Priority
Receipt is acknowledged of certified copies of papers required by 37 CFR 1.55.
Information Disclosure Statement
The information disclosure statement (IDS) submitted on 12/19/24 is in compliance with the provisions of 37 CFR 1.97. Accordingly, the information disclosure statement is being considered by the examiner.
Claim Rejections - 35 USC § 102
Claim(s) 1-20 is/are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 102(a)(1) as being anticipated by Ninglekhu (US 2023/0052699).
With regard to claim 1, Lee discloses:
A method performed by a user equipment (UE) (abstract) in a wireless communication system (para 2), the method comprising: receiving, from a base station (para 384; 114a-b), a protocol data unit (PDU) session modification command message for a modification of a PDU session (Table 3: para 124, 371; 205:The UE may receive this cause code and, depending upon its urgency or requirements, the UE may end the session with Slice A and re-attempt PDU Session Establishment Request with Slice B.) ; in case that the PDU session modification command message includes an alternative single-network slice selection assistance information (S-NSSAI) (A UE may be provided by the network with an alternative NSSAI and corresponding OFBs for each S-NSSAI thereby indicating to the UE that these S-NSSAI would have been allowed had they been requested.), setting an S-NSSAI for a PDU session establishment procedure to an S-NSSAI of the PDU session (para 312:the UE may also include the S-NSSAI of the requested slice in the RRC message, where UE wants to establish a PDU session). and transmitting, to the base station, a message for requesting a PDU session establishment for the PDU session establishment procedure, wherein the message includes the S-NSSAI of the PDU session (the UE sends a PDU Session Establishment Request to the network via RAN. In this request, the UE may also include the S-NSSAI of the requested slice in the RRC message, where UE wants to establish a PDU session).
With regard to claim 2, Ninglekhu discloses:
The method of claim 1, wherein the PDU session establishment procedure is a re-initiated UE-requested PDU session establishment procedure based on the PDU session modification command message (para 365: UE initiates general UE Registration procedure towards the AMF via RAN node. The request may include Requested NSSAI; para 13: The UE may receive this cause code and, depending upon its urgency or requirements, the UE may end the session with Slice A and re-attempt PDU Session Establishment Request with Slice B.).
With regard to claim 3 Ninglekhu discloses:
The method of claim 1, wherein the message includes an uplink (UL) non access stratum (NAS) transport message (para 24) and wherein the UL NAS transport message further includes the alternative S-NSSAI.( Two octets are added to encode uplink and downlink operating bands in the S-NSSAI Information Element (IE)).
With regard to claim 4, Ningleku discloses:
The method of claim 1, wherein the S-NSSAI of the PDU session is included in a PDU session establishment accept message (para 308 The AMF may send the UE PDU session Accept or Reject messages) received from the base station before receiving of the PDU session modification command message.
With regard to claim 5, Ninglekhu discloses:
The method of claim 1, wherein a session and service continuity (SSC) mode of the PDU session is an SSC mode 3 (table 7).
With regard to claim 6, Ninglekhu discloses:
A user equipment (UE) in a wireless communication system (abstract) , the UE comprising: a transceiver (para 400; transceiver 400) ,and a controller coupled with the transceiver and configured to: receive, from a base station, a protocol data unit (PDU) session modification command message for a modification of a PDU session (para 398) in case that the PDU session modification command message includes an alternative single-network slice selection assistance information (S-NSSAI) (A UE may be provided by the network with an alternative NSSAI and corresponding OFBs for each S-NSSAI thereby indicating to the UE that these S-NSSAI would have been allowed had they been requested.)I), set an S-NSSAI for a PDU session establishment procedure to an S-NSSAI of the PDU session, and transmit, to the base station, a message for requesting a PDU session establishment for the PDU session establishment procedure, (para 312:(Table 3: para 124, 371; 205:the UE may also include the S-NSSAI of the requested slice in the RRC message, where UE wants to establish a PDU session).wherein the message includes the S-NSSAI of the PDU session ( the UE sends a PDU Session Establishment Request to the network via RAN. In this request, the UE may also include the S-NSSAI of the requested slice in the RRC message, where UE wants to establish a PDU session).
With regard to claim 7, Ninglekhu discloses:
The UE of claim 6, wherein the PDU session establishment procedure is a re-initiated UE-requested PDU session establishment procedure based on the PDU session modification command message ((; para 13: The UE may receive this cause code and, depending upon its urgency or requirements, the UE may end the session with Slice A and re-attempt PDU Session Establishment Request with Slice B.).
With regard to claim 8, Ninglekhu discloses:
The UE of claim 6, wherein the message includes an uplink (UL) (454 Fig. 4) non access stratum (NAS) transport message (para 24), and wherein the UL NAS transport message further includes the alternative S-NSSAI. (Two octets are added to encode uplink and downlink operating bands in the S-NSSAI Information Element (IE)).
With regard to claim 9, Ninglekhu discloses:
The UE of claim 6, wherein the S-NSSAI of the PDU session is included in a PDU session establishment accept message (para 308 The AMF may send the UE PDU session Accept or Reject messages) received from the base station before receiving of the PDU session modification command message.
With regard to claim 10, Ninglekhu discloses:
The UE of claim 6, wherein a session and service continuity (SSC) mode of the PDU session is an SSC mode 3 (table 7).
