DETAILED ACTION
The instant application having Application No. filed on 08/21/2024 is presented for examination by the examiner.
Examiner Notes
Examiner cites particular columns and line numbers in the references as applied to the claims below for the convenience of the applicant. Although the specified citations are representative of the teachings in the art and are applied to the specific limitations within the individual claim, other passages and figures may apply as well. It is respectfully requested that, in preparing responses, the applicant fully consider the references in entirety as potentially teaching all or part of the claimed invention, as well as the context of the passage as taught by the prior art or disclosed by the examiner.
Claim Rejections - 35 USC § 102
Claims 1-2 and 7 are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 102(a)(1) as being anticipated by Stubbs et al. (WO 2011/135375) (referenced in the IDS dated 08/21/2024 hereinafter referred to as Stubbs)
Regarding claim 1
Stubbs teaches an environment regulation system comprising:
a controlled environment area, including at least one of a greenhouse or a livestock housing unit (see Fig. 1 and 2, second building 2);
a first temperature regulation system for said controlled environment area (see Fig. 1, cooling unit 3; page 13);
an energy-intensive system (see Fig. 1, single room 1) comprising a plurality of computers and/or servers (see page 12, “a number of modules of electrical powered electronic equipment”), wherein heat energy dissipated from the energy-intensive system is used to regulate the temperature in the controlled environment area (see page 13 lines 6-11), wherein the energy-intensive system further comprises a second temperature regulation system configured to maintain the operational temperature of the computers and/or servers within an optimal temperature range (see page 12 line 10 – page 13 line 3, “special air cooling system may be provide in the rack to facilitate cooling”.);
a power source configured to activate the first temperature regulation system in the controlled environment area and the second temperature regulation system for the energy-intensive system (see Fig. 1, Fig. 2, power source is inherently provided to support the temperature regulation system, for example, page 13 lines 4-6); and
a control system configured to adjust the operation of the first temperature
regulation system based on environmental parameters including but not limited to
growth stages, seasonal variations, and other relevant factors (see page 13 lines 9-14, “The way in which this heat is transferred will depend upon the requirements of the building 2 which in turn will depend upon the agricultural
processes being carried out in that building.”).
Regarding claim 2
Stubbs teaches the environment regulation system of claim 1, wherein the controlled environment area is adapted for agricultural applications, including greenhouses for growing plants and poultry coops for broiler and egg production (see page 15).
Regarding claim 7
Stubbs teaches the environment regulation system of claim 1, wherein the power source comprises a renewable energy source, a grid power source, or a combination thereof (see page 2 lines 7-12).
Claim Rejections - 35 USC § 103
Claims 3-6 and 8 are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being unpatentable over Stubbs et al. (WO 2011/135375) hereinafter referred to as Stubbs) in view of OUAMMI et al. (US 20220057764 A1) (hereinafter OUAMMI).
Regarding claim 3
Stubbs teaches the environment regulation system of claim 1, but is silence on wherein the control system includes sensors and automated controls that dynamically adjust the temperature regulation based on real-time data of environmental conditions and growth stages of the plants or livestock.
In the same field of endeavor of controlling greenhouse environment, OUAMMI teaches the control system of the environment regulation system includes sensors and automated controls that dynamically adjust the temperature regulation based on real-time data of environmental conditions and growth stages of the plants or livestock (see par. 35, “CO2 sensors” “wet sensor to measure soil” “temperature sensors” “humidity” “wind speed”; par. 97, “dynamically adjusting the lighting power, the carbon dioxide concentration, and the thermal characteristics of the greenhouse”).
Therefore, it would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art, before the effective filling date of the claimed invention, to include the sensors for regulating the greenhouse environment of OUAMMI into the system of Stubbs because it would provide to effectively monitor and control the greenhouse environment (see OUAMMI abstract).
Regarding claim 4
Stubbs teaches the environment regulation system of claim 1, but is silence on wherein the control system includes a predictive algorithm that considers seasonal changes and other environmental parameters to optimize temperature regulation throughout the year.
