DETAILED ACTION
This Office action is in response to application filed on 8/21/2024. Claim(s) 1-20 is/are pending.
Claim Objections
Claim(s) 1-10 is/are objected to because of the following informalities:
Claim(s) 1 recites “the underwater pipe” in the last line of the claim. While the scope of the claim(s) is reasonably ascertainable, the examiner suggests amending to “the underwater pipeline” since this language has been used previously.
Appropriate correction is required.
Claim Rejections - 35 USC § 103
Claim(s) 1-4 is/are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being unpatentable over Lisnyak et al. (US 20210071801 A1) in view of Chen et al. (CN 109649610 A, where the citations in this Office action correspond to the provided English translation).
Regarding claim 1, Lisnyak teaches An unmanned (“pipe crawler 100”, Fig. 1), comprising:
a sensor configured to determine a condition relating to a(“the instrument segment 106 may include a sensor instrument that inspects the condition of the pipe 150.”, [0052], Figs. 1-2, 26); and
a modular interface structure coupled to the UUV and comprising a first interface for the UUV and a second interface for the
wherein the first interface comprises a group of sensor interfaces configured to support addition of at least one of a customizable set of sensors comprising the sensor (“In a further embodiment, the plurality of segments 106, 108 includes one or more instrument segments 106. In general, in various embodiments, an instrument segment 106 includes an instrument that facilitates pipe inspection, repair, maintenance, construction, destruction, or the like. Thus, in some embodiments, an instrument segment 106 may include a sensor instrument and/or a maintenance instrument. In one embodiment, an instrument segment 106 may include one or multiple sensor instruments and/or maintenance instruments. In another embodiment, a pipe crawler 100 may include multiple instrument segments 106 for multiple sensor instruments and/or maintenance instruments.”, [0051], Figs. 1-2, 26, see also [0052]), and
wherein the second interface is configured to interchangeably receive a clamping apparatus of a group of different clamping apparatuses comprising mechanical arms that facilitate attachment to the (“the pipe crawler 100 includes a retention mechanism 104. In general, in various embodiments, a retention mechanism 104 retains the segments 106, 108 in a shape matching the outer surface of the pipe 150.”, [0055], “a retention mechanism retains the segments 406, 408, instruments, and/or drive wheels (e.g., omni wheels 416, 418) in a shape matching an outer surface of the pipe, and provides adjustable positions for the segments 406, 408, instruments, and/or drive wheels, for disposing the segments 406, 408, instruments, and/or drive wheels on the outer surface of the pipe.”, [0076], Figs. 1-2, 4, see also [0075]).
Further, Chen teaches
An unmanned underwater vehicle (UUV) (“underwater pipeline robot”, [0005], “An underwater pipeline robot (underwater cleaning robot, column climbing robot) is an integrated mechatronics system that can automatically walk along a pipeline, carry one or more sensors and operating machinery, and perform a series of pipeline operations under the remote control of personnel or the automatic control of a computer.”, [0005]).
Both Lisnyak and Chen teach an unmanned vehicle for performing maintenance operations on a pipeline and both teach the vehicle comprises at least one sensor for determining a condition relating to the pipeline. Chen further teaches the unmanned vehicle is an unmanned underwater vehicle and that the pipeline is an underwater pipeline. Thus, it would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date to modify the invention of Lisnyak with the teachings of Chen such that the vehicle of Lisnyak is configured to clamp to and determine a condition of an underwater pipeline, as suggested by Chen, with a reasonable expectation of success. The motivation for doing so would be to use the vehicle of Lisnyak in an underwater environment, as suggested by Chen.
Regarding claim 2, Lisnyak in view of Chen teaches The UUV of claim 1, and Lisnyak further teaches wherein the clamping apparatus comprises at least one Mecanum wheel assembly that facilitates rotational movement around the underwater pipeline and translational movement along the underwater pipeline (“the plurality of segments 106, 108 includes one or more drive segments 108. In some embodiments, a drive segment 108 may include a drive mechanism for moving the pipe crawler 100. One or more drive segments 108, in a further embodiment, may be capable of moving the plurality of segments 106, 108 along the pipe 150, around the pipe 150, or simultaneously along and around the pipe 150. A drive mechanism may include a drive wheel, which may be a wheel driven by a motor, a hydraulic drive, or the like (e.g., either directly driven by a motor shaft or indirectly driven or via a belt, gear, or other power transmission components), and may include a rubber wheel, a metal wheel, an omni wheel, a mecanum wheel, or the like.”, [0049], see also [0082, 0084-0086], Figs. 9, 11-12).
