DETAILED ACTION
Receipt is acknowledged of applicant’s Amendment/Remarks filed 8/12/2026.
Status of the Claims
Claims 1, 7, 8, 10, 16 and 19 have been amended. Claim 20 is cancelled. Claims 21 is newly added. Accordingly, claims 1-19 and 21 remain pending in the application and are currently under examination.
Withdrawn Objections/Rejections
Applicant’s amendment renders the objection to claims 1 and 10 moot. Specifically, the claims have been amended to remedy the obvious error. Thus, said objection has been withdrawn.
Applicant’s amendment renders the rejection of claim 7 under 35 USC 112(b) moot. Specifically, the claim has been amended to remedy the indefinite issue. Thus, said rejection has been withdrawn.
Applicant’s amendment renders the provisional double patenting rejection of claims 1-20 over USPA 17/191,522 in view of Sherwood moot. Specifically, USPA 17/191,522 is abandoned. Thus, said rejection has been withdrawn.
Maintained Rejections
Claim Rejections - 35 USC § 103
(a) A patent may not be obtained though the invention is not identically disclosed or described as set forth in section 102, if the differences between the subject matter sought to be patented and the prior art are such that the subject matter as a whole would have been obvious at the time the invention was made to a person having ordinary skill in the art to which said subject matter pertains. Patentability shall not be negated by the manner in which the invention was made.
Claims 1, 6 and 8-19 stand rejected and newly amended claim 7 and new claim 21 are newly rejected under pre-AIA 35 U.S.C. 103(a) as being unpatentable over Stone et al. (US 2008/0249632 A1, Oct. 9, 2008, hereafter as “Stone”) in view of Sherwood et al. (US 2003/0114936 A1, Jun. 19, 2003, hereafter as “Sherwood”) as evidenced by Merriam-Webster (see PTO-892).
The instant invention is drawn to a bi-phasic scaffold for tissue repair, the bi-phasic scaffold having two phases wherein: a first phase of the two phases extending to an upper surface of the bi-phasic scaffold, the first phase comprises a series of hollows extending from an upper surface of the bi-phasic scaffold along a longitudinal axis in the first phase; wherein the hollows have a diameter ranging from about 125 to 650 microns and wherein the first phase has a height of between 1-7 mm; and a second phase of the two phases extending to a lower surface of the bi-phasic scaffold; and a method of inducing or enhancing repair, regeneration or enhancement of cartilage, bone or a combination thereof.
Regarding instant claim 1, Stone teaches a method of repairing cartilage defects comprising implanting a cartilage repair plug ([0001] and [0003]). The cartilage plug includes a top or articulation layer 12 (i.e., a first phase), a base 14 (i.e., a second phase), and optionally, a bore 16 containing a bioactive material 18 ([0014]; Fig. 4). Stone illustrates that the bore extends to the upper region along a longitudinal axis (Fig. 4). Stone teaches that the articulation layer and base layer can be made of the same material including the particular material, coral ([0023] and [0024]). Stone also teaches that the articulation layer and base layer can be formed from a monolithic piece of material ([0025]). Stone further teaches that the plug can accommodate ingrowth of new cartilage and/or new bone ([0019] and [0023]). Stone also teaches the particular bioactive material, live cells including chondrocytes ([0027]). Stone further teaches that the articulation layer can be porous to allow integration of cartilage with the implant ([0019]), the bore comprising an active agent facilitates tissue ingrowth into the implant site ([0039]), the bore can be in any region in the cartilage plug so long as the bore location does not impact the load distribution, and that the bore can be defined by the cartilage plug articular layer and/or the cartilage plug base ([0026]).
Stone is silent to the first phase comprising a series of hollows along a longitudinal axis, wherein said hollows have a diameter ranging from about 125 to 650 microns, and wherein the first phase has a height of between 1-7 mm.
Sherwood teaches implantable composite devices for the purpose of repair and replacement of cartilage and/or bone and a method of using thereof (abstract; claim 23). One such device is a fully resorbable synthetic scaffold containing a cartilage-appropriate region and bone appropriate region ([0020]). Sherwood also teaches staggered channels in the cartilage region increases the strength of the device relative to a straight through channel design ([0020] and [0063]). Sherwood teaches that the channels are substantially straight passageways of defined width, length and orientation and the channels facilitate transport of nutrients to cells and removal of cellular by-products ([0020], [0063] and [0064]). Sherwood also teaches that the channel structures can be radial or vertical ([0067]) or that the cross-section of the channels are substantially constant ([0079]). Sherwood also teaches that said channels can range from about 150 to 500 microns, with 250 microns preferred ([0063]). Sherwood further teaches that cartilage region can have a thickness (height) of 2 mm ([0020] and [0172]).
