DETAILED ACTION
Information Disclosure Statement
The information disclosure statements (IDS) submitted on August 21, 2024 and July 10, 2025 comply with the provisions of 37 CFR 1.97. Accordingly, the information disclosure statements are being considered by the examiner.
Drawings
The drawings are objected to as failing to comply with 37 CFR 1.84(p)(5) because they include the following reference characters not mentioned in the description: 12 & 13 in figure 2. (The examiner respectfully suggests removing the reference numbers from the figure, since it appears they have no impact on the claimed invention and since this would avoid any inadvertent new matter issues.)
The drawings are objected to under 37 CFR 1.83(a). The drawings must show every feature of the invention specified in the claims. Therefore, the “mating tunnel comprises a door-like portion” where “the door-like portion includes a lock” must be shown or the features canceled from the claims. No new matter should be entered.
Claim Rejections - 35 USC § 102
Claims 1-2, 5-6, 12-15 and 18 are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 102(a)(1) as being anticipated by Maeda et al. foreign patent JPH0886975, of record.
Regarding claim 1 Maeda discloses a system (title), comprising: (A) an optical bridge (e.g. see figures 10-11), comprising: (i) a bridge body (e.g. combination of fixing member 32 & guide member 31) configured to be mounted directly or indirectly onto a head-worn device (e.g. see figure 1); (ii) at least one rail (e.g. shafts 16a & 16b) operatively engaged with the bridge body (e.g. see figures 10-11), the at least one rail having a first end and a second end (e.g. see figures 10-11); (iii) a first stopblock (e.g. left bearing 33) located at or proximate to the first end; and (iv) a second stopblock (e.g. right bearing 33) located at or proximate to the second end; wherein the at least one rail has a first side portion located between the first stopblock and the bridge body (e.g. see figures 10-11 left side) and a second side portion located between the second stopblock and the bridge body (e.g. see figures 10-11 right side); and (B) an optical device (e.g. combination of optical system support member 12 housing observation optical system 13) directly or indirectly mounted onto the at least one rail (e.g. see figures 10-11).
Regarding claim 2 Maeda discloses the system of claim 1, as set forth above. Maeda further discloses wherein the optical device (e.g. 12) includes at least one mating tunnel (e.g. holes 12h and/or 12i) configured to slide over the at least one rail (e.g. 16a and/or 16b), the at least one tunnel being integral to the optical device (e.g. see figures 10-11).
Regarding claim 5 Maeda discloses the system of claim 2, as set forth above. Maeda further discloses wherein the optical device (e.g. combination of 12 & 13) comprises a frame (e.g. figure 13 bearing 37) defining the at least one mating tunnel (e.g. paragraph [0057] “37 is arranged, which is formed by integrating the two holes 12h and hole 12i” see figure 13(d)), the frame further comprising a first position-securing device (e.g. left combination comprising gears 36a, 36b & rack 37c) configured to releasably engage the at least one rail to secure the optical device at a desired position along the first side portion of the at least one rail (e.g. via left interpupillary distance adjustment knob 100), wherein the first position-securing device comprises (i) an engaged state wherein the optical device is releasably secured at the desired position along the first side portion of the at least one rail (e.g. when left 100 is not being rotated see figure 13(e)), and (ii) an unengaged state wherein the optical device is free to slide along the first side portion of the at least one rail (e.g. when left 100 is being rotated see figure 13(d)).
Regarding claim 6 Maeda discloses the system of claim 5, as set forth above. Maeda further discloses wherein the frame (e.g. 37) further comprises a second position-securing device (e.g. right combination comprising 36a, 36b & 37c) configured to releasably engage the at least one rail to secure the optical device at a desired position along the second side portion of the at least one rail (e.g. via right 100), wherein the second position-securing device comprises (i) an engaged state wherein the optical device is releasably secured at the desired position along the second side portion of the at least one rail (e.g. when right 100 is not being rotated see figure 13(e)), and (ii) an unengaged state wherein the optical device is free to slide along the second side portion of the at least one rail (e.g. when right 100 is being rotated see figure 13(d)).
Regarding claim 12 Maeda discloses the system of claim 1, as set forth above. Maeda further discloses wherein the at least one rail (e.g. 16a & 16b) may comprise from 1 to about 5 rails (e.g. see figure 11).
Regarding claim 13 Maeda discloses the system of claim 1, as set forth above. Maeda further discloses wherein the bridge body (e.g. combination of 31 & 32) comprises at least one through-channel and the at least one rail extends through the at least one through-channel (e.g. see figure 11).