Regarding claim 3, Lisnyak in view of Chen teaches The UUV of claim 1, and Lisnyak further teaches wherein the clamping apparatus attaches to the underwater pipeline via a hydraulic clamp device (“a retention mechanism for the pipe crawler 1700 includes servos 1702 that position the drive wheels 1708 against the outer surface of the pipe 1750. Servos 1702, in various embodiments, are servomotors that are driven electrically, hydraulically, pneumatically, or the like.”, [0105]).
Regarding claim 4, Lisnyak in view of Chen teaches The UUV of claim 1, and Lisnyak further teaches wherein the clamping apparatus attaches to the underwater pipeline via a pneumatic clamp device (“a retention mechanism for the pipe crawler 1700 includes servos 1702 that position the drive wheels 1708 against the outer surface of the pipe 1750. Servos 1702, in various embodiments, are servomotors that are driven electrically, hydraulically, pneumatically, or the like.”, [0105]).
Claim(s) 6-10 is/are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being unpatentable over Lisnyak et al. (US 20210071801 A1) in view of Chen et al. (CN 109649610 A, where the citations in this Office action correspond to the provided English translation) in view of Tyers (US 20230221725 A1).
Regarding claim 6, Lisnyak in view of Chen teaches The UUV of claim 1, and Lisnyak further teaches further comprising:
at least one processor (“controller 302”, Fig. 3); and
at least one memory that stores executable instructions that, when executed by the at least one processor, facilitate performance of operations (“the controller 302 may be a computer, programmable logic controller, or the like, for autonomous operation of the pipe crawler. For autonomous operation, in various embodiments, a programmable controller may be programmed via one or more cable connection ports, a wireless interface, or the like.”, [0069]),
Further, Tyers teaches
receiving global positioning satellite (GPS) position data (“Referring ahead to FIG. 11B, a flow diagram depicts one embodiment of a method 1150 for determining a path of travel. The central processing unit 1003 may update the mapping and any overlays before determining a path of travel. The central processing unit 1003 may determine a position of the marine vessel (e.g., in relation to the target location). Location information of the marine vessel 1001 may constantly be transferred (e.g., from the GPS) to the central processing unit 1003 which responds by controlling vessel's steering system if, and when required, to maintain the vessel's path of travel to the targeted location selected on the interactive monitor; the central processing unit 1003 may receive periodic updates to the location information.”, [0107]); and
autonomously navigating to a target location of the underwater pipeline by controlling at least one thruster of the UUV according to a proportional-integral-derivative control procedure that outputs a thruster control signal based on an input signal comprising the GPS data (“Having determined the position of the marine vessel 1001 and calculated at least one path, the central processing unit 103 may then calculate the required directional torque values for every individual thruster mounted on the marine vessel 1001. The required forces and torques at time t may be controlled and calculated by a PID algorithm”, [0110], Fig. 11B).
Both Lisnyak in view of Chen teach and Tyers teach an unmanned underwater vehicle comprising navigation equipment configured to autonomously navigate the UUV to a target location. Tyers further teaches the navigating is based on GPS input received by a PID controller. Thus, it would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date to modify the invention of Lisnyak in view of Chen teach with the teachings of Tyers such that the autonomous navigation of Lisnyak uses a PID algorithm with GPS data as input, as suggested by Tyers, with a reasonable expectation of success. The motivation for doing so would be to calculate the travel path of the vehicle using precise PID control, as suggest by Tyers.
Regarding claim 7, Lisnyak in view of Chen and Tyers teaches The UUV of claim 6, and Lisnyak further teaches wherein the operations further comprise autonomously attaching to the underwater pipeline at the target location (“the controller 302 may be a computer, programmable logic controller, or the like, for autonomous operation of the pipe crawler. For autonomous operation, in various embodiments, a programmable controller may be programmed via one or more cable connection ports, a wireless interface, or the like.”, [0069], (“the pipe crawler 100 includes a retention mechanism 104. In general, in various embodiments, a retention mechanism 104 retains the segments 106, 108 in a shape matching the outer surface of the pipe 150.”, [0055], “a retention mechanism retains the segments 406, 408, instruments, and/or drive wheels (e.g., omni wheels 416, 418) in a shape matching an outer surface of the pipe, and provides adjustable positions for the segments 406, 408, instruments, and/or drive wheels, for disposing the segments 406, 408, instruments, and/or drive wheels on the outer surface of the pipe.”, [0076], see also [0073-0074, 0103, 0105]).