Both of the references are drawn to implantable scaffolds for bone and/or cartilage repair, thus, it would have been prima facie obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date of the claimed invention to a series of hollows along a longitudinal axis, having a diameter ranging from about 125 to 650 microns in the first phase into the invention of Stone as suggested by Sherwood with a reasonable expectation of success. A skilled artisan would have been motivated to do so because Sherwood teaches said staggered channels having the claimed orientation and diameters increases the strength of the device relative to a straight through channel design and facilitate transport of nutrients to cells and removal of cellular by-products. It also would have been prima facie obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date of the claimed invention to have a cartilage region having a thickness (height) of between 1-7 mm because Sherwood teaches that a cartilage region thickness of 2 mm is effective for an implantable scaffold for the purpose of cartilage repair.
Regarding instant claim 6, Stone and Sherwood teach the elements discussed above.
Stone, as discussed above, teaches that the articulation layer and base layer can be made of the same material including the particular material, coral ([0023] and [0024]) and that the articulation layer and base layer can be formed from a monolithic piece of material ([0025]). Stone further teaches that the bore/channel can be shaped using any suitable cutting tool such as a scalpel, saw, or surgical drill ([0033]). A surgical drill is known to generally create round hollows/channels. It would have been prima facie obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date of the claimed invention to include circular hollows by using a surgical drill to create multiple circular channels with a reasonable expectation of success because Stone teaches that drilling a bore/channel is a suitable method for a material such as coral and a surgical drill is known to create a circular hollow/channel.
Regarding instant claim 7, Stone and Sherwood teach the elements discussed above including the channels can range from about 150 to 500 microns (Sherwood at [0063]).
The references are silent to the hollows having an average diameter ranging from about 125 to 160 microns.
However, MPEP 2144.05(I) states, “In the case where the claimed ranges ‘overlap or lie inside ranges disclosed by the prior art’ a prima facie case of obviousness exists”. Thus, because the claimed range of about 125 to 160 microns overlaps with the range of about 150 to 500 microns disclosed by the prior art, a prima facie case of obviousness exists. Furthermore, MPEP 2144.05(II)(A) states,
Generally, differences in concentration or temperature will not support the patentability of subject matter encompassed by the prior art unless there is evidence indicating such concentration or temperature is critical. “[W]here the general conditions of a claim are disclosed in the prior art, it is not inventive to discover the optimum or workable ranges by routine experimentation.”
It would have also been prima facie obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date of the claimed invention to optimize the average diameter range taught by Sherwood by way of routine experimentation with a reasonable expectation of success. A skilled artisan would have been motivated to do so because Sherwood teaches a general range of about 150 to 500 microns and it is the normal desire of scientists or artisans to improve upon what is already generally known and determine where in a disclosed range is the optimum range.
Regarding instant claims 8-10 and 16, Stone and Sherwood teach the elements discussed above. Stone also teaches that the articulation layer can be porous to allow integration of cartilage with the implant ([0019]), the bore comprising an active agent facilitates tissue ingrowth into the implant site ([0039]), the bore can be in any region in the cartilage plug so long as the bore location does not impact the load distribution and that the bore can be defined by the cartilage plug articular layer and/or the cartilage plug base ([0026]). In other words, Stone teaches that the bore can be present in the articular layer, the base layer or both. Sherwood teaches a highly porous cartilage region to facilitate seeding chondrocytes selectively in this region and staggered channels in the cartilage region to promote homogeneous seeding throughout the 2-mm thickness of the region [0020]. Sherwood also teaches that the channels improve strength and facilitate the transport of nutrients to the cells and removal of cellular/polymer degradation by-products ([0020], [0063] and [0064]). It would have been prima facie obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date of the claimed invention to include a series of hollows in only the first phase and not the second phase of the biphasic scaffold with a reasonable expectation of success because Stone and Sherwood teach treating articular cartilage defects ([0003] of Stone and [0280] of Sherwood) wherein the articular layer of Stone and the cartilage region of Sherwood are the outermost layers of the respective implants that align to the cartilage portion of the surrounding tissue (see Fig. 7C of Stone and [0093] of Sherwood) and both references teach including a bore or channels within only the outer articular layer/cartilage region for the same purpose of improving strength and facilitating transport of nutrients and tissue ingrowth.
Regarding instant claims 11-15, Stone and Sherwood teach the elements discussed above. Stone also teaches that inclusion of bioactives within the bore such as polysaccharides ([0027]). Additionally, Sherwood teaches the polymers can be incorporated into the scaffold such as glycosaminoglycans including hyaluronic acid and that the pores may be fully or partially filled with an interpenetration substance such as polymers ([0102] and [0132]). It would have been prima facie obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date of the claimed invention to include the particular polymer/polysaccharide, hyaluronic acid in the hollows of the first phase and not in the second phase with a reasonable expectation of success because the references teach that the hollows/channels can be included in only the first (cartilage) phase, a bioactive polymer/polysaccharide can be included in said hollows/channels, and the particular bioactive polysaccharide/polymer, hyaluronic acid, is a suitable material for the purpose of tissue regeneration.
