DETAILED ACTION
Information Disclosure Statement
The information disclosure statement (IDS) submitted on 08/21/2024 is in compliance with the provisions of 37 CFR 1.97. Accordingly, the information disclosure statement is being considered by the examiner.
Double Patenting
Effective January 1, 1994, a registered attorney or agent of record may sign a terminal disclaimer. A terminal disclaimer signed by the assignee must fully comply with 37 CFR 3.73(b).
Claims 1-21 are rejected on the ground of nonstatutory obviousness-type double patenting as being unpatentable with respect to claims 21-25 and 29-36 of US Patent 12,107,618. Although the conflicting claims are not identical, they are not patentably distinct from each other because all the claimed limitations recited in the present application are transparently found in US Patent 12,107,618 with obvious wording variations. Take an example of comparing claim 1 of pending application and claim 12 of US Patent 12,107,618:
Pending Application 17/097,944
US Patent 12,107,618
a radio frequency circuit comprising
a wireless device comprising…a switching circuit including
a plurality of filters including a first filter having a passband in a first wireless wide area network band adjacent to a wireless local area network band, the wireless local area network band including a first region adjacent to the first wireless wide area network band and a second region spaced from the first wireless wide area network band by at least a portion of the first region
a first filter configured to filter first radio frequency signals in a first frequency band that is a first cellular band (analogous to first WAN band) adjacent to a second frequency band (a Wi-Fi band which is analogous to a WLAN band), the second frequency band including a first Wi-Fi region adjacent to the first frequency band and a second Wi-Fi region, the second Wi-Fi region spaced from the first frequency band by at least a portion of the first Wi-Fi region
a second filter having a passband in the second region
a second filter configured to filter the second Wi-Fi region
a third filter having a passband in a second wireless wide area network band adjacent to the second region and spaced from the first region by at least a portion of the second region, and a fourth filter having a passband in the first region
a third filter configured to filter third radio frequency signals in a third frequency band that is a second cellular band adjacent to the second Wi-Fi region and spaced from the first Wi-Fi region by at least a portion of the second Wi-Fi region
a fourth filter having a passband in the first region
a fourth filter configured to filter fourth radio frequency signals in the first Wi-Fi region
a plurality of switches configurable in at least either of 1) a first mode where a common wireless wide area network/wireless local area network antenna is connected with the first filter and the second filter, or
2) a second mode where the antenna is connected with the third filter and the fourth filter
a plurality of switches configured to concurrently route the radio frequency signals from the antenna in either of 1) a first mode through the first and second filters to concurrently pass signal content in the first cellular band and the second Wi-Fi region… or 2) a second module through the third and fourth filters
However, US 12,107,618 does not explicitly disclose the first, second, third, and fourth filter having a passband in a respective region.
However, in a similar field of endeavor, Lane teaches the first, second, third, and fourth filter having a passband in a respective region [Lane ¶ 0041, Fig. 5A: each filter, e.g., full band 40 filter, narrow band 40 filter, full band 41 filter, and narrow band 41 filter (see ¶ 0053), may be designed to pass signals within its frequency band and to attenuate signals outside its frequency band].
It would have been obvious to a person having ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date of the claimed invention to combine the WAN/WLAN filtering operation as disclosed by US 12,107,618 with the passband filter design for WAN/WLAN co-existence as taught by Lan. The motivation to combine these references would be to improve performance of simultaneous communication with multiple wireless networks [Lane ¶ 0006].
Take an example of comparing claim 12 of pending application and claim 8 of US Patent 12,107,618:
Pending Application 17/097,944
US Patent 12,107,618
a method of operating a radio frequency circuit, the method comprising
a method of operating a switching circuit, the method comprising
in response to first instructions, using a control circuit to set a plurality of switches in a first mode in which a common wireless wide area network/wireless local area network antenna is connected to receiver circuitry through i) a first filter having a passband in a first wireless wide area network band adjacent to a wireless local area network band, the wireless local area network band including a first region adjacent to the first wireless wide area network band and a second region spaced from the first wireless wide area network band by at least a portion of the first region, and
concurrently routing signals in a first mode from a common cellular/wireless local area network antenna to receiver circuitry through i) a first filter, the first filter being configured to filter a first frequency band that is a first cellular band adjacent to a second frequency band that includes a first Wi-Fi region adjacent to the first frequency band and a second Wi-Fi region, the second Wi-Fi region spaced from the first frequency band by at least a portion of the first Wi-Fi region, and
through ii) a second filter having a passband in the second region
ii) through a second filter, the second filter being configured to filter the second Wi-Fi region
in response to second instructions, using the control circuit to set the plurality of switches in a second mode in which the antenna is connected to the receiver circuitry through i) a third filter having a passband in a second wireless wide area network band adjacent to the second region and spaced from the first region by at least a portion of the second region, and
concurrently routing the signals in a second mode from the antenna to the receiver circuitry through i) a third filter configured to filter a third frequency band that is a second cellular band adjacent to the second Wi-Fi region and spaced from the first Wi-Fi region by at least a portion of the second Wi-Fi region, and
through ii) a fourth filter having a passband in the first region
through a fourth filter configured to filter the first Wi-Fi region
However, US 12,107,618 does not explicitly disclose the first, second, third, and fourth filter having a passband in a respective region.
