DETAILED ACTION
The present application, filed on or after March 16, 2013, is being examined under the first inventor to file provisions of the AIA . This Office Action is responsive to the communications filed on 21 August 2024. Claims 1-20 are pending.
Priority
Acknowledgment is made of applicant’s claim for foreign priority under 35 U.S.C. 119 (a)-(d). The certified copy has been filed in parent Application No. 202311077757.6, filed on 16 July 2024.
Claim Objections
Claims 15 and 17 are objected to because of the following informalities: There is a lack of antecedent basis for “the method” recited in claims 15 and 17. Appropriate correction is required.
Claim Rejections - 35 USC § 112
Claim 10 is rejected under 35 U.S.C. 112(d) or pre-AIA 35 U.S.C. 112, 4th paragraph, as being of improper dependent form for failing to further limit the subject matter of the claim upon which it depends, or for failing to include all the limitations of the claim upon which it depends. Claim 10 repeats the subject matter of claim 9. Applicant may cancel the claim(s), amend the claim(s) to place the claim(s) in proper dependent form, rewrite the claim(s) in independent form, or present a sufficient showing that the dependent claim(s) complies with the statutory requirements.
Claim Rejections - 35 USC § 102
Claims 1-3, 7-13, and 17-20 are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 102(a)(2) as being anticipated by Huang et al. (Hereinafter, Huang, US 2023/0161467 A1).
Per claim 1, Huang discloses an image generation method (Abstract, “Techniques are described for synthesizing images with multiple input modalities … “), comprising:
displaying a target interface for performing intelligent image generation (e.g., user interface 700 as shown in Fig. 7; paragraph [0011], “FIG. 7 illustrates an example user interface that enables a human user to create inputs in one or more different modalities and to generate an output image based on the created inputs.”; paragraph [0043], “FIG. 7 illustrates an example user interface 700 according to embodiments...” ), wherein the target interface displays a plurality of style reference materials (e.g., set of choices 706 as shown in Fig. 7; paragraphs [0035-0037] and Figs. 1-3; paragraph [0043], “ …The user interface includes an input area 702, an output area 704, and a set of choices 706 from which one or more input modalities may be selected... “; paragraph [0044], “Input Modalities Generally: The phrase “input modality” as used herein refers to a mode of representation for one or more inputs that may be used to influence the generation of an output image …. “; Examiner’s Note: Examiner is broadly and reasonably interpreting Huang’s “input modalities” to analogous to the claimed “style reference materials” since each input modality adds a constraint that a synthesized output image must satisfy.), and each of the plurality of style reference materials comprises style indication information (paragraph [0046],” “Using user interface 700, a user may indicate any desired combination of input modalities by selecting and/or unselecting check boxes located next the various choices, as shown. In other embodiments, different mechanisms or controls for selecting the input modalities may be provided in the user interface.”; Examiner’s Note: Huang check boxes indicating input modalities used to influence the look of a synthesized image. ) and a corresponding sample image (paragraph [0043], “ …Once a suitable set of inputs has been created, an output generation command may be issued by clicking an output generation icon 708. One or more GNNs may be used to generate the output image responsive to the output generation command and based at least in part on the set of inputs present when the output generation command is issued. Once the image is generated, it may be presented in the output area of the user interface for review and assessment by the user, and potentially for further modification. “; Examiner’s Note: An output image is presented in output area 704 corresponding to selected style reference materials of input modalities 706. );
determining a target style reference material selected from the plurality of style reference materials by a user(paragraphs [0044-0045]; paragraph [0068]; Examiner’s Note: Huang discloses selecting one or more input modalities to influence the generation of a new output image.), and
obtaining input information from the user in an image generation mode that is selected (paragraph [0044]; paragraph [0047], “Text Input Modality “; paragraph [0048], “Style Modality“ ;paragraph [0051], “Image Input”; Examiner’s Note: Huang discloses using, for example, a text description, a style, and/or an image to influence the generation of a new output image. - ); and
according to the input information in the image generation mode and the target style reference material, generating and displaying at least one target image(paragraph [0045]; Figs. 1-3 illustrate according to the input information in the image generation mode and the target style reference material, generating and displaying at least one target image; Figs. 7-21 illustrate the output image generated according the selection of one or more input modalities or reference materials.).