Regarding claim 8, Lisnyak in view of Chen and Tyers teaches The UUV of claim 6, and Lisnyak further teaches wherein the operations further comprise:
receiving video data from a stereo vision sensor of the set of sensors (“the instrument segment 106 may include a sensor instrument that inspects the condition of the pipe 150…in various embodiments, a sensor instrument may include (without limitation) a camera, a video camera”, [0052]); and
(“the instrument segment 106 may include a maintenance instrument that performs operations affecting the condition of the pipe. For example, in various embodiments, a maintenance instrument may include (without limitation) a welder, a cutter, a grinder, a wire brush, a machining tool, an ultrasonic impact hardener and/or an applicator for a protective coating and/or thermal insulation. In one embodiment, a maintenance instrument may perform operations for maintaining the pipe, such as cleaning corrosion or dirt from the pipe, repairing leaks, applying a protective coating, or the like. In another embodiment, a maintenance instrument may perform operations for building or dismantling the pipe, such as welding segments together or cutting segments apart.”, [0053]).
Lisnyak teaches receiving video data which senses condition(s) relating to the pipeline (“corrosion, leaks, weld strength, pipe thickness, a defect”, [0052]). Lisnyak further teaches performing operations on the pipeline for maintaining the pipeline (“cleaning corrosion or dirt from the pipe, repairing leaks, applying a protective coating,…welding segments together or cutting segments apart”, [0053]). Thus, it would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date to further modify the invention of Lisnyak in view of Chen and Tyers with the teachings of Lisnyak such that the determining a maintenance operation to be performed on a portion of the underwater pipeline is done in response to receiving video data from a stereo vision sensor of the set of sensors, as suggested by Lisnyak, with a reasonable expectation of success. The motivation for doing so would be repair or maintain the pipeline when the defect is found so that the vehicle or another vehicle does not need to return to the location of the defect for the maintenance.
Regarding claim 9, Lisnyak in view of Chen and Tyers teaches The UUV of claim 8, wherein the maintenance operation comprises at least one of further monitoring or inspection of the portion of the underwater pipeline, cleaning of the portion of the underwater pipeline, or cutting the portion of the underwater pipeline (“a maintenance instrument may perform operations for maintaining the pipe, such as cleaning corrosion or dirt from the pipe, repairing leaks, applying a protective coating, or the like. In another embodiment, a maintenance instrument may perform operations for building or dismantling the pipe, such as welding segments together or cutting segments apart.”, [0053]).
Regarding claim 10, Lisnyak in view of Chen and Tyers teaches The UUV of claim 8, wherein the operations further comprise performing, by the UUV, the maintenance operation (“a maintenance instrument may perform operations for maintaining the pipe, such as cleaning corrosion or dirt from the pipe, repairing leaks, applying a protective coating, or the like. In another embodiment, a maintenance instrument may perform operations for building or dismantling the pipe, such as welding segments together or cutting segments apart.”, [0053]).
Claim(s) 5, 11-15 is/are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being unpatentable over Lisnyak et al. (US 20210071801 A1) in view of Chen et al. (CN 109649610 A, where the citations in this Office action correspond to the provided English translation) in view of Feng et al. (CN 107097918 A, where the citations in this Office action correspond to the provided English translation).
Regarding claim 5, Lisnyak in view of Chen teaches The UUV of claim 4, and Lisnyak further teaches wherein the modular interface structure
Further, Feng teaches
a mother ship interface configured to receive an air tube from a mother ship and direct, via the air tube, compressed air to the pneumatic (“the compressed air line runs from the air compressor 36 through the conduit 40”, [0043], “High-pressure hose 29 is the link between the underwater robot and the workboat, and is suspended on the water surface by a buoy. The high-pressure hose 29 serves not only as a conduit for conveying washing water inside the robot's shell, but also as a carrier for the power cables, control signal lines, and compressed air pipes used by the workboat to control the underwater robot.”, [0044], Figs. 2-3).
