DETAILED ACTION
Claim Rejections - 35 USC § 102
Claim(s) 1, 2, 4, 6-8, and 15 is/are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 102(a)(1) as being anticipated by Tsuyoshi (JP 2015-104907).
Regarding claim 1, Tsuyoshi teaches an image forming system that forms an image on a continuous recording medium, the image forming system comprising: a conveyance section that conveys the continuous recording medium (Fig. 1); an image forming section 20 that forms the image on the continuous recording medium (Fig. 1); an image reading section (portion around reference numeral 30) that reads the image on the continuous recording medium (Fig. 1) (page 3, first paragraph); a winding section 40 that winds up the continuous recording medium (Fig. 1) (page 3, third paragraph); and a hardware processor 50 that controls (page 3, 4th paragraph), when a plurality of print jobs is printed on one continuous recording medium held in the image forming system (when interrupting normal printing to print the color adjustment chart), conveyance by the conveyance section such that a stop position of a last image of a preceding print job on the continuous recording medium is to be a first stop position (external work section bc) between the image reading section and the winding section 40 (Fig. 1) (the color adjustment chart is temporarily stopped in the external work section (page 8, paragraph starting with Step S201)), and that controls, when printed on the one continuous recording medium is not a plurality of print jobs (no color adjustment timing, just normal printing), the conveyance by the conveyance section such that the stop position of the last image on the continuous recording medium is to be a second stop position that is closer to the winding section than the first stop position (Tsuyoshi teaches that when printing is complete, they are wound around paper discharge unit 40, which is the second stop position (page 8, paragraph after Step S112)).
Regarding claim 2, Tsuyoshi teaches the image forming system according to claim 1, wherein the hardware processor 50 determines whether the plurality of print jobs is printed on the one recording medium (page 3).
Regarding claim 4, Tsuyoshi teaches the image forming system according to claim 2, wherein, when the plurality of print jobs is reserved for execution by the image forming system, the hardware processor determines that a plurality of print jobs is to be printed on the one recording medium (page 3).
Regarding claim 6, Tsuyoshi teaches the image forming system according to claim 2, wherein, when an adjustment print job (color adjustment timing) is to be executed, the hardware processor determines that a plurality of print jobs is to be printed on the one continuous recording medium (page 6).
Regarding claim 7, Tsuyoshi teaches the image forming system according to claim 2, wherein, when an ongoing print job is suspended, the hardware processor determines that a plurality of print jobs is to be printed on the one continuous recording medium (page 6 last paragraph).
Regarding claim 8, Tsuyoshi teaches the image forming system according to claim 2, wherein, when the ongoing print job is stopped, the hardware processor determines that a plurality of print jobs is to be printed on the one continuous recording medium (page 6 last paragraph).
Regarding claim 15, Tsuyoshi teaches a non-transitory computer-readable storage medium storing a program for a computer of an image forming system, wherein the image forming system comprises: a conveyance section that conveys the continuous recording medium (Fig. 1); an image forming section 20 that forms an image on the continuous recording medium (page 3, first paragraph); an image reading section 30 that reads the image on the continuous recording medium (page 3 second paragraph); and a winding section 40 that winds up the continuous recording medium (page 3, third paragraph), wherein the program causes the computer of the image forming system to: control, when a plurality of print jobs is printed on one continuous recording medium held in the image forming system, conveyance by the conveyance section such that a stop position of a last image (the color adjustment chart) of a preceding print job on the continuous recording medium is to be a first stop position (external work section bc) between the image reading section and the winding section (Fig. 1) (the color adjustment chart is temporarily stopped in the external work section (page 8, paragraph starting with Step S201)); and control, when printed on the one continuous recording medium is not a plurality of print jobs (when no color adjustment timing), the conveyance by the conveyance section such that the stop position of the last image on the continuous recording medium is to be a second stop position (wound up by the paper discharge unit 40) that is closer to the winding section than the first stop position (Fig. 1).
Claim Rejections - 35 USC § 103
Claim(s) 3, 5, and 9 -14 is/are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being unpatentable over Tsuyoshi et al. (JP2015-104907) as applied to claim 1 above, and further in view of Sasami (US 2017/060048).
Regarding claim 3, Tsuyoshi teaches the image forming system according to claim 1, but remains silent as to wherein the hardware processor sets whether the plurality of print jobs is printed on the one recording medium according to a user’s command.
Sasami teaches the types of image forming that may be selected by the user [0085].