Regarding instant claim 17, Stone and Sherwood teach the elements discussed above. Stone, as discussed above, teaches that the articulation layer and base layer can be made of the same material including the particular material, coral ([0023] and [0024]) and that the articulation layer and base layer can be formed from a monolithic piece of material ([0025]). Stone further teaches that the bore/channel can be shaped using any suitable cutting tool such as a scalpel, saw, or surgical drill ([0033]). It would have been prima facie obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date of the claimed invention to drill the from the upper surface in order to only go through the cartilage portion of the plug, as suggested by Stone, to drill the multiple channels of Sherwood with a reasonable expectation of success because Stone teaches that drilling a bore/channel is a suitable method for a material such as coral.
Regarding instant claim 18, Stone and Sherwood teach the elements discussed above and Stone further teaches a tapered outer sidewall (Fig. 2A-2C). It is noted that “tapered” is not explicitly defined in the instant specification. As such, the examiner is giving the term the broadest reasonable interpretation. MPEP 2173.01 states,
Under a broadest reasonable interpretation, words of the claim must be given their plain
meaning, unless such meaning 1is inconsistent with the specification. The plain meaning
of a term means the ordinary and customary meaning given to the term by those of ordinary skill in the art at the time of the invention.
The plain meaning of “taper” is “to become progressively smaller toward one end” as evidenced by Merriam Webster. FIGs 2A-2C clearly illustrate the outer wall progressively getting smaller toward one end.
Regarding instant claim 19, Stone and Sherwood teach the elements discussed above. Stone, as stated above, teaches that the articulation layer and base layer can be made of the same material including the particular material, coral ([0023] and [0024]) and that the articulation layer and base layer can be formed from a monolithic piece of material ([0025]).
Regarding instant claim 21, Stone and Sherwood teach the elements discussed above including the bore can be defined by the cartilage plug articular layer and/or the cartilage plug base (construed to mean that the bore/hollow can extend entirely through either phase or both; Stone at [0026]).
Thus, the combined teachings of Stone and Sherwood render the instant claim prima facie obvious.
Response to Arguments
Applicant's arguments filed 8/12/2026 have been fully considered but they are not persuasive.
Applicant argues that it has not been sufficiently explained why a person of ordinary skill would have modified Stone’s optional bore/reservoir disclosure to provide the claimed series of upper-surface longitudinal hollows in the first phase of the bi-phasic scaffold, while maintaining the claimed phase-specific relationship to the second phase. Applicant asserts that Stone’s cartilage plug is described in the context of distributing load through the plug structure and the proposed modification would substantially alter Stone’s optional single-bore/reservoir concept by incorporating Sherwood’s multiple-channel architecture. Remarks, page 7-9.
In response, it is respectfully submitted that both Stone and Sherwood are concerned with distributing load/maintaining mechanical strength of the implantable device and both of the references teach a hollow or hollows that may be seeded with chondrocytes to facilitate cartilage formation. Sherwood also teaches staggered channels in the cartilage region increases the strength of the device relative to a straight through channel design as well as facilitate the transport of nutrients to the cells and removal of cellular/polymer degradation by-products. See rejection above for citations. Thus, the references have more in common than applicant recognizes in their arguments and Sherwood also provides rationale as to why one of ordinary skill in the art would modify the single channel design of Stone to a staggered channels design, that is, to increase strength which Stone recognizes as an important factor in the design of an implantable device for repairing bone and cartilage. Thus, contrary to applicant’s assertion that the proposed modification would substantially alter the principle and single bore structure described by Stone, Stone and Sherwood are concerned with the same problem of load distribution and mechanical stability and Sherwood specifically provides motivation as to one of ordinary skill would modify the design of a single channel to multiple channels, that is, to increase strength of the device. Thus, applicant’s argument is not persuasive.
Applicant also argues that the Office Action does not identify a teaching in Sherwood of the particular claimed relationship between upper-surface hollows in the first phase and a second phase devoid of the series of hollows. Remarks, page 9.