However, in a similar field of endeavor, Lane teaches the first, second, third, and fourth filter having a passband in a respective region [Lane ¶ 0041, Fig. 5A: each filter, e.g., full band 40 filter, narrow band 40 filter, full band 41 filter, and narrow band 41 filter (see ¶ 0053), may be designed to pass signals within its frequency band and to attenuate signals outside its frequency band].
It would have been obvious to a person having ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date of the claimed invention to combine the WAN/WLAN filtering operation as disclosed by US 12,107,618 with the passband filter design for WAN/WLAN co-existence as taught by Lan. The motivation to combine these references would be to improve performance of simultaneous communication with multiple wireless networks [Lane ¶ 0006].
Take an example of comparing claim 17 of pending application and claim 12 of US Patent 12,107,618:
Pending Application 17/097,944
US Patent 12,107,618
A wireless device comprising
A wireless device comprising
a common wireless wide area network/wireless local area network antenna
a common cellular/wireless local area network antenna configured to receive and transmit radio frequency signals
a plurality of filters including a first filter having a passband in a first wireless wide area network band adjacent to a wireless local area network band, the wireless local area network band including a first region adjacent to the first wireless wide area network band and a second region spaced from the first wireless wide area network band by at least a portion of the first region
a switching circuit including a first filter configured to filter a first frequency band that is a first cellular band adjacent to a second frequency band, the second frequency band having a first Wi-Fi region adjacent to the first frequency band and a second Wi-Fi region spaced from the first frequency band by at least a portion of the first Wi-Fi region
a second filter having a passband in the second region
a second filter configured to filter the second Wi-Fi region
a third filter having a passband in a second wireless wide area network band adjacent to the second region and spaced from the first region by at least a portion of the second region
a third filter configured to filter third radio frequency signals in a third frequency band that is a second cellular band adjacent to the second Wi-Fi region and spaced from the first Wi-Fi region by at least a portion of the second Wi-Fi region
a fourth filter having a passband in the first region
a fourth filter configured to filter fourth radio frequency signals in the first Wi-Fi region
a plurality of switches configurable in at least either of 1) a first mode where the antenna is connected with the first and second filters, or
a plurality of switches configured to concurrently route the radio frequency signals from the antenna in either of 1) a first mode through the first and second filters to concurrently pass signal content in the first cellular band and the second Wi-Fi region
2) a second mode where the antenna is connected with the third and fourth filters
2) a second module through the third and fourth filters to concurrently pass signal content in the second cellular band and the first Wi-Fi region
However, US 12,107,618 does not explicitly disclose the first, second, third, and fourth filter having a passband in a respective region.
However, in a similar field of endeavor, Lane (US 2013/0225107 A1) teaches the first, second, third, and fourth filter having a passband in a respective region [Lane ¶ 0041, Fig. 5A: each filter, e.g., full band 40 filter, narrow band 40 filter, full band 41 filter, and narrow band 41 filter (see ¶ 0053), may be designed to pass signals within its frequency band and to attenuate signals outside its frequency band].
It would have been obvious to a person having ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date of the claimed invention to combine the WAN/WLAN filtering operation as disclosed by US 12,107,618 with the passband filter design for WAN/WLAN co-existence as taught by Lan. The motivation to combine these references would be to improve performance of simultaneous communication with multiple wireless networks [Lane ¶ 0006].
Claim Rejections - 35 USC § 103
Claim(s) 2-21 is/are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being unpatentable over Lane et al. (US 2013/0225107 A1; cited in Applicant’s IDS submitted 08/21/2024; “Lane”) in view of Linsky (US 2012/0129457 A1; “Linsky”) in view of Tudosoiu (US 2009/0180403 A1; cited in Applicant’s IDS submitted 08/21/2024; “Tudosoiu”).