OUAMMI teaches the control system includes a predictive algorithm that considers seasonal changes and other environmental parameters to optimize temperature regulation throughout the year (see par. 38).
Therefore, it would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art, before the effective filling date of the claimed invention, to include the predictive model for regulating the greenhouse environment of OUAMMI into the system of Stubbs because it would provide to effectively monitor and control the greenhouse environment (see OUAMMI abstract).
Regarding claim 5
Stubbs teaches the environment regulation system of claim 1, but is silence on wherein the physical structure of the controlled environment area includes design features to enhance thermal insulation and energy efficiency.
OUAMMI teaches the physical structure of the controlled environment area includes design features to enhance thermal insulation and energy efficiency (see par. 40).
Therefore, it would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art, before the effective filling date of the claimed invention, to include the thermal enhancement design for regulating the greenhouse environment of OUAMMI into the system of Stubbs because it would provide to effectively monitor and control the greenhouse environment (see OUAMMI abstract).
Regarding claim 6
Stubbs teaches the environment regulation system of claim 1, but is silence on wherein the design features to enhance thermal insulation and energy efficiency are selected from the group consisting of: thermal screens, cooling system, ventilation, irrigation system, duct system, carbon capture device, or any combination thereof.
OUAMMI teaches the design features to enhance thermal insulation and energy efficiency are selected from the group consisting of: thermal screens, cooling system, ventilation, irrigation system, duct system, carbon capture device, or any combination thereof (see par. 35, measure CO2 levels inside and outside, par. 97, “dynamically adjusting the lighting power, the carbon dioxide concentration, and the thermal characteristics of the greenhouse”).
Therefore, it would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art, before the effective filling date of the claimed invention, to include the thermal enhancement design for regulating the greenhouse environment of OUAMMI into the system of Stubbs because it would provide to effectively monitor and control the greenhouse environment (see OUAMMI abstract).
Regarding claim 8
Stubbs teaches a method of regulating the environment in a controlled area comprising:
dissipating heat energy from an energy-intensive system to the controlled
environment area (see Fig. 1 and 2, heat is dissipate from building 1 to second building 2); maintaining optimal operational temperature of the energy-intensive system using a second temperature regulation system (see page 13 lines 6-11); and utilizing a control system to coordinate the operation of the temperature regulation systems and the power source to ensure efficient energy use (see page 13 lines 9-14, “The way in which this heat is transferred will depend upon the requirements of the building 2 which in turn will depend upon the agricultural
processes being carried out in that building.”).
Stubbs is not specifically teach adjusting the temperature in the controlled environment area using a first temperature regulation system based on real-time data and predictive algorithms that account for growth stages, seasonal variations, and other environmental parameters;
OUAMMI teaches the control system includes adjusting the temperature in the controlled environment area using a first temperature regulation system based on real-time data (see par. 35, “CO2 sensors” “wet sensor to measure soil” “temperature sensors” “humidity” “wind speed”; par. 97, “dynamically adjusting the lighting power, the carbon dioxide concentration, and the thermal characteristics of the greenhouse”) and a predictive algorithm that considers seasonal changes and other environmental parameters to optimize temperature regulation throughout the year (see par. 38).
Therefore, it would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art, before the effective filling date of the claimed invention, to include the sensors and the predictive model for regulating the greenhouse environment of OUAMMI into the system of Stubbs because it would provide to effectively monitor and control the greenhouse environment (see OUAMMI abstract).
Conclusion
To file and manage patent submissions in Patent Center, visit: https://patentcenter.uspto.gov. Visit https://www.uspto.gov/patents/apply/patent‐center for more information about Patent Center and https://www.uspto.gov/patents/docx for information about filing in DOCX format. For additional questions, contact the Electronic Business Center (EBC) at 866‐217‐9197 (toll‐free). If you would like assistance from a USPTO Customer Service Representative, call 800‐786‐9199 (IN USA OR CANADA) or 571‐272‐1000.
/THOMAS K PHAM/Supervisory Patent Examiner, Art Unit 2876