Regarding claim 14 Maeda discloses the system of claim 13, as set forth above. Maeda further discloses wherein the at least one through-channel is completely defined by the bridge body (e.g. see figure 11).
Regarding claim 15 Maeda discloses the system of claim 13, as set forth above. Maeda further discloses wherein the at least one rail is adhesively and/or secured to the bridge body at the at least one through-channel (implicit for proper operation given if 16a & 16b were loose the optical devices would shift left and right).
Regarding claim 18 Maeda discloses the system of claim 1, as set forth above. Maeda further discloses it is further comprising a power source, remote power supply wiring, power connectors, or any combination thereof (e.g. drive circuits 23b).
Claim Rejections - 35 USC § 103
Claims 3-4 and 16-17 are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being unpatentable over Maeda et al. foreign patent JPH0886975, of record, in view of Burbo et al. US Patent 4,449,787, of record.
Regarding claim 3 Maeda discloses the system of claim 2, as set forth above. Maeda further discloses wherein the optical device (e.g. combination of 12 & 13) includes (i) a first monocular device mounted onto the at least one rail at a first position on the first side portion of the at least one rail (e.g. left combination of 12 & 13), (ii) a second monocular night vision device mounted onto the at least one rail at a second position on the second side portion of the at least one rail (e.g. right combination of 12 & 13), or both (i) and (ii) (e.g. see figures 10-11).
Maeda does not disclose the optical devices are night vision devices.
Burbo teaches a similar system (e.g. figures 1-2 aviator's night vision imaging system/ANVIS 10) including a bridge body (e.g. assembly 60) configured to be mounted directly or indirectly onto a head-worn device (e.g. see figures 1-2),at least one rail operatively engaged with the bridge body (e.g. shafts 65 & 77-78), a first optical device mounted on a first portion (e.g. telescope 22) and a second optical device mounted on a second portion (e.g. telescope 23); and further teaches said optical devices are night vision devices for the purpose of enabling night time vision by responding to low level of light and/or viewing objects at night, which objects emit heat or infra-red radiation (column 1 lines 18-26). Therefore, it would be obvious to a person of ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date of the claimed invention for the system as disclosed by Maeda to have the optical devices be night vision devices as taught by Burbo for the purpose of enabling night time vision by responding to low level of light and/or viewing objects at night, which objects emit heat or infra-red radiation.
Regarding claim 4 Maeda discloses the system of claim 2, as set forth above. Maeda further discloses wherein the optical device (e.g. combination of 12 & 13) includes a binocular device or a panoramic device (e.g. see figures 10-11), and wherein the at least one mating tunnel (e.g. 12h and/or 12i) overlies (i) a first portion of the at least one rail at a first side portion of the at least one rail (e.g. left side of 16a and/or 16b) and (ii) a second portion of the at least one rail at a second side portion of the at least one rail (e.g. right side of 16a and/or 16b).
Maeda does not disclose the optical devices are night vision devices.
Burbo teaches a similar system, as set forth above; and further teaches said optical devices are night vision devices for the purpose of enabling night time vision by responding to low level of light and/or viewing objects at night, which objects emit heat or infra-red radiation (column 1 lines 18-26). Therefore, it would be obvious to a person of ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date of the claimed invention for the system as disclosed by Maeda to have the optical devices be night vision devices as taught by Burbo for the purpose of enabling night time vision by responding to low level of light and/or viewing objects at night, which objects emit heat or infra-red radiation.
Regarding claims 16-17 Maeda discloses the system of claim 1, as set forth above. Maeda does not disclose wherein the at least one rail is formed from a plastic material, a fiber-reinforced composite, a metal, or a metal alloy, as required by claim 16; or wherein the bridge body is formed from a plastic material, a fiber-reinforced composite, a metal, or a metal alloy, as required by claim 17.
Burbo teaches a similar system, as set forth above; and further teaches the at least one rail (e.g. 77-78) are fabricated from metal (column 10 lines 7-18 “aluminum alloys”) for the purpose of maximum rigidity using light materials (column 10 lines 15-18) and the other elements would be made of plastic (column 10 lines 7-18 “polyarylene ether”) for the purpose of employing a material with dimensional stability in low temperatures and excellent mechanical and dielectric properties (column 10 lines 10-13). Further, it has been held to be within the general skill of a worker in the art to select a known material on the basis of its suitability for the intended use as a matter of obvious design choice, In re Leshin, 125 USPQ 416, see MPEP 2144. Therefore, it would be obvious to a person of ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date of the claimed invention for the system as disclosed by Maeda to have the at least one rail and the bridge body formed from a plastic material, a fiber-reinforced composite, a metal, or a metal alloy as taught by Burbo for the purpose of employing a material with dimensional stability in low temperatures and excellent mechanical and dielectric properties and since selecting a known material on the basis of its suitability for the intended use as a matter of obvious design choice.
