Claim Rejections - 35 USC § 103
Claim(s) 1-5, 7, 9-12, 15, and 16 is/are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being unpatentable over Kemmer (US 2007/0072332 A1; hereinafter Kemmer) in view of Giacomini et al. (US 20170184732 A1; hereinafter Giacomini) in view of Sadygov et al. (US 2009/0050934 A1; hereinafter Sadygov).
Regarding Claim 1. Kemmer (Fig.5a-b) discloses a semiconductor detector comprising:
a doped semiconductor body (GK (n-type); [0043]) with a detection region, a front side and a rear side opposite the front side (front and back side of GK);
a first electrical ring electrode (Me11; [0064]) and a second electrical ring electrode (Me12; [0064]) arranged around a read-out point on the front side, wherein the ring electrodes are configured to generate an electric field profile in the semiconductor body to guide free charge carriers to the read-out point ([0057]), the ring electrodes (Me11/Me12) overlapping at least partially with the detection region (the region in GK), as seen in plan view of the front side (Fig.3b-c); and a semiconductor detector
a first doped layer (ws1 (p-type; second type); [0023]) extending along the front side and electrically conductively connects the first ring electrode (Me11) to the second ring electrode (Me12) without interruption, wherein the first doped layer (ws1) and a rest of the semiconductor body are oppositely doped to each other (see [0043] and [0023]).
Kemmer does not particularly disclose a passivation layer arranged on the front side in a direction parallel to the front side between the first ring electrode and the second ring electrode.
Giacomini (Figs.1-3) discloses in a related art a semiconductor detector comprising ring electrodes (12; [0049]) and a passivation layer (15) arranged on the front side in a direction parallel to the front side between the first ring electrode and the second ring electrode.
Therefore, it would have been obvious in the art before the effective filing date of the application to have a passivation layer between the ring electrodes since the electrode will not overlap with the electric resistance channel and cancellation of charges will not occur between the otherwise overlapping electrode and the electrode resistance channel, so that the electrode and the electric resistance channel function without affecting each other ([0065]).
Kemmer in view of Giacomini does not particularly disclose wherein a specific resistance of the first doped layer is between 1 Ωcm and 1000 Ωcm, inclusive.
Sadygov ([0008]) discloses in a related art a semiconductor device wherein a specific resistance of the first doped layer (3) is between 1 Ωcm and 1000 Ωcm, inclusive.
Therefore, it would have been obvious in the art before the effective filing date of the application to have a doped layer with sheet resistance between 1-1000 Ωcm to enhance conductivity of the semiconductor layers.
Regarding Claim 2. The semiconductor detector according to claim 1, Kemmer ([0024]) and Giacomini (abstract, [0007], [0011]) disclose where the semiconductor detector is configured to apply a potential difference between the first ring electrode and the second ring electrode but they don’t specifically disclose voltage of more than 200V.
However, It is noted that the limitation of the “the semiconductor detector is configured to apply a potential difference of more than 200 V between the first ring electrode and the second ring electrode” being “METHOD LANGUAGE” is considered to be a process limitation that carries no patentable weight because the current claim is directed to a device structure, therefore a “product by process” claim is directed to the product, and no matter how the structure is actually made, it is the final product which must be determined in a “product by process” claim, and not the patentability of the process.
Regarding Claim 3. The semiconductor detector according to claim 2, Kemmer (Fig.5b) discloses comprising an annular cathode (Me21/Me22; [0066]) arranged on the rear side of the semiconductor body and delimiting a radiation entry region in lateral directions ([0059]).
Regarding Claim 4. The semiconductor detector according to claim 1, Kemmer (Fig.5b) discloses wherein the rear side (bottom side of GK) comprises a radiation entry region ([0044], [0059]), and wherein the radiation entry region is completely covered by a second doped layer (po2/ws2; [0066]) which is oppositely doped to the semiconductor body (GK).
