DETAILED ACTION
Claim Rejections - 35 USC § 102
Claim(s) 21-24, 26-30, 32-34, and 36-47 is/are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 102(a)(1) as being anticipated by DOY et al. (US 2021/0310202).
With regards to claim 21, DOY et al. discloses an inclination control system (150) including: at least one non-contact sensor (140, 142) configured to be connected to a work machine (100), the at least one non-contacting sensor configured to detect a feature of a cut plane under the work machine; and a controller (152) communicatively connected to the at least one non-contact sensor and configured to control inclination of the work machine based on the detected feature (figure 1-12; paragraphs 0006, 0025, 0030 and 0036-0049).
As to claim 22 and 37, DOY et al. discloses wherein the at least one non-contacting sensor (140, 142) is configured to be connected to and positioned on a central axis of the work machine (figures 2-6).
As to claim 23, DOY et al. discloses wherein the at least one non-contacting sensor comprises a plurality of non-contacting sensors (140) configured to be spaced apart on the central axis of the work machine (figures 3-5).
As to claim 24 and 38, DOY et al. discloses wherein the at least one non-contacting sensor (140, 142) comprises two non-contacting sensors (140) configured to be located forward and rearward of a transportation device of the work machine (figures 3-4).
As to claim 26 and 40, DOY et al. discloses wherein the two non-contacting sensors (140, 142) are each configured to detect distance between the respective sensor and the cut plane (paragraph 0040-0042; figures 3-5).
As to claim 27 and 41, DOY et al. discloses wherein the controller (152) is configured to determine whether a frame axis of the work machine is at a target inclination to the cut plane based on the detected distances of each of the two non-contacting sensors (140) (paragraph 0024, 0040 and 0056; figure 2).
As to claim 28 and 42, DOY et al. discloses wherein the controller (152) is configured to determine whether a frame axis of the work machine is parallel to the cut plane based on the detected distances of each of the two non-contacting sensors (140, 142) (figures 2-5; paragraphs 0041-0042).
As to claim 29, DOY et al. discloses wherein the at least one non-contacting sensor (140, 142) detects the cut plane outwardly away from the central axis of the work machine (figures 2-5).
As to claim 30, DOY et al. discloses wherein the at least one non-contacting sensor comprises a laser device, a radar device, an imaging system, or a sonic device (paragraph 0036).
As to claim 32 and 44, DOY et al. discloses wherein the at least one non-contacting sensor (140, 142) is configured to be connected rearward of a rotating drum of the work machine (figure 2).
As to claim 33 and 43, DOY et al. discloses wherein: the work machine (100) comprises side plates (122) arranged on opposite sides of the work machine; and the at least one non-contacting sensor (140, 142) is located laterally outside a width of the work machine defined by the side plates (figures 2-5).
As to claim 34 and 45, DOY et al. discloses wherein the controller (152) is configured to determine whether a frame axis of the work machine is at a target inclination to the cut plane based on the detected feature (paragraph 0052-0056).
As to claim 35 and 46, DOY et al. discloses wherein the controller is configured to determine whether a frame axis of the work machine is parallel to the cut plane based on the detected feature (0051-0056).
With regards to claim 36 and 47, DOY et al. discloses a method and a work machine (100), comprising: a frame (102) defining a front end (108) and a rear end (110) of the work machine and having a frame axis extending longitudinally therethrough and a rotating drum (118) extending in a direction perpendicular through the frame axis (figures 1-8); a transportation device (106) configured to move the work machine over a cut plane; a lifting column (112) extending between the frame and the transportation device; at least one non-contacting sensor (140, 142) connected to the work machine and configured to detect a feature of a cut plane under the work machine; and a controller (152) communicatively connected to the at least one non-contacting sensor and configured to control the lifting column to control inclination of the work machine based on the detected feature (paragraph 0025).
Claim Rejections - 35 USC § 103
Claim(s) 25, 31, and 35 is/are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being unpatentable over DOY et al. (US 2021/0310202) alone.
As to claim 25 and 39, DOY et al. discloses wherein the work machine comprises a pair of transportation devices (106) including the transportation device, wherein the central axis on which the two non-contacting sensors (140, 142) are located in a longitudinal axis laterally between the pair of transportation devices (figure 5-6). DOY et al. discloses the invention substantially as claimed. However, DOY et al. is silent about the two non-contacting sensors are located in a longitudinally axis laterally centered between the pair of transportation devices. It would have been obvious to one having ordinary skill in the art at the time of the invention was made to reconfigure the sensor to be located as claimed, since it has been held that a mere reconfiguration of the essential working parts of a device is only routine skill in the art. In re Japikse, 181 F.2d 1019, 86 USPQ 70 (CCPA 1950).
As to claim 31, DOY et al. discloses wherein the at least one non-contacting sensor comprises a Light Detection and Ranging (LIDAR) sensor. It is old and well known in the art to use LIDAR sensors (see for example US 20210229516 and US 20200122540 teaching using LIDAR sensors for the same purpose), in this case it would be as simple substitution of known elements, therefore, it would have been within the level of one skilled in the art to modify the sensor to be LIDAR, since it known to use LIDAR sensor to detect height of columns.
Conclusion
/CARIB A OQUENDO/ Primary Examiner, Art Unit 3678