DETAILED ACTION
Response to Amendment
This is in response to an amendment/response/communication filed 8/21/2024.
No claims have been cancelled.
No claims have been added.
Claims(s) 1-12 is/are currently pending.
Priority
Acknowledgment is made of applicant’s claim for foreign priority under 35 U.S.C. 119 (a)-(d). The certified copy has been filed in parent Application No. 17/607,360, filed on 10/28/2021.
Drawings
The drawings were received on 10/28/2021. These drawings are accepted.
Specification
The lengthy specification has not been checked to the extent necessary to determine the presence of all possible minor errors. Applicant's cooperation is requested in correcting any errors of which applicant may become aware in the specification.
Double Patenting
Claim(s) 1, 2, 3, 4, 5, 6, 7, 8, 9, 10, 11 and 12 is/are rejected on the ground of nonstatutory double patenting as being unpatentable over claim(s) 1, 2, 3 and 5 of U.S. Patent No. 10554567. Although the claims at issue are not identical, they are not patentably distinct from each other because:
As to claim 1:
U.S. Application 18881417
U.S. Patent No. 12096273
A method performed by a base station operating in a wireless communication system, the method comprising:
receiving a sidelink user equipment (UE) information message from a UE via a radio resource control (RRC) signaling,
wherein the sidelink UE information message includes one or more destination identities (IDs) for first destinations of sidelink communication, and
wherein the sidelink UE information message includes a quality of service (QoS) flow identity (QFI) for each of the first destinations; and
transmitting an RRC reconfiguration message to the UE,
wherein the RRC reconfiguration message includes a configuration of one or more sidelink radio bearers (SLRBs),
wherein the configuration of the one or more SLRBs includes a service data adaptation protocol (SDAP) configuration for each of the one or more SLRBs, and
wherein the SDAP configuration includes a list of QFIs of a corresponding destination, from among one or more second destinations, to be additionally mapped to a corresponding SLRB.
A method performed by a wireless device operating in a wireless communication system, the method comprising:
transmitting a sidelink user equipment (UE) information message to a network via a radio resource control (RRC) signaling,
wherein the sidelink UE information message includes one or more destination identities (IDs) for first destinations of sidelink communication, and
wherein the sidelink UE information message includes a quality of service (QOS) flow identity (QFI) for each of the destinations;
receiving an RRC reconfiguration message from the network,
wherein the RRC reconfiguration message includes a configuration of one or more sidelink radio bearers (SLRBs),
wherein the configuration of the one or more SLRBs includes a service data adaptation protocol (SDAP) configuration for each of the one or more SLRBs, and
wherein the SDAP configuration includes a list of QFIs of a corresponding destination, from among one or more second destinations, to be additionally mapped to a corresponding SLRB;
establishing one or more transmitting SDAP entities for each of the one or more second destinations; and
mapping, at the one or more transmitting SDAP entities, a QoS flow to the corresponding SLRB. (claim 1)
As to claim 2:
U.S. Application 18881417
U.S. Patent No. 12096273
The method of claim 1, wherein one or more transmitting SDAP entities are
established by the UE for each of the one or more second destinations.
A method performed by a wireless device operating in a wireless communication system, the method comprising:
transmitting a sidelink user equipment (UE) information message to a network via a radio resource control (RRC) signaling,
wherein the sidelink UE information message includes one or more destination identities (IDs) for first destinations of sidelink communication, and
wherein the sidelink UE information message includes a quality of service (QOS) flow identity (QFI) for each of the destinations;
receiving an RRC reconfiguration message from the network,
wherein the RRC reconfiguration message includes a configuration of one or more sidelink radio bearers (SLRBs),
wherein the configuration of the one or more SLRBs includes a service data adaptation protocol (SDAP) configuration for each of the one or more SLRBs, and
wherein the SDAP configuration includes a list of QFIs of a corresponding destination, from among one or more second destinations, to be additionally mapped to a corresponding SLRB;
establishing one or more transmitting SDAP entities for each of the one or more second destinations; and
mapping, at the one or more transmitting SDAP entities, a QoS flow to the corresponding SLRB. (claim 1)
As to claim 3:
U.S. Application 18881417
U.S. Patent No. 12096273
The method of claim 2, wherein a QoS flow is mapped to the corresponding SLRB at the one or more transmitting SDAP entities.
A method performed by a wireless device operating in a wireless communication system, the method comprising:
transmitting a sidelink user equipment (UE) information message to a network via a radio resource control (RRC) signaling,
wherein the sidelink UE information message includes one or more destination identities (IDs) for first destinations of sidelink communication, and
wherein the sidelink UE information message includes a quality of service (QOS) flow identity (QFI) for each of the destinations;
receiving an RRC reconfiguration message from the network,
wherein the RRC reconfiguration message includes a configuration of one or more sidelink radio bearers (SLRBs),
wherein the configuration of the one or more SLRBs includes a service data adaptation protocol (SDAP) configuration for each of the one or more SLRBs, and
wherein the SDAP configuration includes a list of QFIs of a corresponding destination, from among one or more second destinations, to be additionally mapped to a corresponding SLRB;
establishing one or more transmitting SDAP entities for each of the one or more second destinations; and
mapping, at the one or more transmitting SDAP entities, a QoS flow to the corresponding SLRB. (claim 1)
As to claim 4:
U.S. Application 18881417
U.S. Patent No. 12096273
The method of claim 1, wherein the sidelink UE information message includes at least one QoS parameter.
The method of claim 1, wherein the sidelink UE information message includes at least one QoS parameter. (claim 2)
As to claim 5:
U.S. Application 18881417
U.S. Patent No. 12096273
The method of claim 4, wherein the at least one QoS parameter includes at least one of a PC5 QoS indicator (PQI), PC5 Flow bit rates, PC5 link aggregated bit rates, communication range and/or default values.
The method of claim 2, wherein the at least one QoS parameter includes at least one of a PC5 QoS indicator (PQI), PC5 Flow bit rates, PC5 link aggregated bit rates, communication range and/or default values. (claim 3)
As to claim 6:
U.S. Application 18881417
U.S. Patent No. 12096273
The method of claim 1, wherein a destination ID of the corresponding destination is not included in the SDAP configuration or in the configuration of the one or more SLRBs.