Per claim 2, Huang discloses the method according to claim 1, wherein the image generation mode selected by the user is a text-to-image mode, and the text-to-image mode refers to generating an image based on text information(paragraph [0047], “Text Input Modality: A text input modality is one in which words or phrases are used as inputs to influence the generation of an output image. …” );
the obtaining input information from the user in an image generation mode that is selected(paragraph [0047], “… FIG. 8 illustrates such a text modality in operation. In the illustrated example, the check box located next to the text modality is selected, and the phrase “mountains next to a lake” is entered in the corresponding text box… “) comprises:
determining and displaying first text description reference information based on the target style reference material selected by the user(paragraph [0047], “… After the text has been entered, an output generation command may be issued by clicking on the right arrow icon 708. Responsive to the output generation command, the input phrase is used to generate an output image that visually corresponds to the semantics of the input phrase ... “; Fig. 8 illustrates a “Your Text” area where the user can enter a text describing the image to be generated ); and
obtaining the input information obtained by editing the first text description reference information by the user (paragraph [0048]; Examiner’s Note: The text can be edited by adding a style input modality such as a time of day (e.g. daytime, evening or night), a season (e.g. winter, spring, summer or fall), or any of a wide variety of painting or illustration techniques such as oil or watercolor painting styles to original text. ).
Per claim 3, Huang discloses the method according to claim 1, wherein the image generation mode selected by the user is an image-to-image mode(paragraph [0051], “ Image Input Modality: An image input modality is one in which an already-complete image is used as an input to influence the generation of a new output image. For example, when the image input modality is active, a generated image from output area 704 may be used as an input image for use when generating another output image, or an input image may be uploaded via the image upload controls located at area 900…”), and the image-to-image mode refers to generating an image based on image information(paragraph [0051], “… As was explained above, however, the image input modality could have been selected in isolation without the text input modality remaining selected, in which case only the input image would have influenced the generation of any new output image ... “);
the obtaining input information from the user in an image generation mode that is selected (paragraph [0051], “… In the illustrated example, the text input modality remains selected, and the phrase “mountains next to a lake” remains in the input text box ... “; paragraph [0068]) comprises:
obtaining an original image uploaded by the user, or, obtaining an original image uploaded by the user and description information for the original image, wherein the original image is from a local client of the user or from a target platform(paragraph [0051], “ … For example, when the image input modality is active, a generated image from output area 704 may be used as an input image for use when generating another output image, or an input image may be uploaded via the image upload controls located at area 900... “).
Per claim 7, Huang discloses the method according to claim 1, further comprising: displaying at least one image processing control (e.g., “magic wand” tool 1102 as shown in Fig. 11 ); and in response to an image processing request for any one target image of the at least one target image, processing the target image to obtain a processed image in accordance with an image processing mode corresponding to a selected image processing control (paragraph [0052]).
Per claim 8, Huang discloses the method according to claim 7, wherein the at least one image processing control comprises at least one of following controls:
a first control corresponding to a super-resolution processing mode, a second control corresponding to a variation processing mode, a third control corresponding to an image-matting processing mode, and a fourth control corresponding to a creation-similar image processing mode(paragraph [0051]); and
the super-resolution processing mode refers to performing zoom-in processing on an image, the zoom-in processing refers to performing simultaneous zoom-in processing on an image in terms of resolution and size; the image-matting processing mode refers to performing foreground pixel extraction processing on an image; the variation processing mode refers to performing image detail adjustment processing on a premise of maintaining a consistent image style; the creation- similar image processing mode refers to recreating an image by adopting input information that is same as input information of a corresponding image(paragraph [0051]), and after the fourth control is triggered, displaying the input information of the corresponding image again in the target interface(paragraph [0051], “ …In FIG. 10, an image copy command has been issued by clicking the left arrow icon located at 1000. The result of the image copy command is that the output image from output area 704 has been copied to the input area 702, as shown. In order to use the copied image as an input for the generation of a further output image, the image input modality is selected at area 706, also as shown ... “; Examiner’s Note: As shown in Fig. 10, in response to an image being copied input area 702, a similar image is shown in output area 706).