Both Lisnyak in view of Chen and Feng teach an unmanned underwater vehicle for performing maintenance operations on an underwater pipeline and both teach the device comprises a pneumatic device. Lisnyak teaches the pneumatic device is a pneumatic clamp and Feng teaches the pneumatic device is coupled to a mother ship. Thus, it would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date to modify the invention of Lisnyak in view of Chen with the teachings of Feng such that the vehicle of Lisnyak is coupled to a mother ship, as suggested by Feng, with a reasonable expectation of success. The motivation for doing so would be to provide more pneumatic pressure to the pneumatic clamp by using an above water air compressor, as taught by Feng [0015].
Regarding claim 11, Lisnyak teaches A device, comprising:
an unmanned (“pipe crawler 100”, Fig. 1) comprising sensing equipment configured to determine a condition relating to a(“the instrument segment 106 may include a sensor instrument that inspects the condition of the pipe 150.”, [0052], Figs. 1-2, 26); and
a pneumatic clamp device configured to couple to the vehicle vehicle (where the un-italicized “vehicle” is not part of Applicant’s claim, “the pipe crawler 100 includes a retention mechanism 104. In general, in various embodiments, a retention mechanism 104 retains the segments 106, 108 in a shape matching the outer surface of the pipe 150.”, [0055], “a retention mechanism retains the segments 406, 408, instruments, and/or drive wheels (e.g., omni wheels 416, 418) in a shape matching an outer surface of the pipe, and provides adjustable positions for the segments 406, 408, instruments, and/or drive wheels, for disposing the segments 406, 408, instruments, and/or drive wheels on the outer surface of the pipe.”, [0076], (“FIG. 17 is a perspective view illustrating another embodiment of a pipe crawler 1700 on a pipe 1750. In the depicted embodiment, the pipe crawler 1700 includes a plurality of servos 1702, connecting arms 1704, drive segments 1706 and drive wheels 1708, which are described below.”, [0101], “Drive segments 1706 and drive wheels 1708 are substantially as described above with reference to various embodiments of pipe crawlers.”, [0103], “a retention mechanism for the pipe crawler 1700 includes servos 1702 that position the drive wheels 1708 against the outer surface of the pipe 1750. Servos 1702, in various embodiments, are servomotors that are driven electrically, hydraulically, pneumatically, or the like.”, [0105], Figs. 1-2, 17).
Further, Chen teaches
an unmanned underwater vehicle (UUV) (“underwater pipeline robot”, [0005], “An underwater pipeline robot (underwater cleaning robot, column climbing robot) is an integrated mechatronics system that can automatically walk along a pipeline, carry one or more sensors and operating machinery, and perform a series of pipeline operations under the remote control of personnel or the automatic control of a computer.”, [0005]).
Both Lisnyak and Chen teach an unmanned vehicle for performing maintenance operations on a conduit and both teach the vehicle comprises at least one sensor for determining a condition relating to the conduit. Chen further teaches the unmanned vehicle is an unmanned underwater vehicle and that the conduit is an underwater conduit. Thus, it would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date to modify the invention of Lisnyak with the teachings of Chen such that the vehicle of Lisnyak is configured to attach/detach from and to and determine a condition of an underwater conduit, as suggested by Chen, with a reasonable expectation of success. The motivation for doing so would be to use the vehicle of Lisnyak in an underwater environment, as suggested by Chen.
Further, Feng teaches
a compressed air interface configured to receive an air tube from a surface vessel and to provide, via the air tube, compressed air (“the compressed air line runs from the air compressor 36 through the conduit 40”, [0043], “High-pressure hose 29 is the link between the underwater robot and the workboat, and is suspended on the water surface by a buoy. The high-pressure hose 29 serves not only as a conduit for conveying washing water inside the robot's shell, but also as a carrier for the power cables, control signal lines, and compressed air pipes used by the workboat to control the underwater robot.”, [0044], Figs. 2-3).