The method of claim 1, wherein a destination ID of the corresponding destination is not included in the SDAP configuration or in the configuration of the one or more SLRBs. (claim 5)
As to claim 7:
U.S. Application 18881417
U.S. Patent No. 12096273
A base station operating in a wireless communication system, the base station
comprising:
at least one transceiver;
at least one computer memory; and
at least one processor operably connectable to the at least one transceiver and the at least one computer memory,
wherein the at least one computer memory stores instructions that, based on being executed by the at least one processor, cause the base station to perform operations comprising:
receiving, using the at least one transceiver, a sidelink user equipment (UE) information message from a UE via a radio resource control (RRC) signaling,
wherein the sidelink UE information message includes one or more destination identities (IDs) for first destinations of sidelink communication, and
wherein the sidelink UE information message includes a quality of service (QoS) flow identity (QFI) for each of the first destinations; and
transmitting, using the at least one transceiver, an RRC reconfiguration message to the UE,
wherein the RRC reconfiguration message includes a configuration of one or more sidelink radio bearers (SLRBs),
wherein the configuration of the one or more SLRBs includes a service data adaptation protocol (SDAP) configuration for each of the one or more SLRBs, and
wherein the SDAP configuration includes a list of QFIs of a corresponding destination,
from among one or more second destinations, to be additionally mapped to a corresponding SLRB.
A method performed by a wireless device operating in a wireless communication system, the method comprising:
transmitting a sidelink user equipment (UE) information message to a network via a radio resource control (RRC) signaling,
wherein the sidelink UE information message includes one or more destination identities (IDs) for first destinations of sidelink communication, and
wherein the sidelink UE information message includes a quality of service (QOS) flow identity (QFI) for each of the destinations;
receiving an RRC reconfiguration message from the network,
wherein the RRC reconfiguration message includes a configuration of one or more sidelink radio bearers (SLRBs),
wherein the configuration of the one or more SLRBs includes a service data adaptation protocol (SDAP) configuration for each of the one or more SLRBs, and
wherein the SDAP configuration includes a list of QFIs of a corresponding destination,
from among one or more second destinations, to be additionally mapped to a corresponding SLRB;
establishing one or more transmitting SDAP entities for each of the one or more second destinations; and
mapping, at the one or more transmitting SDAP entities, a QoS flow to the corresponding SLRB. (claim 1)
As to claim 8:
U.S. Application 18881417
U.S. Patent No. 12096273
The base station of claim 7, wherein one or more transmitting SDAP entities are
established by the UE for each of the one or more second destinations.
A method performed by a wireless device operating in a wireless communication system, the method comprising:
transmitting a sidelink user equipment (UE) information message to a network via a radio resource control (RRC) signaling,
wherein the sidelink UE information message includes one or more destination identities (IDs) for first destinations of sidelink communication, and
wherein the sidelink UE information message includes a quality of service (QOS) flow identity (QFI) for each of the destinations;
receiving an RRC reconfiguration message from the network,
wherein the RRC reconfiguration message includes a configuration of one or more sidelink radio bearers (SLRBs),
wherein the configuration of the one or more SLRBs includes a service data adaptation protocol (SDAP) configuration for each of the one or more SLRBs, and
wherein the SDAP configuration includes a list of QFIs of a corresponding destination, from among one or more second destinations, to be additionally mapped to a corresponding SLRB;
establishing one or more transmitting SDAP entities for each of the one or more second destinations; and
mapping, at the one or more transmitting SDAP entities, a QoS flow to the corresponding SLRB. (claim 1)
As to claim 9:
U.S. Application 18881417
U.S. Patent No. 12096273
The base station of claim 8, wherein a QoS flow is mapped to the corresponding
SLRB at the one or more transmitting SDAP entities.
A method performed by a wireless device operating in a wireless communication system, the method comprising:
transmitting a sidelink user equipment (UE) information message to a network via a radio resource control (RRC) signaling,
wherein the sidelink UE information message includes one or more destination identities (IDs) for first destinations of sidelink communication, and
wherein the sidelink UE information message includes a quality of service (QOS) flow identity (QFI) for each of the destinations;
receiving an RRC reconfiguration message from the network,
wherein the RRC reconfiguration message includes a configuration of one or more sidelink radio bearers (SLRBs),
wherein the configuration of the one or more SLRBs includes a service data adaptation protocol (SDAP) configuration for each of the one or more SLRBs, and
wherein the SDAP configuration includes a list of QFIs of a corresponding destination, from among one or more second destinations, to be additionally mapped to a corresponding SLRB;
establishing one or more transmitting SDAP entities for each of the one or more second destinations; and
mapping, at the one or more transmitting SDAP entities, a QoS flow to the corresponding SLRB. (claim 1)
As to claim 10:
U.S. Application 18881417
U.S. Patent No. 12096273
The base station of claim 7, wherein the sidelink UE information message
includes at least one QoS parameter.
The method of claim 1, wherein the sidelink UE information message includes at least one QoS parameter. (claim 2)
As to claim 11:
U.S. Application 18881417
U.S. Patent No. 12096273
The base station of claim 10, wherein the at least one QoS parameter includes at
least one of a PC5 QoS indicator (PQI), PC5 Flow bit rates, PC5 link aggregated bit rates, communication range and/or default values.
The method of claim 2, wherein the at least one QoS parameter includes at least one of a PC5 QoS indicator (PQI), PC5 Flow bit rates, PC5 link aggregated bit rates, communication range and/or default values. (claim 3)
As to claim 12:
U.S. Application 18881417
U.S. Patent No. 12096273
The base station of claim 7, wherein a destination ID of the corresponding
destination is not included in the SDAP configuration or in the configuration of the one or more SLRBs.
The method of claim 1, wherein a destination ID of the corresponding destination is not included in the SDAP configuration or in the configuration of the one or more SLRBs. (claim 5)
Claim Rejections - 35 USC § 103
Claim(s) 1 and 7 is/are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being unpatentable over Wang et al. US 20220217575 in view of Adjakple et al. US 20220132603.
