DETAILED ACTION
Continued Examination Under 37 CFR 1.114
Claims 1-7, 9-14, and 16-20 are pending.
Claim Rejections - 35 USC § 103
Claim(s) 1-7 and 9-14 is/are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being unpatentable over Ro et al (US 2008/0130202) in view of Yang (CN 111193030 A, previously cited, hereinafter Yang’CN030), Yoon (US 2017/0252798, previously cited), and Weldy (US 3,914,504, previously cited).
Regarding claim 1, Ro et al teaches an apparatus for manufacturing an electrode substrate of a secondary battery (abstract, electrode material, paragraph [0015], electrode material may be used for a battery electrode or electrode collector, paragraph [0008], lithium ion battery and electrode current collectors), the apparatus comprising:
melting a substrate material (paragraph [0042], molten bath of aluminum or aluminum alloy);
casting a slab with the melted substrate material produced by the melting furnace (paragraph [0042], cast to obtain an ingot); and
a rolling mill configured to form an electrode substrate by rolling the slab (paragraph [0042], steps of hot rolling and cold rolling imply the use of a rolling mill); and
a surface coater configured to coat a metal layer on an entire surface of the formed electrode substrate (paragraph [0078], two parts by weight of an aluminum powder mixed with 1 part by weight polyvinyl alcohol, dispersed to obtain a coating solution, applied to both surfaces of an aluminum foil, note the surface coating step implies the use of a surface coater).
Ro et al is quiet to a reinforcement body contained in the substrate foil.
Yang’CN030 teaches an aluminum strip for use as a material for a positive electrode (paragraph [0002]). Yang’CN030 teaches the aluminum strip comprises fibers (paragraph [0009]), such as glass fibers, carbon fibers, or alumina fibers (paragraph [0014]), used to enhance the strength of the aluminum strip and prevent the strip from tearing during the rolling process (paragraph [0014]) through a rolling mill (paragraph [0016]).
It would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art to modify Ro et al to include fibers, such as carbon fibers, to the aluminum substrate foil, as Yang’CN030 teaches the fibers would enhance the strength of the aluminum strip and prevent the strip from tearing during a rolling process.
The combination of Ro et al and Yang’CN030 teaches steps of treating the reinforcement material, melting and stirring the aluminum melt, and casting, but is quiet to the apparatus for doing such, such as a molding machine, a furnace, and a mold.
Yoon teaches a method for manufacturing carbon fiber reinforced aluminum composites (abstract) including a stir casting process during a melting and casting process (abstract). Yoon et al teaches pre-treating the carbon fibers, melting aluminum alloys, stirring, inputting the carbon fiber into the aluminum melt, and casting (paragraph [0027]). The composite may be additionally processed, including forging, rolling, or extrusion (paragraph [0114]). Note that the melting step is performed in a furnace (paragraph [0032]) and that the casting step includes tapping the aluminum melt with the fibers into a mold or continuous casting method (paragraph [0112]). Short carbon fiber used in the invention is mostly manufactured through a sizing step with epoxy (paragraph [0076]).
It would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art to modify the combination to include the teachings of Yoon, such as a furnace and a casting mold, for performing the functions of melting and casting as taught in Yang’CN030.
All the claimed elements were known in the prior art and one skilled in the art could have combined the elements as claimed by known methods with no change in their respective functions, and the combination would yield nothing more than predictable results to one of ordinary skill in the art. KSR, 550 U.S. at 416, 82 USPQ2d at 1395. MPEP 2143(I)(A).
It would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art to use sized carbon fibers when manufacturing a carbon fiber reinforced aluminum composite by melting, stirring, casting in a mold, and rolling, as Yoon teaches the process can be commercialized as an economical manufacturing process suitable for mass production, standardize the characteristics of the composite, and ensure reliability (Yoon, paragraph [0013]).