Regarding claim 2, Lane teaches a radio frequency circuit comprising:
a plurality of filters including a first filter having a passband in a first wireless wide area network band adjacent to a wireless local area network band, the wireless local area network band including a first region adjacent to the first wireless wide area network band [Lane ¶ 0045: narrow Band 40 filter 544 may attenuate signals in the IMS band; ¶ 0051: narrow Band 40 filter 544 is selected when there is co-existence with the WLAN in Band 40 and the WLAN in the IMS band (here, narrow Band 40 filter passes Band 40, i.e., first WWAN); Fig. 4B shows narrow Band 40 filter passing portion of Band 40 (i.e. WWAN band) which is adjacent to IMS Band],
a third filter having a passband in a second wireless wide area network band adjacent to the WLAN band [Lane ¶ 0053: a narrow Band 41 filter having a more narrow bandwidth from 2520 to 2690 MHz located prior to a power amplifier; see also ¶ 0041, Fig. 5B: Filter 576 covers Band X, which may be Band 38, Band 41]; and
a plurality of switches [Lane FIG. 5b, switch 561] configurable in at least either of 1) a first mode where an antenna is connected with the first filter, or 2) a second mode where the antenna is connected with the third filter [Lane ¶ 0053: Band 41 filter is used when interference needs to be reduced between Band 41 and IMS; see also ¶ 0052, Table 1: Band “X” filter is selected for WWAN in a certain band of interest, e.g., Band X filter used when WWAN is in Band X; here, a Band filter for a first WWAN region or a second WWAN region may be selected based on which WWAN band is in use which is analogous to the selection between a first filter and third filter].
However, Lane does not explicitly disclose a second (WLAN) region spaced from the first wireless wide area network band by at least a portion of the first region; a second filter having a passband in the second region, a second wireless wide area network band adjacent to the second region and spaced from the first region by at least a portion of the second region; a fourth filter having a passband in the first region; a plurality of switches configurable in at least either of 1) a first mode where a common wireless wide area network/wireless local area network antenna is connected with the second filter, or 2) a second mode where the antenna is connected with the fourth filter.
However, in a similar field of endeavor, Linsky teaches a second (WLAN) region spaced from the first wireless wide area network band by at least a portion of the first region; a second filter having a passband in the second region, a second wireless wide area network band adjacent to the second region and spaced from the first region by at least a portion of the second region; a fourth filter having a passband in the first region [Linsky ¶¶ 0090-0091: a low tuned 100 MHz IMS (i.e. second filter passing low channels/second region) and a high tuned 100 MHz IMS band filter (i.e. fourth filter passing high channels); here, the IMS band is separated into a low region, i.e., first WLAN region, and adjacent high region, i.e., second WLAN region, with respective filters; see also Fig. 10: Band 40 (first WWAN band) is adjacent to IMS (WLAN band) having a low portion (first region) and high portion (second region), the lower portion being adjacent to Band 40, the upper portion adjacent to Band 7 (second WWAN band)];
a plurality of switches configurable in at least either of 1) a first mode where an antenna is connected with the first filter and the second filter, or 2) a second mode where the antenna is connected with the third filter and the fourth filter [Linsky ¶ 0075: UE may utilize multiple filter configurations to reduce or minimize interference between events on the ISM band and events on adjacent LTE Band 7 or LTE Band 40; ¶ 0094: UE may also comprise means for selecting between the first filter configuration and second filter configuration to reduce interference with a second frequency band, the second frequency band proximate to the first frequency band; When LTE is enabled using band (B) 7, the filter is nominally in state 2 (high), as shown with filter 1114. When LTE is enabled in B40, the filter is nominally in state 3 (low), as shown with filter 1112 (here, a filter is selected, e.g., high filter for Band 7 co-existence and low filter for Band 40 co-existence)].
It would have been obvious to a person having ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date of the claimed invention to combine the method of selecting filters for WWAN bands of interest to achieve WWAN/WLAN co-existence as taught by Lane, with the method of providing high region filter and low region filter of an IMS band to achieve co-existence at either end of the IMS band as taught by Linsky. The motivation to combine these references would be to improve WLAN/WWAN coexistence [Linsky ¶¶ 0009-0010].
However, Lane in view of Linksy does not explicitly disclose where a common wireless wide area network/wireless local area network antenna is connected with the filters.
However, in a similar field of endeavor, Tudosoiu teaches where a common wireless wide area network/wireless local area network antenna is connected with the filters [Tudosoiu ¶ 0054: a front-end module may be coupled between an antenna and a multi-mode transceiver to provide coupling between of signals of a character corresponding to respective bands and standards (i.e. a common cellular/wireless local area network); 0056: the same antenna is used for all communication standards and all frequency bands].
It would have been obvious to a person having ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date of the claimed invention to combine the method of selecting filters for bands of interest to achieve WWAN/WLAN co-existence as taught by Lane with the system having a common cellular/wireless local area network as taught by Tudosoiu. The motivation to combine these references would be to improve Wi-Fi/Cellular co-existence [Tudosoiu ¶ 0004].
Regarding claim 3, Lane in view of Linsky in view of Tudosoiu teaches the radio frequency circuit of claim 2 wherein radio frequency signals communicated, in the first mode, between the antenna and the first and second filters, and, in the second mode, between the antenna and the third and fourth filters, are one or more of time division duplex signals and frequency division duplex signals [Lane ¶¶ 0025 – 0029: an LTE network may support Band 38 from 2570 to 2620 MHz for time division duplexing (TDD), Band 40 from 2300 to 2400 MHz for TDD, Band 41 from 2496 to 2690 MHz for TDD, and/or other bands].
