DETAILED ACTION
Claim Rejections - 35 USC § 102
Claims 13 – 16 are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 102(a)(1) as being anticipated by Fischer (GB 2 288 660).
With respect to claim 13, Fischer teaches a method comprising obtaining, by a system comprising a controller (Fig.5, Items 24 and 25), a frequency value representative of a frequency of an acoustic wave to cancel; and controlling, by the system, a heater (Fig.5, Item 5) to adjust temperature of air within a Helmholtz resonator unit cell (Fig.5, Item 4), based on the frequency of the acoustic wave, to resonate the Helmholtz resonator unit cell to cancel noise comprised by the acoustic wave (Abstract and Page 7, Lines 25 – 36).
With respect to claim 14, Fischer teaches wherein the controlling of the heater comprises obtaining sensed temperature data representative of sensed temperature (Fig.5, Item 21b) of the air within the Helmholtz resonator unit cell, determining an estimated air temperature value based on the frequency of the acoustic wave, and applying a voltage bias (Fig.5, Item 25) to the heater (Fig.5, Item 5) to adjust the air temperature based on the estimated air temperature value.
With respect to claim 15, Fischer teaches wherein the controlling of the heater comprises obtaining (Fig.5, Item 21a) frequency data representative of the frequency of the acoustic wave, and applying (Fig.5, Item 25) a voltage bias to the heater (Fig.5, Item 5) to adjust the air temperature based on the frequency data.
With respect to claim 16, Fischer teaches wherein the controlling of the heater comprises obtaining noise level data (Fig.5, Item 21a) representative of the acoustic wave, and applying (Fig.5, Item 25) a voltage bias to the heater (Fig.5, Item 5) to adjust the air temperature based on the noise level data.
Claim Rejections - 35 USC § 103
Claims 1 – 12 and 17 – 20 are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being unpatentable over Jeon et al. (KR 20220023621) in view of Fischer (GB 2 288 660).
With respect to claims 1 and 17, Jeon et al. teach a system comprising a unit cell of a metasurface configured for sound absorption within a narrowband frequency range (Figs.1 – 4), the unit cell comprising an air cavity (Fig.4, Item S) within a support, the air cavity comprising a chamber and a neck port (Fig.4, Item 125); but fail to disclose a heater that heats air in the air cavity to determine a resonant frequency of the unit cell, to resonate the unit cell at the resonant frequency to phase cancel the incoming acoustic wave, responsive to being exposed to the incoming acoustic wave.
On the other hand, Fischer teaches a Helmholtz resonator comprising a chamber (Fig.1, Item 2) and a neck port (Fig.1, Item 3), and a heater (Fig.1, Item 5) that heats air in the air cavity to determine a resonant frequency of the unit cell, to resonate the unit cell at the resonant frequency to phase cancel the incoming acoustic wave, responsive to being exposed to the incoming acoustic wave (Abstract).
It would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date of the claimed invention to employ the Fischer resonator with the Jeon et al. configuration because it would control the resonator frequency as a function of the frequency of the source vibrations/noise in a broadband configuration.
With respect to claim 2, Fischer teaches wherein the heater comprises a resistive heating element (Fig.1, Item 5) that increases in temperature based on a controlled (Figs.1 and 5, Item 24) amount of energy applied to the resistive heating element.
With respect to claim 3, Fischer teaches wherein the heater comprises at least one heating element (Fig.1, Item 5) positioned proximate to a floor of the chamber (Fig.1).
With respect to claims 4 and 5, The Examiner considers that it would have been an obvious matter of design choice to provide the heater comprising at least one heating element positioned proximate to a side of the chamber because it could provide a desired assembly benefit that would not depart from the scope and spirit of the Fischer invention.
With respect to claims 6 and 19, Fischer teaches wherein at least part of the heater (Fig.1, Item 5) is within the air cavity (Fig.1, Item 2).
With respect to claim 7, Fischer teaches further comprising a sensor (Fig.5, Item 21a), and a controller (Fig.5, Items 24 and 25) coupled to the heater (Fig.5, Item 5), wherein the controller selectively applies energy to the heater to heat the air in the air cavity based on data sensed by the sensor (Fig.5, Page 7, Lines 25 – 36).
With respect to claim 8, Fischer teaches wherein the sensor comprises a temperature sensor (Fig.5, Item 21b) that senses air temperature data of the air within the air cavity (Fig.5, Item 2) as at least part of the data sensed by the sensor.
With respect to claim 9, Fischer teaches wherein the sensor comprises a noise sensor (Fig.5, Item 21a) that senses frequency data associated with a frequency of the incoming acoustic wave as at least part of the data sensed by the sensor (Page 7, Lines 25 – 36).
With respect to claim 10, the obvious combination of Jeon et al. and Fischer wherein the unit cell is a first unit cell having first air in a first air cavity, and further comprising a second unit cell having second air in a second air cavity, wherein the heater comprises a shared heating device that heats the first air in the first air cavity, and the second air in the second air cavity (as discussed above).
With respect to claims 11, 18 and 20, Jeon et al. wherein the unit cell is incorporated into a metasurface comprising an array of unit cells (Fig.1).
With respect to claim 12, The Examiner takes official notice that it is well-known in the art to provide an array of helmholtz resonators positioned proximate a server, and wherein the incoming acoustic wave at the unit cell results from operation of a cooling fan of the server, or wherein the an array of helmholtz resonators is positioned proximate to a rack of servers, and wherein the incoming acoustic wave at the unit cell results from operation of cooling fans of the servers of the rack of servers, as disclosed by Doll (US 7,314,113).
Conclusion
The attached hereto PTO Form 892 lists prior art made of record that the Examiner considered it pertinent to applicant's disclosure.
Contact Information
/Edgardo San Martin/
Edgardo San Martín
Primary Examiner
Art Unit 2837
June 18, 2026