Per claim 9, Huang discloses the method according to claim 8, wherein the displaying at least one image processing control comprises:
in response to a triggering operation for a control list button displayed at a position of the target image, displaying the at least one image processing control at the position of the target image(e.g., circle 1104 as shown in Fig. 11; paragraph [0052] ); or,
displaying a plurality of image generation modes and the at least one image processing control in an image generation mode option bar of the target interface(e.g., slider 1106 as shown in Fig. 11; paragraph [0052]).
Per claim 10, Huang discloses the method according to claim, wherein the displaying at least one image processing control comprises: in response to a triggering operation for a control list button displayed at a position of the target image, displaying the at least one image processing control at the position of the target image(e.g., circle 1104 as shown in Fig. 11; paragraph [0052] ); or, displaying a plurality of image generation modes and the at least one image processing control in an image generation mode option bar of the target interface(e.g., slider 1106 as shown in Fig. 11; paragraph [0052]).
Per claim 11, Huang discloses a computer device (e.g., computer system 2200 as shown in Fig. 22; paragraph [0072]), comprising a processor (e.g., central processor unit (“CPU”) cores 2202 as shown in Fig. 22; paragraph [0072] ), a memory (e.g., system memory 2204 as shown in Fig. 22; paragraph [0072] ), and a bus (e.g., input/output bus 2213 as shown in Fig. 22; paragraph [0072]), wherein the memory stores machine-readable instructions executable by the processor, when the computer device runs, the processor is in communication with the memory via the bus, and when the machine-readable instructions are executed by the processor, steps of an image generation method are performed (paragraphs [0072-0072]), wherein the image generation method comprises:
displaying a target interface for performing intelligent image generation (e.g., user interface 700 as shown in Fig. 7; paragraph [0011], “FIG. 7 illustrates an example user interface that enables a human user to create inputs in one or more different modalities and to generate an output image based on the created inputs.”; paragraph [0043], “FIG. 7 illustrates an example user interface 700 according to embodiments...” ), wherein the target interface displays a plurality of style reference materials (e.g., set of choices 706 as shown in Fig. 7; paragraphs [0035-0037] and Figs. 1-3; paragraph [0043], “ …The user interface includes an input area 702, an output area 704, and a set of choices 706 from which one or more input modalities may be selected... “; paragraph [0044], “Input Modalities Generally: The phrase “input modality” as used herein refers to a mode of representation for one or more inputs that may be used to influence the generation of an output image …. “; Examiner’s Note: Examiner is broadly and reasonably interpreting Huang’s “input modalities” to analogous to the claimed “style reference materials” since each input modality adds a constraint that a synthesized output image must satisfy.), and each of the plurality of style reference materials comprises style indication information (paragraph [0046],” “Using user interface 700, a user may indicate any desired combination of input modalities by selecting and/or unselecting check boxes located next the various choices, as shown. In other embodiments, different mechanisms or controls for selecting the input modalities may be provided in the user interface.”; Examiner’s Note: Huang check boxes indicating input modalities used to influence the look of a synthesized image. ) and a corresponding sample image (paragraph [0043], “ …Once a suitable set of inputs has been created, an output generation command may be issued by clicking an output generation icon 708. One or more GNNs may be used to generate the output image responsive to the output generation command and based at least in part on the set of inputs present when the output generation command is issued. Once the image is generated, it may be presented in the output area of the user interface for review and assessment by the user, and potentially for further modification. “; Examiner’s Note: An output image is presented in output area 704 corresponding to selected style reference materials of input modalities 706. );
determining a target style reference material selected from the plurality of style reference materials by a user(paragraphs [0044-0045]; paragraph [0068]; Examiner’s Note: Huang discloses selecting one or more input modalities to influence the generation of a new output image.), and
obtaining input information from the user in an image generation mode that is selected (paragraph [0044]; paragraph [0047], “Text Input Modality “; paragraph [0048], “Style Modality“ ;paragraph [0051], “Image Input”; Examiner’s Note: Huang discloses using, for example, a text description, a style, and/or an image to influence the generation of a new output image. - ); and
according to the input information in the image generation mode and the target style reference material, generating and displaying at least one target image(paragraph [0045]; Figs. 1-3 illustrate according to the input information in the image generation mode and the target style reference material, generating and displaying at least one target image; Figs. 7-21 illustrate the output image generated according the selection of one or more input modalities or reference materials.).
