DETAILED ACTION
This Office action responds to the amendment filed on 08/21/2024, claims 1-24 are pending for examination.
Specification
The title of the invention is not descriptive. A new title is required that is clearly indicative of the invention to which the claims are directed.
Claim Rejections - 35 USC § 102
Claims 1-11 and 13-24 are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 102(a)(1) as being anticipated by Bang et al. (US 20210134928 and Bang hereinafter).
As to claim 1, Bang teaches a display device (Fig. 12) comprising: a substrate (100) comprising a display area (DA) allowing an image to be displayed and a non-display area (NDA) located outside of the display area; a light emitting element (OLED) disposed in the display area of the substrate; an encapsulation layer (400) on the light emitting element; and a first metal dam (120) comprising a first metal (20) and located further away from the display area than the encapsulation layer.
As to claim 2, Bang teaches the display device of claim 1, further comprising: a panel lower layer (100) comprising the substrate and disposed under the light emitting element, wherein the first metal dam is disposed on the panel lower layer.
As to claim 3, Bang teaches the display device of claim 2, further comprising: a voltage line layer (20) disposed in the non-display area, wherein the voltage line layer comprises the first metal included in the first metal dam.
As to claim 4, Bang teaches the display device of claim 2, wherein the first metal dam is disposed on the voltage line layer (Fig. 12).
As to claim 5, Bang teaches the display device of claim 1, wherein an inner side surface of the first metal dam supports an outer side surface of the encapsulation layer (Fig. 12).
As to claim 6, Bang teaches the display device of claim 1, wherein at a location where the first metal dam and the encapsulation layer contact, an upper surface of the first metal dam is lower than an upper surface of the encapsulation layer (Fig. 12).
As to claim 7, Bang teaches the display device of claim 1, further comprising: a transistor (T1) for driving the light emitting element, wherein the light emitting element comprises a pixel electrode (310) and a common electrode (330) on the pixel electrode wherein drawing marks in Fig. 12 and is formed the same time as PL, so it is the same material as PL and power supply voltage line 20.
As to claim 8, Bang teaches the display device of claim 1, further comprising: a second metal dam (130) adjacent to the first metal dam and comprising the first metal
As to claim 9, Bang teaches the display device of claim 8, wherein an upper surface of the second metal dam is lower than an upper surface of the encapsulation layer (Fig. 12).
As to claim 10, Bang teaches the display device of claim 8, wherein the second metal dam is configured to be covered by the encapsulation layer, and the encapsulation layer is interposed between the second metal dam and the first metal dam (Fig. 12).
As to claim 11, Bang teaches the display device of claim 8, further comprising: a first voltage line layer ([0148] i.e., formed as a two-layer conductive layer, 20a, Fig. 8) on the substrate; and a second voltage line layer ([0148] i.e., formed as a two-layer conductive layer, 20b, Fig. 8) on the first voltage line layer, wherein: the first and second voltage line layers are disposed in the non-display area; the first voltage line layer comprises the same first metal as the first metal dam; and the second voltage line layer comprises the same first
As to claim 13, Bang teaches the display device of claim 8, wherein the encapsulation layer comprises: a first inorganic layer (410); an organic layer (420) on the first inorganic layer; and a second inorganic layer (430) on the organic layer, wherein the second metal dam is configured to contact the first inorganic layer, and the first metal dam is configured to contact the organic layer (Fig. 12).
As to claim 14, Bang teaches the display device of claim 13, wherein the first metal dam is configured to contact at least a portion of the second inorganic layer, and the second metal dam is configured to be spaced apart from the second inorganic layer (Fig. 12).
As to 15, Bang teaches a display device (Fig. 12) comprising: a substrate (100) comprising a display area (DA) allowing an image to be displayed and a non-display area (NDA) located outside of the display area; a light emitting element (OLED) disposed in the display area of the substrate; an encapsulation layer (400) on the light emitting element; and a first protruding voltage line (20) comprising a first protrusion (i.e. outer dam) protruding to surround the encapsulation layer.
As to claim 16, Bang teaches the display device of claim 15, wherein at a location where the first protrusion and the encapsulation layer contact, an upper surface of the first protrusion is lower than an upper surface of the encapsulation layer (Fig. 12).
As to claim 17, Bang teaches the display device of claim 15, wherein the first protruding voltage line further comprises a first voltage line layer underneath the first protrusion (Fig. 12).
As to claim 18, Bang teaches the display device of claim 17, further comprising: a second voltage line layer (SPL) disposed on the first voltage line layer; and a second protrusion (i.e., inner dam) disposed on the second voltage line layer, wherein the second protrusion is located closer to the display area than the first protrusion (Fig. 12).
As to claim 19, Bang teaches the display device of claim 18, wherein the second protrusion is configured to be covered by the encapsulation layer, and the encapsulation layer is interposed between the first protrusion and the second protrusion (Fig. 12).
As to claim 20, Bang teaches the display device of claim 18, wherein the encapsulation layer comprises: a first inorganic layer (410); an organic layer (420) on the first inorganic layer; and a second inorganic layer (430) on the organic layer, wherein the second protrusion is configured to contact the first inorganic layer, and the first protrusion is configured to contact the organic layer (Fig. 12).
As to claim 21, Bang teaches the display device of claim 3, further comprising: a bank layer (109) disposed between the substrate and the light emitting element, wherein a portion of the bank layer is disposed outside of the first metal dam (Fig. 12).
As to claim 22, Bang teaches the display device of claim 21, wherein the portion of the bank layer is disposed on the voltage line layer contacting a bottom surface of the first metal dam (Fig. 12).
As to claim 23, Bang teaches the display device of claim 3, wherein the first metal dam is integrally formed as a single piece (120) with the voltage line layer.
As to claim 24, Bang teaches the display device of claim 11, wherein the second metal dam is integrally formed as a single piece (130) with the second voltage line layer.
Claim 12 is rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being unpatentable over Bang in view of Sung et al. (US 2007/0114922 and Sung hereinafter).
As to claim 12, Bang teaches the display device of claim 8, wherein the light emitting element comprises a pixel electrode (310) and a common electrode (330) on the pixel electrode and wherein the second metal dam comprises at least one metal included in the common
Sung in the same field of endeavor of OLED display teaches that the common electrode and the pixel electrode can be form from the same material ([0066]).
Given the teaching of Sung, one of ordinary skill at the time of filing of the application, would have readily recognized the reasonable expectation of success to modify Bang’s display to have the common electrode and pixel electrode form of the same material therefore to arrive at the predictable result of the second metal dam including at least one metal included in the pixel electrode. This modification would have obtained predictable results and reasonable expectation of success. Thus, the claim would have been obvious because a particular known technique was recognized as part of the ordinary capabilities of one skilled in the art. KSR Int'l Co. v. Teleflex Inc. 550 U.S. __, 82USPQ2d 1385 (Supreme Court 2007) (KSR).
Conclusion
/EVA Y MONTALVO/ Supervisory Patent Examiner, Art Unit 2818