DETAILED ACTION
Response to Amendment
The Amendment filed 8/27/2026 has been entered. Claims 1-20 remain pending in the application.
Claim Rejections - 35 USC § 103
Claims 1-3 and 8-20 are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being unpatentable over Wilson (US 4587737) in view of Frenken (US 20140251104 A1).
Regarding claim 1, Wilson teaches a knockout tool, comprising:
a longitudinal axis (axis along the center of 20, see Figure 1);
a body (12), comprising: a first end centered on the longitudinal axis; and a second end opposite the first end and aligned with the first end along the longitudinal axis;
a punch plug (22) coupled to the first end of the body;
a punch (18) coupled to the plug, the die comprising a first side facing away from the first end of the body and a second side opposite the first side and facing the punch plug;
a thrust bearing (23) positioned between the punch plug and the punch, the thrust bearing comprising a first bearing surface directly abutting the second side of the die and a second bearing surface directly abutting a side of the punch plug facing the punch (see Figure 4), wherein at least a portion of the thrust bearing can rotate between the punch and punch plug with respect to the longitudinal axis (see Figure 4);
a die (16) as a part of the second end of the body, the punch comprising a cutting end configured to be received in the die (see Figures 1-2); and
a drive component (20) extending through the first end of the body and received in the punch plug, the drive component configured to rotate with respect to the longitudinal axis (see Figures 1-2); and
wherein when the drive component is rotated in a first direction (see Figures 1-2), the punch plug and thrust bearing convert rotational movement of the drive component into linear movement and move the die into engagement with the punch along the longitudinal axis (col. 2 lines 25-37).
Wilson fails to teach a die plug, the die is spearate part, a punch on the second end and a die on the first end.
Frenken teaches a punch device wherein the die is a spearate part (see Figure 4).
It would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill to modify the device of Wilson to change die into a spearate part, as taught by Frenken. As one of ordinary skill in the art understand making parts separable involves only routine skill in the art, absent any showing of unexpected results. In re Dulberg MPEP 2144.04 V. C.
It would also have been obvious to one of ordinary skill to modify the device of Wilson to change the location of the punch and the die head. Since the courts have held that a rearrangement of parts of an invention involves only routine skill in the art, absent any showing of unexpected results. In re Japikse, 181 F.2d 1019, 86 USPQ 70 (CCPA 1950) MEPE 2144.04 VI. C.
Regarding claim 2, modified Wilson further teaches the die is removably coupled to the first end of the body (as modified by Frenken, see Figure 4 of Frenken).
Regarding claim 3, modified Wilson further teaches the punch is removably coupled to the second end of the body (see Figure 4 of Wilson).
Regarding claim 8, Wilson teaches a hole forming tool, comprising:
a longitudinal axis (center axis of 20);
a body (12), comprising: a first end centered on the longitudinal axis (at 18); and a second end opposite the first end and aligned with the first end along the longitudinal axis (see Figure 1);
a die as connected to the second end of the body (see Figure 1);
a punch coupled to the first end of the body and centered on the longitudinal axis, the punch comprising: a first side facing away from the first end of the body and configured to receive the punch; and a second side opposite the first side along the longitudinal axis; a punch plug (30) coupled to the first end of the body (see Figure 1);
a thrust bearing (38) positioned between the punch plug and the second side of the die, the thrust bearing comprising a first bearing surface directly abutting the second side of the die and a second bearing surface directly abutting a side of the punch plug facing the punch (top and bottom side of 38), wherein at least a portion of the thrust bearing can rotate between the die and die plug with respect to the longitudinal axis (see Figures 1-4);
a drive component (23) extending through the first end of the body and received in the die plug, the drive component configured to rotate with respect to the longitudinal axis; and
wherein, when the drive component is rotated in a first direction, the punch plug and thrust bearing convert rotational movement of the drive component into linear movement such that the drive component moves axially along the longitudinal axis and moves the die into engagement with the punch (see Figure 1).
Wilson fails to teach a die plug, the die is spearate part, a punch on the second end and a die on the first end.
Frenken teaches a punch device wherein the die is a spearate part (see Figure 4).
It would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill to modify the device of Wilson to change die into a spearate part, as taught by Frenken. As one of ordinary skill in the art understand making parts separable involves only routine skill in the art, absent any showing of unexpected results. In re Dulberg MPEP 2144.04 V. C.
