DETAILED ACTION
Specification
The specification has not been checked to the extent necessary to determine the presence of all possible minor errors. Applicant's cooperation is requested in correcting any errors of which applicant may become aware in the specification.
Claim Rejections - 35 USC § 112
Claims 1-4 are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 112(a) or 35 U.S.C. 112 (pre-AIA ), first paragraph, as failing to comply with the written description requirement. The claim(s) contains subject matter which was not described in the specification in such a way as to reasonably convey to one skilled in the relevant art that the inventor or a joint inventor, or for applications subject to pre-AIA 35 U.S.C. 112, the inventor(s), at the time the application was filed, had possession of the claimed invention.
Claim 1 requires “at least one additive”. There is no written description in the specification as to what additive could be added to the electroactive polymer or for what purpose. The specification provides no examples of materials or quantities needed to obtain any specific benefits that could explain or lead one with ordinary skill in the art to obtain the claimed composition. As a matter of fact, the word “additive” only appears in the abstract and in the claims.
Claim 2 requires “the layer of electro-active polymer film has a thickness of 10cm or less. The specification, as filed (11/21/24), discloses the thickness of the EAP in the range of 10mm-5mm (paragraph [0053]). The range disclosed in the specification is nowhere close to the 10cm that is recited in claim 2. For examination purposes, the examiner assumes the units of the thickness presented in the claim are a typo and should be mm or mm, as disclosed in the specification.
Claim 3 requires “the at least one additive is present in an amount sufficient to obtain the at least one layer of electro-active polymer film”. Once again, nowhere in the specification the requirements of amount or materials is found.
Claim 4 requires “a ratio of the at least one polymer to the at least one additive …”. The specification does not disclose the material used as an additive, the quantity of the additive or the ratio of the polymer to the additive.
Claim Rejections - 35 USC § 102
Claims 1-4 are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 102(a)(1) as being anticipated by Alvarez Icaza Rivera (US 2009/0085444, hereinafter Alvarez).
Regarding claim 1, Alvarez discloses a composition comprising: an electro-active polymer (EAP) film, wherein the electro-active polymer film comprises: at least one polymer; and at least one additive (paragraph 114).
Regarding claim 2, Alvarez discloses a wide range of thicknesses of about 1m-2mm. (see paragraph 0122).
Regarding claims 3 and 4, the EAP includes at least one additive as explained above. Inherently, the amount of additive and the ratio of the polymer to the additive is sufficient to obtain the electro-active polymer.
Claims 1, 3 and 4 are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 102(a)(1) as being anticipated by Smela et al. (US83383226, hereinafter Smela).
Regarding claim 1, Smela discloses a composition comprising: an electro-active polymer film (310), wherein the electroactive polymer film comprises at least one polymer and at least one additive (column 2:25-33 and column 4:47-55).
Regarding claims 3 and 4, the EAP includes at least one additive as explained above. Inherently, the amount of additive and the ratio of the polymer to the additive is sufficient to obtain the electro-active polymer.
Claims 1, 3 and 4 are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 102(a)(1) as being anticipated by Boersma (US20100148632, hereinafter Boersma).
Regarding claim 1, Boersma discloses a composition comprising: an electro-active polymer film (abstract), wherein the electroactive polymer film comprises at least one polymer and at least one additive (See paragraphs 0062-0063).
Regarding claims 3 and 4, inherently, the amount of additive and the ratio of the polymer to the additive is sufficient to obtain the electro-active polymer.
Conclusion
/J. SAN MARTIN/Primary Examiner, Art Unit 2837