In response, it is respectfully submitted that the rejection is based on the combined teachings of Stone and Sherwood. Stone teaches that the bore can be in any region in the cartilage plug so long as the bore location does not impact the load distribution and that the bore can be defined by the cartilage plug articular layer and/or the cartilage plug base ([0026]). In other words, Stone teaches that the bore can be present in the articular layer, the base layer or both. Sherwood teaches a highly porous cartilage region to facilitate seeding chondrocytes selectively in this region and staggered channels in the cartilage region to promote homogeneous seeding throughout the 2-mm thickness of the region [0020]. Sherwood also teaches that the channels improve strength and facilitate the transport of nutrients to the cells and removal of cellular/polymer degradation by-products ([0020], [0063] and [0064]). Thus, it would have been prima facie obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date of the claimed invention to include a series of hollows in only the first phase and not the second phase of the biphasic scaffold with a reasonable expectation of success because Stone and Sherwood teach treating articular cartilage defects ([0003] of Stone and [0280] of Sherwood) wherein the articular layer of Stone and the cartilage region of Sherwood are the outermost layers of the respective implants that align to the cartilage portion of the surrounding tissue (see Fig. 7C of Stone and [0093] of Sherwood) and both references teach including a bore or channels within only the outer articular layer/cartilage region for the same purpose of improving strength and facilitating transport of nutrients and tissue ingrowth. Applciant’as argument is unpersuasive.
Regarding claim 16, Applicant argues that the cited art does not teach or suggest a single piece, phase-specific scaffold architecture. Remarks, page 9.
In response, it is respectfully submitted that the limitations regarding hollows in the first phase and the second phase being devoid of hollows have been addressed above. Regarding the “single piece” limitations, Stone teaches that the articulation layer and base layer can be formed from a monolithic piece of material ([0025]). Thus, applicant’s argument is unpersuasive.
Regarding instant claims 8 and 9, Applicant argues that claim 8 requires “the hollows extend through only a portion of the height of the bi-phasic scaffold” and claim 9 requires “the second phase is devoid of the hollows”. Applicant further states that the references do not teach phase-specific series of upper-surface longitudinal hollows. Remarks, pages 9-10.
In response, it is respectfully submitted that the limitations regarding hollows in the first phase and the second phase being devoid of hollows have been addressed above. Applicant’s attention is also directed to Fig. 4 of Stone which illustrates that the bore extends to the upper region along a longitudinal axis and Sherwood teaches that the channel structures can be vertical ([0067]). With respect to the limitation, “the hollows extend through only a portion of the height of the bi-phasic scaffold”, said limitation is slightly broader than the limitation, “the second phase is devoid of the hollows”. However, rendering obvious the limitation of claim 9, necessarily renders obvious the limitations of claim 8. Thus, the discussion regarding “the second phase is devoid of the hollows” is also relevant to the limitation, “the hollows extend through only a portion of the height of the bi-phasic scaffold”. Applicant’s argument is unpersuasive.
Applicant argues new claim 21 is patentable. Remarks, page 10.
In response, it is respectfully submitted that claim 21 recites, “wherein the hollows have a height that extends entirely through the first phase”. Said claim depends on claim 10. Arguments regarding claim 10 have been addressed above. Stone and Sherwood teach/suggest the elements of claim 10 as discussed above. Stone further teaches that the bore can be defined by the cartilage plug articular layer and/or the cartilage plug base (construed to mean that the bore/hollow can extend entirely through either or both phases; [0026]). Thus, the teachings of Stone reads on the concept of a hollow having a height that extends entirely through a first phase.
Thus, for these reasons, Applicant’s arguments are found unpersuasive. Said rejection is maintained.
Claims 2-5 stand rejected under pre-AIA 35 U.S.C. 103(a) as being unpatentable over Stone et al. (US 2008/0249632 A1, Oct. 9, 2008, hereafter as “Stone”) in view of Sherwood et al. (US 2003/0114936 A1, Jun. 19, 2003, hereafter as “Sherwood”), as applied to claim 1 above, and further in view of Lindholm et al. (US 2005/0142164 A1, Jun. 30, 2005, hereafter as “Lindholm”).
The instant invention is described above.
Stone and Sherwood teach the elements discussed above including a monolithic piece of material and the particular material, coral.
Stone and Sherwood are silent to the specific attributes of the coral including a porosity of about 35% to about 55%.
Lindholm teaches osteogenic devise comprising coral for the purpose of repairing/regenerating bone (abstract; [0011] and [0063]). Lindholm teaches that coral is the limestone skeleton of various species of marine invertebrates and the porous structure and dimensions in certain types of coral microscopically resemble human trabecular (cancellous) bone ([0057] and [0140]). The porosity of natural coral can range from 20-50% ([0140]).
The references are all drawn to repairing/regenerating bone comprising implanting a bone scaffold/graft, thus, it would have been prima facie obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date of the claimed invention to include a porous coral, as suggested by Lindholm, in the invention of Stone/Sherwood with a reasonable expectation of success. A skilled artisan would have been motivated to do so because Stone and Lindholm teach that coral is a suitable material for a bone scaffold/graft and Lindholm further teaches coral has a similar porous structure to that of human bone. It is noted that the claimed range of about 35% to about 55% overlaps with the range of 20-50% disclosed by the prior art. “In the case where the claimed ranges ‘overlap or lie inside ranges disclosed by the prior art’ a prima facie case of obviousness exists (MPEP 2144.05(I)). It is further noted that “about” is defined in the instant specification as up to ±25 variance of the recited values ([0092]) which would broaden the claimed range to about 26.25% to about 68.75%.