Regarding Claim 5. The semiconductor detector according to claim 1, Sadygove discloses the sheet resistance to be between 1-100 Ωcm. Kemmer in view of Giacomini in view of Sadygov do not particularly disclose wherein a thickness of the first doped layer is between 0.01 µm and 10 µm inclusive, and wherein a resistance of the first doped layer is between 0.1 MΩ and 100 MΩ inclusive.
However, the sheet resistance is the product of thickness and resistance of the layer and the claimed numbers would fall within the same range.
Therefore, It would have been obvious to one having ordinary skill in the art at the time of the invention was made to any desired thickness since it has been held that where the general conditions of a claim are disclosed in the prior art, discovering the optimum or working range involves only routine skill in the art. In re Aller, 105 USPQ 233.
Regarding Claim 7. The semiconductor detector according to claim 1, Kemmer (Fig.5a/b) discloses wherein the semiconductor body comprises an anode region (A; [0064]) on the front side, which is bounded in lateral directions by the first doped layer (ws1).
On the other hand Giacomini (Figs.1-3) discloses in a related art a semiconductor detector comprising a semiconductor body (11), ring electrodes (12; [0049]) and a passivation layer (15) and doped layer (131/132) arranged on the front side in a direction parallel to the front side between the ring electrode (12), and anode region (14) wherein, in the anode region (14), the semiconductor body (11) is at least partially in direct contact with the passivation layer (15; see Fig.2-3).
Regarding Claim 9. The semiconductor detector according to claim 1, Kemmer (Fig.7-11) discloses wherein the first doped layer comprises a plurality of annular doped regions (B1-B6/E,B/ S, E3, G1, D); Fig.7; [0070]) arranged around the read-out point, and wherein a dopant concentration of the doped regions is greater than a dopant concentration of the first doped layer ([0070] discloses that they are highly doped at higher rate).
Regarding Claim 10. The semiconductor detector according to claim 9, Kemmer (Fig.8-11) discloses wherein at least two different annular doped regions ([0090]; E,B/ S, E3, G1, D) have different widths from each other (see figures).
Regarding Claim 11. The semiconductor detector according to claim 9, Kemmer (Fig.5-11) discloses wherein the electric field profile is variable by the annular doped regions ([0068]-[0070]).
Regarding Claim 12. The semiconductor detector according to claim 1, Kemmer (Fig.4-6) discloses wherein the semiconductor body comprises an edge region (peripheral region on both sides) which, in plan view of the front side, completely surrounds the detection region (middle region) in lateral directions, wherein the semiconductor body (GK) comprises a third ring electrode (w11/w12; [0021]) in the edge region on the front side, and wherein the first doped layer (ws1) electrically conductively connects the second ring electrode (Me12) and the third ring electrode (w11/w21) without interruption.
On the other hand Giacomini (Figs.1-3) discloses in a related art a semiconductor detector comprising a semiconductor body (11), first and second ring electrodes (12 in middle; [0049]), a third ring electrode on the edge (12 on both ends) and a passivation layer (15) and doped layer (131/132) arranged on the front side in a direction parallel to the front side between the ring electrode (12), and anode region (14) wherein, in the anode region (14), the semiconductor body (11) is at least partially in direct contact with the passivation layer (15; see Fig.2-3), wherein the passivation layer (15) is arranged on the front side in a direction parallel to the front side between the second ring electrode (12 in the center) and the third ring electrode (12 on both ends).
Regarding Claim 15. The semiconductor detector according to claim 1, Kemmer (Fig.5a/b) discloses wherein the semiconductor detector is a silicon drift detector ([0023]).
Regarding Claim 16. The semiconductor detector according to claim 1, Kemmer (Fig.5a/b) discloses wherein the electric field profile generates a drift field, and wherein the electric field profile is configured to guide charge carriers generated by radiation incidence in the detection region to the read-out point ([0023]).