Claim 7 is rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being unpatentable over Maeda et al. foreign patent JPH0886975, of record, in view of Teetzel et al. US Patent Application Publication 2013/0083391.
Regarding claim 7 Maeda discloses the system of claim 6 including a first and second position-securing device, as set forth above. Maeda does not disclose wherein the position-securing device comprises a user engageable button including or operably coupled to a rail-engaging surface and a body portion, wherein the user engageable button has (i) a depressed state corresponding to the unengaged state, and (ii) a relaxed state corresponding to the engaged state.
Teetzel discloses a similar system (title e.g. figures 13-14 helmet mounting system 400) including a bridge (e.g. bridge mount 402) an optical system (e.g. thermal optical device(s) 404) a rail (e.g. support member 412) that allows “the optical device 404 to slide transversely along the support member 412 to a desired position” (paragraph [0043]) and has a mechanism for an engaged and unengaged states (paragraph [0043] “cammed or eccentric bearing surface to allow selectively clamping and unclamping”); and further teaches the position-securing device comprises a user engageable button (e.g. button 414) including or operably coupled to a rail-engaging surface and a body portion, wherein the user engageable button has (i) a depressed state corresponding to the unengaged state, and (ii) a relaxed state corresponding to the engaged state (paragraph [0043] “414 may have a cammed or eccentric bearing surface to allow selectively clamping and unclamping … relative to the support member 412 … 414 may be depressed to enable the optical device 404 to slide transversely along the support member 412) for the purpose of enabling the user to adjust the pupillary/interpupillary distance of each optical device 404 to a desired position in front of the their eyes (paragraph [0043]). Therefore, it would be obvious to a person of ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date of the claimed invention for the system as disclosed by Maeda to have the position-securing device comprises a user engageable button including or operably coupled to a rail-engaging surface and a body portion, wherein the user engageable button has (i) a depressed state corresponding to the unengaged state, and (ii) a relaxed state corresponding to the engaged state as taught by Teetzel for the purpose of enabling the user to adjust the pupillary/interpupillary distance of each optical device 404 to a desired position in front of the their eyes.
Claim 8 is rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being unpatentable over Maeda et al. foreign patent JPH0886975, of record, in view of Patel et al. US Patent Application Publication 2002/0054234.
Regarding claim 8 Maeda discloses the system of claim 6 including a first and second position-securing device, as set forth above. Maeda does not disclose wherein the position-securing device comprises a user engageable captured screw that does not translate inwardly our outwardly in relation to the at least one rail upon rotation of the captured screw, the captured screw being operably coupled to a stopper that translates inwardly and/or outwardly in relation to the at least one rail upon rotation of the captured screw, wherein stopper has (i) a first position corresponding to the unengaged state where the stopper is not in contact with the at least one rail, and (ii) a second position corresponding to the engaged state where the stopper is in contact with the at least one rail.
Patel teaches a similar system including an optical device with adjustable movement (abstract) and a position-securing devices engaging a rail (e.g. figure 10 stops 31a & 31b engaging annular flange 24); and further teaches (see figure 12) a user engageable captured screw that does not translate inwardly our outwardly upon rotation of the captured screw (e.g. captive screw 39), the captured screw being operably coupled to a stopper (e.g. stop 31) that translates inwardly and/or outwardly in relation to the at least one rail upon rotation of the captured screw (paragraph [0048] “39 may be used … for setting the position of stop 31”), wherein stopper has (i) a first position corresponding to the unengaged state where the stopper is not in contact with the at least one rail (inherent for means seen in figures 10-12 and screw as discussed in paragraph [0048] “for fixing the position of the stop”), and (ii) a second position corresponding to the engaged state where the stopper is in contact with the at least one rail (inherent for an adjustable device as seen in figures 10-12 and discussed in paragraph [0048]). One would be motivated to use a captive screw and stop for the purpose of having an adjustable motion limiting means that is not removable from the device (paragraph [0048] “[c]aptive screw 39 may be partially threaded into groove 30 allowing stop 31 to slide in the groove, but preventing stop 31 from falling off or being removed”). Therefore, it would be obvious to a person of ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date of the claimed invention for the system as disclosed by Maeda to have the position-securing device comprises a user engageable captured screw that does not translate inwardly our outwardly in relation to the at least one rail upon rotation of the captured screw, the captured screw being operably coupled to a stopper that translates inwardly and/or outwardly in relation to the at least one rail upon rotation of the captured screw, wherein stopper has (i) a first position corresponding to the unengaged state where the stopper is not in contact with the at least one rail, and (ii) a second position corresponding to the engaged state where the stopper is in contact with the at least one rail as taught by Patel for the purpose of having an adjustable motion limiting means that is not removable from the device.
