DETAILED ACTION
Claim Rejections - 35 USC § 102
Claims 1-11 and 13 are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 102(a)(1) as being anticipated by Shibasaki et al. (Japanese Patent Publication No. JP 2017-145344 A, cited in IDS submitted December 15, 2025, machine language translation provided and cited below).
Regarding claim 1, Shibasaki discloses an adhesive, comprising a polyimide (Abstract of Shibasaki, polyimide adhesive layer), wherein the polyimide is a reaction product of a reactant (a) and a reactant (b) ([0098] of Shibasaki, polyimide is reaction product of the diamine APB and the dianhydrides BPADA and BTDA), wherein the reactant (a) is a first diamine, or the reactant (a) consists of the first diamine and a second diamine ([0098] of Shibasaki, diamine APB; claim only requires one of the recited reactants; it is noted that [0060] of Shibasaki also discloses the use of combinations of diamine compounds), and the reactant (b) consists of a first dianhydride and a second dianhydride ([0098] of Shibasaki, dianhydrides BPADA and BTDA), wherein the first diamine is a diphenyl-ether-moiety-containing diamine ([0098] of Shibasaki, the diamine APB contains diphenyl ether moieties), the first dianhydride is a diphenyl-ether-moiety-containing dianhydride ([0098] of Shibasaki, the dianhydride BPADA contains diphenyl ether moieties), the second diamine is not a diphenyl-ether-moiety-containing diamine ([0098] of Shibasaki, adhesive contains only the diamine APB and therefore does not contain a second diamine), and the second dianhydride is not a diphenyl-ether-moiety-containing dianhydride ([0098] of Shibasaki, the diamine BTDA does not contain diphenyl ether moieties), wherein the total weight percentage of the first diamine and the first dianhydride is 55 wt% to 94w t%, based on the total weight of the reactant (a) and the reactant (b) ([0098] of Shibasaki, adhesive contains BPADA, BTDA and APB in a molar ratio of 0.7:0.3:1.0 which corresponds to about 87 wt% of the diamine APB and the dianhydride BPADA based on the total reactant weight of BPADA, BTDA and APB).
Regarding claim 2, Shibasaki discloses that the first dianhydride is at least one of dianhydride having a structure represented by Formula (I)
Formula (I),
wherein R1 is independently fluorine, C1-C4 alkyl group, C1-C4 fluoroalkyl group, C1-C4 fluoroalkoxy group or C1-C4 alkoxy group; a is independently 0, 1, 2 or 3; A1 is -O-,
,
R2 is independently fluorine, C1-C4 alkyl group, C1-C4 fluoroalkyl group, C1-C4 fluoroalkoxy group or C1-C4 alkoxy group; b is independently 0, 1, 2, 3 or 4; R3 is independently hydrogen, fluorine, C1-C4 alkyl group, C1-C4 fluoroalkyl group, C1-C4 fluoroalkoxy group or C1-C4 alkoxy group; R4 is independently fluorine, C1-C4 alkyl group, C1-C4 fluoroalkyl group, C1-C4 fluoroalkoxy group or C1-C4 alkoxy group; and, c is independently 0, 1, 2, 3, 4, 5 or 6 ([0098] of Shibasaki, BPADA which meets the above formula I).
Regarding claim 3, Shibasaki discloses that the first diamine is at least one of diamine having a structure represented by Formula (II)
Formula (II),
wherein R5 is independently fluorine, C1-C4 alkyl group, C1-C4 fluoroalkyl group, C1-C4 fluoroalkoxy group or C1-C4 alkoxy group; d is independently 0, 1, 2, 3 or 4; A2 is -O-,
R6 is independently fluorine, C1-C4 alkyl group, C1-C4 fluoroalkyl group, C1-C4 fluoroalkoxy group or C1-C4 alkoxy group; e is independently 0, 1, 2, 3 or 4; R7 is independently hydrogen, fluorine, C1-C4 alkyl group, C1-C4 fluoroalkyl group, C1-C4 fluoroalkoxy group or C1-C4 alkoxy group; R8 is independently fluorine, C1-C4 alkyl group, C1-C4 fluoroalkyl group, C1-C4 fluoroalkoxy group or C1-C4 alkoxy group; and, f is independently 0, 1, 2, 3, 4, 5 or 6 ([0098] of Shibasaki, the diamine APB which meets the above formula II).
Regarding claim 4, Shibasaki discloses that the second dianhydride does not consist of cyclobutane-1,2,3,4-tetracarboxylic dianhydride or the second dianhydride does not consist of 1,2,4,5-cyclohexanetetracarboxylic dianhydride ([0098] of Shibasaki, second dianhydride is BTDA which is not one of the recited compounds).
