DETAILED ACTION
This non-final office action is in response to the preliminary amendment filed 2 December 2024.
Claims 2-22 are pending. Claims 2, 10, and 18 are independent claims.
Information Disclosure Statement
The information disclosure statements (IDS) submitted on 21 August 2024 and 2 April 2025 are in compliance with the provisions of 37 CFR 1.97. Accordingly, the information disclosure statement is being considered by the examiner.
Drawings
The examiner accepts the drawings filed 21 August 2024.
Claim Rejections - 35 USC § 112
Claims 9 and 17 are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 112(a) or 35 U.S.C. 112 (pre-AIA ), first paragraph, as failing to comply with the written description requirement. The claim(s) contains subject matter which was not described in the specification in such a way as to reasonably convey to one skilled in the relevant art that the inventor or a joint inventor, or for applications subject to pre-AIA 35 U.S.C. 112, the inventor(s), at the time the application was filed, had possession of the claimed invention.
In this specific instance, the present application is a continuation of US patents 11,790,163; 11,822,881; and 12,112,126; with priority to 29 April 2020. None of these patents, nor the originally filed specification, describe “wherein displaying the near-miss task is based on an hourly rate associated with the near-miss task being higher than that of at least one match for the first user (claims 9 and 17, lines 1-3).” For this reason, claims 9 and 17 fail to comply with the written description requirement.
Claims 9 and 17 rejected under 35 U.S.C. 112(a) or 35 U.S.C. 112 (pre-AIA ), first paragraph, as failing to comply with the enablement requirement. The claim(s) contains subject matter which was not described in the specification in such a way as to enable one skilled in the art to which it pertains, or with which it is most nearly connected, to make and/or use the invention.
In this specific instance, the present application is a continuation of US patents 11,790,163; 11,822,881; and 12,112,126; with priority to 29 April 2020. None of these patents, nor the originally filed specification, describe “wherein displaying the near-miss task is based on an hourly rate associated with the near-miss task being higher than that of at least one match for the first user (claims 9 and 17, lines 1-3).” For this reason, claims 9 and 17 fail to comply with the enablement requirement.
Claim Rejections - 35 USC § 101
Claims 2-22 are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 101 because the claimed invention is directed to abstract idea without significantly more.
Step 1:
According to Step 1 of the two Step analysis, claims 2-9 are directed toward a method (process). Claims 10- 17 are directed toward a system (machine). Claims 18-22 are directed toward a method (process). Therefore, each of these claims falls within one of the four statutory categories.
Claim 2:
Step 2A, Prong 1:
The claims recite:
matching tasks to users based on a set or requirements associated with each task and respective user profiles, wherein a match is between a first user and a first task (mental process; As drafted and under its broadest reasonable interpretation, this limitation covers performance of the limitation in the mind (including an observation, evaluation, judgment, opinion) or with the aid of pencil and paper but for the recitation of generic computer components. For example, this limitation encompasses an observation to match tasks to users based on requirements associated with each task and user profile)
identifying a near-miss task associated with the first user, wherein the near-miss task is a task that does not match the first user but would match but for a missing user profile criterion (mental process; As drafted and under its broadest reasonable interpretation, this limitation covers performance of the limitation in the mind (including an observation, evaluation, judgment, opinion) or with the aid of pencil and paper but for the recitation of generic computer components. For example, this limitation encompasses an evaluation to identify a near-miss task associated with a user based upon an observation that a user would match except for a missing profile criterion)
comparing… based on… a first metric indicative of the missing user profile criterion of the first user to a set of types of background certifications (mental process; As drafted and under its broadest reasonable interpretation, this limitation covers performance of the limitation in the mind (including an observation, evaluation, judgment, opinion) or with the aid of pencil and paper but for the recitation of generic computer components. For example, this limitation encompasses an evaluation to compare the missing profile criterion to background certifications)
determining… based on the comparing, whether remedying the first metric causes the near-miss task to match for the first user (mental process; As drafted and under its broadest reasonable interpretation, this limitation covers performance of the limitation in the mind (including an observation, evaluation, judgment, opinion) or with the aid of pencil and paper but for the recitation of generic computer components. For example, this limitation encompasses an evaluation to identify that remedying the first metric causes a near-miss task to become a match)
Step 2A, Prong 2:
The judicial exception is not integrated into a practical application.
The claim recites the additional elements:
executing an application
automatically… by the application
The additional elements are recited at a high-level of generality such that it amounts to no more than mere instructions to apply the exception using a generic computer component (See MPEP 2106.05(f)).
The claim recites the additional element:
monitoring the first user
As described in MPEP 2106.05(g), limitations that amount to merely adding insignificant extra-solution activity to a judicial exception do not amount to significantly more than the exception itself, and cannot integrate a judicial exception into a practical application. The additional elements of “monitoring the first user” is recited at a high level of generality and amounts to extra-solution activity of receiving data i.e. pre-solution activity of gathering data for use in the claimed process. The courts have found limitations directed to obtaining information electronically, recited at a high level of generality, to be well-understood, routine, and conventional (see MPEP 2106.05(d)(II), “receiving or transmitting data over a network”, "electronic record keeping," and "storing and retrieving information in memory").