With regard to claim 11, Ninglekhu discloses:
A method performed by a base station in a wireless communication system ( abstract), the method comprising: transmitting, to a user equipment (UE),(abstract) a protocol data unit (PDU) session modification command message for a modification of a PDU session (para 398); and receiving, from the UE (para 421) a message for requesting a PDU session establishment for a PDU session establishment procedure, (para 312:the UE may also include the S-NSSAI of the request) wherein, in case that the PDU session modification command message includes an alternative single-network slice selection assistance information (S-NSSAI), (para 365: UE initiates general UE Registration procedure towards the AMF via RAN node. The request may include Requested NSSAI) an S-NSSAI for the PDU session establishment procedure is based on an S-NSSAI of the PDU session, and wherein the message includes the S-NSSAI of the PDU session, wherein the message includes the S-NSSAI of the PDU session (the UE sends a PDU Session Establishment Request to the network via RAN. In this request, the UE may also include the S-NSSAI of the requested slice in the RRC message, where UE wants to establish a PDU session).
With regard to claim 12, Ninglekhu discloses:
The method of claim 11, wherein the PDU session establishment procedure is a re-initiated UE-requested PDU session establishment procedure based on the PDU session modification command message (para 13: The UE may receive this cause code and, depending upon its urgency or requirements, the UE may end the session with Slice A and re-attempt PDU Session Establishment Request with Slice B.).
With regard to claim 13, Ninglekhu discloses
The method of claim 11, wherein the message includes an uplink (UL) non access stratum (NAS) transport message (para 24), and wherein the UL NAS transport message further includes the alternative S-NSSAI. (Two octets are added to encode uplink and downlink operating bands in the S-NSSAI Information Element (IE)).
With regard to claim 14, Ninglekhu discloses
The method of claim 11, wherein the S-NSSAI of the PDU session is included in a PDU session establishment accept message (para 308 The AMF may send the UE PDU session Accept or Reject messages) transmitted to the UE before transmitting of the PDU session modification command message.
With regard to claim 15, Ninglekhu discloses
The method of claim 11, wherein a session and service continuity (SSC) mode of the PDU session is an SSC mode 3 (Table 7).
With regard to claim 16, Ninglekhu discloses
A base station in a wireless communication system (abstract), the base station comprising: a transceiver; (The AMF includes a transceiver, and at least one processor configured to select a policy control function (PCF) for a replacement of DNN, based on a received registration request message from a user equipment (UE) and a controller coupled with the transceiver and configured to: transmit, to a user equipment (UE), a protocol data unit (PDU) session modification command message for a modification of a PDU session, (para 398), and receive, from the UE, a message for requesting a PDU session establishment for a PDU session establishment procedure, (para 312:the UE may also include the S-NSSAI of the request) wherein, in case that the PDU session modification command message includes an alternative single-network slice selection assistance information (S-NSSAI), (para 365: UE initiates general UE Registration procedure towards the AMF via RAN node. The request may include Requested NSSAI) an S-NSSAI for the PDU session establishment procedure is based on an S-NSSAI of the PDU session, and wherein the message includes the S-NSSAI of the PDU session. (para 14: a protocol data unit (PDU) session establishment request message including single NSSAI (S-NSSAI) for a PDU session and a UE requested DNN, and determine to perform a replacement of the UE requested DNN, based on the first list information).
With regard to claim 17, Ninglekhu discloses
The base station of claim 16, wherein the PDU session establishment procedure is a re-initiated UE-requested PDU session establishment procedure based on the PDU session modification command message (para 365: UE initiates general UE Registration procedure towards the AMF via RAN node. The request may include Requested NSSAI; para 13: The UE may receive this cause code and, depending upon its urgency or requirements, the UE may end the session with Slice A and re-attempt PDU Session Establishment Request with Slice B.).
With regard to claim 18, Ninglekhu discloses
The base station of claim 16, wherein the message includes an uplink (UL) (454 Fig. 4) non access stratum (NAS) transport message (para 24) , and wherein the UL NAS transport message further includes the alternative S-NSSAI ((Two octets are added to encode uplink and downlink operating bands in the S-NSSAI Information Element (IE)).
With regard to claim 19, Ninglekhu discloses
The base station of claim 16, wherein the S-NSSAI of the PDU session is included in a PDU session establishment accept message (para 308 The AMF may send the UE PDU session Accept or Reject messages) transmitted to the UE before transmitting of the PDU session modification command message.
With regard to claim 20, Ninglekhu discloses
The base station of claim 16, wherein a session and service continuity (SSC) mode of the PDU session is an SSC mode 3 (table 7).
Conclusion
The prior art made of record and not relied upon is considered pertinent to applicant's disclosure. Suh (US 2024/0276286), Lee (US 2020/0396678) discloses network slice in wireless communication system.
Any inquiry concerning this communication or earlier communications from the examiner should be directed to PEGUY JEAN PIERRE whose telephone number is (571) 272-1803. The examiner can normally be reached from 8:00-6:30 PM Monday-Thursday. The examiner’s fax phone number is (571) 273-1803. The Examiner email address is peguy.jeanpierre@uspto.gov. If attempts to reach the Examiner are unsuccessful, the Examiner’s supervisor Dameon E. Levi can be reached at (571) 272-2105.
/PEGUY JEAN PIERRE/Primary Examiner, Art Unit 2845