It would also have been obvious to one of ordinary skill to modify the device of Wilson to change the location of the punch and the die head. Since the courts have held that a rearrangement of parts of an invention involves only routine skill in the art, absent any showing of unexpected results. In re Japikse, 181 F.2d 1019, 86 USPQ 70 (CCPA 1950) MEPE 2144.04 VI. C.
Regarding claim 9, modified Wilson further teaches an opening formed in the first side of the die, wherein the punch is aligned with opening such that the punch is received in the opening when the die is moved into engagement with the punch (as modified, see Figure 4 of Frenken).
Regarding claim 10, modified Wilson further teaches the opening has a first width greater than or equal to a second width of the punch (as modified, see Figure 4 of Frenken).
Regarding claim 11, modified Wilson further teaches the punch comprises a cutting end and at least one cutting tip extends away from the cutting end of the punch towards the die along the longitudinal axis (see Figure 1 of Wilson).
Regarding claim 12, modified Wilson further teaches the die plug comprises a projection positioned along the die plug adjacent to thrust bearing, wherein the projection extends through the thrust bearing and into the second side of the die (see Figure 1 of Wilson).
Regarding claim 13, modified Wilson further teaches the die plug further comprises a recess positioned along the die plug opposite from the projection, wherein the recess is configured to receive and retain the drive component to couple the die to the first end of the body (see Figure 1 of Wilson).
Regarding claim 14, modified Wilson further teaches the drive component comprises a drive shaft centered on and extending along the longitudinal axis and a drive receiver, wherein the drive receiver is configured to engage a driving tool (col. 2 lines 25-37, see Figure 1 of Wilson).
Regarding claim 15, Wilson teaches a tool, comprising:
a body (12), comprising:
a first end centered on a longitudinal axis; and a second end opposite the first end and aligned with the first end along the longitudinal axis (see Figure 1);
a punch plug (30) positioned adjacent to the first end of the body;
a punch (18) coupled to the punch plug such that the punch plug is positioned between the punch and the first end of the body along the longitudinal axis (See Figure 1); the punch comprising a first side facing away from the first end of the body and a second side opposite the first side and facing the punch plug (see Figure 4);
a thrust bearing (38) positioned between the die plug and the die, the thrust bearing comprising a first bearing surface directly abutting the second side of the die (top and bottom side of 38) and a second bearing surface directly abutting a side of the punch plug facing the punch (see Figure 4), wherein at least a portion of the thrust bearing can rotate between the punch and punch plug with respect to the longitudinal axis (See Figure 1);
a drive component (23) extending through the first end of the body and received in the die plug such that the die plug is coupled to the first end of the body, the drive component configured to rotate with respect to the longitudinal axis (See Figure 1); and
a die connected to the second end of the body, the punch comprising a cutting end configured to be received in the die; and wherein, when the drive component is rotated in a first direction, the die plug and thrust bearing convert rotational movement of the drive component into linear movement such that the drive component moves the punch plug, thrust bearing, and die axially along the longitudinal axis towards the punch (See Figure 1).
Wilson fails to teach a die plug, the die is spearate part, a punch on the second end and a die on the first end.
Frenken teaches a punch device wherein the die is a spearate part (see Figure 4).
It would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill to modify the device of Wilson to change die into a spearate part, as taught by Frenken. As one of ordinary skill in the art understand making parts separable involves only routine skill in the art, absent any showing of unexpected results. In re Dulberg MPEP 2144.04 V. C.
It would also have been obvious to one of ordinary skill to modify the device of Wilson to change the location of the punch and the die head. Since the courts have held that a rearrangement of parts of an invention involves only routine skill in the art, absent any showing of unexpected results. In re Japikse, 181 F.2d 1019, 86 USPQ 70 (CCPA 1950) MEPE 2144.04 VI. C.
Regarding claim 16, modified Wilson further teaches the body further comprises a center portion located between the first end and the second end, wherein the center portion is spaced from and substantially parallel to the longitudinal axis (col. 2 lines 25-37, see Figure 1 of Wilson).
Regarding claim 17, modified Wilson further teaches the first end, the center portion, and the second end define a throat configured to receive a workpiece, wherein the throat has a depth measured between the center portion and the longitudinal axis (col. 2 lines 25-37, see Figure 1 of Wilson).
Regarding claim 18, modified Wilson teaches elements of the current invention as set forth in claim 17 above.
Modified Wilson fails to teach depth is at most 3 inches.
