DETAILED ACTION
2. This Office Action is in response the application filed on 08/21/2024.
3. Claims 1-20 are pending, and all the pending claims are examined herein.
Claim Objections
4. Claims 1-20 are objected to because of the following informalities: since the claims are executed with a computing method, computing system and/or computing storage medium the “book” should be changed to (electronic book, eBook or digital book) . Appropriate correction is required.
Claim Rejections - 35 USC § 102
5. Claims 1-4, 11-14 and 20 are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 102(a)(1) as being anticipated by Miller et al (US 20160220903 A1).
Miller et al (“Miller”) is directed to Systems And Methods For Dynamically Creating Personalized Storybooks Based On User Interactions Within A Virtual Environment.
As per claim 1, Miller discloses a method of processing virtual resources (Abstract, a computing device receives user input to control actions of a virtual character within a virtual storybook), comprising:
determining, in response to a target interaction operation on a character-related content in a book, an interaction result of the target interaction operation, wherein the character-related content comprises a character discussion content and/or a character-related plot in the book; ([0062] FIG. 3 illustrates a sequence of three scenes in a user interaction with a virtual environment 110. In the first scene 302-1, the user's character 244 has approached a door, and may have a key that unlocks the door. While the user plays the game, the game application records the event as a first event 260-1. The event is recorded without any action by the user to trigger saving the event. In this way, the user can just enjoy the game, and the game application 222 records events as appropriate. Some implementations also allow a user 102 to trigger the recording of an event at a specific time (e.g., by clicking a designated button in the user interface)); and
allocating a character-type virtual resource to a user in the event that the interaction result satisfies a preset condition, wherein a relationship between a plurality of character-type virtual resources is determined based on a character relationship in the book, and wherein the character-type virtual resource is used for user interaction in a book community ([0065] In the second scene 302-2, the user's character 244 is approaching a hole in the ground, and the game application 222 records the event as a second event 260-2, including the image of the scene. In some implementations, the hole is assigned a name or location identifier, which is included with the event. [0066] In the third scene 302-3, the user's character 244 has a conversation with an animal, and the game application records the scene as a third event 260-3. The conversation in the third scene 302-3 is included with the recorded event 260-3).
As per claim 2, Miller further discloses that the method of claim 1, wherein determining, in response to the target interaction operation on the character-related content in the book, the interaction result of the target interaction operation comprises: determining, in response to a publishing operation on the character discussion content, a content quality value of the character discussion content; and determining, in response to a reading operation on the book, a reading time length ([0058] In some instances, an “event” may comprise a single interaction that occurs during a short period of time (e.g., a few seconds). In other instances, an “event” may represent a longer span of time (e.g., a few minutes) at a single scene. Each event includes one or more images 262, which visually depict the interaction(s). In some implementations, each event has a single associated image 262. In some implementations, an event includes one or more associated labels, which describe characters, objects, locations, or other features associated with the scene at the time the images are captured).
As per claim 3, Miller further discloses that the method of claim 2, wherein allocating the character-type virtual resource to the user in the event that the interaction result satisfies the preset condition comprises: in the event that the reading time length reaches a time length threshold and the content quality value reaches a quality threshold, allocating the character-type virtual resource of a corresponding character to the user based on the character discussion content ([0075] Each event 260 represents (520) an interaction of the virtual character 244 with the game environment. The interaction recorded may represent a short period of time (e.g., the second that the user's character reaches the peak of a mountain), or may represent a longer period of time (e.g., having a conversation with another character or the process of climbing the mountain). Each event includes (522) a respective image 262 and respective text 272 describing the respective event. In some implementations, some of the events include (524) multiple images (e.g., two or more images that are captured in quick succession or multiple images of the same scene at the same time taken from different viewpoints)).
As per claim 4, Miller further discloses that the method of claim 1, wherein determining, in response to the target interaction operation on the character-related content in the book, the interaction result of the target interaction operation comprises: determining, in response to an interaction operation on the character-related plot, a number of interactions of the interaction operation, wherein the interaction operation comprises at least one of a reading operation, a commenting operation, a tagging operation and a sharing operation ([0032] The user may indicate that the recording of events should be transformed into a commonly-used digital printable format (e.g., ePub) so that a hard copy (e.g., a book) may be created for printing or sharing with others via digital and electronic communication mechanisms. [0127] In some implementations, after a digital book is created, a user may read the book aloud and record the reading as part of the digital book. For example, a child may create a book representing the interaction with the game, narrate the book, and transmit a copy to a grandmother, who can see the images and hear the story as read by the grandchild).
As per electronic device claims 11-14, these claims are also rejected under similar citations given to the method claims 1-4, respectively.
As per non-transitory computer readable storage medium 20, the claim is also rejected under similar citations given to the method claim 1.
Allowable Subject Matter
5. Claims 5-10, and 15-19 are objected to as being dependent upon a rejected base claim, but would be allowable if rewritten in independent form including all of the limitations of the base claim and any intervening claims.
Conclusion
6. The prior art made of record and not relied upon is considered pertinent to applicant's disclosure.
US 20130104072 A1 – discloses a computer-storage media having computer executable instructions embodied thereon that, when executed on a computing device perform a method for providing an interactive electronic book, the method including providing a user interface for the interactive electronic book, the user interface including representations of pages to display on a display associated with the computing device, providing on one of the representations of the pages of the user interface a watermark icon of an interactive element to display on the display associated with the computing device, associating the watermark icon of interactive content with interactive content, the watermark icon being indicative of presence of the interactive content and a content type for the interactive content, and wherein the user interface further provides for accessing the interactive content by selecting the watermark icon of the interactive content and without navigating away from the pages on which the watermark icon is present (abstract).
Ho et al (US 11630940 B2) - In one embodiment, Ho can provide an e-book reading devices for e-books with illustrations tied to their corresponding texts, with pagination preserved, with bookmarks available, and with annotations dynamically tailored to a reader and appropriately positioned for the reader, where notes from the reader can be easily captured and shared. The e-books can be children books, text books, cookbooks, journals, newspaper and many other reading materials or consolidations of different reading materials (Summary of the Invention).
/TADESSE HAILU/Primary Examiner, Art Unit 2174