The claim recites the additional element:
displaying the near-miss task and the missing user profile criterion to the first user via an instance of the application executing on a user interface
These limitations amount to extra solution activity because it is a mere nominal or tangential addition to the claim, amounting to mere data output (see MPEP 2106.05(g)). The courts have similarly found limitations directed to displaying a result, recited at a high level of generality, to be well-understood, routine, and conventional. See (MPEP 2106.05(d)(II), "presenting offers and gathering statistics.", “determining an estimated outcome and setting a price”)
Accordingly, at Step 2A, prong two, the additional elements individually or in combination do no integrate the judicial exception into a practical application.
Step 2B:
In accordance with Step 2B, the claim does not include additional elements that are sufficient to amount to significantly more that the judicial exception.
The claim recites the additional elements:
executing an application
automatically… by the application
The additional elements are recited at a high-level of generality such that it amounts to no more than mere instructions to apply the exception using a generic computer component (See MPEP 2106.05(f)).
The claim recites the additional element:
monitoring the first user
As described in MPEP 2106.05(g), limitations that amount to merely adding insignificant extra-solution activity to a judicial exception do not amount to significantly more than the exception itself, and cannot integrate a judicial exception into a practical application. The additional elements of “monitoring the first user” is recited at a high level of generality and amounts to extra-solution activity of receiving data i.e. pre-solution activity of gathering data for use in the claimed process. The courts have found limitations directed to obtaining information electronically, recited at a high level of generality, to be well-understood, routine, and conventional (see MPEP 2106.05(d)(II), “receiving or transmitting data over a network”, "electronic record keeping," and "storing and retrieving information in memory").
The claim recites the additional element:
displaying the near-miss task and the missing user profile criterion to the first user via an instance of the application executing on a user interface
These limitations amount to extra solution activity because it is a mere nominal or tangential addition to the claim, amounting to mere data output (see MPEP 2106.05(g)). The courts have similarly found limitations directed to displaying a result, recited at a high level of generality, to be well-understood, routine, and conventional. See (MPEP 2106.05(d)(II), "presenting offers and gathering statistics.", “determining an estimated outcome and setting a price”)
Accordingly, at Step 2B the additional elements individually or in combination do not amount to significantly more than the judicial exception.
Claim 3:
With respect to claim 3, the claim depends upon claim 2. The analysis of claim 2 is incorporated herein by reference.
Step 2A, Prong 1:
The claim recites:
identifying a type of the missing user profile criterion based on a field from which the missing user profile criterion is found in the user profile of the first user (mental process; As drafted and under its broadest reasonable interpretation, this limitation covers performance of the limitation in the mind (including an observation, evaluation, judgment, opinion) or with the aid of pencil and paper but for the recitation of generic computer components. For example, this limitation encompasses a judgement to identify a type of missing user profile criterion based on a field from which the missing user profile criterion is found)
generating a one or more recommendations that enable the near-miss task to match for the first user based on the type of the missing user profile criterion, wherein the one or more recommendations describe a user action the first user may take to cause the near-miss task to become the match for the first user (mental process; As drafted and under its broadest reasonable interpretation, this limitation covers performance of the limitation in the mind (including an observation, evaluation, judgment, opinion) or with the aid of pencil and paper but for the recitation of generic computer components. For example, this limitation encompasses an observation of generate a recommendation that enables the near-miss task to match based upon the missing profile criterion)
Step 2A, Prong 2:
The claim does not recite any additional elements considered under Step 2A, Prong 2.
Step 2B:
The claim does not recite any additional elements considered under Step 2B.
Claim 4:
With respect to claim 4, the claim depends upon claim 2. The analysis of claim 2 is incorporated herein by reference.
Step 2A, Prong 1:
The claim recites:
wherein the set types of background certification is any of: background check, drug test, or certification (mental process; As drafted and under its broadest reasonable interpretation, this limitation covers performance of the limitation in the mind (including an observation, evaluation, judgment, opinion) or with the aid of pencil and paper but for the recitation of generic computer components. For example, this limitation encompasses an evaluation to compare the missing profile criterion to background certifications, wherein the certification is a background check, drug test, or certification)
Step 2A, Prong 2:
The claim does not recite any additional elements considered under Step 2A, Prong 2.
Step 2B:
The claim does not recite any additional elements considered under Step 2B.
Claim 5:
With respect to claim 5, the claim depends upon claim 2. The analysis of claim 2 is incorporated herein by reference.
Step 2A, Prong 1:
The claim recites:
tracking tasks completed by the first user, wherein each task is associated with a set of tracked skills, and wherein completion of each task increases a counter for each tracked skill associated with the respective completed task (mental process; As drafted and under its broadest reasonable interpretation, this limitation covers performance of the limitation in the mind (including an observation, evaluation, judgment, opinion) or with the aid of pencil and paper but for the recitation of generic computer components. For example, this limitation encompasses an observation of a task completion via tracking and an evaluation of a counter to increase a tracked skill associated with the task)
reevaluation matches based on increases in the counter for each tracked skill (mental process; As drafted and under its broadest reasonable interpretation, this limitation covers performance of the limitation in the mind (including an observation, evaluation, judgment, opinion) or with the aid of pencil and paper but for the recitation of generic computer components. For example, this limitation encompasses an observation of an increase in a counter for a tracked skill and an evaluation of matches)
Step 2A, Prong 2:
The claim does not recite any additional elements considered under Step 2A, Prong 2.
