DETAILED ACTION
Drawings
The drawings are objected to under 37 CFR 1.83(a). The drawings must show every feature of the invention specified in the claims. Therefore, the following must be shown or the feature(s) canceled from the claim(s). No new matter should be entered.
Control unit (claim 1)
Electrical power source (claim 1)
Claim Rejections - 35 USC § 112
Claim 6 recites the limitation “the receptacle" in line 1. There is insufficient antecedent basis for this limitation in the claim.
Claim Rejections - 35 USC § 102
Claim(s) 1, 7, and 10 are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 102a1 as being anticipated by Kessler et al., US PGPub 2021/0189631.
Regarding claim 1, Kessler et al. discloses a metering system (4) for dispensing at least one flowable preparation (332,333,349) into an interior of a washing machine (1), which system is suitable for being freely positioned within the interior of the washing machine (1) and comprises: -at least one metering device (3) and at least one container (32,33) which can be coupled to the metering device (3) for storing the at least one flowable preparation (332,333,349), wherein the metering device (3) has at least one electrical power source (required for functionality of pump, sensor unit, etc.) for operating the metering device (3), at least one metering unit (35) for dispensing a predefined quantity (see [0045]-[0048) of the at least one flowable preparation (332,333,349), at least one sensor unit (31) for monitoring the metering unit (35), and at least one control unit (36) coupled to the metering unit (35) and the sensor unit (31), and wherein the metering unit (35) has a peristaltic pump (see [0094]) for dispensing the at least one flowable preparation (332,333,349).
Regarding claim 7, Kessler et al. discloses the metering system according to claim 1, wherein the container (32,33) is suitable for the separate storage of at least two flowable preparations (332,333,349).
Regarding claim 10, Kessler et al. discloses the metering system according to claim 1, wherein the metering system (4) comprises a substantially spherical outer shell (see fig 3) which is suitable for receiving the metering device (3) and the container (32,33).
Claim Rejections - 35 USC § 103
Claim(s) 2-6 are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being unpatentable over Kessler et al. in view of Bogen, US Patent 4,645,434.
Regarding claims 2 and 5, Kessler et al. discloses the metering system according to claim 1, wherein the peristaltic pump (see [0094]) but does not explicitly disclose the common components of a peristaltic pump such as an eccentrically mounted rotary body within a receptacle and a pump hose and including a valve.
Bogen teaches a similar peristaltic pump (see fig 2) comprises a rotary body (12) which is eccentrically mounted (mounted eccentrically relative to 6) within a receptacle (1) for conveying the at least one flowable preparation through a pump hose (11). (claim 2)
wherein the rotary body (12) can be moved by the control unit into a valve position (closing of 15) for tightly sealing the peristaltic pump (fig 2). (claim 5)
It would have been obvious to one having ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date of the claimed invention to provide the pump structure described by Bogen in the system disclosed by Kessler et al. in order to employ a simple and inexpensive pump embodiment.
Regarding claim 3, Kessler et al. in view of Bogen discloses the metering system according to claim 2, wherein the control unit (36) can control the rotary body (12 – Bogen) using at least one signal transmitted by the sensor unit (31).
Regarding claim 4, Kessler et al. in view of Bogen discloses the metering system according to claim 2, wherein the sensor unit (31) has at least one Hall sensor and the rotary body has at least one magnet (see [0088]).
Regarding claim 6, Kessler et al. in view of Bogen discloses the metering system according to claim 1, wherein the receptacle (1 – Bogen) of the peristaltic pump is narrowed in places (via 15 – Bogen).
Claim(s) 8-9 is/are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being unpatentable over Kessler et al.
Regarding claims 8-9, Kessler et al. discloses the metering system according to claim 1, but does not specify that the peristaltic pump is a double head or bidirectional. It would have been obvious to one having ordinary skill in the art at the time of the effective filing date of the invention to a double head or bi-directional pump since the examiner takes Official Notice of the equivalence of the forms of peristaltic pumps for their use in the dispensing art and the selection of any of these known equivalents would be within the level of ordinary skill in the art. One having ordinary skill in the art would be motived to employ a bi-directional or double head pump in order to maintain constant volume withing the washer chamber to avoid transient vibrations during dispensing.
Conclusion
MICHAEL A. RIEGELMAN
Primary Examiner
Art Unit 3654
/MICHAEL A RIEGELMAN/Primary Examiner, Art Unit 3654