Per claim 12, Huang discloses the computer device according to claim 11, wherein the image generation mode selected by the user is a text-to-image mode, and the text-to-image mode refers to generating an image based on text information n(paragraph [0047], “Text Input Modality: A text input modality is one in which words or phrases are used as inputs to influence the generation of an output image. …” );
when performing the obtaining input information from the user in an image generation mode that is selected, the processor is configured to:
determine and display first text description reference information based on the target style reference material selected by the user r(paragraph [0047], “… After the text has been entered, an output generation command may be issued by clicking on the right arrow icon 708. Responsive to the output generation command, the input phrase is used to generate an output image that visually corresponds to the semantics of the input phrase ... “; Fig. 8 illustrates a “Your Text” area where the user can enter a text describing the image to be generated ); and
obtain the input information obtained by editing the first text description reference information by the user (paragraph [0048]; Examiner’s Note: The text can be edited by adding a style input modality such as a time of day (e.g. daytime, evening or night), a season (e.g. winter, spring, summer or fall), or any of a wide variety of painting or illustration techniques such as oil or watercolor painting styles to original text. ).
Per claim 13, Huang discloses the computer device according to claim 11, wherein the image generation mode selected by the user is an image-to-image mode(paragraph [0051], “ Image Input Modality: An image input modality is one in which an already-complete image is used as an input to influence the generation of a new output image. For example, when the image input modality is active, a generated image from output area 704 may be used as an input image for use when generating another output image, or an input image may be uploaded via the image upload controls located at area 900…”), and the image-to-image mode refers to generating an image based on image information(paragraph [0051], “… As was explained above, however, the image input modality could have been selected in isolation without the text input modality remaining selected, in which case only the input image would have influenced the generation of any new output image ... “);
when performing the obtaining input information from the user in an image generation mode that is selected(paragraph [0051], “… In the illustrated example, the text input modality remains selected, and the phrase “mountains next to a lake” remains in the input text box ... “; paragraph [0068]), the processor is configured to:
obtain an original image uploaded by the user, or, obtain an original image uploaded by the user and description information for the original image, wherein the original image is from a local client of the user or from a target platform(paragraph [0051], “ … For example, when the image input modality is active, a generated image from output area 704 may be used as an input image for use when generating another output image, or an input image may be uploaded via the image upload controls located at area 900... “).
Per claim 17, Huang discloses the computer device according to claim 11, wherein the method further comprises: displaying at least one image processing control (e.g., “magic wand” tool 1102 as shown in Fig. 11 ); and in response to an image processing request for any one target image of the at least one target image, processing the target image to obtain a processed image in accordance with an image processing mode corresponding to a selected image processing control (paragraph [0052]).
Per claim 18, Huang discloses the computer device according to claim 17, wherein the at least one image processing control comprises at least one of following controls:
a first control corresponding to a super-resolution processing mode, a second control corresponding to a variation processing mode, a third control corresponding to an image-matting processing mode, and a fourth control corresponding to a creation-similar image processing mode(paragraph [0051]); and
the super-resolution processing mode refers to performing zoom-in processing on an image, the zoom-in processing refers to performing simultaneous zoom-in processing on an image in terms of resolution and size; the image-matting processing mode refers to performing foreground pixel extraction processing on an image; the variation processing mode refers to performing image detail adjustment processing on a premise of maintaining a consistent image style; the creation- similar image processing mode refers to recreating an image by adopting input information that is same as input information of a corresponding image(paragraph [0051]), and after the fourth control is triggered, displaying the input information of the corresponding image again in the target interface(paragraph [0051], “ …In FIG. 10, an image copy command has been issued by clicking the left arrow icon located at 1000. The result of the image copy command is that the output image from output area 704 has been copied to the input area 702, as shown. In order to use the copied image as an input for the generation of a further output image, the image input modality is selected at area 706, also as shown ... “; Examiner’s Note: As shown in Fig. 10, in response to an image being copied input area 702, a similar image is shown in output area 706).
Per claim 19, Huang discloses the computer device according to claim 17, wherein when performing the displaying at least one image processing control, the processor is configured to:
in response to a triggering operation for a control list button displayed at a position of the target image, displaying the at least one image processing control at the position of the target image(e.g., circle 1104 as shown in Fig. 11; paragraph [0052] ); or,
displaying a plurality of image generation modes and the at least one image processing control in an image generation mode option bar of the target interface(e.g., slider 1106 as shown in Fig. 11; paragraph [0052]).