Step 2B:
The claim does not recite any additional elements considered under Step 2B.
Claim 6:
With respect to claim 6, the claim depends upon claim 2. The analysis of claim 2 is incorporated herein by reference.
Step 2A, Prong 1:
The claim recites:
wherein tasks associated with the application are based on templates, and the templates include predetermine requirements including the set of types of background certifications (mental process; As drafted and under its broadest reasonable interpretation, this limitation covers performance of the limitation in the mind (including an observation, evaluation, judgment, opinion) or with the aid of pencil and paper but for the recitation of generic computer components. For example, this limitation encompasses an observation that tasks are based on templates and requirements include a set of types of background certifications)
Step 2A, Prong 2:
The claim does not recite any additional elements considered under Step 2A, Prong 2.
Step 2B:
The claim does not recite any additional elements considered under Step 2B.
Claim 7:
With respect to claim 7, the claim depends upon claim 2. The analysis of claim 2 is incorporated herein by reference.
Step 2A, Prong 1:
The claim recites the abstract idea identified with respect to claim 2.
Step 2A, Prong 2:
The judicial exception is not integrated into a practical application.
The claim recites the additional element:
wherein said displaying the near-miss task occurs on a separate application screen than displays of matches
These limitations amount to extra solution activity because it is a mere nominal or tangential addition to the claim, amounting to mere data output (see MPEP 2106.05(g)). The courts have similarly found limitations directed to displaying a result, recited at a high level of generality, to be well-understood, routine, and conventional. See (MPEP 2106.05(d)(II), "presenting offers and gathering statistics.", “determining an estimated outcome and setting a price”)
Accordingly, at Step 2A, prong two, the additional elements individually or in combination do no integrate the judicial exception into a practical application.
Step 2B:
In accordance with Step 2B, the claim does not include additional elements that are sufficient to amount to significantly more that the judicial exception.
The claim recites the additional element:
wherein said displaying the near-miss task occurs on a separate application screen than displays of matches
These limitations amount to extra solution activity because it is a mere nominal or tangential addition to the claim, amounting to mere data output (see MPEP 2106.05(g)). The courts have similarly found limitations directed to displaying a result, recited at a high level of generality, to be well-understood, routine, and conventional. See (MPEP 2106.05(d)(II), "presenting offers and gathering statistics.", “determining an estimated outcome and setting a price”)
Accordingly, at Step 2B the additional elements individually or in combination do not amount to significantly more than the judicial exception.
Claim 8:
With respect to claim 8, the claim depends upon claim 2. The analysis of claim 2 is incorporated herein by reference.
Step 2A, Prong 1:
The claim recites:
wherein the user action includes instructions describing how to obtain a necessary certification that qualifies the near-miss task to match for the user (mental process; As drafted and under its broadest reasonable interpretation, this limitation covers performance of the limitation in the mind (including an observation, evaluation, judgment, opinion) or with the aid of pencil and paper but for the recitation of generic computer components. For example, this limitation encompasses an evaluation to provide instructions on how to obtain a certification to turn a near-miss task to a match for the user)
Step 2A, Prong 2:
The claim does not recite any additional elements considered under Step 2A, Prong 2.
Step 2B:
The claim does not recite any additional elements considered under Step 2B.
Claim 9:
With respect to claim 9, the claim depends upon claim 2. The analysis of claim 2 is incorporated herein by reference.
Step 2A, Prong 1:
The claim recites the abstract idea identified with respect to claim 2.
Step 2A, Prong 2:
The judicial exception is not integrated into a practical application.
The claim recites the additional element:
wherein the displaying the near-miss task is based on an hourly rate associated with the near-miss task being higher than that of at least one match for the first user
These limitations amount to extra solution activity because it is a mere nominal or tangential addition to the claim, amounting to mere data output (see MPEP 2106.05(g)). The courts have similarly found limitations directed to displaying a result, recited at a high level of generality, to be well-understood, routine, and conventional. See (MPEP 2106.05(d)(II), "presenting offers and gathering statistics.", “determining an estimated outcome and setting a price”)
Accordingly, at Step 2A, prong two, the additional elements individually or in combination do no integrate the judicial exception into a practical application.
Step 2B:
In accordance with Step 2B, the claim does not include additional elements that are sufficient to amount to significantly more that the judicial exception.
The claim recites the additional element:
wherein the displaying the near-miss task is based on an hourly rate associated with the near-miss task being higher than that of at least one match for the first user
These limitations amount to extra solution activity because it is a mere nominal or tangential addition to the claim, amounting to mere data output (see MPEP 2106.05(g)). The courts have similarly found limitations directed to displaying a result, recited at a high level of generality, to be well-understood, routine, and conventional. See (MPEP 2106.05(d)(II), "presenting offers and gathering statistics.", “determining an estimated outcome and setting a price”)
Accordingly, at Step 2B the additional elements individually or in combination do not amount to significantly more than the judicial exception.
Claim 10:
With respect to claim 10, the claim recites the limitations substantially similar to those in claim 2. The analysis of claim 2 is incorporated herein by reference.
Step 2A, Prong 1:
The claim recites the abstract idea identified with respect to claim 2.
Step 2A, Prong 2:
The judicial exception is not integrated into a practical application.
