ([0046]) is usable by the receiver (232) of information; and the information communicated to the receiver (232) of information, by the hologram, includes instructional information ([0024]) pertaining to use of the equipment ([0021] and [0036]).
However, D1 does not expressly disclose to the receiver of information pertaining to the equipment within the zone and selected according to the predetermined position of the receiver of information relative to the equipment.
In a related endeavor, D2 teaches a vehicle mounted apparatus, in at least ([0261]); comprising: to the receiver of information pertaining to the equipment within the zone and selected according to the predetermined position of the receiver of information relative to the equipment. ([0118]; and [0121]: via voice control determines location of user then activates equipment near the user).
Therefore, it would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date of the claimed invention to provide the invention of D1, with the holographic generator of D2, for the purpose of better relaying and interacting with displayed information to the receiver.
With regard to claim 17, D1 in view of D2, teach all of the claimed limitations of the instant invention as have been outlined above with respect to claim 16, wherein D1 further teaches an interactive digital assistant, in at least (Fig. 1 and 2); wherein the equipment ([0021] and [0036]) comprises emergency equipment ([0021] and [0036]), and the information communicated to the receiver (232) of information pertaining to the use of the equipment ([0021] and [0036]) includes a tutorial, by the hologram, demonstrating use of the equipment ([0021] and [0036]).
With regard to claim 18, D1 in view of D2, teach all of the claimed limitations of the instant invention as have been outlined above with respect to claim 15, wherein D1 further teaches an interactive digital assistant, in at least (Fig. 1 and 2); wherein the controller ([0032]) is operably coupled to the equipment ([0021] and [0036]), and the method further includes: receiving, by the controller ([0032]), a verbal command ([0053]) from the receiver (232) of information pertaining to an operation of the equipment ([0021] and [0036]); processing the received verbal command ([0053]); and operating the equipment ([0021] and [0036]) to execute the processed verbal command ([0053]).
With regard to claim 19, D1 in view of D2, teach all of the claimed limitations of the instant invention as have been outlined above with respect to claim 15, wherein D1 further teaches an interactive digital assistant, in at least (Fig. 1 and 2); wherein the information communicated to the receiver (232) of information, by the hologram, further includes information pertaining to an existence of the equipment ([0021] and [0036]) and physical location of the equipment ([0021] and [0036]) within the zone ([0046]).
With regard to claim 20, D1 in view of D2, teach all of the claimed limitations of the instant invention as have been outlined above with respect to claim 15, wherein D1 further teaches an interactive digital assistant, in at least (Fig. 1 and 2); wherein the equipment ([0021] and [0036]) comprises at least one of an adjustable passenger seat, media equipment ([0021] and [0036]), lighting equipment ([0021] and [0036]), climatization equipment ([0021] and [0036]), privacy equipment ([0021] and [0036]), and an appliance.
Conclusion
THIS ACTION IS MADE FINAL. Applicant is reminded of the extension of time policy as set forth in 37 CFR 1.136(a).
/GRANT A GAGNON/ Examiner, Art Unit 2872
/BUMSUK WON/ Supervisory Patent Examiner, Art Unit 2872