As to claim 1:
Wang et al. discloses:
A method performed by a base station operating in a wireless communication system, the method comprising:
receiving a sidelink user equipment (UE) information message from a UE via a radio resource control (RRC) signaling,
(“When the upper layer of the UE1 indicates the sending of a direct communication request message (or the sending of a PC5-S signalling message), if the UE1 is in the RRC connected state, the UE1 requests an SLRB configuration and sidelink resources from the base station and sends SLRB configuration request information to the base station, where the SLRB configuration request information includes at least one of: a signalling bearer, a data bearer, a signalling bearer priority, a signalling bearer identifier, a PC5-S signalling transmission indication, a PC5-RRC signalling transmission indication, a bearer associated destination L2 ID, or a bearer associated source-destination L2 ID.”; Wang et al.; 0143)
(“The V2X service related information, SLRB configuration assistance information and SLRB request information sent by the UE to the base station may be sent through sidelink UE information or UE assistance information or a newly defined RRC message. The SLRB configuration information sent by the base station to the UE may be sent through the RRC reconfiguration message.”; Wang et al.; 0132)
(where
“the UE1 requests an SLRB configuration and sidelink resources from the base station and sends SLRB configuration request information to the base station, where the SLRB configuration request information includes at least one of: … a PC5-RRC signalling transmission indication”/”SLRB request information sent by the UE to the base station may be sent through sidelink UE information or UE assistance information or a newly defined RRC message” maps to “receiving a sidelink user equipment (UE) information message from a UE via a radio resource control (RRC) signaling”, where “base station” maps to “base station”, “sends” maps to “receiving”, “PC5” maps to “sidelink”, “UE1” maps to “UE”, “configuration request information” maps to “information message”, “RRC signalling”/”newly defined RRC message” maps to “via…RRC signaling”
wherein the sidelink UE information message includes one or more destination identities (IDs) for first destinations of sidelink communication, and
(“For example, when the UE enters the RRC connected state from the RRC idle/inactive state or the out-of-coverage state, the UE reports all currently established SLRBs to the base station, including all SLRBs between each destination L2 ID as well as QFIS/PQIs/priority/reliability/latency/range associated with each SLRB, and the gNB may perform partial reconfiguration/configuration update, such as configuring an LCG ID corresponding to an SLRB ID/LCID or updating the mapping relationship between QFIs and SLRBs.”; Wang et al.; 0131)
(where
“SLRB configuration and sidelink resources…includes at least one of…a bearer associated destination L2 ID”/”reports…all…SLRBs…destination L2 ID” maps to “wherein the sidelink UE information message includes one or … destination identities (IDs) for first destinations of sidelink communication”, where “SLRB”/”sidelink resources” maps to “sidelink”, “configuration request information” maps to “information message”, “includes” maps to “includes”, “bearer associated destination L2 ID”/”reports…all…SLRBs…destination L2 ID” maps to “one or more destination identities (IDs) for first destinations of sidelink communication”
wherein the sidelink UE information message includes a quality of service (QoS) flow identity (QFI) for each of the first destinations; and
(where
“including all SLRBs between each destination L2 ID as well as QFIS/… associated with each SLRB” maps to “wherein the sidelink UE information message includes a quality of service (QoS) flow identity (QFI) for each of the first destinations”, where “QFIS” maps to “(QoS) flow identity (QFI) for each”, “destination L2 ID” maps to “of the first destinations”
transmitting an RRC reconfiguration message to the UE,
(“In one manner, the UE1 receives a bi-SLRB1 configuration of the UE2, and the UE1 establishes bi-SLRB1 according to the bi-SLRB1 configuration. In this case, even if the UE1 does not send data to the UE2, the UE1 in the connected state is still required to acquire a resource for sending an RLC state and a resource for guaranteeing the bi-SLRB1 QoS from the gNB and send the LCID of the bi-SLRB1 (in step 503, the SLRB configuration assistance information includes a destination UE2 L2 ID, an SLRB ID, and an LCID) to the gNB, and the gNB configures the LCG ID to which the logic channel belongs (in step 505, the SLRB configuration/update information includes a destination UE2 L2 ID, an SLRB ID, an LCID, and a corresponding LCG ID). In a case where there is data QFI1 to be sent to the UE2 at the UE1, if the QFI1 may be mapped to the bi-SLRB1 (the mapping relationship has been configured), the UE1 may employ this bearer (no need to request the gNB to establish a bearer). If the mapping relationship has not been configured, the UE1 sends the QFI1 to the base station to request the establishment of an SLRB, the gNB may reconfigure a bi-SLRB1 (for example, mapping of added/released QFIs to bi-SLRB1), and the UE1 sends the update configuration to the UE2 (or the UE2 updates the mapping of QFIs to bi-SLRB1 through a reflective QoS).”; Wang et al.; 0121)
(where
“the gNB configures the LCG ID to which the logic channel belongs (in step 505, the SLRB configuration/update information includes a destination UE2 L2 ID, an SLRB ID, an LCID, and a corresponding LCG ID). … If the mapping relationship has not been configured, the UE1 sends the QFI1 to the base station to request the establishment of an SLRB, the gNB may reconfigure a bi-SLRB1 (for example, mapping of added/released QFIs to bi-SLRB1), and the UE1 sends the update configuration to the UE2”/”The SLRB configuration information sent by the base station to the UE may be sent through the RRC reconfiguration message.” maps to “transmitting an RRC reconfiguration message to the UE”, where “by the base station to the UE may be sent through the RRC reconfiguration message” maps to “RRC”, where “step 505”/FIG. 6 maps to “transmitting…to the UE”, “reconfigure” maps to “reconfiguration message”, “UE1 sends the update configuration to the UE2” is considered as requiring “UE1” to also have received the “update configuration” from the “base station” which maps to “reconfiguration message”
wherein the RRC reconfiguration message includes a configuration of one or … sidelink radio bearers (SLRB.),
(where
“the gNB may reconfigure a bi-SLRB1 (for example, mapping of added/released QFIs to bi-SLRB1), and the UE1 sends the update configuration to the UE2”/”The SLRB configuration information sent by the base station to the UE may be sent through the RRC reconfiguration message” maps to “wherein the RRC reconfiguration message includes a configuration of one or … sidelink radio bearers (SLRB.)”, where “RRC reconfiguration message” maps to “RRC reconfiguration message”, “reconfigure” maps to “reconfiguration message”, “update configuration” maps to “includes a configuration”, “bi-SLRB1” maps to “one or … sidelink radio bearers (SLRB.)”