Claim 9 is rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being unpatentable over Maeda et al. foreign patent JPH0886975, of record, in view of Woker et al. US Patent Application Publication 2007/0103774.
Regarding claim 9 Maeda discloses the system of claim 6 including a first and second position-securing device, as set forth above. Maeda does not disclose wherein the position-securing device comprises a user engageable movable lever or knob operably coupled to a rail-engaging component, wherein the movable lever or knob has (i) a first position corresponding to the unengaged state where the rail-engaging component is not in contact with the at least one rail, and (ii) a second position corresponding to the engaged state where the rail-engaging component is in contact with the at least one rail.
Woker teaches a similar system (title, e.g. figure 1A & 3A-3C binocular system 200) including two optical devices (e.g. barrel/telescope pair 20) with a lockable, adjustable inter-pupillary distance mechanism (inter alia title & abstract e.g. IPD mechanism 260 including: rails 30 & 40, sleeves 39 & 49, cam 258, retaining screw 272, knob 262, housing top 252 & radially activated locking lever 268 ); and further teaches the position-securing device comprises a user engageable movable lever or knob (e.g. 268) operably coupled to a rail-engaging component, wherein the movable lever or knob has (i) a first position corresponding to the unengaged state where the rail-engaging component is not in contact with the at least one rail (paragraph [0029 “locking level 268 of the IPD mechanism 260 is disengaged by radially moving lever 268 away from the housing cam 258, the compression against the adjustment knob 262 is released”), and (ii) a second position corresponding to the engaged state where the rail-engaging component is in contact with the at least one rail (paragraph [0029] “lever 268 engages the housing cam 258 causing a downward force on the retaining screw 272 and thereby compressing the adjustment knob 262 against the housing 250 top 252. After lever 268 engagement, the adjustment knob 262 is substantially immovable”) for the purpose of releasably preventing unintentional adjustment the inter-pupillary distance (abstract). Therefore, it would be obvious to a person of ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date of the claimed invention for the system as disclosed by Maeda to have the position-securing device comprises a user engageable movable lever or knob operably coupled to a rail-engaging component, wherein the movable lever or knob has (i) a first position corresponding to the unengaged state where the rail-engaging component is not in contact with the at least one rail, and (ii) a second position corresponding to the engaged state where the rail-engaging component is in contact with the at least one rail as taught by Woker for the purpose of releasably preventing unintentional adjustment the inter-pupillary distance.
Claims 10-11 are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being unpatentable over Maeda et al. foreign patent JPH0886975, of record, in view of ThorLabs Catalog, Volume 19, 2007, page 230.
Regarding claims 10-11 Maeda discloses the system of claim 2, as set forth above. Maeda does not disclose wherein the at least one mating tunnel comprises a door-like portion that is configured to translate between (i) an open state to enable mounting of the optical device onto the at least one rail, a closed state to prevent the optical device from falling off the at least one rail, as required by claim 10; or wherein the door-like portion includes a lock to prevent inadvertent opening of the door-like portion, as required by claim 11.
ThorLabs has a system of mounting an optic device to a rail (e.g. page 230 cage assembly swapper plate STK01) including at least one mating tunnel (see annotated figure A below) and further has a door-like portion (see annotated figure A below) that is configured to translate between (i) an open state to enable mounting of the optical device onto the at least one rail (see annotated figure A below), a closed state to prevent the optical device from falling off the at least one rail (see annotated figure A below), and includes a lock to prevent inadvertent opening of the door-like portion (see annotated figure A below) for the purpose of allowing optical elements to be swapped in and out of a rail system (page 230 first full sentence, e.g. see top right image). Therefore, it would be obvious to a person of ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date of the claimed invention for the system as disclosed by Maeda to have the at least one mating tunnel comprises a door-like portion that is configured to translate between (i) an open state to enable mounting of the optical device onto the at least one rail, a closed state to prevent the optical device from falling off the at least one rail, and wherein the door-like portion includes a lock to prevent inadvertent opening of the door-like portion as taught by ThorLabs for the purpose of allowing optical elements to be swapped in and out of a rail system.
