DETAILED ACTION
Claim Rejections - 35 USC § 102
Claim(s) 1-20 are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 102(a)(1) as being anticipated by Richlich et al. (US 2021/0026163).
Regarding claim 1, Richlich discloses an adjustable gradient tinting for an aircraft windscreen (see figures 1-8, for instance; see also [0009]), comprising: a windscreen (10) comprising a contiguous transparent surface (see figure 7, for instance); an electrochromic film (40; [0028]) attached to the windscreen (10), wherein the electrochromic film (10) defines a plurality of zones (“segments”; see [0030], controlled by elements 24, 34) on the windscreen; and control circuitry (44; [0004]; [0029]) operable to cause the electrochromic film (40) to produce a semi-opaque gradient pattern (see figures 7-8, for instance) such that the gradient pattern impedes the transmission of light through at least a portion of the windscreen (10).
Regarding claim 2, Richlich discloses the adjustable gradient tinting for an aircraft windscreen of claim 1, wherein the electrochromic film comprises: LCD technology, SPD technology, PDLC technology, or combinations thereof (see paragraph [0028], for instance).
Regarding claim 3, Richlich discloses the adjustable gradient tinting for an aircraft windscreen of claim 1, wherein an opacity of the electrochromic film is adjusted by the control circuitry (44) in response to a user input ([0032]).
Regarding claim 4, Richlich discloses the adjustable gradient tinting for an aircraft windscreen of claim 3, wherein the user input ([0032]) comprises a user-operable control in communication with the control circuitry (44).
Regarding claim 5, Richlich discloses the adjustable gradient tinting for an aircraft windscreen of claim 4, wherein the user-operable control (62) comprises a linear control, a rotary control, a sound actuated control, or combinations thereof ([0032]).
Regarding claim 6, Richlich discloses the adjustable gradient tinting for an aircraft windscreen of claim 3, wherein the user input (62) comprises a sensor operable to detect a gesture made by a user (see figure 7 or 8, for instance).
Regarding claim 7, Richlich discloses the adjustable gradient tinting for an aircraft windscreen of claim 5, wherein the sensor (62, 80) comprises an infrared sensor, a capacitive sensor, an ultrasonic sensor, a video sensor, a microwave sensor, or combinations thereof (see figure 7 or 8, for instance).
Regarding claim 8, Richlich discloses the adjustable gradient tinting for an aircraft windscreen of claim 1, further comprising one or more cockpit side windows (110, see figures 9-10, for instance), wherein the one or more cockpit side windows comprise an electrochromic film (40) in communication with and controlled by the control circuitry (44).
Regarding claim 9, Richlich discloses the adjustable gradient tinting for an aircraft windscreen of claim 1, wherein the electrochromic film (40) is embedded within the windscreen (between elements 12, 14).
Regarding claim 10, Richlich discloses the adjustable gradient tinting for an aircraft windscreen (see figures 7 and 8, for instance), wherein the electrochromic film (40) encompasses at least sixty percent of the windscreen.
Regarding claim 11, Richlich discloses the adjustable gradient tinting for an aircraft windscreen of claim 1, wherein the control circuitry (44) includes driver circuitry (46, 24, 34) operable to cause the electrochromic film to produce a semi-opaque gradient pattern such that the gradient pattern (see figures 7 and 8, for instance) impedes the transmission of light through at least a portion of the windscreen (10).
Regarding claim 12, Richlich discloses the adjustable gradient tinting for an aircraft windscreen of claim 1, wherein the control circuitry (44) comprises logic circuitry operable to limit the opacity of the electrochromic film (40).
Regarding claim 13, Richlich discloses the adjustable gradient tinting for an aircraft windscreen of claim 12, wherein limits to the opacity of the electrochromic film (40) are user defined, predetermined, or combinations thereof ([0034]).
Regarding claim 14, Richlich discloses an adjustable gradient tinting for an aircraft windscreen (see figures 1-8, for instance), comprising: a windscreen (10) comprising a transparent surface (12); an electrochromic film (40; [0028]) attached to the windscreen (10) and covering at least a portion of the transparent surface, wherein the electrochromic film (40) defines at least one zone (“segments”; see [0030], controlled by elements 24, 34) on the windscreen (10); and control circuitry (44) operable to cause the electrochromic film (40) to produce a semi-opaque gradient pattern such that the gradient pattern impedes the transmission of light through at least a portion of the transparent surface (see figures 7 and 8, for instance).
Regarding claim 15, Richlich discloses the adjustable gradient tinting for an aircraft windscreen of claim 14, wherein the electrochromic film comprises: LCD technology, SPD technology, PDLC technology, or combinations thereof (see paragraph [0028], for instance).
Regarding claim 16, Richlich discloses the adjustable gradient tinting for an aircraft windscreen of claim 1, wherein an opacity of the electrochromic film (40) is adjusted by the control circuitry (44) in response to a user-operable control (62) in communication with the control circuitry (44).
Regarding claim 17, Richlich discloses the adjustable gradient tinting for an aircraft windscreen of claim 16, wherein the user-operable control (62) comprises a linear control, a rotary control, a sound actuated control, a motion sensor, an infrared sensor, a capacitive sensor, an ultrasonic sensor, a video sensor, a microwave sensor, or combinations thereof ([0032]).
Regarding claim 18, Richlich discloses the adjustable gradient tinting for an aircraft windscreen of claim 14, wherein the control circuitry (44) includes driver circuitry (46, 24, 34) operable to cause the electrochromic film to produce a semi-opaque gradient pattern such that the gradient pattern (see figures 7 and 8, for instance) impedes the transmission of light through at least a portion of the windscreen (10).
Regarding claim 19, Richlich discloses the adjustable gradient tinting for an aircraft windscreen of claim 14, wherein the control circuitry (44) comprises logic circuitry operable to limit the opacity of the electrochromic film (40).
Regarding claim 20, Richlich discloses the adjustable gradient tinting for an aircraft windscreen of claim 19, wherein limits to the opacity of the electrochromic film (40) are user defined, predetermined, or combinations thereof ([0034]).
Conclusion
/NATHANAEL R BRIGGS/Primary Examiner, Art Unit 2871 7/9/2026