Per claim 20, Huang discloses a non-transitory computer-readable storage medium (e.g., system memory 2204 as shown in Fig. 22; paragraph [0072]), wherein the non-transitory computer-readable storage medium stores a computer program, and when the computer program is executed by a processor, steps of an image generation method are performed(paragraphs [0072-0072]), wherein the image generation method comprises:
displaying a target interface for performing intelligent image generation (e.g., user interface 700 as shown in Fig. 7; paragraph [0011], “FIG. 7 illustrates an example user interface that enables a human user to create inputs in one or more different modalities and to generate an output image based on the created inputs.”; paragraph [0043], “FIG. 7 illustrates an example user interface 700 according to embodiments...” ), wherein the target interface displays a plurality of style reference materials (e.g., set of choices 706 as shown in Fig. 7; paragraphs [0035-0037] and Figs. 1-3; paragraph [0043], “ …The user interface includes an input area 702, an output area 704, and a set of choices 706 from which one or more input modalities may be selected... “; paragraph [0044], “Input Modalities Generally: The phrase “input modality” as used herein refers to a mode of representation for one or more inputs that may be used to influence the generation of an output image …. “; Examiner’s Note: Examiner is broadly and reasonably interpreting Huang’s “input modalities” to analogous to the claimed “style reference materials” since each input modality adds a constraint that a synthesized output image must satisfy.), and each of the plurality of style reference materials comprises style indication information (paragraph [0046],” “Using user interface 700, a user may indicate any desired combination of input modalities by selecting and/or unselecting check boxes located next the various choices, as shown. In other embodiments, different mechanisms or controls for selecting the input modalities may be provided in the user interface.”; Examiner’s Note: Huang check boxes indicating input modalities used to influence the look of a synthesized image. ) and a corresponding sample image (paragraph [0043], “ …Once a suitable set of inputs has been created, an output generation command may be issued by clicking an output generation icon 708. One or more GNNs may be used to generate the output image responsive to the output generation command and based at least in part on the set of inputs present when the output generation command is issued. Once the image is generated, it may be presented in the output area of the user interface for review and assessment by the user, and potentially for further modification. “; Examiner’s Note: An output image is presented in output area 704 corresponding to selected style reference materials of input modalities 706. );
determining a target style reference material selected from the plurality of style reference materials by a user(paragraphs [0044-0045]; paragraph [0068]; Examiner’s Note: Huang discloses selecting one or more input modalities to influence the generation of a new output image.), and
obtaining input information from the user in an image generation mode that is selected (paragraph [0044]; paragraph [0047], “Text Input Modality “; paragraph [0048], “Style Modality“ ;paragraph [0051], “Image Input”; Examiner’s Note: Huang discloses using, for example, a text description, a style, and/or an image to influence the generation of a new output image. - ); and
according to the input information in the image generation mode and the target style reference material, generating and displaying at least one target image(paragraph [0045]; Figs. 1-3 illustrate according to the input information in the image generation mode and the target style reference material, generating and displaying at least one target image; Figs. 7-21 illustrate the output image generated according the selection of one or more input modalities or reference materials.).
Claim Rejections - 35 USC § 103
Claims 4 and 14 are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being unpatentable over Huang et al. (Hereinafter, Huang, US 2023/0161467 A1) in view of Denison (US 20240193821 A1).
Per claim 4, Huang discloses the method according to claim 3, but does not expressly disclose wherein obtaining the description information for the original image from the user comprises:
determining and displaying second text description reference information according to the original image uploaded by the user and the target style reference material selected by the user; and
obtaining description information obtained by editing the second text description reference information by the user as the description information for the original image.