The claim recites the additional element:
an application server including a memory including instructions that cause the application server to host an application
The additional elements are recited at a high-level of generality such that it amounts to no more than mere instructions to apply the exception using a generic computer component (See MPEP 2106.05(f)).
Accordingly, at Step 2A, prong two, the additional elements individually or in combination do no integrate the judicial exception into a practical application.
Step 2B:
In accordance with Step 2B, the claim does not include additional elements that are sufficient to amount to significantly more that the judicial exception.
The claim recites the additional element:
an application server including a memory including instructions that cause the application server to host an application
The additional elements are recited at a high-level of generality such that it amounts to no more than mere instructions to apply the exception using a generic computer component (See MPEP 2106.05(f)).
Accordingly, at Step 2B the additional elements individually or in combination do not amount to significantly more than the judicial exception.
Claims 11-17:
With respect to claims 11-17, the claims recite the limitations substantially similar to those in claims 3-9, respectively. The analysis of claims 3-9 is incorporated herein by reference.
Claim 18:
With respect to claim 18, the claim recites the limitations substantially similar to those in claims 2 and 3. The analysis of claims 2 and 3 is incorporated herein by reference.
Claims 19-22:
With respect to claims 19-22, the claims recite the limitations substantially similar to those in claims 4 and 6-8, respectively. The analysis of claims 4 and 6-8 is incorporated herein by reference.
Double Patenting
U.S. Patent No. 11,790,163 (hereafter “the 163 patent”):
Claims 1-5, 8, 10-13, 16, 18-19, and 22 are rejected on the ground of nonstatutory double patenting as being unpatentable over claims 1-3, 6, and 8 of the 163 patent. Although the claims at issue are not identical, they are not patentably distinct from each other because the claims of the present application recite an obvious variant of the 163 patent.
Present application (NOTE: bolded limitations are not disclosed by the 163 patent):
163 patent:
2.) A method of guiding an application userbase through application use comprising:
1.) A method of guiding an application userbase through application use comprising:
executing an application that matches tasks to users based on a set of requirements associated with each task and respective user profiles, wherein a match is between a first user and a first task
executing an application that matches users to tasks using a match score, the match score based on a set of requirements associated with each task and respective user profiles, wherein a match between a first user and a first task of the tasks meets a first threshold match score
identifying a near-miss task associated with the first user, wherein the near-miss task is a task that does not match the first user but would match but for a missing user profile criterion
identifying a near-miss task associated with the first user, wherein the near-miss task is a task that meets a second threshold match score but not the first threshold match score with respect to the first user, wherein the second threshold match score is lower than the first threshold match score, wherein the near-miss task includes a criterion from a user profile of the first user that when modified causes the near-miss task to become a match for the first user
comparing, by the application based on monitoring the first user, a first metric indicative of the missing user profile creation of the first user to a set of types of background certifications
comparing, by the application based on monitoring the first user, a first metric indicative of a behavior of the first user to a second metric indicative of one or more behavioral issues associated with the first user, the second metric being stored in a worker performance database (Here, the examiner interprets the first metric indicative of behavior of the first user to be analogous to “background certifications”)
automatically determining, by the application based on the comparing, whether remedying the first metric causes the near-miss task to match for the first user
automatically determining, by the application based on the comparing, whether remedying the one or more behavioral issues causes the near-miss task to become a match for the first user
displaying the near-miss task and the missing user profile criterion to the first user via an instance of the application executing on a user device.
displaying, based on the determining, one or more recommendations that enables the near-miss task to become a match for the first user.
3.) The method of claim 2, further comprising:
2.) The method of claim 1, further comprising:
identifying a type of the missing user profile criterion based on a field from which the missing user profile criterion is found in the user profile of the first user
identifying the type of the criterion based on a field from which the criterion is found in the user profile of the first user
generating a one or more recommendations that enable the near-miss task to match for the first user based on the type of the missing user profile criterion, wherein the one or more recommendations describes a user action the first user may take to cause the near-miss task to become the match for the first user.
generating, a development plan based on the type of the criterion, wherein the development plan describes a list of actions the first user may take to cause the near-miss task to become the match for the first user.
4.) The method of claim 2, wherein the set of types of background certification is any of: background check, drug test, or certification.
3.) The method of claim 2, wherein the type of criterion may be any of: skill based, preference based, certification based, or behavioral (Here, the examiner interprets certification based criterion as being analogous to the claimed “certification.” Additionally, the examiner interprets behavioral based criterion to include “background check” and/or “drug test”).
5.) The method of claim 2, further comprising:
8.) The method of claim 1, further comprising:
tracking tasks completed by the first user, wherein each task is associated with a set of tracked skills, and wherein completion of each task increases a counter for each tracked skill associated with the respective completed task
tracking tasks completed by the first user, wherein each task is associated with a set of tracked skills, and wherein completion of each task increases a counter for each tracked skill associated with the respective completed task
reevaluating matches based on increases in the counter for each tracked skill.
reevaluating matches based on increases in the counter for each tracked skill.
6.) The method of claim 2, wherein tasks associated with the application are based on templates, and the templates include predetermined requirements including the set of types of background certifications.
7.) The method of claim 2, wherein said displaying the near-miss task occurs on a separate application screen than displays of matches.
8.) The method of claim 2, wherein the user action includes instructions describing how to obtain a necessary certification that qualifies the near-miss task to match for the first user.