Regarding claim 4, Lane in view of Linsky in view of Tudosoiu teaches the radio frequency circuit of claim 2, however, Lane does not explicitly disclose wherein the first region and the second region partially overlap.
However, Linsky teaches wherein the first region and the second region partially overlap [Linsky ¶¶ 0090-0091: the low region includes, e.g., channels 9 and lower, high region includes, e.g., channels 4 and higher (i.e. the regions overlap)].
The motivation to combine these references is illustrated in the rejection of claim 2 above.
Regarding claim 5, Lane in view of Linsky in view of Tudosoiu teaches the radio frequency circuit of claim 4, however, Lane does not explicitly disclose wherein the first region and the second region partially overlap over a frequency range of approximately 20 MHz.
However, Linsky teaches wherein the first region and the second region partially overlap over a frequency range of approximately 20 MHz [Linsky ¶¶ 0090-0091: the low region includes, e.g., channels 9 and lower, high region includes, e.g., channels 4 and higher (i.e. the regions overlap); here, an example is given where the low region and high region overlap for a number of channels (i.e., 20MHz range); ¶ 0087: a filter cutoff might shift left, right, or expand/contract (i.e. the overlapping channels may be increased or reduced which implies an overlap of 1 channel (20MHz))].
The motivation to combine these references is illustrated in the rejection of claim 2 above.
Regarding claim 6, Lane in view of Linsky in view of Tudosoiu teaches the radio frequency circuit of claim 4, however, Lane does not explicitly disclose wherein the first region and the second region partially overlap over a frequency range of approximately 40 MHz.
However, Linsky teaches wherein the first region and the second region partially overlap over a frequency range of approximately 40 MHz [Linsky ¶¶ 0090-0091: the low region includes, e.g., channels 9 and lower, high region includes, e.g., channels 4 and higher (i.e. the regions overlap); here, an example is given where the low region and high region overlap for a number of channels (i.e., 20MHz range); ¶ 0087: a filter cutoff might shift left, right, or expand/contract (i.e. the overlapping channels may be increased or reduced which implies an overlap of 2 channels (40MHz))].
The motivation to combine these references is illustrated in the rejection of claim 2 above.
Regarding claim 7, Lane in view of Linsky in view of Tudosoiu teaches the radio frequency circuit of claim 2 wherein the first filter, the second filter, the third filter, and the fourth filter include at least one surface acoustic wave filter or at least one a bulk acoustic wave filter [Lane ¶ 0040: the filters may be implemented with SAW filters, ceramic filters, MEMS filters, etc.].
Regarding claim 8, Lane in view of Linsky in view of Tudosoiu teaches the radio frequency circuit of claim 2 further comprising a control circuit [Lane ¶ 0024: a data processor/controller may be implemented on one or more application specific integrated circuits (ASICs) and/or other ICs] configured to set a current mode of the plurality of switches [Lane ¶ 0050: one or more other output signal paths may each include a filter and an associated switch, where the one of the output signal paths may be selected at any given moment by controlling switches].
Regarding claim 9, Lane in view of Linsky in view of Tudosoiu teaches the radio frequency circuit of claim 2, however, Lane does not explicitly disclose wherein there is a gap between the first wireless wide area network band and the first region of the wireless local area network band.
However, Linsky teaches wherein there is a gap between the first wireless wide area network band and the first region of the wireless local area network band [Linksy Fig. 10 shows a gap between the upper IMS (BT) band (i.e. first region of WLAN band) and Band 7 (i.e. first WWAN band)].
The motivation to combine these references is illustrated in the rejection of claim 2 above.
Regarding claim 10, Lane in view of Linsky in view of Tudosoiu teaches the radio frequency circuit of claim 9, however, Lane does not explicitly disclose wherein there is a gap between the second wireless wide area network band and the second region of the wireless local area network band.
However, Lane teaches wherein there is a gap between the second wireless wide area network band and the second region of the wireless local area network band [Linsky ¶ 0084: 60 MHz filter creates separation between band 7 and band 40, thereby artificially creating high and low gap bands (here, the filter design would create gaps between the IMS band and upper and lower WWAN bands, e.g., Band 7 and Band 40, respectively)].
