DETAILED ACTION
Specification
The lengthy specification has not been checked to the extent necessary to determine the presence of all possible minor errors. Applicant’s cooperation is requested in correcting any errors of which applicant may become aware in the specification.
Claim Objections
Claims 1 and 10 are objected to because of the following informalities:
Regarding claim 1, “an image” (line 4) is unclear if this is the same “an image” positively recited in the preamble of claim 1. For the purpose of examination, they are being interpreted as being the same.
Regarding claim 10, “an image” (lines 4, 6, and 9) is unclear if this is the same “an image” positively recited in the preamble of claim 10. For the purpose of examination, they are being interpreted as being the same.
Also in claim 10, line 13 is missing a “,” at the end of the paragraph.
Appropriate correction is required.
Claim Rejections - 35 USC § 112
Claims 2-9 are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 112(b) or 35 U.S.C. 112 (pre-AIA ), second paragraph, as being indefinite for failing to particularly point out and distinctly claim the subject matter which the inventor or a joint inventor (or for applications subject to pre-AIA 35 U.S.C. 112, the applicant), regards as the invention.
Claims 2-6 and 9 recite “a plurality of print jobs” but “a plurality of print jobs” is positively recited in claim 1, from which they are dependent. It is unclear whether these are a new plurality of print jobs or the same plurality of print jobs already recited.
Claim 4 requires “when a plurality of print jobs is reserved” but the examiner is unable to ascertain the metes and bounds of “reserved”. It is unclear as to what it means for a print job to be “reserved”.
Claims 7 and 8 recite “the ongoing print job” which lacks proper antecedent basis.
Claim Rejections - 35 USC § 102
Claim(s) 1, 2, 4, 6-8, and 15 is/are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 102(a)(1) as being anticipated by Tsuyoshi (JP 2015-104907).
Regarding claim 1, Tsuyoshi teaches an image forming system that forms an image on a continuous recording medium, the image forming system comprising: a conveyance section that conveys the continuous recording medium; an image forming section 20 that forms an image on the continuous recording medium (Fig. 1); an image reading section (portion around reference numeral 30) that reads the image on the continuous recording medium (Fig. 1); a winding section 40 that winds up the continuous recording medium (Fig. 1); and a hardware processor 50 that controls (page 3, 4th paragraph), when a plurality of print jobs is printed on one continuous recording medium held in the image forming system, conveyance by the conveyance section such that a stop position of a last image of a preceding print job on the continuous recording medium is to be a first stop position a between the image reading section and the winding section 40 (during color adjustment timing (page 6, paragraph starting with Step S105), and that controls, when printed on the one continuous recording medium is not a plurality of print jobs (no color adjustment timing, just normal printing), the conveyance by the conveyance section such that the stop position of the last image on the continuous recording medium is to be a second stop position that is closer to the winding section than the first stop position (Tsuyoshi teaches that when printing is complete, they are wound around paper discharge unit 40, which is the second stop position (page 8, paragraph after Step S112)).
Regarding claim 2, Tsuyoshi teaches the image forming system according to claim 1, wherein the hardware processor 50 determines whether a plurality of print jobs is printed on the one recording medium (page 3).
Regarding claim 4, Tsuyoshi teaches the image forming system according to claim 2, wherein, when a plurality of print jobs is reserved, the hardware processor determines that a plurality of print jobs is to be printed on the one recording medium (page 3).
Regarding claim 6, Tsuyoshi teaches the image forming system according to claim 2, wherein, when an adjustment print job (color adjustment timing) is to be executed, the hardware processor determines that a plurality of print jobs is to be printed on the one continuous recording medium (page 6).
Regarding claim 7, Tsuyoshi teaches the image forming system according to claim 2, wherein, when the ongoing print job is suspended, the hardware processor determines that a plurality of print jobs is to be printed on the one continuous recording medium (page 6 last paragraph).
Regarding claim 8, Tsuyoshi teaches the image forming system according to claim 2, wherein, when the ongoing print job is stopped, the hardware processor determines that a plurality of print jobs is to be printed on the one continuous recording medium (page 6 last paragraph).