6.) The method of claim 2, wherein the type is certification based, the development plan includes instructions describing how to obtain a necessary certification that qualifies the near-miss task to be a match for the first user.
9.) The method of claim 2, wherein said displaying the near-miss task is based on an hourly rate associated with the near-miss task being higher than that of at least one match for the first user.
With respect to claims 10-13 and 16, the claims recite the limitations substantially similar to those in claims 2-5 and 8, respectively. Claims 10-13 and 16 are rejected under similar rationale.
Claim 9 of the 163 patent further discloses “an application server including a memory including instructions that cause the application server to host an application that matches users to tasks based on a set of requirements associated with each task and respective user profiles, wherein a match is between a first user and a first task (column 16, lines 14-21).
With respect to claim 18, the claim recites the limitations substantially similar to those in claims 2 and 3. Claim 18 is rejected under similar rationale.
With respect to claims 19 and 22, the claims recite the limitations substantially similar to those in claims 4 and 8, respectively. Claims 19 and 22 are rejected under similar rationale.
Claims 6, 14, and 20 are rejected on the ground of nonstatutory double patenting as being unpatentable over the 163 patent in view of Mercury et al. (US 2017/0277872, published 28 September 2017).
With respect to claim 6, the 163 patent discloses the limitations similar to those in claim 2, and the same rejection is incorporated herein. The 163 patent fails to specifically disclose wherein tasks associated with the application are based on templates, and the templates include predetermined requirements including the set of types of background certifications.
However, Mercury, which is analogous to the claimed invention because it is directed toward tracking credentials, discloses wherein tasks associated with the application are based on templates, and the templates include predetermined requirements including the set of types of background certifications (paragraph 0098: Here, a credential template is used for tacking user eligibility to receive certification). It would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art at the time of the applicant’s effective filing date to have combined Mercury with the 163 patent, with a reasonable expectation of success, as it would have allowed for tracking user eligibility using a template (Mercury: paragraph 0098).
With respect to claims 14 and 20, the claims recite the limitations substantially similar to those in claim 6. Claims 14 and 20 are rejected under similar rationale.
Claims 7, 15, and 21 are rejected on the ground of nonstatutory double patenting as being unpatentable over the 163 patent in view of Meyer et al. (US 6915271, published 5 July 2005, hereafter Meyer).
As per dependent claim 7, the 163 patent discloses the limitations similar to those in claim 2, and the same rejection is incorporated herein. The 163 patent fails to specifically disclose wherein said displaying the near-miss task occurs on a separate application screen than displays of matches.
However, Meyer, which is analogous to the claimed invention because it is directed toward determining match criteria and displaying based on criteria, discloses wherein said displaying the near-miss task occurs on a separate application screen than displays of matches (Figure 2, items 217, 219, and 221; column 36, line 48- column 37, line 13: Here, based upon a determination that the user meets the requirements, the incentive is displayed and clipped. Based upon a determination that additional information is required, a near-miss condition, the user is prompted with a display to provide the information). It would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art at the time of the applicant’s effective filing date to have combined Meyer with the 163 patent, with a reasonable expectation of success, as it would have allowed for providing a display prompt to correct near-miss conditions (Meyer: column 36, line 48- column 37, line 13).
With respect to claims 15 and 21, the claims recite the limitations substantially similar to those in claim 7. Claims 15 and 21 are rejected under similar rationale.
Claims 9 and 17 are rejected on the ground of nonstatutory double patenting as being unpatentable over the 163 patent in view of Kramer (US 2018/0012188, published 11 January 2018).
As per dependent claim 9, the 163 patent discloses the limitations similar to those in claim 2, and the same rejection is incorporated herein. The 163 patent fails to specifically disclose wherein said displaying the near-miss task is based on an hourly rate associated with the near-miss task being higher than that of at least one match for the first user.
However, Kramer, which is analogous to the claimed invention because it is directed toward managing a workforce, discloses wherein said displaying the task is based on an hourly rate associated with the task being higher than that of at least one match for the first user (paragraphs 0056 and 0067: Here, a freelancer may specify job preferences, such as hourly rate. The available jobs may be identified and presented to a user based upon the jobs meeting a user preferences). It would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art at the time of the applicant’s effective filing date to have combined Kramer with the 163 patent, with a reasonable expectation of success, as it would have allowed for identification and presentation of jobs that meet user preferences, including hourly rate (Kramer: Abstract).
With respect to claim 17, the claims recite the limitations substantially similar to those in claim 9. Claim 17 is rejected under similar rationale.
U.S. Patent No. 12,112,126 (hereafter “the 126 patent”):
Claims 1-5, 8, 10-13, 16, 18-19, and 22 are rejected on the ground of nonstatutory double patenting as being unpatentable over claims 1-3, 6, and 8 of the 126 patent. Although the claims at issue are not identical, they are not patentably distinct from each other because the claims of the present application recite an obvious variant of the 126 patent.