Regarding claim 11, Lane in view of Linsky in view of Tudosoiu teaches the radio frequency circuit of claim 2, wherein the plurality of filters further comprises a fifth filter having a passband in a third wireless wide area network band adjacent to the second region and spaced from the first region by at least a portion of the second region [Lane ¶¶ 0025 – 0029: an LTE network may support Band 38 from 2570 to 2620 MHz for time division duplexing (TDD), Band 40 from 2300 to 2400 MHz for TDD, Band 41 from 2496 to 2690 MHz for TDD, and/or other bands; here, Band 41 (correlating to a third filter) and Band 38 (correlating to a fifth filter) would both be adjacent to a WLAN region (e.g., a high region)],
the plurality of switches configurable in at least any of 1) a first mode where antenna is connected with the first filter, 2) a second mode where the antenna is connected with the third filter, or 3) a third mode where the antenna is connected with the fifth filter [Lane ¶ 0053: Band 41 filter is used when interference needs to be reduced between Band 41 and IMS; see also ¶ 0052, Table 1: Band “X” filter is selected for WWAN in a certain band of interest, e.g., Band X filter used when WWAN is in Band X; here, a Band filter for a first WWAN region or a second WWAN region may be selected based on which WWAN band is in use which is analogous to the selection between a first filter, third filter, and fifth filter].
However, Lane does not explicitly disclose the plurality of switches configurable in at least any of 1) a first mode where antenna is connected with the second filter, 2) a second mode where the antenna is connected with the fourth filter, or 3) a third mode where the antenna is connected with the fourth filter.
However, Linsky teaches the plurality of switches configurable in at least any of 1) a first mode where antenna is connected with the second filter, 2) a second mode where the antenna is connected with the fourth filter, or 3) a third mode where the antenna is connected with the fourth filter [Linsky ¶ 0075: UE may utilize multiple filter configurations to reduce or minimize interference between events on the ISM band and events on adjacent LTE Band 7 or LTE Band 40; ¶ 0094: UE may also comprise means for selecting between the first filter configuration and second filter configuration to reduce interference with a second frequency band, the second frequency band proximate to the first frequency band; When LTE is enabled using band (B) 7, the filter is nominally in state 2 (high), as shown with filter 1114. When LTE is enabled in B40, the filter is nominally in state 3 (low), as shown with filter 1112 (here, a filter is selected, e.g., high filter for Band 7 co-existence and low filter for Band 40 co-existence)].
The motivation to combine these references is illustrated in the rejection of claim 2 above.
Regarding claim 12, Lane teaches a method of operating a radio frequency circuit, the method comprising:
in response to first instructions, using a control circuit to set a plurality of switches [Lane FIG. 5b, switch 561] in a first mode in which an antenna is connected to receiver circuitry through i) a first filter having a passband in a first wireless wide area network band adjacent to a wireless local area network band, the wireless local area network band including a first region adjacent to the first wireless wide area network band [Lane ¶ 0045: narrow Band 40 filter 544 may attenuate signals in the IMS band; ¶ 0051: narrow Band 40 filter 544 is selected when there is co-existence with the WLAN in Band 40 and the WLAN in the IMS band (here, narrow Band 40 filter passes Band 40, i.e., first WWAN); Fig. 4B shows narrow Band 40 filter passing portion of Band 40 (i.e. WWAN band) which is adjacent to IMS Band; ¶ 0053: Band 41 filter is used when interference needs to be reduced between Band 41 and IMS; see also ¶ 0052, Table 1: Band “X” filter is selected for WWAN in a certain band of interest, e.g., Band X filter used when WWAN is in Band X; here, a Band filter for a first WWAN region or a second WWAN region may be selected based on which WWAN band is in use which is analogous to the selection between a first filter and third filter];
using the control circuit to set the plurality of switches in a second mode in which the antenna is connected to the receiver circuitry through i) a third filter having a passband in a second wireless wide area network band adjacent to the WLAN band [Lane ¶ 0053: a narrow Band 41 filter having a more narrow bandwidth from 2520 to 2690 MHz located prior to a power amplifier; see also ¶ 0041, Fig. 5B: Filter 576 covers Band X, which may be Band 38, Band 41; ¶ 0053: Band 41 filter is used when interference needs to be reduced between Band 41 and IMS; see also ¶ 0052, Table 1: Band “X” filter is selected for WWAN in a certain band of interest, e.g., Band X filter used when WWAN is in Band X; here, a Band filter for a first WWAN region or a second WWAN region may be selected based on which WWAN band is in use which is analogous to the selection between a first filter and third filter].
However, Lane does not explicitly disclose a second (WLAN) region spaced from the first wireless wide area network band by at least a portion of the first region, a second WWAN band adjacent to the second (WLAN) region and spaced from the first region by at least a portion of the second region; and an antenna is connected to receiver circuitry through ii) a second filter having a passband in the second region and ii) a fourth filter having a passband in the first region.