Denison discloses wherein obtaining the description information for the original image from the user (paragraph [0060], “FIG. 4A illustrates a user interface 115 that is used by the analysis module 310 and the feedback analysis module 340 to present the various options available to the user and to allow the user to provide inputs, upload source images and provide tuning comments to tune the image generated for the user prompt ...” ) comprises:
determining and displaying second text description reference information according to the original image uploaded by the user and the target style reference material selected by the user(e.g., tuning interface 115b as shown in Fig. 4A illustrates determining and displaying second text description reference information according to the original image uploaded by the user and the target style reference material selected by the user ; paragraph [0060]); and
obtaining description information obtained by editing the second text description reference information by the user as the description information for the original image (paragraphs [0061-0062]; Examiner’s Note: A user can edit the second text description reference information by the user as the description information for the original image by adding user feedback 410a and adding suggested options 410b to a prompt as shown in Fig. 4B. ).
It would have been obvious for a person of ordinary skill in the art before the
effective filing date of the claimed invention to use the AI image generation of
Denison with the Huang's image synthesis for understanding satisfying a user's true intent and contextually matching a search query as suggested by Denison (paragraph
[0003]).
Per claim 14, Huang discloses the computer device according to claim 13, but does not expressly disclose wherein when performing obtaining the description information for the original image from the user, the processor is configured to:
determine and display second text description reference information according to the original image uploaded by the user and the target style reference material selected by the user; and
obtain description information obtained by editing the second text description reference information by the user as the description information for the original image.
Denison discloses wherein when performing obtaining the description information for the original image from the user (paragraph [0060], “FIG. 4A illustrates a user interface 115 that is used by the analysis module 310 and the feedback analysis module 340 to present the various options available to the user and to allow the user to provide inputs, upload source images and provide tuning comments to tune the image generated for the user prompt ...” ), the processor is configured to:
determine and display second text description reference information according to the original image uploaded by the user and the target style reference material selected by the user(e.g., tuning interface 115b as shown in Fig. 4A illustrates determining and displaying second text description reference information according to the original image uploaded by the user and the target style reference material selected by the user ; paragraph [0060]); and
obtain description information obtained by editing the second text description reference information by the user as the description information for the original image (paragraphs [0061-0062]; Examiner’s Note: A user can edit the second text description reference information by the user as the description information for the original image by adding user feedback 410a and adding suggested options 410b to a prompt as shown in Fig. 4B. ).
It would have been obvious for a person of ordinary skill in the art before the
effective filing date of the claimed invention to use the AI image generation of
Denison with the Huang's image synthesis for understanding satisfying a user's true intent and contextually matching a search query as suggested by Denison (paragraph
[0003]).
Claims 5-6 and 15-16 are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being unpatentable over Huang et al. (Hereinafter, Huang, US 2023/0161467 A1) in view of Bala et al. (Hereinafter, Bala, US 2021/0209464 A1).
Per claim 5, Huang discloses the method according to claim 1, but does not expressly disclose wherein before the generating and displaying at least one target image, the method further comprises:
obtaining parameter information input by the user in response to at least one image generation parameter that is set;
the according to the input information in the image generation mode and the target style reference material, generating and displaying at least one target image comprises:
according to the parameter information input by the user for the at least one image generation parameter, the input information, and the target style reference material, generating and displaying the at least one target image.
Bala discloses wherein before the generating and displaying at least one target image, the method further comprises:
obtaining parameter information input by the user in response to at least one image generation parameter that is set (e.g., operation 554 as shown in Fig. 5B; paragraph [0042], “Interface 150 may also present a semantic element selector 154 (e.g., a drop-down menu) that may present a catalog of possible semantic elements to be selected from source image 104 ... “; paragraph [0063], “FIG. 5B presents a flowchart 550 illustrating a method of a synthetic image generation system generating a synthetic image with localized edits, in accordance with an embodiment of the present application. During operation, the system obtains source and target images (operation 552) and obtains a selection of a semantic element in the source image (operation 554)...” );
the according to the input information in the image generation mode and the target style reference material, generating and displaying at least one target image (e.g., operation 556 as shown in Fig. 5B; paragraph [0063], “…The system then determines the localized semantic space for style transfer corresponding to the selected semantic element (operation 556) ... “) comprises:
according to the parameter information input by the user for the at least one image generation parameter, the input information, and the target style reference material, generating and displaying the at least one target image (e.g., operation 560 as shown in Fig. 5B; paragraph [0063], “… Subsequently, the system determines style transfer information associated with the determined semantic space represented by the corresponding cluster (operation 558). The system then generates a synthetic output image from the source and target images with localized edits based on the style transfer information (operation 560) ... “).