Present application (NOTE: bolded limitations are not disclosed by the 163 patent):
126 patent:
2.) A method of guiding an application userbase through application use comprising:
1.) A method of guiding an application userbase through application use comprising:
executing an application that matches tasks to users based on a set of requirements associated with each task and respective user profiles, wherein a match is between a first user and a first task
executing an application that matches users based on a set of requirements associated with each task and respective user profiles
identifying a near-miss task associated with the first user, wherein the near-miss task is a task that does not match the first user but would match but for a missing user profile criterion
identifying a near-miss task associated with a first user, wherein the near-miss task is a task that does not match the first user but would match but for a missed user profile criterion
comparing, by the application based on monitoring the first user, a first metric indicative of the missing user profile creation of the first user to a set of types of background certifications
comparing, by the application based on monitoring the first user, a first metric indicative of the missing user profile criterion of the first user to a second metric indicative of the missing user profile criterion, the second metric being stored in a worker performance database
automatically determining, by the application based on the comparing, whether remedying the first metric causes the near-miss task to match for the first user
automatically determining, by the application based on the comparing, whether remedying the second metric causes the near-miss task to match for the first user
displaying the near-miss task and the missing user profile criterion to the first user via an instance of the application executing on a user device.
displaying the near-miss task and the missing user profile criterion to the first user via an instance of the application executing on a user device.
3.) The method of claim 2, further comprising:
2.) The method of claim 1, further comprising:
identifying a type of the missing user profile criterion based on a field from which the missing user profile criterion is found in the user profile of the first user
identifying a type of the missing user profile criterion based on a field from which the missing user profile criterion is found in a user profile of the first user
generating a one or more recommendations that enable the near-miss task to match for the first user based on the type of the missing user profile criterion, wherein the one or more recommendations describes a user action the first user may take to cause the near-miss task to become the match for the first user.
generating a development plan based on the type of the missing user profile criterion, wherein the development plan describes a list of actions the first user may take to cause the near-miss to become a match for the first user.
4.) The method of claim 2, wherein the set of types of background certification is any of: background check, drug test, or certification.
3.) The method of claim 2, wherein the type of the missing user profile criterion may be any of: skill based, preference based, certification based, or behavioral.
5.) The method of claim 2, further comprising:
8.) The method of claim 1, further comprising:
tracking tasks completed by the first user, wherein each task is associated with a set of tracked skills, and wherein completion of each task increases a counter for each tracked skill associated with the respective completed task
tracking tasks completed by the first user, wherein each task is associated with a set of tracked skills, and wherein completion of each task increases a counter for each tracked skill associated with a respective completed task
reevaluating matches based on increases in the counter for each tracked skill.
reevaluating matches based on increases in the counter for each tracked skill.
6.) The method of claim 2, wherein tasks associated with the application are based on templates, and the templates include predetermined requirements including the set of types of background certifications.
7.) The method of claim 2, wherein said displaying the near-miss task occurs on a separate application screen than displays of matches.
8.) The method of claim 2, wherein the user action includes instructions describing how to obtain a necessary certification that qualifies the near-miss task to match for the first user.
6.) The method of claim 2, wherein the type is certification-based and the development plan includes instructions describing how to obtain a necessary certification that qualifies the near-miss task to match for the first user.
9.) The method of claim 2, wherein said displaying the near-miss task is based on an hourly rate associated with the near-miss task being higher than that of at least one match for the first user.
With respect to claims 10-13 and 16, the claims recite the limitations substantially similar to those in claims 2-5 and 8, respectively. Claims 10-13 and 16 are rejected under similar rationale.
Claim 9 of the 126 patent further discloses “an application server including a memory including instructions that cause the application server to host an application that matches users to tasks based on a set of requirements associated with each task and respective user profiles, wherein a match is between a first user and a first task (column 16, lines 5-10).
With respect to claim 18, the claim recites the limitations substantially similar to those in claims 2 and 3. Claim 18 is rejected under similar rationale.
With respect to claims 19 and 22, the claims recite the limitations substantially similar to those in claims 4 and 8, respectively. Claims 19 and 22 are rejected under similar rationale.
Claims 6, 14, and 20 are rejected on the ground of nonstatutory double patenting as being unpatentable over the 126 patent in view of Mercury et al. (US 2017/0277872, published 28 September 2017).
With respect to claim 6, the 126 patent discloses the limitations similar to those in claim 2, and the same rejection is incorporated herein. The 126 patent fails to specifically disclose wherein tasks associated with the application are based on templates, and the templates include predetermined requirements including the set of types of background certifications.
However, Mercury, which is analogous to the claimed invention because it is directed toward tracking credentials, discloses wherein tasks associated with the application are based on templates, and the templates include predetermined requirements including the set of types of background certifications (paragraph 0098: Here, a credential template is used for tacking user eligibility to receive certification). It would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art at the time of the applicant’s effective filing date to have combined Mercury with the 126 patent, with a reasonable expectation of success, as it would have allowed for tracking user eligibility using a template (Mercury: paragraph 0098).
With respect to claims 14 and 20, the claims recite the limitations substantially similar to those in claim 6. Claims 14 and 20 are rejected under similar rationale.
Claims 7, 15, and 21 are rejected on the ground of nonstatutory double patenting as being unpatentable over the 126 patent in view of Meyer et al. (US 6915271, published 5 July 2005, hereafter Meyer).
As per dependent claim 7, the 126 patent discloses the limitations similar to those in claim 2, and the same rejection is incorporated herein. The 126 patent fails to specifically disclose wherein said displaying the near-miss task occurs on a separate application screen than displays of matches.