However, in a similar field of endeavor, Linsky teaches a second (WLAN) region spaced from the first wireless wide area network band by at least a portion of the first region, a second WWAN band adjacent to the second (WLAN) region and spaced from the first region by at least a portion of the second region; and an antenna is connected to receiver circuitry through ii) a second filter having a passband in the second region and ii) a fourth filter having a passband in the first region [Linsky ¶¶ 0090-0091: a low tuned 100 MHz IMS (i.e. second filter passing low channels/second region) and a high tuned 100 MHz IMS band filter (i.e. fourth filter passing high channels); here, the IMS band is separated into a low region, i.e., first WLAN region, and adjacent high region, i.e., second WLAN region, with respective filters; see also Fig. 10: Band 40 (first WWAN band) is adjacent to IMS (WLAN band) having a low portion (first region) and high portion (second region), the lower portion being adjacent to Band 40, the upper portion adjacent to Band 7 (second WWAN band); ¶ 0075: UE may utilize multiple filter configurations to reduce or minimize interference between events on the ISM band and events on adjacent LTE Band 7 or LTE Band 40; ¶ 0094: UE may also comprise means for selecting between the first filter configuration and second filter configuration to reduce interference with a second frequency band, the second frequency band proximate to the first frequency band; When LTE is enabled using band (B) 7, the filter is nominally in state 2 (high), as shown with filter 1114. When LTE is enabled in B40, the filter is nominally in state 3 (low), as shown with filter 1112 (here, a filter is selected, e.g., high filter for Band 7 co-existence and low filter for Band 40 co-existence)].
It would have been obvious to a person having ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date of the claimed invention to combine the method of selecting filters for WWAN bands of interest to achieve WWAN/WLAN co-existence as taught by Lane, with the method of providing high region filter and low region filter of an IMS band to achieve co-existence at either end of the IMS band as taught by Linsky. The motivation to combine these references would be to improve WLAN/WWAN coexistence [Linsky ¶¶ 0009-0010].
However, Lane in view of Linksy does not explicitly disclose where a common wireless wide area network/wireless local area network antenna is connected with the filters.
However, in a similar field of endeavor, Tudosoiu teaches where a common wireless wide area network/wireless local area network antenna is connected with the filters [Tudosoiu ¶ 0054: a front-end module may be coupled between an antenna and a multi-mode transceiver to provide coupling between of signals of a character corresponding to respective bands and standards (i.e. a common cellular/wireless local area network); 0056: the same antenna is used for all communication standards and all frequency bands].
It would have been obvious to a person having ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date of the claimed invention to combine the method of selecting filters for bands of interest to achieve WWAN/WLAN co-existence as taught by Lane with the system having a common cellular/wireless local area network as taught by Tudosoiu. The motivation to combine these references would be to improve Wi-Fi/Cellular co-existence [Tudosoiu ¶ 0004].
Regarding claim 13, Lane in view of Linsky in view of Tudosoiu teaches the method of claim 12 wherein radio frequency signals communicated, in the first mode, between the antenna and the first and second filters, and, in the second mode, between the antenna and the third and fourth filters, are one or more of time division duplex signals and frequency division duplex signals [Lane ¶¶ 0025 – 0029: an LTE network may support Band 38 from 2570 to 2620 MHz for time division duplexing (TDD), Band 40 from 2300 to 2400 MHz for TDD, Band 41 from 2496 to 2690 MHz for TDD, and/or other bands].
Regarding claim 14, Lane in view of Linsky in view of Tudosoiu teaches the method of claim 12, however, Lane does not explicitly disclose wherein the first region and the second region partially overlap.
However, Linsky teaches wherein the first region and the second region partially overlap [Linsky ¶¶ 0090-0091: the low region includes, e.g., channels 9 and lower, high region includes, e.g., channels 4 and higher (i.e. the regions overlap)].
The motivation to combine these references is illustrated in the rejection of claim 12 above.
Regarding claim 15, Lane in view of Linsky in view of Tudosoiu teaches the method of claim 12 wherein the first filter, the second filter, the third filter, and the fourth filter include at least one surface acoustic wave filter or at least one bulk acoustic wave filter [Lane ¶ 0040: the filters may be implemented with SAW filters, ceramic filters, MEMS filters, etc.].
Regarding claim 16, Lane in view of Linsky in view of Tudosoiu teaches the method of claim 12 further comprising, in response to third instructions, using the control circuit to set the plurality of switches in a third mode in which the antenna is connected to the receiver circuitry through i) a fifth filter having a passband in a second wireless wide area network band adjacent to the second region and spaced from the first region by at least a portion of the second region [Lane ¶¶ 0025 – 0029: an LTE network may support Band 38 from 2570 to 2620 MHz for time division duplexing (TDD), Band 40 from 2300 to 2400 MHz for TDD, Band 41 from 2496 to 2690 MHz for TDD, and/or other bands; here, Band 41 (correlating to a third filter) and Band 38 (correlating to a fifth filter) would both be adjacent to a WLAN region (e.g., a high region); ¶ 0053: Band 41 filter is used when interference needs to be reduced between Band 41 and IMS; see also ¶ 0052, Table 1: Band “X” filter is selected for WWAN in a certain band of interest, e.g., Band X filter used when WWAN is in Band X; here, a Band filter for a first WWAN region or a second WWAN region may be selected based on which WWAN band is in use which is analogous to the selection between a first filter, third filter, and fifth filter].