The combination suggests a reinforcement material such as epoxy sized fibers (Yoon, paragraph [0076]), but is quiet to the molding machine for molding a reinforcement body from the reinforcement material.
Weldy teaches that carbon fibers sized with epoxy sizing compositions can be used to prepare fiber reinforced composite structures, and that in a common method, reinforced composite structure can be prepared by incorporating chopped sized carbon fibers into the matrix resin and then forming the composite structure, for example, by press molding (col 4 lines 1-25).
It would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art to modify the combination such that the reinforcement material is an epoxy sized carbon fiber that is press molded, thereby suggesting a press molding machine, as taught in Weldy, as an alternative method of delivering the carbon fibers for use in a reinforced composite.
Regarding claim 2, the combination teaches wherein the reinforcement material inputted into the reinforcement body molding machine comprises a conductive material with greater strength than the substrate material (material worked upon, MPEP 2115, does not further limit the claim, however, note that Yang’CN030 teaches a carbon fiber, which enhances the strength (paragraph [0014])).
Regarding claim 3, the combination teaches wherein the reinforcement material is one or more materials selected from: carbon fiber (material worked upon, MPEP 2115, does not further limit the claim, however, note that Yang’CN030 teaches a carbon fiber, which enhances the strength (paragraph [0014])).
Regarding claim 4, the combination teaches wherein a shape of the reinforcement body molded by the reinforcement body molding machine is one or more shapes selected from: a fiber shape (material worked upon, MPEP 2115, does not further limit the claim, however, note that Yang’CN030 teaches a carbon fiber, which enhances the strength (paragraph [0014])).
Regarding claim 5, the combination teaches wherein the melting furnace comprises: a substrate material input unit (Yoon, paragraph [0084], matrix material charged in a crucible); a reinforcement body input unit (Yoon, paragraph [0084], supply device for supplying the carbon fiber used as the reinforcing agent) configured to input the reinforcement body molded by the reinforcement body molding machine; a heating unit (Yoon, paragraph [0085], melting furnace, e.g., induction, electric resistance, gas, arc) configured to generate heat for melting the input substrate material; and a stirring unit (paragraph [0089-0090], stirring, mechanical stirring by an impeller) configured to mix the reinforcement body molded by the reinforcement body molding machine in the melted substrate material for dispersion.
Regarding claim 6, the combination teaches wherein the melting furnace is further configured to melt the substrate material by heating the substrate material and the molded reinforcement body at a first temperature, and the first temperature is set to a temperature at which the substrate material melts and the molded reinforcement body does not melt (Yoon, paragraph [0136], aluminum and carbon fiber composite was charged into crucible, and composite was melted at temperature up to 720°C).
Regarding claim 7, the combination teaches wherein the melting furnace is further configured to melt the substrate material at a first temperature (Yoon, paragraph [0123], aluminum melted at temperatures up to 720°C), and receive the molded reinforcement body responsive to the first temperature being adjusted to a second temperature (Yoon, paragraph [0125], the fibers were heat-treated at 500°C before inputting into melt), the first temperature is set to a temperature at which the substrate material melts and the molded reinforcement body does not melted, and the second temperature is set to a temperature lower than the first temperature (paragraph [0123-0125], 720°C melts the aluminum, 500°C is lower).
Regarding claim 9, Ro et al teaches a method for manufacturing an electrode substrate of a secondary battery (abstract, electrode material, paragraph [0015], electrode material may be used for a battery electrode or electrode collector, paragraph [0008], lithium ion battery and electrode current collectors), the method comprising:
melting a substrate material (paragraph [0042], molten bath of aluminum or aluminum alloy);
molding a slab with the melted substrate material (paragraph [0042], cast to obtain an ingot);
forming an electrode substrate by rolling the slab (paragraph [0042], steps of hot rolling and cold rolling); and
coating a metal layer on an entire surface of the formed electrode substrate (paragraph [0078], two parts by weight of an aluminum powder mixed with 1 part by weight polyvinyl alcohol, dispersed to obtain a coating solution, applied to both surfaces of an aluminum foil).