Both Lisnyak in view of Chen and Feng teach an unmanned underwater vehicle with a pneumatic device comprising a compressed air interface. Feng further teaches the compressed air interface is configured to receive an air tube from a surface vessel and to provide, via the air tube, compressed air to the unmanned underwater vehicle. Thus, it would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date to modify the invention of Lisnyak in view of Chen with the teachings of Feng such that the pneumatic interface of Lisnyak in view of Chen is configured to receive an air tube from a surface vessel, as suggested by Feng, with a reasonable expectation of success. This would require the substitution of the air tube of Feng with the compressed air delivery method of Lisnyak and would achieve the predictable result of supply air to the pneumatic device using a well-known compressed air tube.
Regarding claim 12, Lisnyak in view of Chen and Feng teach The device of claim 11, and Lisnyak further teaches further comprising a modular interface structure coupled to the UUV and configured to provide a first interface for the UUV that interfaces with the sensing equipment (“In a further embodiment, the plurality of segments 106, 108 includes one or more instrument segments 106. In general, in various embodiments, an instrument segment 106 includes an instrument that facilitates pipe inspection, repair, maintenance, construction, destruction, or the like. Thus, in some embodiments, an instrument segment 106 may include a sensor instrument and/or a maintenance instrument. In one embodiment, an instrument segment 106 may include one or multiple sensor instruments and/or maintenance instruments. In another embodiment, a pipe crawler 100 may include multiple instrument segments 106 for multiple sensor instruments and/or maintenance instruments.”, [0051], Figs. 1-2, 26, see also [0052]) and a second interface for the UUV that interfaces with the pneumatic clamp device (“the pipe crawler 100 includes a retention mechanism 104. In general, in various embodiments, a retention mechanism 104 retains the segments 106, 108 in a shape matching the outer surface of the pipe 150.”, [0055], “a retention mechanism retains the segments 406, 408, instruments, and/or drive wheels (e.g., omni wheels 416, 418) in a shape matching an outer surface of the pipe, and provides adjustable positions for the segments 406, 408, instruments, and/or drive wheels, for disposing the segments 406, 408, instruments, and/or drive wheels on the outer surface of the pipe.”, [0076], Figs. 1-2, 4, see also [0075]).
Regarding claim 13, Lisnyak in view of Chen and Feng teach The device of claim 12, and Lisnyak further teaches wherein the first interface is configured to interface with different types of the sensing equipment (“an instrument segment 106 may include one or multiple sensor instruments and/or maintenance instruments. In another embodiment, a pipe crawler 100 may include multiple instrument segments 106 for multiple sensor instruments and/or maintenance instruments.”, [0051].
Regarding claim 14, Lisnyak in view of Chen and Feng teach The device of claim 12, and Lisnyak further teaches wherein the pneumatic clamping device comprises mechanical arms having a length configured for a size of the underwater conduit, and wherein the second interface is configured to interface with different types of the pneumatic clamping device in which respective lengths of the different types differ (“FIG. 4 depicts another embodiment of a pipe crawler 400. In the depicted embodiment, the pipe crawler 400 includes an instrument segment 406 and drive segments 408, which are substantially as described above with regard to FIGS. 1 and 2, like numbers referring to like elements.”, [0075], “FIGS. 5 and 6 depict the pipe crawler 400 of FIG. 4 disposed on a small-diameter pipe 550 and a large-diameter pipe 650, respectively. In one embodiment, when the pipe crawler 400 is disposed on a small-diameter pipe 550, the rods 402 move inward through the openings 403 in the solid open ring 404, to dispose the drive segments 408 against the pipe 550. The instrument segment 406 may be positioned adjacent to the pipe 550 (e.g., for milling or welding operations) or may be positioned further away from the pipe 550 as shown (e.g., for camera inspection with a more convenient viewing angle). In another embodiment, when the pipe crawler 400 is disposed on a large-diameter pipe 650, the rods 402 move outward through the openings 403 in the solid open ring 404, so that the segments 406, 408 move to accommodate the larger pipe 650. In a further embodiment, each segment 406, 408 moves inward or outward independently of the other segments 406, 408, to accommodate pipes with elliptical or other non-circular cross-sections.”, [0078], Figs. 4-6).