…
Wang et al. teaches RRC communication for mapping of added QFIs to bi-SLRB.
Wang et al. as described above does not explicitly teach:
wherein the configuration of the one or more SLRBs includes a service data adaptation protocol (SDAP) configuration for each of the one or more SLRBs, and
wherein the SDAP configuration includes a list of QFIs of a corresponding destination, from among one or more second destinations, to be additionally mapped to a corresponding SLRB.
However, Adjakple et al. further teaches a SDAP configuration capability which includes:
wherein the configuration of the one or more SLRBs includes a service data adaptation protocol (SDAP) configuration for each of the one or more SLRBs, and
(“FIG. 16, FIG. 17, FIG. 18, FIG. 19, FIG. 20 and FIG. 21 provide different alternative embodiments for detailed procedural steps in support of unicast connection establishment and follow-up data transfer. They provide further detailed embodiments of the high-level procedures illustrated in FIG. 14 and FIG. 15. The procedures are structured around three entities. The initiating UE (I-UE) which is the UE initiating the connection establishment procedure, the target UE (T-UE) which is the end receiver UE of the connection establishment request, and the scheduling entity, which is the entity that provides resource configuration or resource scheduling function. The scheduling entity can be a gNB…”; Adjakple et al.; 0556)
(“…It is also proposed to introduce a sidelink control channel (SCCH) which can be multiplexed with logical STCH on to the SL-SCH. It is also proposed to introduce a sidelink signaling radio bearer (SL-SRB) to which logical channel such as SCCH can be mapped to. The SL-SRB can be used for the signaling of connection management (e.g., connection establishment, connection reconfiguration or connection release) or for configuration and reporting of sidelink measurements.”; Adjakple et al.; 0345)
(“One or more of the following parameters can be configured into the T-UE in support of connection configuration by the scheduling entity or the I-UE in coordination with the scheduling entity. Examples of such a connection configuration can be the connection establishment procedure depicted in FIG. 16, FIG. 17, and FIG. 18. Similarly, one or more of the following parameters can be configured into the I-UE in support of connection configuration by the scheduling entity or the T-UE in coordination with the scheduling entity. Examples of such a connection configuration can be the connection establishment procedure depicted in FIG. 19, FIG. 20, and FIG. 21.”; Adjakple et al.; 0580)
(“TABLE-US-00002 Information Element Description SL RNTI PC5 SL Radio bearer List of Radio bearers (data radio bearer or Configuration signaling radio bearer) to be added to the UE connection context. For each radio bearer added, the list of QoS flow mapped to the radio bearer. Each QoS Flow is represented by a QFI and radio bearer is represented by a radio bearer identity. For each radio bearer to be added, the corresponding destination ID. List of Radio bearer (data radio bearer or signaling radio bearer) to be released from the connection context. Transmission profile for transmission of data associated with each radio bearer being added. The transmission profile can be represented by a transmission profile identifier. SDAP configuration for the handling of QoS Flow mapping to bearer for each radio bearer being added to the UE context. Each SDAP configuration includes the list of flows (represented by a QFI) mapped to the radio bearer and list of flow to be released from a radio bearer. QFI is an integer from 0 to the maximum number of QFI mapped to the radio bearer. PDCP Configuration for each radio bearer being added: size of PDCP sequence number of PDCP PDUs transmitted from this UE to destination UE; size of PDCP sequence number from peer destination UE to this UE”; Adjakple et al.; table after para. 0580)
“connection configuration by the scheduling entity or the I-UE in coordination with the scheduling entity. Examples of such a connection configuration can be the connection establishment procedure depicted in FIG. 16, FIG. 17, and FIG. 18. Similarly, one or more of the following parameters can be configured into the I-UE in support of connection configuration by the scheduling entity”/”scheduling entity can be a gNB”/” TABLE-US-00002 Information Element Description SL RNTI PC5 SL Radio bearer List of Radio bearers (data radio bearer or Configuration signaling radio bearer) to be added to the UE connection context. … SDAP configuration for the handling of QoS Flow mapping to bearer for each radio bearer being added to the UE context.” Maps to “wherein the configuration of the one or more SLRBs includes a service data adaptation protocol (SDAP) configuration for each of the one or more SLRBs”, where “connection configuration…SL Radio bearer List of Radio bearers” maps to “wherein the configuration of the one or more SLRBs”, “SDAP configuration” maps to “includes…SDAP configuration”, “each” maps to “each”, “SL Radio bearer”/”List of Radio bearers”/”radio bearer” maps to “one or more SLRBs”
wherein the SDAP configuration includes a list of QFIs of a corresponding destination, from among one or more second destinations, to be additionally mapped to a corresponding SLRB.
(where
“For each radio bearer to be added, the corresponding destination ID. … Each QoS Flow is represented by a QFI and radio bearer is represented by a radio bearer identity. For each radio bearer to be added, the corresponding destination ID. List of Radio bearer (data radio bearer or signaling radio bearer) to be released from the connection context. Transmission profile for transmission of data associated with each radio bearer being added. The transmission profile can be represented by a transmission profile identifier. SDAP configuration for the handling of QoS Flow mapping to bearer for each radio bearer being added to the UE context. Each SDAP configuration includes the list of flows (represented by a QFI) mapped to the radio bearer and list of flow to be released from a radio bearer. QFI is an integer from 0 to the maximum number of QFI mapped to the radio bearer. PDCP Configuration for each radio bearer being added”/” SL Radio bearer” maps to “wherein the SDAP configuration includes a list of QFIs of a corresponding destination, from among one or more second destinations, to be additionally mapped to a corresponding SLRB”, where “SDAP configuration” maps to “SDAP configuration”, “list of flows (represented by a QFI)”/”maximum number of QFI” maps to “list of QFIs”, “corresponding destination ID” maps to “corresponding destination”, “Each QoS Flow…by a QFI…For each radio bearer to be added…corresponding destination ID” maps to “from among one or more second destinations”, “each radio bearer to be added…mapping to bearer for each radio bearer to be added”/SL Radio bearer” maps to “to be additionally mapped to a corresponding SLRB”
Adjakple et al. teaches connection configuration for a SL radio bearer where the configuration includes an SDAP configuration associated with addition of SL bearer including QFI mapping and destination ID.