However, Lane does not explicitly disclose the antenna is connected to the receiver circuitry through ii) the fourth filter.
However, Linsky teaches the antenna is connected to the receiver circuitry through ii) the fourth filter [Linsky ¶ 0075: UE may utilize multiple filter configurations to reduce or minimize interference between events on the ISM band and events on adjacent LTE Band 7 or LTE Band 40; ¶ 0094: UE may also comprise means for selecting between the first filter configuration and second filter configuration to reduce interference with a second frequency band, the second frequency band proximate to the first frequency band; When LTE is enabled using band (B) 7, the filter is nominally in state 2 (high), as shown with filter 1114. When LTE is enabled in B40, the filter is nominally in state 3 (low), as shown with filter 1112 (here, a filter is selected, e.g., high filter for Band 7 co-existence and low filter for Band 40 co-existence)].
The motivation to combine these references is illustrated in the rejection of claim 12 above.
Regarding claim 17, Lane teaches a wireless device comprising:
a plurality of filters including a first filter having a passband in a first wireless wide area network band adjacent to a wireless local area network band, the wireless local area network band including a first region adjacent to the first wireless wide area network band [Lane ¶ 0045: narrow Band 40 filter 544 may attenuate signals in the IMS band; ¶ 0051: narrow Band 40 filter 544 is selected when there is co-existence with the WLAN in Band 40 and the WLAN in the IMS band (here, narrow Band 40 filter passes Band 40, i.e., first WWAN); Fig. 4B shows narrow Band 40 filter passing portion of Band 40 (i.e. WWAN band) which is adjacent to IMS Band],
a third filter having a passband in a second wireless wide area network band adjacent to the WLAN band [Lane ¶ 0053: a narrow Band 41 filter having a more narrow bandwidth from 2520 to 2690 MHz located prior to a power amplifier; see also ¶ 0041, Fig. 5B: Filter 576 covers Band X, which may be Band 38, Band 41]; and
a plurality of switches [Lane FIG. 5b, switch 561] configurable in at least either of 1) a first mode where an antenna is connected with the first filter, or 2) a second mode where the antenna is connected with the third filter [Lane ¶ 0053: Band 41 filter is used when interference needs to be reduced between Band 41 and IMS; see also ¶ 0052, Table 1: Band “X” filter is selected for WWAN in a certain band of interest, e.g., Band X filter used when WWAN is in Band X; here, a Band filter for a first WWAN region or a second WWAN region may be selected based on which WWAN band is in use which is analogous to the selection between a first filter and third filter].
However, Lane does not explicitly disclose a second (WLAN) region spaced from the first wireless wide area network band by at least a portion of the first region; a second filter having a passband in the second region, a second wireless wide area network band adjacent to the second region and spaced from the first region by at least a portion of the second region; a fourth filter having a passband in the first region; a plurality of switches configurable in at least either of 1) a first mode where a common wireless wide area network/wireless local area network antenna is connected with the second filter, or 2) a second mode where the antenna is connected with the fourth filter.
However, in a similar field of endeavor, Linsky teaches a second (WLAN) region spaced from the first wireless wide area network band by at least a portion of the first region; a second filter having a passband in the second region, a second wireless wide area network band adjacent to the second region and spaced from the first region by at least a portion of the second region; a fourth filter having a passband in the first region [Linsky ¶¶ 0090-0091: a low tuned 100 MHz IMS (i.e. second filter passing low channels/second region) and a high tuned 100 MHz IMS band filter (i.e. fourth filter passing high channels); here, the IMS band is separated into a low region, i.e., first WLAN region, and adjacent high region, i.e., second WLAN region, with respective filters; see also Fig. 10: Band 40 (first WWAN band) is adjacent to IMS (WLAN band) having a low portion (first region) and high portion (second region), the lower portion being adjacent to Band 40, the upper portion adjacent to Band 7 (second WWAN band)];
a plurality of switches configurable in at least either of 1) a first mode where an antenna is connected with the first filter and the second filter, or 2) a second mode where the antenna is connected with the third filter and the fourth filter [Linsky ¶ 0075: UE may utilize multiple filter configurations to reduce or minimize interference between events on the ISM band and events on adjacent LTE Band 7 or LTE Band 40; ¶ 0094: UE may also comprise means for selecting between the first filter configuration and second filter configuration to reduce interference with a second frequency band, the second frequency band proximate to the first frequency band; When LTE is enabled using band (B) 7, the filter is nominally in state 2 (high), as shown with filter 1114. When LTE is enabled in B40, the filter is nominally in state 3 (low), as shown with filter 1112 (here, a filter is selected, e.g., high filter for Band 7 co-existence and low filter for Band 40 co-existence)].