Regarding claim 15, Lisnyak in view of Chen and Feng teach The device of claim 11, and Lisnyak further teaches further comprising conduit traversal equipment comprising a Mecanum wheel that, when attached to the underwater conduit, is configured to facilitate traversing a length of the underwater conduit and facilitate rotating about a circumference of the underwater conduit (“the plurality of segments 106, 108 includes one or more drive segments 108. In some embodiments, a drive segment 108 may include a drive mechanism for moving the pipe crawler 100. One or more drive segments 108, in a further embodiment, may be capable of moving the plurality of segments 106, 108 along the pipe 150, around the pipe 150, or simultaneously along and around the pipe 150. A drive mechanism may include a drive wheel, which may be a wheel driven by a motor, a hydraulic drive, or the like (e.g., either directly driven by a motor shaft or indirectly driven or via a belt, gear, or other power transmission components), and may include a rubber wheel, a metal wheel, an omni wheel, a mecanum wheel, or the like.”, [0049], see also [0082, 0084-0086], Figs. 9, 11-12).
Claim(s) 16-20 is/are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being unpatentable over Lisnyak et al. (US 20210071801 A1) in view of Chen et al. (CN 109649610 A, where the citations in this Office action correspond to the provided English translation) in view of Feng et al. (CN 107097918 A, where the citations in this Office action correspond to the provided English translation) in view of Tyers (US 20230221725 A1).
Regarding claim 16, Lisnyak in view of Chen and Feng teach The device of claim 11, further comprising navigation equipment configured to autonomously navigate the UUV to a target location of the underwater conduit (“a pipe crawler 100 may travel along and/or around a pipe 150 to inspect and/or maintain the pipe 150.”, [0045], “the controller 302 may be a computer, programmable logic controller, or the like, for autonomous operation of the pipe crawler. For autonomous operation, in various embodiments, a programmable controller may be programmed via one or more cable connection ports, a wireless interface, or the like.”, [0069], see also [0073-0074]).
Further, Tyers teaches
navigation equipment configured to autonomously navigate the UUV to a target location of the underwater conduit based on global positioning satellite input received by a proportional-integral-derivative controller (“Referring ahead to FIG. 11B, a flow diagram depicts one embodiment of a method 1150 for determining a path of travel. The central processing unit 1003 may update the mapping and any overlays before determining a path of travel. The central processing unit 1003 may determine a position of the marine vessel (e.g., in relation to the target location). Location information of the marine vessel 1001 may constantly be transferred (e.g., from the GPS) to the central processing unit 1003 which responds by controlling vessel's steering system if, and when required, to maintain the vessel's path of travel to the targeted location selected on the interactive monitor; the central processing unit 1003 may receive periodic updates to the location information.”, [0107], “Having determined the position of the marine vessel 1001 and calculated at least one path, the central processing unit 103 may then calculate the required directional torque values for every individual thruster mounted on the marine vessel 1001. The required forces and torques at time t may be controlled and calculated by a PID algorithm”, [0110], Fig. 11B).
Both Lisnyak in view of Chen and Feng teach and Tyers teach an unmanned underwater vehicle comprising navigation equipment configured to autonomously navigate the UUV to a target location. Tyers further teaches the navigating is based on GPS input received by a PID controller. Thus, it would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date to modify the invention of Lisnyak in view of Chen and Feng teach with the teachings of Tyers such that the autonomous navigation of Lisnyak uses a PID algorithm with GPS data as input, as suggested by Tyers, with a reasonable expectation of success. The motivation for doing so would be to calculate the travel path of the vehicle using precise PID control, as suggest by Tyers.
Regarding claim 17, Lisnyak teaches A method, comprising:
receiving, by a device (“pipe crawler 100”, Fig. 1) comprising at least one processor (“controller 302”, Fig. 3), (“the pipe crawler 100 includes a retention mechanism 104. In general, in various embodiments, a retention mechanism 104 retains the segments 106, 108 in a shape matching the outer surface of the pipe 150.”, [0055], “a retention mechanism retains the segments 406, 408, instruments, and/or drive wheels (e.g., omni wheels 416, 418) in a shape matching an outer surface of the pipe, and provides adjustable positions for the segments 406, 408, instruments, and/or drive wheels, for disposing the segments 406, 408, instruments, and/or drive wheels on the outer surface of the pipe.”, [0076], “FIG. 17 is a perspective view illustrating another embodiment of a pipe crawler 1700 on a pipe 1750. In the depicted embodiment, the pipe crawler 1700 includes a plurality of servos 1702, connecting arms 1704, drive segments 1706 and drive wheels 1708, which are described below.”, [0101], “Drive segments 1706 and drive wheels 1708 are substantially as described above with reference to various embodiments of pipe crawlers.”, [0103], “a retention mechanism for the pipe crawler 1700 includes servos 1702 that position the drive wheels 1708 against the outer surface of the pipe 1750. Servos 1702, in various embodiments, are servomotors that are driven electrically, hydraulically, pneumatically, or the like.”, [0105], Figs. 1-2, 17);
navigating, by the device, to a target location of a(“a pipe crawler 100 may travel along and/or around a pipe 150 to inspect and/or maintain the pipe 150.”, [0045], “the controller 302 may be a computer, programmable logic controller, or the like, for autonomous operation of the pipe crawler. For autonomous operation, in various embodiments, a programmable controller may be programmed via one or more cable connection ports, a wireless interface, or the like.”, [0069], see also [0073-0074]); and
in response to arrival at the target location, utilizing, by the device, the clamp to couple to the (see descriptions above of how the “retention mechanism” of the vehicle attaches to the pipe, [0055, 0076, 0103, 0105], see also descriptions of how the “retention mechanism” of the vehicle detaches and re-attaches to the pipe, [0073-0074]).