Thus, it would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date of the claimed invention to implement the SDAP configuration capability of Adjakple et al. into Wang et al. By modifying the processing/communications of Wang et al. to include the SDAP configuration capability as taught by the processing/communications of Adjakple et al., the benefits of improved resource utilization (Wang et al.; 0155) with improved traffic efficiency (Adjakple et al.; 0278) are achieved.
As to claim 7:
Wang et al. discloses:
A base station operating in a wireless communication system, the base station comprising:
at least one transceiver;
at least one computer memory; and
at least one processor operably connectable to the at least one transceiver and the at
least one computer memory,
wherein the at least one computer memory stores instructions that, based on being
executed by the at least one processor, cause the base station to perform operations comprising:
receiving, using the at least one transceiver, a sidelink user equipment (UE) information message from a UE via a radio resource control (RRC) signaling,
(“When the upper layer of the UE1 indicates the sending of a direct communication request message (or the sending of a PC5-S signalling message), if the UE1 is in the RRC connected state, the UE1 requests an SLRB configuration and sidelink resources from the base station and sends SLRB configuration request information to the base station, where the SLRB configuration request information includes at least one of: a signalling bearer, a data bearer, a signalling bearer priority, a signalling bearer identifier, a PC5-S signalling transmission indication, a PC5-RRC signalling transmission indication, a bearer associated destination L2 ID, or a bearer associated source-destination L2 ID.”; Wang et al.; 0143)
(“The V2X service related information, SLRB configuration assistance information and SLRB request information sent by the UE to the base station may be sent through sidelink UE information or UE assistance information or a newly defined RRC message. The SLRB configuration information sent by the base station to the UE may be sent through the RRC reconfiguration message.”; Wang et al.; 0132)
(where
“the UE1 requests an SLRB configuration and sidelink resources from the base station and sends SLRB configuration request information to the base station, where the SLRB configuration request information includes at least one of: … a PC5-RRC signalling transmission indication”/”SLRB request information sent by the UE to the base station may be sent through sidelink UE information or UE assistance information or a newly defined RRC message” maps to “receiving a sidelink user equipment (UE) information message from a UE via a radio resource control (RRC) signaling”, where “base station” maps to “base station”, “sends” maps to “receiving”, “PC5” maps to “sidelink”, “UE1” maps to “UE”, “configuration request information” maps to “information message”, “RRC signalling”/”newly defined RRC message” maps to “via…RRC signaling”
wherein the sidelink UE information message includes one or more destination identities (IDs) for first destinations of sidelink communication, and
(“For example, when the UE enters the RRC connected state from the RRC idle/inactive state or the out-of-coverage state, the UE reports all currently established SLRBs to the base station, including all SLRBs between each destination L2 ID as well as QFIS/PQIs/priority/reliability/latency/range associated with each SLRB, and the gNB may perform partial reconfiguration/configuration update, such as configuring an LCG ID corresponding to an SLRB ID/LCID or updating the mapping relationship between QFIs and SLRBs.”; Wang et al.; 0131)
(where
“SLRB configuration and sidelink resources…includes at least one of…a bearer associated destination L2 ID”/”reports…all…SLRBs…destination L2 ID” maps to “wherein the sidelink UE information message includes one or … destination identities (IDs) for first destinations of sidelink communication”, where “SLRB”/”sidelink resources” maps to “sidelink”, “configuration request information” maps to “information message”, “includes” maps to “includes”, “bearer associated destination L2 ID”/”reports…all…SLRBs…destination L2 ID” maps to “one or more destination identities (IDs) for first destinations of sidelink communication”
wherein the sidelink UE information message includes a quality of service (QoS) flow identity (QFI) for each of the first destinations; and
(where
“including all SLRBs between each destination L2 ID as well as QFIS/… associated with each SLRB” maps to “wherein the sidelink UE information message includes a quality of service (QoS) flow identity (QFI) for each of the first destinations”, where “QFIS” maps to “(QoS) flow identity (QFI) for each”, “destination L2 ID” maps to “of the first destinations”
transmitting an RRC reconfiguration message to the UE,
(“In one manner, the UE1 receives a bi-SLRB1 configuration of the UE2, and the UE1 establishes bi-SLRB1 according to the bi-SLRB1 configuration. In this case, even if the UE1 does not send data to the UE2, the UE1 in the connected state is still required to acquire a resource for sending an RLC state and a resource for guaranteeing the bi-SLRB1 QoS from the gNB and send the LCID of the bi-SLRB1 (in step 503, the SLRB configuration assistance information includes a destination UE2 L2 ID, an SLRB ID, and an LCID) to the gNB, and the gNB configures the LCG ID to which the logic channel belongs (in step 505, the SLRB configuration/update information includes a destination UE2 L2 ID, an SLRB ID, an LCID, and a corresponding LCG ID). In a case where there is data QFI1 to be sent to the UE2 at the UE1, if the QFI1 may be mapped to the bi-SLRB1 (the mapping relationship has been configured), the UE1 may employ this bearer (no need to request the gNB to establish a bearer). If the mapping relationship has not been configured, the UE1 sends the QFI1 to the base station to request the establishment of an SLRB, the gNB may reconfigure a bi-SLRB1 (for example, mapping of added/released QFIs to bi-SLRB1), and the UE1 sends the update configuration to the UE2 (or the UE2 updates the mapping of QFIs to bi-SLRB1 through a reflective QoS).”; Wang et al.; 0121)
(where
“the gNB configures the LCG ID to which the logic channel belongs (in step 505, the SLRB configuration/update information includes a destination UE2 L2 ID, an SLRB ID, an LCID, and a corresponding LCG ID). … If the mapping relationship has not been configured, the UE1 sends the QFI1 to the base station to request the establishment of an SLRB, the gNB may reconfigure a bi-SLRB1 (for example, mapping of added/released QFIs to bi-SLRB1), and the UE1 sends the update configuration to the UE2”/”The SLRB configuration information sent by the base station to the UE may be sent through the RRC reconfiguration message.” maps to “transmitting an RRC reconfiguration message to the UE”, where “by the base station to the UE may be sent through the RRC reconfiguration message” maps to “RRC”, where “step 505”/FIG. 6 maps to “transmitting…to the UE”, “reconfigure” maps to “reconfiguration message”, “UE1 sends the update configuration to the UE2” is considered as requiring “UE1” to also have received the “update configuration” from the “base station” which maps to “reconfiguration message”
wherein the RRC reconfiguration message includes a configuration of one or … sidelink radio bearers (SLRB.),
(where
“the gNB may reconfigure a bi-SLRB1 (for example, mapping of added/released QFIs to bi-SLRB1), and the UE1 sends the update configuration to the UE2”/”The SLRB configuration information sent by the base station to the UE may be sent through the RRC reconfiguration message” maps to “wherein the RRC reconfiguration message includes a configuration of one or … sidelink radio bearers (SLRB.)”, where “RRC reconfiguration message” maps to “RRC reconfiguration message”, “reconfigure” maps to “reconfiguration message”, “update configuration” maps to “includes a configuration”, “bi-SLRB1” maps to “one or … sidelink radio bearers (SLRB.)”