However, Meyer, which is analogous to the claimed invention because it is directed toward determining match criteria and displaying based on criteria, discloses wherein said displaying the near-miss task occurs on a separate application screen than displays of matches (Figure 2, items 217, 219, and 221; column 36, line 48- column 37, line 13: Here, based upon a determination that the user meets the requirements, the incentive is displayed and clipped. Based upon a determination that additional information is required, a near-miss condition, the user is prompted with a display to provide the information). It would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art at the time of the applicant’s effective filing date to have combined Meyer with the 126 patent, with a reasonable expectation of success, as it would have allowed for providing a display prompt to correct near-miss conditions (Meyer: column 36, line 48- column 37, line 13).
With respect to claims 15 and 21, the claims recite the limitations substantially similar to those in claim 7. Claims 15 and 21 are rejected under similar rationale.
Claims 9 and 17 are rejected on the ground of nonstatutory double patenting as being unpatentable over the 126 patent in view of Kramer (US 2018/0012188, published 11 January 2018).
As per dependent claim 9, the 126 patent discloses the limitations similar to those in claim 2, and the same rejection is incorporated herein. The 126 patent fails to specifically disclose wherein said displaying the near-miss task is based on an hourly rate associated with the near-miss task being higher than that of at least one match for the first user.
However, Kramer, which is analogous to the claimed invention because it is directed toward managing a workforce, discloses wherein said displaying the task is based on an hourly rate associated with the task being higher than that of at least one match for the first user (paragraphs 0056 and 0067: Here, a freelancer may specify job preferences, such as hourly rate. The available jobs may be identified and presented to a user based upon the jobs meeting a user preferences). It would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art at the time of the applicant’s effective filing date to have combined Kramer with the 126 patent, with a reasonable expectation of success, as it would have allowed for identification and presentation of jobs that meet user preferences, including hourly rate (Kramer: Abstract).
With respect to claim 17, the claims recite the limitations substantially similar to those in claim 9. Claim 17 is rejected under similar rationale.
Claim Rejections - 35 USC § 103
Claims 2-5, 8, 10-13, 16, 18-19, and 22 are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being unpatentable over Vigeant et al. (US 2017/0300867, published 19 October 2017) and further in view of Rogynskyy et al. (US 2020/0387819, published 10 December 2020, hereafter Rogynskyy) and further in view of LaPasta et al. (US 2005/0033633, published 10 February 2005, hereafter LaPasta).
As per independent claim 2, Vigeant discloses a method of guiding an application userbase through application use comprising:
executing an application that matches tasks to users based on a set of requirements associated with each task and respective user profiles, wherein a match is between a first user and a first task (paragraph 0067), the match score based on a set of requirements associated with each task (paragraphs 0033-0045) and respective user profiles (paragraphs 0038 and 0041), wherein a match between a first user and a first task of the tasks meets a first threshold match score (paragraph 0082)
identifying a near-miss task associate with the first user, wherein the near-miss task is a task that does not match the first user but would match but for a missing user profile criterion (paragraphs 0070 and 0082)
display the near-miss task and the missing user profile criterion to the first user via an instance of the application executing on a user device (paragraphs 0070 and 0082)
Vigeant fails to specifically disclose wherein, in response to a type of the criterion being behavioral, the method further comprises:
comparing, by the application based on monitoring the first user, a first metric indicative of the missing user profile criterion of the first user to a set of types of background certifications
However, Rogynskyy, which is analogous to the claimed invention because it is directed toward monitoring job execution, discloses wherein, in response to a type of the criterion being behavioral, the method further comprises:
comparing, by the application based on monitoring the first user, a first metric indicative of the missing user profile criterion of the first user to a set of types of background certifications (paragraph 0420: Here, a repository stores a user’s behavior metrics across different time frames of their employment. This includes their performance/behavior during a ramp-up period when a user joins a company, and at a later time after the ramp-up period to determine performance based data metrics).
It would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art at the time of the applicant’s effective filing date to have combined Rogynskyy with Vigeant, with a reasonable expectation of success, as it would have allowed for monitoring a user performance across multiple time frames. This would have allowed for determining whether a user is performing better/worse at the identified metrics.
Additionally, Vigeant fails to specifically disclose automatically determining, by the application based on the comparing, whether remedying the first metric causes the near-miss task to match for the first user.
However, LaPasta, which is analogous to the claimed invention because it is directed toward evaluation candidates for jobs, discloses automatically determining, by the application based on the comparing, whether remedying the first metric causes the near-miss task to match for the first user (paragraph 0035: Here, a user’s competency areas are determined and a report is generated. An interviewing user, may then discuss these near-miss items with an interview subject to remedy a near-miss in certain issues). It would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art at the time of the applicant’s effective filing date to have combined LaPasta with Vigeant, with a reasonable expectation of success, as it would have allowed a user to correct near-miss items. This would have allowed for a user to overcome near-miss items in order to be selected for a job opportunity.
As per dependent claim 3, Vigeant discloses the method further comprising:
identifying the type of the missing user profile criterion based on a field from which the missing user profile criterion is found in the user profile of the first user (paragraphs 0041 and 0070)
generating a one or more recommendations that enables the near-miss task to match for the first user based on the type of the missing user profile criterion, wherein the one or more recommendations describes a user action the first user may take to cause the near-miss task to become the match for the first user (paragraphs 0070 and 0082)
As per dependent claim 4, Vigeant discloses wherein the set of types of the background certification is any of: background check, drug test, or certification (paragraph 0038).