Thus, the combined teachings of Stone, Sherwood and Lindholm render the instant claims prima facie obvious.
Response to Arguments
Applicant's arguments, filed 8/12/2026, regarding the 103 rejection over Stone, Sherwood and Lindholm have been fully considered but they are not persuasive.
Applicant relies on the same arguments as presented for the 103 rejection over Stone and Sherwood. No further arguments regarding claims 2-5 are presented. Remarks, page 10.
For the same reasons as discussed above, Applicant’s arguments are not persuasive.
Thus, said rejection is maintained.
Double Patenting
Claims 1-19 and 21 are rejected on the ground of nonstatutory double patenting as being unpatentable over claims 1-20 of U.S. Patent No. 8,790,681 in view of Sherwood et al. (US 2003/0114936 A1, Jun. 19, 2003, hereafter as “Sherwood”).
Although the claims at issue are not identical, they are not patentably distinct from each other because the subject matter of the instant claims and the subject matter of the patented claims are significantly overlapping.
The instant invention is drawn to a bi-phasic scaffold for tissue repair, the bi-phasic scaffold having two phases wherein: a first phase of the two phases extending to an upper surface of the bi-phasic scaffold, the first phase comprises a series of hollows extending from an upper surface of the bi-phasic scaffold along a longitudinal axis in the first phase; wherein the hollows have a diameter ranging from about 125 to 650 microns and wherein the first phase has a height of between 1-7 mm; and a second phase of the two phases extending to a lower surface of the bi-phasic scaffold; and a method of inducing or enhancing repair, regeneration or enhancement of cartilage, bone or a combination thereof.
The patented invention is drawn to a scaffold for tissue repair, said scaffold consisting essentially of two phases wherein: a first phase of said two phases comprises solid coral and a biocompatible polymer, wherein said biocompatible polymer comprises a glycosaminoglycan comprising hyaluronic acid, sodium hyaluronate, cross-linked hyaluronic acid or combinations thereof, wherein said first phase further comprises a series of hollows along a longitudinal axis in said first phase, and wherein said biocompatible polymer penetrates to within said hollows; and a second phase of said two phases comprises a solid coral; a kit thereof; and a method of inducing or enhancing repair, regeneration or enhancement of formation of cartilage, bone or a combination thereof comprising implanting the scaffold of claim 1 in a subject in need thereof.
The patented invention does not explicitly recite, “wherein the hollows have a diameter ranging from about 125 to 650 microns and wherein the first phase has a height of between 1-7 mm”.
However, Sherwood teaches implantable composite devices for the purpose of repair and replacement of cartilage and/or bone and a method of using thereof (abstract; claim 23). Said method comprises the step of implanting the implantable composite into a patient at a site in need of repair or replacement (claim 23; paragraph [0028]). Sherwood teaches a fully resorbable synthetic scaffold containing a cartilage-appropriate region and bone-appropriate region for repair of articular defects (paragraph [0020]). Sherwood also teaches staggered channels in the cartilage region to promote homogenous seeding throughout the cartilage region (paragraph [0020]). Sherwood also teaches that the channels/pores may be fully or partially filled with an interpenetration substance including polymers (paragraph [0132]). Sherwood teaches that said channels can be between about 150-500 microns, preferably about 250 microns in diameter (paragraphs [0030], [0063] and [0172]). Sherwood also teaches that the cartilage region can have a thickness (height) of 2 mm (paragraphs [0020] and [0172]).
It would have been prima facie obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date of the claimed invention to include the above dimensions as suggested by Sherwood with a reasonable expectation of success because Sherwood teaches a similar implant for the same purpose. A skilled artisan would have been motivated to do so because Sherwood teaches that staggered channels between about 150-500 microns and a cartilage region having a thickness (height) of 2 mm are suitable for the same purpose of repairing/replacing cartilage and bone (MPEP 2144.07).
It is also noted that patent does not explicitly recite, “wherein the hollows have a height that extends entirely through the first phase”, the patent illustrates hollows in the first phase having a height that extends through the first phase (Fig. 11B). The patent does not describe an embodiment comprising hollows that do not extend entirely through the first phase. Accordingly, the patent implicitly anticipates said limitation. The examiner has relied upon the specification to delineate the scope of the invention embraced by the patent, consistent with the decision in Sun Pharmaceutical Industries Ltd. v. Eli Lilly and Co. U.S. Court of Appeals Federal Circuit, 95 USPQ2d 1797.