Further, Chen teaches
navigating, by the device (“underwater pipeline robot”, [0005], “An underwater pipeline robot (underwater cleaning robot, column climbing robot) is an integrated mechatronics system that can automatically walk along a pipeline, carry one or more sensors and operating machinery, and perform a series of pipeline operations under the remote control of personnel or the automatic control of a computer.”, [0005]), to a target location of an underwater pipe (“First, the adaptive parallel folding gripper is clamped onto the cylinder. If it needs to move forward, the clamping cylinder of the front gripper controls the two folding jaws to release, and the multiple telescopic rods of the parallel mechanism extend simultaneously. Then, the clamping cylinder of the front gripper controls the two folding jaws to clamp, and the clamping cylinder of the rear gripper controls the two folding jaws to release, and the multiple telescopic rods of the parallel mechanism retract simultaneously, completing the forward movement of the adaptive parallel folding gripper.”, [0041], see also [0042]).
Both Lisnyak and Chen teach a device (an unmanned vehicle for performing maintenance operations on a pipe) which navigates to a target location of a pipe. Chen further teaches the unmanned vehicle is an unmanned underwater vehicle and that the pipeline is an underwater pipe. Thus, it would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date to modify the invention of Lisnyak with the teachings of Chen such that the vehicle of Lisnyak is configured to clamp to and determine a condition of an underwater pipe, as suggested by Chen, with a reasonable expectation of success. The motivation for doing so would be to use the vehicle of Lisnyak in an underwater environment, as suggested by Chen.
Further, Feng teaches
receiving, by a device (“underwater robot”, [0002]) comprising at least one processor (Feng does not explicitly teach the robot comprises a processor, however, since Feng teaches the robot is controlled by sending data from a “PC or tablet computer” to the robot [0045], then it necessarily flows that the robot comprises computing components), a first end of an air tube that is coupled to a mother ship at a second end, wherein the first end is received at a (“the compressed air line runs from the air compressor 36 through the conduit 40”, [0043], “High-pressure hose 29 is the link between the underwater robot and the workboat, and is suspended on the water surface by a buoy. The high-pressure hose 29 serves not only as a conduit for conveying washing water inside the robot's shell, but also as a carrier for the power cables, control signal lines, and compressed air pipes used by the workboat to control the underwater robot.”, [0044], Figs. 2-3).
Both Lisnyak in view of Chen and Feng teach a device (an unmanned underwater vehicle for performing maintenance operations on an underwater pipe) and both teach the device comprises a pneumatic device. Lisnyak teaches the pneumatic device is a pneumatic clamp and Feng teaches the pneumatic device is coupled to a mother ship. Thus, it would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date to modify the invention of Lisnyak in view of Chen with the teachings of Feng such that the device of Lisnyak is coupled to a mother ship, as suggested by Feng, with a reasonable expectation of success. The motivation for doing so would be to provide more pneumatic pressure to the device by using an above water air compressor, as taught by Feng [0015].