As per dependent claim 5, Vigeant discloses the method further comprising:
tracking tasks completed by the first user, wherein each task is associated with a set of tracked skills, and wherein completion of each task increases a counter for each tracked skill associated with the respective completed task (paragraphs 0070 and 0082)
reevaluating matches based on increases in the counter for each tracked skill (paragraph 0082: Here, a user may modify their qualifications)
As per dependent claim 8, Vigeant discloses wherein the user action includes instructions describing how to obtain a necessary certification that qualifies the near-miss task to match for the first user (paragraphs 0070 and 0082).
With respect to claims 10-13 and 16, the claims recite the limitations substantially similar to those in claims 2-5 and 8, respectively. Claims 10-13 and 16 are rejected under similar rationale.
Vigeant further discloses an application server including a memory including instructions that cause the application server to host an application that matches users to tasks based on a set of requirements associated with each task and respective user profiles, wherein a match is between a first user and a first task (paragraphs 0033 and 0039-0040).
With respect to claim 18, the claim recites the limitations substantially similar to those in claims 2 and 3. Claim 18 is rejected under similar rationale.
With respect to claims 19 and 22, the claims recite the limitations substantially similar to those in claims 4 and 8, respectively. Claims 19 and 22 are rejected under similar rationale.
Claims 6, 14, and 20 are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being unpatentable over Vigeant, Rogynskyy, and LaPasta, and further in view of Mercury.
With respect to claim 6, the Vigeant, Rogynskyy, and LaPasta discloses the limitations similar to those in claim 2, and the same rejection is incorporated herein. Vigeant fails to specifically disclose wherein tasks associated with the application are based on templates, and the templates include predetermined requirements including the set of types of background certifications.
However, Mercury, which is analogous to the claimed invention because it is directed toward tracking credentials, discloses wherein tasks associated with the application are based on templates, and the templates include predetermined requirements including the set of types of background certifications (paragraph 0098: Here, a credential template is used for tacking user eligibility to receive certification). It would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art at the time of the applicant’s effective filing date to have combined Mercury with Vigeant-Rogynskyy-LaPasta, with a reasonable expectation of success, as it would have allowed for tracking user eligibility using a template (Mercury: paragraph 0098).
With respect to claims 14 and 20, the claims recite the limitations substantially similar to those in claim 6. Claims 14 and 20 are rejected under similar rationale.
Claims 7, 15, and 21 are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being unpatentable over Vigeant, Rogynskyy, and LaPasta, and further in view of Meyer.
As per dependent claim 7, Vigeant, Rogynskyy, and LaPasta discloses the limitations similar to those in claim 2, and the same rejection is incorporated herein. Vigeant fails to specifically disclose wherein said displaying the near-miss task occurs on a separate application screen than displays of matches.
However, Meyer, which is analogous to the claimed invention because it is directed toward determining match criteria and displaying based on criteria, discloses wherein said displaying the near-miss task occurs on a separate application screen than displays of matches (Figure 2, items 217, 219, and 221; column 36, line 48- column 37, line 13: Here, based upon a determination that the user meets the requirements, the incentive is displayed and clipped. Based upon a determination that additional information is required, a near-miss condition, the user is prompted with a display to provide the information). It would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art at the time of the applicant’s effective filing date to have combined Meyer with Vigeant-Rogynskyy-LaPasta, with a reasonable expectation of success, as it would have allowed for providing a display prompt to correct near-miss conditions (Meyer: column 36, line 48- column 37, line 13).
With respect to claims 15 and 21, the claims recite the limitations substantially similar to those in claim 7. Claims 15 and 21 are rejected under similar rationale.
Claims 9 and 17 are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being unpatentable over Vigeant, Rogynskyy, and LaPasta, and further in view of Kramer.
As per dependent claim 9, Vigeant, Rogynskyy, and LaPasta discloses the limitations similar to those in claim 2, and the same rejection is incorporated herein. Vigeant fails to specifically disclose wherein said displaying the near-miss task is based on an hourly rate associated with the near-miss task being higher than that of at least one match for the first user.
However, Kramer, which is analogous to the claimed invention because it is directed toward managing a workforce, discloses wherein said displaying the task is based on an hourly rate associated with the task being higher than that of at least one match for the first user (paragraphs 0056 and 0067: Here, a freelancer may specify job preferences, such as hourly rate. The available jobs may be identified and presented to a user based upon the jobs meeting a user preferences). It would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art at the time of the applicant’s effective filing date to have combined Kramer with Vigeant-Rogynskyy-LaPasta, with a reasonable expectation of success, as it would have allowed for identification and presentation of jobs that meet user preferences, including hourly rate (Kramer: Abstract).
With respect to claim 17, the claims recite the limitations substantially similar to those in claim 9. Claim 17 is rejected under similar rationale.
Conclusion
The prior art made of record and not relied upon is considered pertinent to applicant's disclosure:
Al Jadda et al. (US 2018/0308061): Discloses an interactive job recommendation platform that identifies candidates based upon a profile and populates an application for the employment opportunity (Abstract)
Pitts (US 2017/0308863): Discloses a job placement process that matches applicants to employers and monitors processing of participants in the process (Abstract)
/KYLE R STORK/Primary Examiner, Art Unit 2128