It would have been obvious for a person of ordinary skill in the art before the
effective filing date of the claimed invention to use the system and method of
Bala with the Huang's image synthesis for facilitating localized customization of a synthetic image generation process as suggested by Bala (paragraph
[0005]).
Per claim 6, Huang and Bala disclose the method according to claim 5, wherein in response to the image generation mode selected by the user being an image-to-image mode, the at least one image generation parameter comprises at least one selected from a group comprising an image structure retention intensity and a texture retention intensity(Huang, paragraph [0052]); the image-to-image mode refers to generating an image based on image information, the image structure retention intensity is used for indicating a retention degree of edge lines of the original image uploaded by the user, and the texture retention intensity is used for indicating a retention degree of image texture of the original image uploaded by the user(Huang, paragraph [0052]; Examiner’s Note: Huang discloses a slider control 1106 as shown in Fig. 11 for controlling the intensity of modification tools such as eraser tool 1100 and a “magic wand” tool 1102 ).
Per claim 15, Huang discloses the computer device according to claim 11, but does not expressly disclose wherein before the generating and displaying at least one target image, the method further comprises:
obtaining parameter information input by the user in response to at least one image generation parameter that is set;
when performing the according to the input information in the image generation mode and the target style reference material, generating and displaying at least one target image, the processor is configured to:
according to the parameter information input by the user for the at least one image generation parameter, the input information, and the target style reference material, generating and displaying the at least one target image.
Bala discloses wherein before the generating and displaying at least one target image, the method further comprises:
obtaining parameter information input by the user in response to at least one image generation parameter that is set (e.g., operation 554 as shown in Fig. 5B; paragraph [0042], “Interface 150 may also present a semantic element selector 154 (e.g., a drop-down menu) that may present a catalog of possible semantic elements to be selected from source image 104 ... “; paragraph [0063], “FIG. 5B presents a flowchart 550 illustrating a method of a synthetic image generation system generating a synthetic image with localized edits, in accordance with an embodiment of the present application. During operation, the system obtains source and target images (operation 552) and obtains a selection of a semantic element in the source image (operation 554)...” );
when performing the according to the input information in the image generation mode and the target style reference material, generating and displaying at least one target image (e.g., operation 556 as shown in Fig. 5B; paragraph [0063], “…The system then determines the localized semantic space for style transfer corresponding to the selected semantic element (operation 556) ... “) comprises:
according to the parameter information input by the user for the at least one image generation parameter, the input information, and the target style reference material, generating and displaying the at least one target image (e.g., operation 560 as shown in Fig. 5B; paragraph [0063], “… Subsequently, the system determines style transfer information associated with the determined semantic space represented by the corresponding cluster (operation 558). The system then generates a synthetic output image from the source and target images with localized edits based on the style transfer information (operation 560) ... “).
It would have been obvious for a person of ordinary skill in the art before the
effective filing date of the claimed invention to use the system and method of
Bala with the Huang's image synthesis for facilitating localized customization of a synthetic image generation process as suggested by Bala (paragraph
[0005]).
Per claim 16, Huang and Bala disclose the computer device according to claim 15, wherein in response to the image generation mode selected by the user being an image-to-image mode, the at least one image generation parameter comprises at least one selected from a group comprising an image structure retention intensity and a texture retention intensity(Huang, paragraph [0052]); the image-to-image mode refers to generating an image based on image information, the image structure retention intensity is used for indicating a retention degree of edge lines of the original image uploaded by the user, and the texture retention intensity is used for indicating a retention degree of image texture of the original image uploaded by the user(Huang, paragraph [0052]; Examiner’s Note: Huang discloses a slider control 1106 as shown in Fig. 11 for controlling the intensity of modification tools such as eraser tool 1100 and a “magic wand” tool 1102 ).
Conclusion
The prior art made of record and not relied upon is considered pertinent to applicant's disclosure.
Yildirim, E.: Text-to-image generation AI in architecture. In: Kozlu, H.H. (ed.) Art and Architecture: Theory, Practice and Experience, vol. 97. Livre de Lyon, Lyon (2022).
DARRIN HOPE
Examiner
Art Unit 2178
/STEPHEN S HONG/Supervisory Patent Examiner, Art Unit 2178