Regarding claim 15, Tsuyoshi teaches a non-transitory computer-readable storage medium storing a program for a computer of an image forming system, wherein the image forming system comprises: a conveyance section that conveys the continuous recording medium (Fig. 1); an image forming section 20 that forms an image on the continuous recording medium (page 3, first paragraph); an image reading section 30 that reads the image on the continuous recording medium (page 3 second paragraph); and a winding section 40 that winds up the continuous recording medium (page 3, third paragraph), wherein the program causes the computer of the image forming system to: control, when a plurality of print jobs is printed on one continuous recording medium held in the image forming system, conveyance by the conveyance section such that a stop position of a last image (the color adjustment chart) of a preceding print job on the continuous recording medium is to be a first stop position (external work section bc) between the image reading section and the winding section (Fig. 1); and control, when printed on the one continuous recording medium is not a plurality of print jobs (when no color adjustment timing), the conveyance by the conveyance section such that the stop position of the last image on the continuous recording medium is to be a second stop position (wound up by the paper discharge unit 40) that is closer to the winding section than the first stop position (Fig. 1).
Claim Rejections - 35 USC § 103
Claim(s) 3, 5, and 9 -14 is/are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being unpatentable over Tsuyoshi et al. (JP2015-104907) as applied to claim 1 above, and further in view of Sasami (US 2017/060048).
Regarding claim 3, Tsuyoshi teaches the image forming system according to claim 1, but remains silent as to wherein the hardware processor sets whether a plurality of print jobs is printed on the one recording medium according to a user’s command.
Sasami teaches the types of image forming that may be selected by the user [0085].
It would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date of the claimed invention to have modified the image forming system of Tsuyoshi to allow the user to select when to perform the “color adjustment timing” allowing a user to check the image formed on the continuous paper prior to printing a plurality of jobs, as taught by Sasami [0073], in order to ensure the prints come out as desired by the user.
Regarding claim 5, Tsuyoshi as modified by Sasami teaches the image forming system according to claim 2, wherein, when a proof print job is to be executed (Sasami [0073], the hardware processor determines that a plurality of print jobs is to be printed on the one continuous recording medium (Sasami [0073]).
Regarding claims 9 and 10, Tsuyoshi as modified by Sasami teaches the image forming system according to claim 1, wherein, when a plurality of print jobs is printed on the one continuous recording medium and image reading of the image formed on the continuous recording medium is performed by the image reading section (by detection unit 30 (Tsuyoshi, page 3 first paragraph)), the hardware processor controls the conveyance by the conveyance section such that the stop position of the last image (the color adjustment chart) of the preceding print job on the continuous recording medium is the first stop position a, when a plurality of print jobs is printed on the one continuous recording medium and the image reading is not performed, the hardware processor controls the conveyance by the conveyance section such that the stop position bc of the last image on the continuous recording medium is a third stop position but remains silent as to the third stop position between the image forming section and the image reading section.
Sasami teaches a third stop position P2 where image reading is not performed by the image reading section but by a user. The third stop position P2 in the gap between the image forming section and the image reading section (Fig. 1).
It would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date of the claimed invention to have modified the image forming system of Tsuyoshi with that of Sasami as it would merely be a rearrangement of parts that would not produce any unexpected results.
Regarding claim 11, Tsuyoshi as modified by Sasami teaches the image forming system according to claim 10, wherein the hardware processor determines whether the image reading is performed on the continuous recording medium (Tsuyoshi, page 3 first paragraph).
Regarding claim 12, Tsuyoshi as modified by Sasami teaches the image forming system according to claim 11, wherein the hardware processor sets whether or not image correction is performed during execution of a print job based on a user’s command, wherein the hardware processor determines that the image reading is to be performed by the image reading section when the hardware processor sets that the image correction is to be performed (Sasami [0075]).
Regarding claim 13, Tsuyoshi as modified by Sasami teaches the image forming system according to claim 11, wherein the hardware processor determines that the image reading is to be performed by the image reading section when an adjustment print job is to be performed (Tsuyoshi, color adjustment timing (page 3)).
Regarding claim 14, Tsuyoshi as modified by Sasami teaches the image forming system according to claim 11, wherein the hardware processor sets whether or not an image inspection to inspect the image formed on the continuous recording medium is performed based on a user’s command, wherein the hardware processor determines that the image reading is performed when the hardware processor sets that the image inspection is to be performed (Sasami [0076]).
/WALTER L LINDSAY JR/Supervisory Patent Examiner, Art Unit 2852
/ANDREW V DO/Examiner, Art Unit 2852