[AltContent: textbox (lock)][AltContent: textbox (door in open state)][AltContent: textbox (door in closed state)][AltContent: arrow][AltContent: textbox (mating tunnels)]
Figure A. Annotated image of STK01.
Double Patenting
Claims 1-9 and 12-18 are rejected on the ground of nonstatutory double patenting as being unpatentable over claims 1-11, 13-23 and 24-34 of U.S. Patent No. 12,085,763. Although the claims at issue are not identical, they are not patentably distinct from each other because they are obvious variants.
Instant application
12,085,763
1. A system, comprising:
(A) an optical bridge, comprising:
(i) a bridge body configured to be mounted directly or indirectly onto a head-worn device;
(ii) at least one rail operatively engaged with the bridge body, the at least one rail having a first end and a second end;
(iii) a first stopblock located at or proximate to the first end; and (iv) a second stopblock located at or proximate to the second end;
wherein the at least one rail has a first side portion located between the first stopblock and the bridge body and a second side portion located between the second stopblock and the bridge body; and
(B) an optical device directly or indirectly mounted onto the at least one rail.
1. An optical bridge, comprising:
(i) a bridge body configured to be mounted directly or indirectly onto a head-worn device;
(ii) at least one rail operatively engaged with the bridge body, the at least one rail having a first end and a second end;
(iii) a first stopblock located at or proximate to the first end; and
(iv) a second stopblock located at or proximate to the second end; wherein the at least one rail has a first side portion located between the first stopblock and the bridge body and a second side portion located between the second stopblock and the bridge body;
(v) a first adapter pod slidably mounted on the first side portion of the at least one rail and configured to engage a first optical device, a second adapter pod slidably mounted on the second side portion of the at least one rail and configured to engage the first optical device, a second optical device, or both;
(vi) the first adapter pod comprises a first position-securing device configured to releasably engage the at least one rail to secure the first adaptor pod at a desired position along the first side portion of the at least one rail, and the second adapter pod comprises a second position-securing device configured to releasably engage the at least one rail to secure the second adaptor pod at a desired position along the second side portion of the at least one rail;
(vii) the first position-securing device and the second position-securing device each comprise
(a) an engaged state wherein the respective adapter pod is releasably secured at the desired position along the respective side portion of the at least one rail, and
(b) an unengaged state wherein the respective adapter pod is free to slide along the respective side portion of the at least one rail; and
(viii) the first position-securing device, the second position-securing device, or both comprise a user engageable button including or operably coupled to a rail-engaging surface and a body portion, wherein the user engageable button has (a) a depressed state corresponding to the unengaged state, and (b) a relaxed state corresponding to the engaged state.
2. The system of claim 1, wherein the optical device includes at least one mating tunnel configured to slide over the at least one rail, the at least one tunnel being integral to the optical device.
5. The system of claim 2, wherein the optical device comprises a frame defining the at least one mating tunnel, the frame further comprising a first position-securing device configured to releasably engage the at least one rail to secure the optical device at a desired position along the first side portion of the at least one rail, wherein the first position-securing device comprises (i) an engaged state wherein the optical device is releasably secured at the desired position along the first side portion of the at least one rail, and (ii) an unengaged state wherein the optical device is free to slide along the first side portion of the at least one rail.
6. The system of claim 5, wherein the frame further comprises a second position-securing device configured to releasably engage the at least one rail to secure the optical device at a desired position along the second side portion of the at least one rail, wherein the second position-securing device comprises (i) an engaged state wherein the optical device is releasably secured at the desired position along the second side portion of the at least one rail, and (ii) an unengaged state wherein the optical device is free to slide along the second side portion of the at least one rail.
7. The system of claim 6, wherein the first position-securing device, the second position-securing device, or both comprise a user engageable button including or operably coupled to a rail-engaging surface and a body portion, wherein the user engageable button has (i) a depressed state corresponding to the unengaged state, and (ii) a relaxed state corresponding to the engaged state.
1. A system, comprising:
(A) an optical bridge, comprising:
(i) a bridge body configured to be mounted directly or indirectly onto a head-worn device;
(ii) at least one rail operatively engaged with the bridge body, the at least one rail having a first end and a second end;
(iii) a first stopblock located at or proximate to the first end; and (iv) a second stopblock located at or proximate to the second end;
wherein the at least one rail has a first side portion located between the first stopblock and the bridge body and a second side portion located between the second stopblock and the bridge body; and
(B) an optical device directly or indirectly mounted onto the at least one rail.