…
Wang et al. teaches RRC communication for mapping of added QFIs to bi-SLRB.
Wang et al. as described above does not explicitly teach:
wherein the configuration of the one or more SLRBs includes a service data adaptation protocol (SDAP) configuration for each of the one or more SLRBs, and
wherein the SDAP configuration includes a list of QFIs of a corresponding destination, from among one or more second destinations, to be additionally mapped to a corresponding SLRB.
However, Adjakple et al. further teaches a SDAP configuration capability which includes:
wherein the configuration of the one or more SLRBs includes a service data adaptation protocol (SDAP) configuration for each of the one or more SLRBs, and
(“FIG. 16, FIG. 17, FIG. 18, FIG. 19, FIG. 20 and FIG. 21 provide different alternative embodiments for detailed procedural steps in support of unicast connection establishment and follow-up data transfer. They provide further detailed embodiments of the high-level procedures illustrated in FIG. 14 and FIG. 15. The procedures are structured around three entities. The initiating UE (I-UE) which is the UE initiating the connection establishment procedure, the target UE (T-UE) which is the end receiver UE of the connection establishment request, and the scheduling entity, which is the entity that provides resource configuration or resource scheduling function. The scheduling entity can be a gNB…”; Adjakple et al.; 0556)
(“…It is also proposed to introduce a sidelink control channel (SCCH) which can be multiplexed with logical STCH on to the SL-SCH. It is also proposed to introduce a sidelink signaling radio bearer (SL-SRB) to which logical channel such as SCCH can be mapped to. The SL-SRB can be used for the signaling of connection management (e.g., connection establishment, connection reconfiguration or connection release) or for configuration and reporting of sidelink measurements.”; Adjakple et al.; 0345)
(“One or more of the following parameters can be configured into the T-UE in support of connection configuration by the scheduling entity or the I-UE in coordination with the scheduling entity. Examples of such a connection configuration can be the connection establishment procedure depicted in FIG. 16, FIG. 17, and FIG. 18. Similarly, one or more of the following parameters can be configured into the I-UE in support of connection configuration by the scheduling entity or the T-UE in coordination with the scheduling entity. Examples of such a connection configuration can be the connection establishment procedure depicted in FIG. 19, FIG. 20, and FIG. 21.”; Adjakple et al.; 0580)
(“TABLE-US-00002 Information Element Description SL RNTI PC5 SL Radio bearer List of Radio bearers (data radio bearer or Configuration signaling radio bearer) to be added to the UE connection context. For each radio bearer added, the list of QoS flow mapped to the radio bearer. Each QoS Flow is represented by a QFI and radio bearer is represented by a radio bearer identity. For each radio bearer to be added, the corresponding destination ID. List of Radio bearer (data radio bearer or signaling radio bearer) to be released from the connection context. Transmission profile for transmission of data associated with each radio bearer being added. The transmission profile can be represented by a transmission profile identifier. SDAP configuration for the handling of QoS Flow mapping to bearer for each radio bearer being added to the UE context. Each SDAP configuration includes the list of flows (represented by a QFI) mapped to the radio bearer and list of flow to be released from a radio bearer. QFI is an integer from 0 to the maximum number of QFI mapped to the radio bearer. PDCP Configuration for each radio bearer being added: size of PDCP sequence number of PDCP PDUs transmitted from this UE to destination UE; size of PDCP sequence number from peer destination UE to this UE”; Adjakple et al.; table after para. 0580)
“connection configuration by the scheduling entity or the I-UE in coordination with the scheduling entity. Examples of such a connection configuration can be the connection establishment procedure depicted in FIG. 16, FIG. 17, and FIG. 18. Similarly, one or more of the following parameters can be configured into the I-UE in support of connection configuration by the scheduling entity”/”scheduling entity can be a gNB”/” TABLE-US-00002 Information Element Description SL RNTI PC5 SL Radio bearer List of Radio bearers (data radio bearer or Configuration signaling radio bearer) to be added to the UE connection context. … SDAP configuration for the handling of QoS Flow mapping to bearer for each radio bearer being added to the UE context.” Maps to “wherein the configuration of the one or more SLRBs includes a service data adaptation protocol (SDAP) configuration for each of the one or more SLRBs”, where “connection configuration…SL Radio bearer List of Radio bearers” maps to “wherein the configuration of the one or more SLRBs”, “SDAP configuration” maps to “includes…SDAP configuration”, “each” maps to “each”, “SL Radio bearer”/”List of Radio bearers”/”radio bearer” maps to “one or more SLRBs”
wherein the SDAP configuration includes a list of QFIs of a corresponding destination, from among one or more second destinations, to be additionally mapped to a corresponding SLRB.