Thus, the instant claims and the patented claims are not patentably distinct from one another in view of Sherwood.
Claims 1-19 are rejected on the ground of nonstatutory double patenting as being unpatentable over claims 1-18 of U.S. Patent No. 8,802,115 in view of Sherwood et al. (US 2003/0114936 A1, Jun. 19, 2003, hereafter as “Sherwood”).
Although the claims at issue are not identical, they are not patentably distinct from each other because the subject matter of the instant claims and the subject matter of the patented claims are significantly overlapping.
The instant invention is described above.
The patented claims are drawn to a scaffold for tissue repair, said scaffold consisting essentially of two phases wherein: a first phase of said two phases comprises solid coral comprising a biocompatible polymer; and a second phase of said two phases comprises solid coral and said second phase further comprises a series of hollows along a longitudinal axis in said second phase, wherein said first phase does not comprise a series of hollows along a longitudinal axis said second phase does not comprise a biocompatible polymer and said scaffold is cut from or shaped from a single piece of coral, and wherein said biocompatible polymer in said first phase comprises a glycosaminoglycan comprising hyaluronic acid, sodium hyaluronate, cross-linked hyaluronic acid, or a combination thereof; a kit thereof; and a method of inducing or enhancing repair, regeneration or enhancement of formation of cartilage, bone or a combination thereof comprising implanting the scaffold of claim 1 in a subject in need thereof.
The patented invention does not explicitly recite, “wherein the hollows have a diameter ranging from about 125 to 650 microns and wherein the first phase has a height of between 1-7 mm”.
However, Sherwood teaches implantable composite devices for the purpose of repair and replacement of cartilage and/or bone and a method of using thereof (abstract; claim 23). Said method comprises the step of implanting the implantable composite into a patient at a site in need of repair or replacement (claim 23; paragraph [0028]). Sherwood teaches a fully resorbable synthetic scaffold containing a cartilage-appropriate region and bone-appropriate region for repair of articular defects (paragraph [0020]). Sherwood also teaches staggered channels in the cartilage region to promote homogenous seeding throughout the cartilage region (paragraph [0020]). Sherwood also teaches that the channels/pores may be fully or partially filled with an interpenetration substance including polymers (paragraph [0132]). Sherwood teaches that said channels can be between about 150-500 microns, preferably about 250 microns in diameter (paragraphs [0030], [0063] and [0172]). Sherwood also teaches that the cartilage region can have a thickness (height) of 2 mm (paragraphs [0020] and [0172]).
It would have been prima facie obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date of the claimed invention to include the above dimensions as suggested by Sherwood with a reasonable expectation of success because Sherwood teaches a similar implant for the same purpose. A skilled artisan would have been motivated to do so because Sherwood teaches that staggered channels between about 150-500 microns and a cartilage region having a thickness (height) of 2 mm are suitable for the same purpose of repairing/replacing cartilage and bone (MPEP 2144.07).
Thus, the instant claims and the patented claims are not patentably distinct from one another in view of Sherwood.
Claims 1-19 are rejected on the ground of nonstatutory double patenting as being unpatentable over claims 1-26 of U.S. Patent No. 8,808,725 in view of Sherwood et al. (US 2003/0114936 A1, Jun. 19, 2003, hereafter as “Sherwood”).
Although the claims at issue are not identical, they are not patentably distinct from each other because the subject matter of the instant claims and the subject matter of the patented claims are significantly overlapping.
The instant invention is described above.
The patented claims are drawn to a scaffold for repair of cartilage or an osteochondral defect, said scaffold comprising coral having at least a first portion of an exposed surface, which first portion is raised with respect to at least a second portion of said exposed surface in said coral, wherein said at least a first portion of said coral is proximal to a hollow or hollows along a longitudinal axis of said first portion and wherein said at least a second portion abuts said hollow or hollows and wherein said first portion comprises at least a region, which specifically positions and confines said coral within a site of cartilage repair; and a method of inducing or enhancing repair, regeneration or enhancement of formation of cartilage, bone or a combination thereof comprising implanting the scaffold of claim 1 in a subject in need thereof.
The patented invention does not explicitly recite, “wherein the hollows have a diameter ranging from about 125 to 650 microns and wherein the first phase has a height of between 1-7 mm”.
However, Sherwood teaches implantable composite devices for the purpose of repair and replacement of cartilage and/or bone and a method of using thereof (abstract; claim 23). Said method comprises the step of implanting the implantable composite into a patient at a site in need of repair or replacement (claim 23; paragraph [0028]). Sherwood teaches a fully resorbable synthetic scaffold containing a cartilage-appropriate region and bone-appropriate region for repair of articular defects (paragraph [0020]). Sherwood also teaches staggered channels in the cartilage region to promote homogenous seeding throughout the cartilage region (paragraph [0020]). Sherwood also teaches that the channels/pores may be fully or partially filled with an interpenetration substance including polymers (paragraph [0132]). Sherwood teaches that said channels can be between about 150-500 microns, preferably about 250 microns in diameter (paragraphs [0030], [0063] and [0172]). Sherwood also teaches that the cartilage region can have a thickness (height) of 2 mm (paragraphs [0020] and [0172]).