Furthermore, with respect to the specific depth is at most 3 inches, the courts have held that where the general conditions of the invention are met, a change in size is generally recognized as being within the level of ordinary skill in the art., In re Rose, 105 USPQ 237 (CCPA 1955). MPEP 2144.04 IV. A. Therefore, it would have been obvious to further modify Wilson to have the specific depth set forth to get the desired cut.
Regarding claim 19, modified Wilson further teaches elements of the current invention as set forth in claim 17 above.
Modified Wilson fails to teach the depth is between 1 inch and 3 inches.
Furthermore, with respect to the specific depth is between 1 inch and 3 inches, the courts have held that where the general conditions of the invention are met, a change in size is generally recognized as being within the level of ordinary skill in the art., In re Rose, 105 USPQ 237 (CCPA 1955). MPEP 2144.04 IV. A. Therefore, it would have been obvious to further modify Wilson to have the specific depth set forth to get the desired cut.
Regarding claim 20, modified Wilson further teaches the die is removably coupled to the first end of the body, and wherein the punch is removably coupled to the second end of the body (as modified by Frenken, see Figure 4 of Frenken).
Claims 4-5 and 7 are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being unpatentable over Wilson (US 4587737) in view of Frenken (US 20140251104 A1) and in further view of Giebel (US 3893239).
Regarding claim 4, modified Wilson further teaches all elements of the current invention as set forth in claim 1 above.
Modified Wilson fails to teach a retainer coupled to the punch opposite the cutting end, wherein the retainer is configured to retain the punch on the second end of the body.
Giebel teaches a punch/die device including a die that is removably coupled to the second end of the body, via a retainer (23) coupled to the die opposite the cutting end, wherein the retainer is configured to retain the punch on the second end of the body (see Figure 1).
It would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art to modify the device of modified Wilson to make the punch removable (since after the modification of claim 1 the punch is on the second end like the unmodified die), as taught by Giebel, in order to allow the tool to engage on both sides (abstract of Giebel).
Regarding claim 5, modified Wilson further teaches the second end of the body comprises a bore extending through the second end and centered on the longitudinal axis, wherein the retainer is positioned within the bore (as modified, see Figure 4 of Wilson).
Regarding claim 7, modified Wilson further teaches the punch comprises a mounting channel with an threaded inner surface, and a mounting end of the retainer comprises threaded outer surface, wherein the punch and the retainer are coupled together through threaded engagement of the threaded inner surface and the threaded outer surface (as modified, see Figure 4 of Wilson).
Claim 6 is rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being unpatentable over Wilson (US 4587737) in view of Frenken (US 20140251104 A1) and in further view of Giebel (US 3893239) and in further view of Bright (US 3978758).
Regarding claim 6, modified Wilson further teaches the retainer comprises a mounting end coupled to the punch, and a distal end opposite the mounting end (as modified, see Figure 1 of Giebel).
Modified Wilson fails to teach the retainer has a tapered shape such that an outer dimension of punch retainer decreases along its length from the distal end to the mounting end such that the mounting end has a smaller radius than the distal end.
Bright teaches a retainer (10) has a tapered shape such that an outer dimension of punch retainer decreases along its length from the distal end to the mounting end such that the mounting end has a smaller radius than the distal end (see Figure 5).
It would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art to modify the device of modified Wilson to change the shape of the retainer, as taught by Bright, in order to produce an easily removable part (col. 2 lines 51-64 of Bright).
Response to Arguments
Applicant's arguments filed 8/27/2026 have been fully considered but they are not persuasive.
In response to applicant's argument that Wilson fails to teach the thrust bearing. The examiner disagrees and notes that the Wilson reference has been remapped, element 38 of Wilson is not considered as the thrust bearing, which is a thrust bearing (38) positioned between the punch plug and the second side of the die, the thrust bearing comprising a first bearing surface directly abutting the second side of the die and a second bearing surface directly abutting a side of the punch plug facing the punch (top and bottom side of 38), wherein at least a portion of the thrust bearing can rotate between the die and die plug with respect to the longitudinal axis (see Figures 1-4).
Conclusion
Applicant's amendment necessitated the new ground(s) of rejection presented in this Office action. Accordingly, THIS ACTION IS MADE FINAL. See MPEP § 706.07(a). Applicant is reminded of the extension of time policy as set forth in 37 CFR 1.136(a).
/LIANG DONG/Examiner, Art Unit 3724 5/30/2026