(where
“For each radio bearer to be added, the corresponding destination ID. … Each QoS Flow is represented by a QFI and radio bearer is represented by a radio bearer identity. For each radio bearer to be added, the corresponding destination ID. List of Radio bearer (data radio bearer or signaling radio bearer) to be released from the connection context. Transmission profile for transmission of data associated with each radio bearer being added. The transmission profile can be represented by a transmission profile identifier. SDAP configuration for the handling of QoS Flow mapping to bearer for each radio bearer being added to the UE context. Each SDAP configuration includes the list of flows (represented by a QFI) mapped to the radio bearer and list of flow to be released from a radio bearer. QFI is an integer from 0 to the maximum number of QFI mapped to the radio bearer. PDCP Configuration for each radio bearer being added”/” SL Radio bearer” maps to “wherein the SDAP configuration includes a list of QFIs of a corresponding destination, from among one or more second destinations, to be additionally mapped to a corresponding SLRB”, where “SDAP configuration” maps to “SDAP configuration”, “list of flows (represented by a QFI)”/”maximum number of QFI” maps to “list of QFIs”, “corresponding destination ID” maps to “corresponding destination”, “Each QoS Flow…by a QFI…For each radio bearer to be added…corresponding destination ID” maps to “from among one or more second destinations”, “each radio bearer to be added…mapping to bearer for each radio bearer to be added”/SL Radio bearer” maps to “to be additionally mapped to a corresponding SLRB”
Adjakple et al. teaches connection configuration for a SL radio bearer where the configuration includes an SDAP configuration associated with addition of SL bearer including QFI mapping and destination ID.
Thus, it would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date of the claimed invention to implement the SDAP configuration capability of Adjakple et al. into Wang et al. By modifying the processing/communications of Wang et al. to include the SDAP configuration capability as taught by the processing/communications of Adjakple et al., the benefits of improved resource utilization (Wang et al.; 0155) with improved traffic efficiency (Adjakple et al.; 0278) are achieved.
Claim(s) 2 and 8 is/are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being unpatentable over Wang et al. US 20220217575 in view of Adjakple et al. US 20220132603 and in further view of Luo et al. US 20220150871.
As to claim 2:
Wang et al. as described above does not explicitly teach:
wherein one or more transmitting SDAP entities are established by the UE for each of the one or more second destinations.
However, Luo et al. further teaches a SDAP configuration capability which includes:
wherein one or more transmitting SDAP entities are established by the UE for each of the one or more second destinations.
(“In the Uu interface, the UE configures the SDAP based on a different protocol data unit-session ID (PDU-SessionID), separately. However, for NR V2X, different destination ids need to be distinguished. Therefore, the SDAP may be configured based on a different destination id, and all configured instances of SDAP-Config with the same value of destination id correspond to the same SDAP entity).”; Luo et al.; 0139)
Thus, it would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date of the claimed invention to implement the SDAP configuration capability of Luo et al. into Wang et al. By modifying the processing/communications of Wang et al. to include the SDAP configuration capability as taught by the processing/communications of Luo et al., the benefits of improved resource utilization (Wang et al.; 0155) with improved configuration (Luo et al.; 0003) are achieved.
As to claim 8:
Wang et al. as described above does not explicitly teach:
wherein one or more transmitting SDAP entities are established by the UE for each of the one or more second destinations.
However, Luo et al. further teaches a SDAP configuration capability which includes:
wherein one or more transmitting SDAP entities are established by the UE for each of the one or more second destinations.
(“In the Uu interface, the UE configures the SDAP based on a different protocol data unit-session ID (PDU-SessionID), separately. However, for NR V2X, different destination ids need to be distinguished. Therefore, the SDAP may be configured based on a different destination id, and all configured instances of SDAP-Config with the same value of destination id correspond to the same SDAP entity).”; Luo et al.; 0139)
Thus, it would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date of the claimed invention to implement the SDAP configuration capability of Luo et al. into Wang et al. By modifying the processing/communications of Wang et al. to include the SDAP configuration capability as taught by the processing/communications of Luo et al., the benefits of improved resource utilization (Wang et al.; 0155) with improved configuration (Luo et al.; 0003) are achieved.
Claim(s) 3 and 9 is/are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being unpatentable over Wang et al. US 20220217575 in view of Adjakple et al. US 20220132603 and in further view of Luo et al. US 20220150871 and Fan et al. US 20210219105.
As to claim 3:
Wang et al. as described above does not explicitly teach:
wherein a QoS flow is mapped to the corresponding SLRB at the one or more transmitting SDAP entities.
However, Fan et al. further teaches a SDAP entity/mapping/QoS parameter/QoS flow identifier/SLRB capability which includes:
wherein a QoS flow is mapped to the corresponding SLRB at the one or more transmitting SDAP entities.
(“SDAP layer entity: The SDAP layer entity is a protocol layer entity in a device, may be referred to as an SDAP layer or an SDAP entity, and is mainly configured to maintain a mapping relationship between a QoS parameter and an SLRB. For example, the QoS parameter may be a 5th generation (5G) quality of service identifier (5G QoS identifier, 5QI), a quality of service flow identifier (QoS flow identifier, QFI), a ProSe per packet priority (PPPP), ProSe per-packet reliability (ProSe per packet reliability, PPPR), or the like.”; Fan et al.; 0065)
Thus, it would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date of the claimed invention to implement the SDAP entity/mapping/QoS parameter/QoS flow identifier/SLRB capability of Fan et al. into Wang et al. By modifying the processing/communications of Wang et al. to include the SDAP entity/mapping/QoS parameter/QoS flow identifier/SLRB capability as taught by the processing/communications of Fan et al., the benefits of improved resource utilization (Wang et al.; 0155) with reduced signaling (Fan et al.; 0012) are achieved.
As to claim 9:
Wang et al. as described above does not explicitly teach:
wherein a QoS flow is mapped to the corresponding SLRB at the one or more transmitting SDAP entities.
However, Fan et al. further teaches a SDAP entity/mapping/QoS parameter/QoS flow identifier/SLRB capability which includes:
wherein a QoS flow is mapped to the corresponding SLRB at the one or more transmitting SDAP entities.