It would have been prima facie obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date of the claimed invention to include the above dimensions as suggested by Sherwood with a reasonable expectation of success because Sherwood teaches a similar implant for the same purpose. A skilled artisan would have been motivated to do so because Sherwood teaches that staggered channels between about 150-500 microns and a cartilage region having a thickness (height) of 2 mm are suitable for the same purpose of repairing/replacing cartilage and bone (MPEP 2144.07).
Thus, the instant claims and the patented claims are not patentably distinct from one another in view of Sherwood.
Claims 1-19 and 21 are rejected on the ground of nonstatutory double patenting as being unpatentable over claims 1-31 of U.S. Patent No. 10,046,084 in view of Sherwood et al. (US 2003/0114936 A1, Jun. 19, 2003, hereafter as “Sherwood”).
Although the claims at issue are not identical, they are not patentably distinct from each other because the subject matter of the instant claims and the subject matter of the patented claims are significantly overlapping.
The instant invention is described above.
The patented claims are drawn to a calcium carbonate containing biomaterial consisting essentially of two phases wherein: a first phase of said two phases comprises a solid calcium carbonate containing biomaterial and a biocompatible polymer, said solid calcium carbonate containing biomaterial comprising a series of hollows along a longitudinal axis in said first phase; and a second phase of said two phases comprises said solid calcium carbonate containing biomaterial, wherein both said first phase and said second phase are cut into or shaped from a single piece of said solid calcium carbonate containing biomaterial and the biomaterial remains intact as a single piece after being cut or shaped; a kit thereof; and a method of inducing or enhancing repair, regeneration or enhancement of formation of cartilage, bone or a combination thereof comprising implanting the calcium carbonate containing biomaterial of claim 1 in a subject in need thereof.
The patented invention does not explicitly recite, “wherein the hollows have a diameter ranging from about 125 to 650 microns and wherein the first phase has a height of between 1-7 mm”.
However, Sherwood teaches implantable composite devices for the purpose of repair and replacement of cartilage and/or bone and a method of using thereof (abstract; claim 23). Said method comprises the step of implanting the implantable composite into a patient at a site in need of repair or replacement (claim 23; paragraph [0028]). Sherwood teaches a fully resorbable synthetic scaffold containing a cartilage-appropriate region and bone-appropriate region for repair of articular defects (paragraph [0020]). Sherwood also teaches staggered channels in the cartilage region to promote homogenous seeding throughout the cartilage region (paragraph [0020]). Sherwood also teaches that the channels/pores may be fully or partially filled with an interpenetration substance including polymers (paragraph [0132]). Sherwood teaches that said channels can be between about 150-500 microns, preferably about 250 microns in diameter (paragraphs [0030], [0063] and [0172]). Sherwood also teaches that the cartilage region can have a thickness (height) of 2 mm (paragraphs [0020] and [0172]).
It would have been prima facie obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date of the claimed invention to include the above dimensions as suggested by Sherwood with a reasonable expectation of success because Sherwood teaches a similar implant for the same purpose. A skilled artisan would have been motivated to do so because Sherwood teaches that staggered channels between about 150-500 microns and a cartilage region having a thickness (height) of 2 mm are suitable for the same purpose of repairing/replacing cartilage and bone (MPEP 2144.07).
It is also noted that patent does not explicitly recite, “wherein the hollows have a height that extends entirely through the first phase”, the patent illustrates hollows in the first phase having a height that extends through the first phase (Fig. 11B). The patent does not describe an embodiment comprising hollows that do not extend entirely through the first phase. Accordingly, the patent implicitly anticipates said limitation. The examiner has relied upon the specification to delineate the scope of the invention embraced by the patent, consistent with the decision in Sun Pharmaceutical Industries Ltd. v. Eli Lilly and Co. U.S. Court of Appeals Federal Circuit, 95 USPQ2d 1797.
Thus, the instant claims and the patented claims are not patentably distinct from one another in view of Sherwood.
Claims 1-19 and 21 are rejected on the ground of nonstatutory double patenting as being unpatentable over claims 1-23 of U.S. Patent No. 10,080,818 in view of Sherwood et al. (US 2003/0114936 A1, Jun. 19, 2003, hereafter as “Sherwood”).
Although the claims at issue are not identical, they are not patentably distinct from each other because the subject matter of the instant claims and the subject matter of the patented claims are significantly overlapping.