13. An optical bridge, comprising:
(i) a bridge body configured to be mounted directly or indirectly onto a head-worn device;
(ii) at least one rail operatively engaged with the bridge body, the at least one rail having a first end and a second end;
(iii) a first stopblock located at or proximate to the first end; and
(iv) a second stopblock located at or proximate to the second end; wherein the at least one rail has a first side portion located between the first stopblock and the bridge body and a second side portion located between the second stopblock and the bridge body;
(v) a first adapter pod slidably mounted on the first side portion of the at least one rail and configured to engage a first optical device, a second adapter pod slidably mounted on the second side portion of the at least one rail and configured to engage the first optical device, a second optical device, or both;
(vi) the first adapter pod comprises a first position-securing device configured to releasably engage the at least one rail to secure the first adaptor pod at a desired position along the first side portion of the at least one rail, and the second adapter pod comprises a second position-securing device configured to releasably engage the at least one rail to secure the second adaptor pod at a desired position along the second side portion of the at least one rail;
(vii) the first position-securing device and the second position-securing device each comprise
(a) an engaged state wherein the respective adapter pod is releasably secured at the desired position along the respective side portion of the at least one rail, and
(b) an unengaged state wherein the respective adapter pod is free to slide along the respective side portion of the at least one rail; and
(viii) the first position-securing device, the second position-securing device, or both comprise a user engageable captured screw that does not translate inwardly our outwardly in relation to the at least one rail upon rotation of the captured screw, the captured screw being operably coupled to a stopper that translates inwardly and/or outwardly in relation to the at least one rail upon rotation of the captured screw, wherein stopper has
(a) a first position corresponding to the unengaged state where the stopper is not in contact with the at least one rail, and
(b) a second position corresponding to the engaged state where the stopper is in contact with the at least one rail.
2. The system of claim 1, wherein the optical device includes at least one mating tunnel configured to slide over the at least one rail, the at least one tunnel being integral to the optical device.
5. The system of claim 2, wherein the optical device comprises a frame defining the at least one mating tunnel, the frame further comprising a first position-securing device configured to releasably engage the at least one rail to secure the optical device at a desired position along the first side portion of the at least one rail, wherein the first position-securing device comprises (i) an engaged state wherein the optical device is releasably secured at the desired position along the first side portion of the at least one rail, and (ii) an unengaged state wherein the optical device is free to slide along the first side portion of the at least one rail.
6. The system of claim 5, wherein the frame further comprises a second position-securing device configured to releasably engage the at least one rail to secure the optical device at a desired position along the second side portion of the at least one rail, wherein the second position-securing device comprises (i) an engaged state wherein the optical device is releasably secured at the desired position along the second side portion of the at least one rail, and (ii) an unengaged state wherein the optical device is free to slide along the second side portion of the at least one rail.
8. The system of claim 6, wherein the first position-securing device, the second position-securing device, or both comprise a user engageable captured screw that does not translate inwardly our outwardly in relation to the at least one rail upon rotation of the captured screw, the captured screw being operably coupled to a stopper that translates inwardly and/or outwardly in relation to the at least one rail upon rotation of the captured screw, wherein stopper has (i) a first position corresponding to the unengaged state where the stopper is not in contact with the at least one rail, and (ii) a second position corresponding to the engaged state where the stopper is in contact with the at least one rail.
1. A system, comprising:
(A) an optical bridge, comprising:
(i) a bridge body configured to be mounted directly or indirectly onto a head-worn device;
(ii) at least one rail operatively engaged with the bridge body, the at least one rail having a first end and a second end;
(iii) a first stopblock located at or proximate to the first end; and (iv) a second stopblock located at or proximate to the second end;
wherein the at least one rail has a first side portion located between the first stopblock and the bridge body and a second side portion located between the second stopblock and the bridge body; and
(B) an optical device directly or indirectly mounted onto the at least one rail.
24. An optical bridge, comprising:
(i) a bridge body configured to be mounted directly or indirectly onto a head-worn device;
(ii) at least one rail operatively engaged with the bridge body, the at least one rail having a first end and a second end;
(iii) a first stopblock located at or proximate to the first end; and
(iv) a second stopblock located at or proximate to the second end; wherein the at least one rail has a first side portion located between the first stopblock and the bridge body and a second side portion located between the second stopblock and the bridge body;
(v) a first adapter pod slidably mounted on the first side portion of the at least one rail and configured to engage a first optical device, a second adapter pod slidably mounted on the second side portion of the at least one rail and configured to engage the first optical device, a second optical device, or both;
(vi) the first adapter pod comprises a first position-securing device configured to releasably engage the at least one rail to secure the first adaptor pod at a desired position along the first side portion of the at least one rail, and the second adapter pod comprises a second position-securing device configured to releasably engage the at least one rail to secure the second adaptor pod at a desired position along the second side portion of the at least one rail;
(vii) the first position-securing device and the second position-securing device each comprise
(a) an engaged state wherein the respective adapter pod is releasably secured at the desired position along the respective side portion of the at least one rail, and
(b) an unengaged state wherein the respective adapter pod is free to slide along the respective side portion of the at least one rail; and
(viii) the first position-securing device, the second position-securing device, or both comprise a user engageable movable lever or knob operably coupled to a rail-engaging component, wherein the movable lever or knob has
(a) a first position corresponding to the unengaged state where the rail-engaging component is not in contact with the at least one rail, and
(b) a second position corresponding to the engaged state where the rail-engaging component is in contact with the at least one rail.