(“SDAP layer entity: The SDAP layer entity is a protocol layer entity in a device, may be referred to as an SDAP layer or an SDAP entity, and is mainly configured to maintain a mapping relationship between a QoS parameter and an SLRB. For example, the QoS parameter may be a 5th generation (5G) quality of service identifier (5G QoS identifier, 5QI), a quality of service flow identifier (QoS flow identifier, QFI), a ProSe per packet priority (PPPP), ProSe per-packet reliability (ProSe per packet reliability, PPPR), or the like.”; Fan et al.; 0065)
Thus, it would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date of the claimed invention to implement the SDAP entity/mapping/QoS parameter/QoS flow identifier/SLRB capability of Fan et al. into Wang et al. By modifying the processing/communications of Wang et al. to include the SDAP entity/mapping/QoS parameter/QoS flow identifier/SLRB capability as taught by the processing/communications of Fan et al., the benefits of improved resource utilization (Wang et al.; 0155) with reduced signaling (Fan et al.; 0012) are achieved.
Claim(s) 4, 5, 10 and 11 is/are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being unpatentable over Wang et al. US 20220217575 in view of Adjakple et al. US 20220132603 and in further view of Li et al. US 20210306913.
As to claim 4:
Wang et al. as described above does not explicitly teach:
wherein the sidelink UE information message includes at least one QoS parameter.
However, Li et al. further teaches a QoS parameter capability which includes:
wherein the sidelink UE information message includes at least one QoS parameter.
(“S201: A first terminal device sends a first request message to a network device, and the network device receives the first request message from the first terminal device.”; Li et al.; 0110)
(“The QoS requirement parameter indicates quality of service achieved by the SL RB. For example, the QoS requirement parameter may include one or more of a PC5 QFI, a PQI, a VQI, a 5QI, an ARP, a GFBR, an MFBR, and a range. For example, the address of the first terminal device and the address of the second terminal device may be destination layer 2 addresses, or may be other addresses delivered from an upper layer….”; Li et al.; 0112)
Thus, it would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date of the claimed invention to implement the QoS parameter capability of Li et al. into Wang et al. By modifying the processing/communications of Wang et al. to include the QoS parameter capability as taught by the processing/communications of Li et al., the benefits of improved resource utilization (Wang et al.; 0155) with improved quality of service (Li et al.; 0165) are achieved.
As to claim 5:
Wang et al. as described above does not explicitly teach:
wherein the at least one QoS parameter includes at least one of a PC5 QoS indicator (PQI), …, communication range and/or ….
However, Li et al. further teaches a QoS parameter capability which includes:
wherein the at least one QoS parameter includes at least one of a PC5 QoS indicator (PQI), …, communication range and/or ….
(“S201: A first terminal device sends a first request message to a network device, and the network device receives the first request message from the first terminal device.”; Li et al.; 0110)
(“The QoS requirement parameter indicates quality of service achieved by the SL RB. For example, the QoS requirement parameter may include one or more of a PC5 QFI, a PQI, a VQI, a 5QI, an ARP, a GFBR, an MFBR, and a range. For example, the address of the first terminal device and the address of the second terminal device may be destination layer 2 addresses, or may be other addresses delivered from an upper layer….”; Li et al.; 0112)
Thus, it would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date of the claimed invention to implement the QoS parameter capability of Li et al. into Wang et al. By modifying the processing/communications of Wang et al. to include the QoS parameter capability as taught by the processing/communications of Li et al., the benefits of improved resource utilization (Wang et al.; 0155) with improved quality of service (Li et al.; 0165) are achieved.
As to claim 10:
Wang et al. as described above does not explicitly teach:
wherein the sidelink UE information message includes at least one QoS parameter.
However, Li et al. further teaches a QoS parameter capability which includes:
wherein the sidelink UE information message includes at least one QoS parameter.
(“S201: A first terminal device sends a first request message to a network device, and the network device receives the first request message from the first terminal device.”; Li et al.; 0110)
(“The QoS requirement parameter indicates quality of service achieved by the SL RB. For example, the QoS requirement parameter may include one or more of a PC5 QFI, a PQI, a VQI, a 5QI, an ARP, a GFBR, an MFBR, and a range. For example, the address of the first terminal device and the address of the second terminal device may be destination layer 2 addresses, or may be other addresses delivered from an upper layer….”; Li et al.; 0112)
Thus, it would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date of the claimed invention to implement the QoS parameter capability of Li et al. into Wang et al. By modifying the processing/communications of Wang et al. to include the QoS parameter capability as taught by the processing/communications of Li et al., the benefits of improved resource utilization (Wang et al.; 0155) with improved quality of service (Li et al.; 0165) are achieved.
As to claim 11:
Wang et al. as described above does not explicitly teach:
wherein the at least one QoS parameter includes at least one of a PC5 QoS indicator (PQI), …, communication range and/or ….
However, Li et al. further teaches a QoS parameter capability which includes:
wherein the at least one QoS parameter includes at least one of a PC5 QoS indicator (PQI), …, communication range and/or ….
(“S201: A first terminal device sends a first request message to a network device, and the network device receives the first request message from the first terminal device.”; Li et al.; 0110)
(“The QoS requirement parameter indicates quality of service achieved by the SL RB. For example, the QoS requirement parameter may include one or more of a PC5 QFI, a PQI, a VQI, a 5QI, an ARP, a GFBR, an MFBR, and a range. For example, the address of the first terminal device and the address of the second terminal device may be destination layer 2 addresses, or may be other addresses delivered from an upper layer….”; Li et al.; 0112)
Thus, it would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date of the claimed invention to implement the QoS parameter capability of Li et al. into Wang et al. By modifying the processing/communications of Wang et al. to include the QoS parameter capability as taught by the processing/communications of Li et al., the benefits of improved resource utilization (Wang et al.; 0155) with improved quality of service (Li et al.; 0165) are achieved.
Examiner Notes
Claims 6 and 12 do not have a prior art rejection.
Conclusion
The prior art made of record and not relied upon is considered pertinent to applicant's disclosure:
US 20220022228 – teaches a CU generating an RRC reconfiguration messages which is sent to a UE (see para. 0062).
If attempts to reach the Examiner by telephone are unsuccessful, the examiner’s supervisor, Ricky Ngo can be reached on 571-272-3139. The fax phone number for the organization where this application or proceeding is assigned is 571-273-8300.
MICHAEL K. PHILLIPS
Examiner
Art Unit 2464
/MICHAEL K PHILLIPS/Examiner, Art Unit 2464