The instant invention is described above.
The patented claims are drawn to a scaffold for tissue repair, said scaffold consisting essentially of two phases wherein: a first phase of said two phases comprises solid coral and a biocompatible polymer and said first phase further comprises a series of hollows along a longitudinal axis in said first phase, and wherein said polymer penetrates to within said hollows; and a second phase of said two phases comprises a solid coral wherein said biocompatible polymer is a glycosaminoglycan, a chitosan, an alginate or a combination thereof; a kit thereof; and a method of inducing or enhancing repair, regeneration or enhancement of formation of cartilage, bone or a combination thereof comprising implanting the scaffold of claim 1 in a subject in need thereof.
The patented invention does not explicitly recite, “wherein the hollows have a diameter ranging from about 125 to 650 microns and wherein the first phase has a height of between 1-7 mm”.
However, Sherwood teaches implantable composite devices for the purpose of repair and replacement of cartilage and/or bone and a method of using thereof (abstract; claim 23). Said method comprises the step of implanting the implantable composite into a patient at a site in need of repair or replacement (claim 23; paragraph [0028]). Sherwood teaches a fully resorbable synthetic scaffold containing a cartilage-appropriate region and bone-appropriate region for repair of articular defects (paragraph [0020]). Sherwood also teaches staggered channels in the cartilage region to promote homogenous seeding throughout the cartilage region (paragraph [0020]). Sherwood also teaches that the channels/pores may be fully or partially filled with an interpenetration substance including polymers (paragraph [0132]). Sherwood teaches that said channels can be between about 150-500 microns, preferably about 250 microns in diameter (paragraphs [0030], [0063] and [0172]). Sherwood also teaches that the cartilage region can have a thickness (height) of 2 mm (paragraphs [0020] and [0172]).
It would have been prima facie obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date of the claimed invention to include the above dimensions as suggested by Sherwood with a reasonable expectation of success because Sherwood teaches a similar implant for the same purpose. A skilled artisan would have been motivated to do so because Sherwood teaches that staggered channels between about 150-500 microns and a cartilage region having a thickness (height) of 2 mm are suitable for the same purpose of repairing/replacing cartilage and bone (MPEP 2144.07).
It is also noted that patent does not explicitly recite, “wherein the hollows have a height that extends entirely through the first phase”, the patent illustrates hollows in the first phase having a height that extends through the first phase (Fig. 11B). The patent does not describe an embodiment comprising hollows that do not extend entirely through the first phase. Accordingly, the patent implicitly anticipates said limitation. The examiner has relied upon the specification to delineate the scope of the invention embraced by the patent, consistent with the decision in Sun Pharmaceutical Industries Ltd. v. Eli Lilly and Co. U.S. Court of Appeals Federal Circuit, 95 USPQ2d 1797.
Thus, the instant claims and the patented claims are not patentably distinct from one another in view of Sherwood.
Claims 1-19 and 21 are rejected on the ground of nonstatutory double patenting as being unpatentable over claims 1-18 of U.S. Patent No. 12,508,343.
Although the claims at issue are not identical, they are not patentably distinct from each other because the subject matter of the instant claims and the subject matter of the patented claims are significantly overlapping.
The instant invention is described above.
The patented claims are drawn to a bi-phasic scaffold for tissue repair, said bi-phasic scaffold having two phases wherein: a first phase of said two phases comprises solid coral and said first phase further comprises a series of hollows each extending in the same orientation along a longitudinal axis in said first phase; a second phase of said two phases consisting of the solid coral, the second phase being devoid of the series of hollows; wherein said hollows have a diameter ranging from about 125 to 650 mm and a height that extends entirely through the first phase, and wherein said first phase has a height of between 1-7 mm; a kit thereof; and a method of inducing or enhancing repair, regeneration or enhancement of formation of cartilage, bone or a combination thereof.
Thus, the instant claims are anticipated by the patented claims and, as such, are not patentably distinct.
Response to Arguments
Applicant's arguments filed 8/12/2026 have been fully considered but they are not persuasive.
Applicant states that the double patenting rejections are traversed but does not present any specific arguments. Remarks, pages 6-7.
In response, it is respectfully submitted that applicant’s traversal is acknowledged. However, the rejections have been reconsidered and are still applicable.
Thus, said double patenting rejections are maintained.
Conclusion
All claims have been rejected; no claims are allowed.
Applicant's amendment necessitated the new ground(s) of rejection presented in this Office action. Accordingly, THIS ACTION IS MADE FINAL. See MPEP § 706.07(a). Applicant is reminded of the extension of time policy as set forth in 37 CFR 1.136(a).
Correspondence
Casey S. Hagopian
Examiner, Art Unit 1617
/CARLOS A AZPURU/Primary Examiner, Art Unit 1617