Further, Tyers teaches
navigating, by the device (“central processing unit 1003”, Fig. 10B), to a target location of an underwater pipe via a proportional-integral-derivative controller (“Referring ahead to FIG. 11B, a flow diagram depicts one embodiment of a method 1150 for determining a path of travel. The central processing unit 1003 may update the mapping and any overlays before determining a path of travel.”, [0107], “Having determined the position of the marine vessel 1001 and calculated at least one path, the central processing unit 103 may then calculate the required directional torque values for every individual thruster mounted on the marine vessel 1001. The required forces and torques at time t may be controlled and calculated by a PID algorithm”, [0110], Fig. 11B).
Both Lisnyak in view of Chen, Feng and Tyers teach an unmanned underwater vehicle comprising navigation equipment configured to autonomously navigate the UUV to a target location. Tyers further teaches the navigating is based on GPS input received by a PID controller. Thus, it would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date to modify the invention of Lisnyak in view of Chen and Feng teach with the teachings of Tyers such that the autonomous navigation of Lisnyak uses a PID algorithm with GPS data as input, as suggested by Tyers, with a reasonable expectation of success. The motivation for doing so would be to calculate the travel path of the vehicle using precise PID control, as suggest by Tyers.
Regarding claim 18, Lisnyak in view of Chen, Feng, Tyers teach The method of claim 17, and Lisnyak further teaches further comprising operating, by the device, pipe traversal equipment, comprising a Mecanum wheel, to traverse along a length of the underwater pipe or about a circumference of the underwater pipe (“the plurality of segments 106, 108 includes one or more drive segments 108. In some embodiments, a drive segment 108 may include a drive mechanism for moving the pipe crawler 100. One or more drive segments 108, in a further embodiment, may be capable of moving the plurality of segments 106, 108 along the pipe 150, around the pipe 150, or simultaneously along and around the pipe 150. A drive mechanism may include a drive wheel, which may be a wheel driven by a motor, a hydraulic drive, or the like (e.g., either directly driven by a motor shaft or indirectly driven or via a belt, gear, or other power transmission components), and may include a rubber wheel, a metal wheel, an omni wheel, a mecanum wheel, or the like.”, [0049], see also [0082, 0084-0086], Figs. 9, 11-12).
Regarding claim 19, Lisnyak in view of Chen, Feng, Tyers teach The method of claim 17, and Lisnyak further teaches further comprising activating, by the device, sensor equipment configured to determine a state of the underwater pipe (“the instrument segment 106 may include a sensor instrument that inspects the condition of the pipe 150…a sensor instrument may include (without limitation) a camera, a video camera, an x-ray sensor, a pipe thickness sensor, an ultrasound sensor, an eddy current sensor, and/or a magnetic sensor.”, [0052], Figs. 1-2, 26).
Regarding claim 20, Lisnyak in view of Chen, Feng, Tyers teachThe method of claim 19, and Lisnyak further teaches further comprising, (“the instrument segment 106 may include a maintenance instrument that performs operations affecting the condition of the pipe. For example, in various embodiments, a maintenance instrument may include (without limitation) a welder, a cutter, a grinder, a wire brush, a machining tool, an ultrasonic impact hardener and/or an applicator for a protective coating and/or thermal insulation. In one embodiment, a maintenance instrument may perform operations for maintaining the pipe, such as cleaning corrosion or dirt from the pipe, repairing leaks, applying a protective coating, or the like. In another embodiment, a maintenance instrument may perform operations for building or dismantling the pipe, such as welding segments together or cutting segments apart.”, [0053]).
Lisnyak teaches receiving video data which senses condition(s) relating to the pipeline (“corrosion, leaks, weld strength, pipe thickness, a defect”, [0052]). Lisnyak further teaches performing operations on the pipeline for maintaining the pipeline (“cleaning corrosion or dirt from the pipe, repairing leaks, applying a protective coating,…welding segments together or cutting segments apart”, [0053]). Thus, it would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date to further modify the invention of Lisnyak in view of Chen, Feng and Tyers with the teachings of Lisnyak such that the determining a maintenance operation to be performed on a portion of the underwater pipeline is done in response to receiving video data from a stereo vision sensor of the set of sensors, as suggested by Lisnyak, with a reasonable expectation of success. The motivation for doing so would be repair or maintain the pipeline when the defect is found so that the vehicle or another vehicle does not need to return to the location of the defect for the maintenance.
Conclusion
The prior art made of record and not relied upon is considered pertinent to Applicant's disclosure: See Notice of References Cited.
/AMELIA VORCE/ Primary Examiner, Art Unit 3666