Ro et al is quiet to mixing a reinforcement body and in the melted substrate material for dispersion.
Yang’CN030 teaches an aluminum strip for use as a material for a positive electrode (paragraph [0002]). Yang’CN030 teaches the aluminum strip comprises fibers (paragraph [0009]), such as glass fibers, carbon fibers, or alumina fibers (paragraph [0014]), used to enhance the strength of the aluminum strip and prevent the strip from tearing during the rolling process (paragraph [0014]) through a rolling mill (paragraph [0016]). The fibers are added to the aluminum melt and stirred (paragraph [0016]), cast, and rolled.
It would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art to modify Ro et al to include fibers, such as carbon fibers, to the aluminum substrate foil, as Yang’CN030 teaches the fibers would enhance the strength of the aluminum strip and prevent the strip from tearing during a rolling process.
The combination teaches preparing a reinforcement material including fibers, such as glass fibers, carbon fibers, or alumina fibers (Yang’CN030, paragraph [0014]), but is quiet to a step of molding a reinforcement body from the reinforcement material.
Yoon teaches a method for manufacturing carbon fiber reinforced aluminum composites (abstract) including a stir casting process during a melting and casting process (abstract). Yoon et al teaches pre-treating the carbon fibers, melting aluminum alloys, stirring, inputting the carbon fiber into the aluminum melt, and casting (paragraph [0027]). The composite may be additionally processed, including forging, rolling, or extrusion (paragraph [0114]). Note that the casting step includes tapping the aluminum melt with the fibers into a mold or continuous casting method (paragraph [0112]). Short carbon fiber used in the invention is mostly manufactured through a sizing step with epoxy (paragraph [0076]).
It would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art to modify the combination to include the teachings of Yoon, such as using sized carbon fibers when manufacturing a carbon fiber reinforced aluminum composite by melting, stirring, casting in a mold, and rolling, as Yoon teaches the process can be commercialized as an economical manufacturing process suitable for mass production, standardize the characteristics of the composite, and ensure reliability (Yoon, paragraph [0013]).
The combination suggests a reinforcement material such as epoxy sized fibers (Yoon, paragraph [0076]), but is quiet to a step of molding a reinforcement body from the reinforcement material.
Weldy teaches that carbon fibers sized with epoxy sizing compositions can be used to prepare fiber reinforced composite structures, and that in a common method, reinforced composite structure can be prepared by incorporating chopped sized carbon fibers into the matrix resin and then forming the composite structure, for example, by press molding (col 4 lines 1-25).
It would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art to modify the combination such that the reinforcement material is an epoxy sized carbon fiber that is press molded, as taught in Weldy, as an alternative method of delivering the carbon fibers for use in a reinforced composite.
Regarding claim 10, the combination teaches wherein the reinforcement material for molding the reinforcement body comprises a conductive material having a greater strength than the substrate material (Yang’CN030, paragraph [0014], carbon fiber, fiber enhances the strength).
Regarding claim 11, the combination teaches wherein the reinforcement material is carbon fiber (Yang’CN030, paragraph [0014], carbon fiber).
Regarding claim 12, the combination teaches wherein a shape of the reinforcement body molded in the molding the reinforcement body is a fiber shape (Yang’CN030, paragraph [0014], carbon fiber).
Regarding claim 13, the combination teaches wherein the melting the substrate material and mixing the molded reinforcement body in the melted substrate material for dispersion comprises: melting the substrate material by heating the substrate material and the molded reinforcement body at a first temperature, and wherein the first temperature is set to a temperature at which the substrate material melts and the molded reinforcement body does not melt (Yoon, paragraph [0136], 720°C).