It would have been obvious to a person having ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date of the claimed invention to combine the method of selecting filters for WWAN bands of interest to achieve WWAN/WLAN co-existence as taught by Lane, with the method of providing high region filter and low region filter of an IMS band to achieve co-existence at either end of the IMS band as taught by Linsky. The motivation to combine these references would be to improve WLAN/WWAN coexistence [Linsky ¶¶ 0009-0010].
However, Lane in view of Linksy does not explicitly disclose a common wireless wide area network/wireless local area network antenna.
However, Tudosoiu teaches a common wireless wide area network/wireless local area network antenna [Tudosoiu ¶ 0054: a front-end module may be coupled between an antenna and a multi-mode transceiver to provide coupling between of signals of a character corresponding to respective bands and standards (i.e. a common cellular/wireless local area network); 0056: the same antenna is used for all communication standards and all frequency bands].
It would have been obvious to a person having ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date of the claimed invention to combine the method of selecting filters for bands of interest to achieve WWAN/WLAN co-existence as taught by Lane with the system having a common cellular/wireless local area network as taught by Tudosoiu. The motivation to combine these references would be to improve Wi-Fi/Cellular co-existence [Tudosoiu ¶ 0004].
Regarding claim 18, Lane in view of Linsky in view of Tudosoiu teaches the wireless device of claim 17, however, Lane does not explicitly disclose wherein the first region and the second region partially overlap.
However, Linsky teaches wherein the first region and the second region partially overlap [Linsky ¶¶ 0090-0091: the low region includes, e.g., channels 9 and lower, high region includes, e.g., channels 4 and higher (i.e. the regions overlap)].
The motivation to combine these references is illustrated in the rejection of claim 17 above.
Regarding claim 19, Lane in view of Linsky in view of Tudosoiu teaches the wireless device of claim 17 wherein the first filter, the second filter, the third filter, and the fourth filter include at least one surface acoustic wave filter or at least one bulk acoustic wave filter [Lane ¶ 0040: the filters may be implemented with SAW filters, ceramic filters, MEMS filters, etc.].
Regarding claim 20, Lane in view of Linsky in view of Tudosoiu teaches the wireless device of claim 17 further comprising a control circuit configured to set a current mode of the plurality of switches [Lane ¶ 0019, Fig. 2: wireless device 110 includes a data processor/controller 210].
Regarding claim 21, Lane in view of Linsky in view of Tudosoiu teaches the wireless device of claim 17, wherein the plurality of filters further comprises a fifth filter having a passband in a third wireless wide area network band adjacent to the second region and spaced from the first region by at least a portion of the second region [Lane ¶¶ 0025 – 0029: an LTE network may support Band 38 from 2570 to 2620 MHz for time division duplexing (TDD), Band 40 from 2300 to 2400 MHz for TDD, Band 41 from 2496 to 2690 MHz for TDD, and/or other bands; here, Band 41 (correlating to a third filter) and Band 38 (correlating to a fifth filter) would both be adjacent to a WLAN region (e.g., a high region)],
the plurality of switches configurable in at least any of 1) a first mode where antenna is connected with the first filter, 2) a second mode where the antenna is connected with the third filter, or 3) a third mode where the antenna is connected with the fifth filter [Lane ¶ 0053: Band 41 filter is used when interference needs to be reduced between Band 41 and IMS; see also ¶ 0052, Table 1: Band “X” filter is selected for WWAN in a certain band of interest, e.g., Band X filter used when WWAN is in Band X; here, a Band filter for a first WWAN region or a second WWAN region may be selected based on which WWAN band is in use which is analogous to the selection between a first filter, third filter, and fifth filter].
However, Lane does not explicitly disclose the plurality of switches configurable in at least any of 1) a first mode where antenna is connected with the second filter, 2) a second mode where the antenna is connected with the fourth filter, or 3) a third mode where the antenna is connected with the fourth filter.
However, Linsky teaches the plurality of switches configurable in at least any of 1) a first mode where antenna is connected with the second filter, 2) a second mode where the antenna is connected with the fourth filter, or 3) a third mode where the antenna is connected with the fourth filter [Linsky ¶ 0075: UE may utilize multiple filter configurations to reduce or minimize interference between events on the ISM band and events on adjacent LTE Band 7 or LTE Band 40; ¶ 0094: UE may also comprise means for selecting between the first filter configuration and second filter configuration to reduce interference with a second frequency band, the second frequency band proximate to the first frequency band; When LTE is enabled using band (B) 7, the filter is nominally in state 2 (high), as shown with filter 1114. When LTE is enabled in B40, the filter is nominally in state 3 (low), as shown with filter 1112 (here, a filter is selected, e.g., high filter for Band 7 co-existence and low filter for Band 40 co-existence)].
The motivation to combine these references is illustrated in the rejection of claim 17 above.
Conclusion
/BRIAN P COX/Primary Examiner, Art Unit 2474