Claim(s) 14, and 17 are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being unpatentable over Kemmer in view of Giacomini in view of Sadygovin view of Matsunaga et al. (US 20220093814 A1; hereinafter Matsunaga)
Regarding Claim 14. The semiconductor detector according to claim 13, Kemmer (Fig.5a/b) discloses and wherein the first sub-region is p-doped (ws1) and the second sub-region (E1) is n-doped.
Kemmer in view of Giacomini in view of Sadygov do not particularly disclose wherein the third ring electrode is connected to ground.
Matsunaga ([0046]) discloses in a related art a detection semiconductor device wherein its third ring electrode is connected to ground.
Therefore, it would have been obvious in the art before the effective filing date of the application to have the third ring electrode connected to ground since surface leakage currents are intercepted and they are safely shunted to the ground instead of reaching the active anode or collection area, significantly lowering the device's electronic noise.
Regarding Claim 17. Kemmer (Fig.5a/b) discloses a semiconductor detector comprising:
a doped semiconductor body (GK) with a detection region (middle region), a front side and a rear side opposite the front side (top and bottom of GK);
a first electrical ring electrode (Me11) and a second electrical ring electrode (Me12) arranged around a read-out point on the front side, wherein the ring electrodes are configured to generate an electric field profile in the semiconductor body to guide free charge carriers to the read-out point ([0057]), the ring electrodes (Me11/Me12) overlapping at least partially with the detection region, as seen in plan view of the front side;
a first doped layer (ws1) extending along the front side and electrically conductively connecting the first ring electrode (Me11) to the second ring electrode (Me12) without interruption, wherein the first doped layer (ws1) and a rest of the semiconductor body (GK) are oppositely doped to each other ([0023], [0043]), and
an edge region which (both ends), in plan view of the front side, completely surrounds the detection region (middle region) in lateral directions; and
a third ring electrode (w11/w12; [0021]) in the edge region on the front side, wherein the first doped layer (ws1/E2; fig.5 an dfig.8) electrically conductively connects the second ring electrode (Me12/G1) and the third ring electrode (ws12/ws11/S; Fig.5 and Fig.8) without interruption.
Kemmer does not particularly disclose a passivation layer arranged on the front side in a direction parallel to the front side between the first ring electrode and the second ring electrode.
Giacomini (Figs.1-3) discloses in a related art a semiconductor detector comprising ring electrodes (12; [0049]) and a passivation layer (15) arranged on the front side in a direction parallel to the front side between the first ring electrode and the second ring electrode; a third ring electrode on the edge (12 on both ends) and a passivation layer (15) and doped layer (131/132) arranged on the front side wherein the passivation layer (15) is arranged on the front side in a direction parallel to the front side between the second ring electrode (12 in the center) and the third ring electrode (12 on both ends).
Therefore, it would have been obvious in the art before the effective filing date of the application to have a passivation layer between the ring electrodes since the electrode will not overlap with the electric resistance channel and cancellation of charges will not occur between the otherwise overlapping electrode and the electrode resistance channel, so that the electrode and the electric resistance channel function without affecting each other ([0065]).
Kemmer in view of Giacomini does not particularly disclose wherein a specific resistance of the first doped layer is between 1 Ωcm and 1000 Ωcm, inclusive.
Sadygov ([0008]) discloses in a related art a semiconductor device wherein a specific resistance of the first doped layer (3) is between 1 Ωcm and 1000 Ωcm, inclusive.
Therefore, it would have been obvious in the art before the effective filing of the application to have a doped layer with sheet resistance between 1-1000 Ωcm to enhance conductivity of the semiconductor layers.
Kemmer in view of Giacomini in view of Sadygov do not particularly disclose wherein the third ring electrode is connected to ground.
Matsunaga ([0046]) discloses in a related art a detection semiconductor device wherein its third ring electrode is connected to ground.