It would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date of the claimed invention to have modified the image forming system of Tsuyoshi to allow the user to select when to perform the “color adjustment timing” allowing a user to check the image formed on the continuous paper prior to printing a plurality of jobs, as taught by Sasami [0073], in order to ensure the prints come out as desired by the user.
Regarding claim 5, Tsuyoshi as modified by Sasami teaches the image forming system according to claim 2, wherein, when a proof print job is to be executed (Sasami [0073], the hardware processor determines that a plurality of print jobs is to be printed on the one continuous recording medium (Sasami [0073]).
Regarding claims 9 and 10, Tsuyoshi as modified by Sasami teaches the image forming system according to claim 1, wherein, when the plurality of print jobs is printed on the one continuous recording medium and image reading of the image formed on the continuous recording medium is performed by the image reading section (by detection unit 30 (Tsuyoshi, page 3 first paragraph)), the hardware processor controls the conveyance by the conveyance section such that the stop position of the last image (the color adjustment chart) of the preceding print job on the continuous recording medium is the first stop position a, when the plurality of print jobs is printed on the one continuous recording medium and the image reading is not performed, the hardware processor controls the conveyance by the conveyance section such that the stop position bc of the last image on the continuous recording medium is a third stop position but remains silent as to the third stop position between the image forming section and the image reading section.
Sasami teaches a third stop position P2 where image reading is not performed by the image reading section but by a user. The third stop position P2 in the gap between the image forming section and the image reading section (Fig. 1).
It would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date of the claimed invention to have modified the image forming system of Tsuyoshi with that of Sasami as it would merely be a rearrangement of parts that would not produce any unexpected results.
Regarding claim 11, Tsuyoshi as modified by Sasami teaches the image forming system according to claim 10, wherein the hardware processor determines whether the image reading is performed on the continuous recording medium (Tsuyoshi, page 3 first paragraph).
Regarding claim 12, Tsuyoshi as modified by Sasami teaches the image forming system according to claim 11, wherein the hardware processor sets whether or not image correction is performed during execution of a print job based on a user’s command, wherein the hardware processor determines that the image reading is to be performed by the image reading section when the hardware processor sets that the image correction is to be performed (Sasami [0075]).
Regarding claim 13, Tsuyoshi as modified by Sasami teaches the image forming system according to claim 11, wherein the hardware processor determines that the image reading is to be performed by the image reading section when an adjustment print job is to be performed (Tsuyoshi, color adjustment timing (page 3)).
Regarding claim 14, Tsuyoshi as modified by Sasami teaches the image forming system according to claim 11, wherein the hardware processor sets whether or not an image inspection to inspect the image formed on the continuous recording medium is performed based on a user’s command, wherein the hardware processor determines that the image reading is performed when the hardware processor sets that the image inspection is to be performed (Sasami [0076]).
Conclusion
THIS ACTION IS MADE FINAL. Applicant is reminded of the extension of time policy as set forth in 37 CFR 1.136(a).
Response to Arguments
Applicant's arguments filed 6/15/2026 have been fully considered but they are not persuasive.
Applicant argues Tsuyoshi does not in any way describe what happens when there are a plurality of print jobs printed on a continuous recording medium. The Examiner disagrees. Taking what is considered to be the “actual print job” as a single job and the color correction chart as a second job, it is clear that during color correction, the two print jobs are performed, which would be more than one (multiple).
Applicant further argues that “print job” should be interpreted to be the same thing between the present application and Tsuyoshi. The Examiner disagrees. The present application discloses several variations of print jobs (actual, adjustment, and proof), and it is clear that any of these would be considered to be a “print job”. Applicant does not define a “print job” to only be read as an “actual print job”. The printing of the color adjustment chart in Tsuyoshi is clearly a print job, as it can be interpreted to be similar to applicant’s “adjustment print job”.
Applicant further argues that Tsuyoshi does not describe a stop position between an image reading section and a winding section when a plurality of print jobs is finished. The Examiner disagrees. The stop position was described in the original rejection of the method claim 15 and described in more detail in the rejection above. Tsuyoshi clearly teaches the continuous paper transport control wherein the control unit is used to temporarily stop the color adjustment chart in the external work section (which is between the image reading section and the winding section (Fig. 1) (page 8, paragraph starting with Step S201)). This external work section is shown between the image reader 30 and the winding section 40 (Fig. 1).
Claims 1, 2, 4, 6-8, and 15 stand rejected over Tsuyoshi (JP 2015-104907) and claims 3, 5, and 9-14 stand rejected over Tsuyoshi (JP 2015-104907) in view of Sasami (US 2017/060048).
/WALTER L LINDSAY JR/Supervisory Patent Examiner, Art Unit 2852
AVD