2. The system of claim 1, wherein the optical device includes at least one mating tunnel configured to slide over the at least one rail, the at least one tunnel being integral to the optical device.
5. The system of claim 2, wherein the optical device comprises a frame defining the at least one mating tunnel, the frame further comprising a first position-securing device configured to releasably engage the at least one rail to secure the optical device at a desired position along the first side portion of the at least one rail, wherein the first position-securing device comprises (i) an engaged state wherein the optical device is releasably secured at the desired position along the first side portion of the at least one rail, and (ii) an unengaged state wherein the optical device is free to slide along the first side portion of the at least one rail.
6. The system of claim 5, wherein the frame further comprises a second position-securing device configured to releasably engage the at least one rail to secure the optical device at a desired position along the second side portion of the at least one rail, wherein the second position-securing device comprises (i) an engaged state wherein the optical device is releasably secured at the desired position along the second side portion of the at least one rail, and (ii) an unengaged state wherein the optical device is free to slide along the second side portion of the at least one rail.
9. The system of claim 6, wherein the first position-securing device, the second position-securing device, or both comprise a user engageable movable lever or knob operably coupled to a rail-engaging component, wherein the movable lever or knob has (i) a first position corresponding to the unengaged state where the rail-engaging component is not in contact with the at least one rail, and (ii) a second position corresponding to the engaged state where the rail-engaging component is in contact with the at least one rail.
3. The system of claim 2, wherein the optical device includes (i) a first monocular night vision device mounted onto the at least one rail at a first position on the first side portion of the at least one rail, (ii) a second monocular night vision device mounted onto the at least one rail at a second position on the second side portion of the at least one rail, or both (i) and (ii).
10. The system of claim 9, wherein the optical device includes (i) a first monocular night vision device mounted onto the at least one rail at a first position on the first side portion of the at least one rail, (ii) a second monocular night vision device mounted onto the at least one rail at a second position on the second side portion of the at least one rail, or both (i) and (ii).
22. The system of claim 21, wherein the optical device includes (i) a first monocular night vision device mounted onto the at least one rail at a first position on the first side portion of the at least one rail, (ii) a second monocular night vision device mounted onto the at least one rail at a second position on the second side portion of the at least one rail, or both (i) and (ii).
33. The system of claim 32, wherein the optical device includes (i) a first monocular night vision device mounted onto the at least one rail at a first position on the first side portion of the at least one rail, (ii) a second monocular night vision device mounted onto the at least one rail at a second position on the second side portion of the at least one rail, or both (i) and (ii).
4. The system of claim 2, wherein the optical device includes a night vision binocular device or a panoramic night vision device, and wherein the at least one mating tunnel overlies (i) a first portion of the at least one rail at a first side portion of the at least one rail and (ii) a second portion of the at least one rail at a second side portion of the at least one rail.
9. A system, comprising: (A) an optical bridge according to claim 1; and (B) an optical device mounted onto the at least one rail via the first adapter pod, the second adapter pod, or both.
11. The system of claim 9, wherein the optical device includes a night vision binocular device or a panoramic night vision device.
21. A system, comprising: (A) an optical bridge according to claim 13; and (B) an optical device mounted onto the at least one rail via the first adapter pod, the second adapter pod, or both.
23. The system of claim 21, wherein the optical device includes a night vision binocular device or a panoramic night vision device.
32. A system, comprising: (A) an optical bridge according to claim 24; and (B) an optical device mounted onto the at least one rail via the first adapter pod, the second adapter pod, or both.
34. The system of claim 32, wherein the optical device includes a night vision binocular device or a panoramic night vision device.