Therefore, it would have been obvious in the art before the effective filing date of the application to have the third ring electrode connected to ground since surface leakage currents are intercepted and they are safely shunted to the ground instead of reaching the active anode or collection area, significantly lowering the device's electronic noise.
Claim(s) 6 is rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being unpatentable over Kemmer in view of Giacomini in view of Sadygovin view of Lee et al. (US 2020/0243338 A1; hereinafter Lee).
Regarding Claim 6. The semiconductor detector according to claim 1, Kemmer (Fig.5a/b) discloses wherein the semiconductor body (GK) is n-doped (first doped; [0043]) and the first doped layer (ws1) is p-doped (second doped; [0023]).
Kemmer in view of Giacomini in view of Sadygov do not particularly disclose wherein a first dopant concentration in the first doped layer is between 5×1012 cm-3 and 1×1015 cm-3, inclusive, and wherein a dopant of the first doped layer is boron.
Lee ([0039]) discloses semiconductor device with a doped layer (20) wherein a first dopant concentration in the first doped layer is between 5×1012 cm-3 and 1×1015 cm-3, inclusive, and wherein a dopant of the first doped layer is boron.
Therefore, it would have been obvious in the art before the effective filing date of the application to have the doped layer with any desired dopant concentration since it has been held that where the general conditions of a claim are disclosed in the prior art, discovering the optimum or working range involves only routine skill in the art. In re Aller, 105 USPQ 233.
Claim(s) 13, and 8 are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being unpatentable over Kemmer in view of Giacomini in view of Sadygov in view of Kaneda (US 20230207555 A1; hereinafter Kaneda).
Regarding Claim 13. The semiconductor detector according to claim 12,
Giacomini (Fig.2-3) discloses wherein the semiconductor body (11) comprises a third contact region (region below 12 on both ends in 11) in which the semiconductor body directly adjoins the third ring electrode (12 on both ends), wherein the third contact region comprises a first sub-region (beneath 12 and in between 12s on both ends) which is in direct contact with the first doped layer (131/132), wherein the third contact region comprises a second sub-region (a second region lower than first below 12 and between 12s in 11) which is in direct contact with the first sub-region and the first doped layer, wherein the first sub-region is doped with the same conductivity type as the first doped layer.
Giacomini does not particularly disclose wherein the first sub-region has a higher dopant concentration than the first doped layer and wherein the second sub-region is oppositely doped to the first sub-region
Kaneda (Fig.5) in a related art discloses a semiconductor device having a ring electrode (25; Fig.5; [0025]) and two regions beneath the ring electrode as region one (26; N-type) and second region (65; p-type) and wherein the first sub-region (26) has a higher dopant concentration (n+) than the first doped layer (13b/n-; [0037]).
Therefore, it would have been obvious in the art before the effective filing date of the application to have different doping type and concentration since these pn junctions serve as components of the protection diode ([0042]).
Regarding Claim 8. The semiconductor detector according to claim 1, Kemmer (Fig.5a/b) discloses wherein the semiconductor body comprises a first contact region (region of ws1 under Me11) and a second contact region (region of ws1 under Me12), wherein the first contact region directly adjoins the first ring electrode (Me11) and the second contact region directly adjoins the second ring electrode (Me12), and wherein the first contact region and the second contact region are each doped with the same conductivity type as the first doped layer (middle part of ws1)
Kemmer does not particularly disclose to have a dopant concentration which is greater than a first dopant concentration of the first doped layer.
Kaneda (Fig.5) in a related art discloses a semiconductor device having a ring electrode (25; Fig.5; [0025]) wherein the first sub-region (26) has a higher dopant concentration (n+) than the first doped layer (13b/n-; [0037]).
Therefore, it would have been obvious in the art before the effective filing date of the application to have different doping type and concentration since these pn junctions serve as components of the protection diode ([0042]).
Conclusion
/HAJAR KOLAHDOUZAN/ Examiner, Art Unit 2898
/Leonard Chang/ Supervisory Patent Examiner, Art Unit 2898