Regarding claim 14, the combination teaches wherein the melting the substrate material and mixing the molded reinforcement body in the melted substrate material for dispersion comprises: melting the substrate material at a first temperature (Yoon, paragraph [0123], 720°C), adjusting the first temperature to a second temperature, and receiving the molded reinforcement body after adjusting the first temperature (paragraph [0125-0126], inputting carbon fiber which were pre-treated at 500°C), wherein the first temperature is set to a temperature at which the substrate material melts and the molded reinforcement body does not melt (720°C), and the second temperature is lower than the first temperature (500°C).
Claim(s) 16-20 is/are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being unpatentable over Ro et al (US 7,639,475) in view of Yang’CN030 (CN 111193030 A, previously cited).
Regarding claim 16, Ro et al teaches an electrode substrate of a secondary battery (paragraph [0013], electrode material used for battery electrodes or electrode collectors) comprising:
a substrate foil (figs 1-4, aluminum foil 1) formed of material for an electrode substrate of a secondary battery (abstract, aluminum foil); and
a metal layer (fig 3, paragraph [0038], layer 2 containing a large number of aluminum particles 23) coated on an entirety of two opposite surfaces of the substrate foil (fig 1, note coating layer 2 can be on both sides of foil, paragraph [0078], two parts aluminum powder mixed with 1 part alcohol, mixture applied to both surfaces of an aluminum foil).
Ro et al is quiet to a reinforcement body contained in the substrate foil.
Yang’CN030 teaches an aluminum strip for use as a material for a positive electrode (paragraph [0002]). Yang’CN030 teaches the aluminum strip comprises fibers (paragraph [0009]), such as glass fibers, carbon fibers, or alumina fibers (paragraph [0014]), used to enhance the strength of the aluminum strip and prevent the strip from tearing during the rolling process (paragraph [0014]).
It would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art to modify Ro et al to include fibers, such as carbon fibers, to the aluminum substrate foil, as Yang’CN030 teaches the fibers would enhance the strength of the aluminum strip and prevent the strip from tearing during a rolling process.
Regarding claim 17, the combination teaches wherein a material for the reinforcement body comprises a conductive material with greater strength than a material for the substrate foil (Yang’CN030, paragraph [0014], may be carbon fiber, enhances the strength).
Regarding claim 18, the combination teaches wherein a material for the reinforcement body comprises one or more materials selected from carbon fiber (Yang’CN030, paragraph [0014]).
Regarding claim 19, the combination teaches wherein a shape of the reinforcement body is one or more shapes selected from a fiber shape (Yang’CN030, paragraph [0014], carbon fiber).
Regarding claim 20, the combination teaches a material for the metal layer is the same type of the substrate foil (Ro et al, paragraph [0038], [0078], aluminum powder coating layer 2 and aluminum foil 1).
Response to Arguments
Applicant’s arguments with respect to the claim(s) have been considered but are moot because the new ground of rejection does not rely on any reference applied in the prior rejection of record for any teaching or matter specifically challenged in the argument.
Applicant argues that Xie only a coated portion only at an end portion of the aluminum strip, and that it is not intended to be coated on an entire surface of the aluminum strip, as required in the amended claims. Xie is no longer cited in the rejections above. The rejections above now look towards Ro et al (US 7,639,475) for the teachings of coating an entire surface of the formed electrode substrate.
Conclusion
The prior art made of record and not relied upon is considered pertinent to applicant's disclosure. Breslin et al (US 2004/0237713) teaches an improved ceramic/metal composite material (abstract) made from a ceramic preform that is contacted with a metal mixture or alloy (abstract). Breslin teaches that whiskers, particles, or other additions, are known to improve specific properties (paragraph [0008]) such as strength, wear resistance, high temperature compatibility, etc (paragraph [0003]). The invention is applicable to electrodes (e.g., anodes or cathodes) and current collectors for use in fuel cells, electrochemical applications, etc (paragraph [0082]).
/JACKY YUEN/
Examiner
Art Unit 1735
/KEITH WALKER/Supervisory Patent Examiner, Art Unit 1735