12. The system of claim 1, wherein the at least one rail may comprise from 1 to about 5 rails.
2. The optical bridge of claim 1, wherein the at least one rail may comprise from 1 to about 5 rails.
14. The optical bridge of claim 13, wherein the at least one rail may comprise from 1 to about 5 rails.
25. The optical bridge of claim 24, wherein the at least one rail may comprise from 1 to about 5 rails.
13. The system of claim 1, wherein the bridge body comprises at least one through-channel and the at least one rail extends through the at least one through-channel.
3. The optical bridge of claim 1, wherein the bridge body comprises at least one through-channel and the at least one rail extends through the at least one through-channel.
15. The optical bridge of claim 13, wherein the bridge body comprises at least one through-channel and the at least one rail extends through the at least one through-channel.
26. The optical bridge of claim 24, wherein the bridge body comprises at least one through-channel and the at least one rail extends through the at least one through-channel.
14. The system of claim 13, wherein the at least one through-channel is completely defined by the bridge body.
4. The optical bridge of claim 3, wherein the at least one through-channels are completely defined by the bridge body.
16. The optical bridge of claim 15, wherein the at least one through-channels are completely defined by the bridge body.
27. The optical bridge of claim 26, wherein the at least one through-channels are completely defined by the bridge body.
15. The system of claim 13, wherein the at least one rail is adhesively and/or secured to the bridge body at the at least one through-channel.
5. The optical bride of claim 3, wherein the at least one rail is adhesively and/or secured to the bridge body at the at least one through-channel.
17. The optical bride of claim 15, wherein the at least one rail is adhesively and/or secured to the bridge body at the at least one through-channel.
28. The optical bride of claim 26, wherein the at least one rail is adhesively and/or secured to the bridge body at the at least one through-channel.
16. The system of claim 1, wherein the at least one rail is formed from a plastic material, a fiber-reinforced composite, a metal, or a metal alloy.
6. The optical bridge of claim 1, wherein the at least one rail is formed from a plastic material, a fiber-reinforced composite, a metal, or a metal alloy.
18. The optical bridge of claim 13, wherein the at least one rail is formed from a plastic material, a fiber-reinforced composite, a metal, or a metal alloy.
29. The optical bridge of claim 24, wherein the at least one rail is formed from a plastic material, a fiber-reinforced composite, a metal, or a metal alloy.
17. The system of claim 1, wherein the bridge body is formed from a plastic material, a fiber-reinforced composite, a metal, or a metal alloy.
7. The optical bridge of claim 1, wherein the bridge body is formed from a plastic material, a fiber-reinforced composite, a metal, or a metal alloy.
19. The optical bridge of claim 13, wherein the bridge body is formed from a plastic material, a fiber-reinforced composite, a metal, or a metal alloy.
30. The optical bridge of claim 24, wherein the bridge body is formed from a plastic material, a fiber-reinforced composite, a metal, or a metal alloy.
18. The system of claim 1, further comprising a power source, remote power supply wiring, power connectors, or any combination thereof.
8. The optical bridge of claim 1, further comprising a power source, remote power supply wiring, power connectors, or any combination thereof
20. The optical bridge of claim 13, further comprising a power source, remote power supply wiring, power connectors, or any combination thereof.
31. The optical bridge of claim 24, further comprising a power source, remote power supply wiring, power connectors, or any combination thereof.
Regarding the differences between instant application independent claim 1 and ‘763 independent claims 1, 13 and 24 – the instant application claim is broader than ‘763 and since there is no mutually exclusive feature in the narrower ‘763 claims any device claimed under ‘763 claims 1, 13 and 24 necessarily falls within the scope of instant application claim 1. Regarding dependent claims the scope of ‘763 uses an adapter pod(s) to attach the optical device(s) to the rail(s) and the instant application uses has the attachment elements integrated into the optical device. However, it has been held that forming in one piece an article which has formerly been formed in two pieces and put together involves only routine skill in the art. Howard v. Detroit Stove Works, 150 U.S. 164 (1893); and "that the use of a one piece construction instead of the structure disclosed in [the prior art] would be merely a matter of obvious engineering choice." In re Larson, 340 F.2d 965, 968, 144 USPQ 347, 349 (CCPA 1965). See MPEP 2144.04. Therefore, it would have been prima facie obvious to a person of ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date of the claimed invention for the adapter pod(s) and optical device(s) to be integrated into a single element since use of a one piece construction instead two piece construction would be merely a matter of obvious engineering choice.
Conclusion
The prior art made of record and not relied upon is considered pertinent to applicant's disclosure.
ThorLabs mechanical drawing of cage assembly swapper plate STK01, redrawn 2015; showing further detail of STK01 elements.
/George G. King/Primary Examiner, Art Unit 2872 September 16, 2026