Regarding claim 5, Shibasaki discloses that the second dianhydride is bicyclo[2.2.2]oct-7-ene-2,3,5,6-tetracarboxylic dianhydride, bicyclooctane tetracarboxylic dianhydride, dicyclohexyl-3,4,3',4'-tetracarboxylic dianhydride , [3-(carboxymethyl)-1,2,4-cyclopentanetricarboxylic acid 1,4:2,3-dianhydride], 1,2,3,4-butanetetracarboxylic dianhydride, 3,3’,4,4’-biphenyl tetracarboylic dianhydride, 2,3,3',4'-biphenyltetracarboxylic dianhydride, 5-[4-(1,3-dioxo-2-benzofuran-5-yl)phenyl]-2-benzofuran-1,3-dione, 5-[3-(1,3-dioxo-2-benzofuran-5-yl)phenyl]-2-benzofuran-1,3-dione, 4,4’-(hexafluoroisopropylidene)diphthalic anhydride, 3,3’,4,4’-benzophenonetetracarboxylic dianhydride, 9,9-bis(3,4-dicarboxyphenyl)fluorene dianhydride or a combination thereof ([0098] of Shibasaki, second dianhydride is BTDA which is 3,3’,4,4’-benzophenonetetracarboxylic dianhydride).
Regarding claim 6, Shibasaki discloses that the second diamine does not consist of isophorone diamine, or the second diamine does not consist of 4-methylcyclohexane-1,3-diamine ([0098] of Shibasaki, polyimide does not include the second diamine).
Regarding claim 7, Shibasaki discloses that the second diamine is 4,4'-methylenebis(cyclohexylamine), 4,4'-methylenebis(2-methylcyclohexylamine), bis(aminomethyl)norbornane, adamantane-1,3-diamine, octahydro-4,7-methanoindene-1(2),5(6)-dimethanamine, 2,2'-bis(trifluoromethyl)benzidine, 4,4'-diamino-2,2'-dimethylbiphenyl, O-tolidine, 4,4'-methylenedianiline, 3,4'-methylenedianiline, 4,4'-diamino-3,3'-dimethyldiphenylmethane, 4,4'-methylenebis(2-ethylbenzenamine), 4,4'-methylenebis(2,6-diethylaniline), 9,10-bis(4-aminophenyl)anthracene, 2,6-naphthalenediamine, 2,6-anthracenediamine, 4,4''-diamino-p-terphenyl, 2,2-bis(4-aminophenyl) hexafluoropropane, α,α'-bis(4-aminophenyl)-1,4-diisopropylbenzene, 9,9-bis(4-aminophenyl)fluorene, 3,3',5,5'-tetramethylbenzidine, 4,4'-diamino-2,2'-dimethoxybiphenyl, 4,4'-diaminobenzophenone, or a combination thereof ([0098] of Shibasaki, polyimide does not include the second diamine; it is noted that [0055]-[0058] of Shibasaki disclose a number of diamines that can be used including one or more of the recited compounds such as 4,4’-methylenebiscyclohexylamine in [0058]).
Regarding claim 8, Shibasaki discloses that the molar ratio of the reactant (a) to the reactant (b) is 1: 1.05 to 1.05: 1 ([0098] of Shibasaki, adhesive contains BPADA, BTDA and APB in a molar ratio of 0.7:0.3:1.0 which corresponds to a molar ratio of a to b of 1:1).
Regarding claim 9, Shibasaki discloses that the polyimide has a weight average molecular weight of 5,000 g/mol to 3,000,000 g/mol ([0051] of Shibasaki, polyimide has a weight average molecular weight of 20,000 to 200,000).
Regarding claim 10, Shibasaki discloses the adhesive as claimed in Claim 1, further comprising: a solvent, wherein the adhesive has a solid content of 2wt% to 20wt% ([0098] of Shibasaki, polyimide solution includes NMP and xylene as solvents and has a solids content of 15% by mass).
Regarding claim 11, Shibasaki discloses a multilayer structure, comprising: a first substrate; and an adhesive layer disposed on the first substrate, wherein the adhesive layer is a cured product of the adhesive as claimed in Claim 1 ([0097] of Shibasaki, polyimide solution applied to polyimide film and used to bond the film to a PC board surface).
Regarding claim 13, Shibasaki discloses the multilayer structure as claimed in Claim 11, further comprising: an electronic element, wherein the adhesive layer disposed between the first substrate and the electronic element ([0097] of Shibasaki, polyimide solution applied to polyimide film and used to bond the film to a PC board surface; PC board is an electronic element).
Claim Rejections - 35 USC § 103
Claim 12 is rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being unpatentable over Shibasaki in view of Seki et al. (Japanese Patent Publication No. JP H11-284292, machine language translation provided and cited below).
Regarding claim 12, Shibasaki does not specifically disclose that the first substrate is a transparent substrate. Moreover, Shibasaki discloses that the first substrate is a polyimide film used as a coverlay film for a PCB ([0097] of Shibasaki) but does not disclose the transparency of the coverlay film. Seki discloses a polyimide coverlay film for a circuit board which is transparent (Abstract, [0007] of Seki). According to Seki, the transparent coverlay film allows underlying features such as alignment marks to be visible through the film ([0007] of Seki). It would have been obvious to a person having ordinary skill in the art as of the effective filing date of the claimed invention to use a transparent polyimide coverlay film in the multilayer structure of Shibasaki. One of skill in the art would have been motivated to do so in order to allow underlying features such as alignment marks to be visible through the film as taught by Seki ([0007] of Seki).
Conclusion
CHRISTOPHER W. RAIMUND
Primary Examiner
Art Unit 1746
/CHRISTOPHER W RAIMUND/Primary Examiner, Art Unit 1746