DETAILED ACTION
Election/Restrictions
Applicant's election with traverse of Group I (claims 1 – 10) and Species A-I and B-I in the reply filed on 10/20/25 is acknowledged. The traversal is on the following ground(s) and is not found persuasive for the reasons set forth below. First, applicant argues that Species A-I and A-II are not mutually exclusive. Applicant is incorrect. Species A-I is the retention mechanism species in which solely the pouches are used for retention / coupling. Species A-II is the retention mechanism species in which additional couplers are utilized as well. The two are mutually exclusive options. Either one uses solely the pouches for retention / coupling (option 1) or one uses the pouch(es) with additional couplers (option 2). Paragraph 0043, as written, makes the above clear. Second, regarding Species B-I and B-II, whether or not the distinction is relevant to claims 1-10 is not the issue and is not a persuasive argument. The original disclosure does disclose two species identified as B-I and B-II. The above argument appears to be simply a statement by applicant that the claims are generic to the species, which is fine. The requirement was nevertheless proper, even if all of claims 1-10 are generic to the species at issue. An election of species requirement in no way deprives applicant of the ability to seek protection via dependent claims.
The requirement is still deemed proper and is therefore made FINAL.
Claims 8-20 are withdrawn from further consideration pursuant to 37 CFR 1.142(b), as being drawn to a nonelected invention and/or species, there being no allowable generic or linking claim. Applicant timely traversed the restriction (election) requirement in the reply filed on 10/20/25.
Drawings
The drawings are objected to under 37 CFR 1.83(a). The drawings must show every feature of the invention specified in the claims. Therefore, the following must be shown or the feature(s) canceled from the claim(s). No new matter should be entered.
“head-end portion … not configured to couple to the mattress”– see claim 2 and 112(b) rejection below
“the pouch in the comforter extension configuration being configured to not couple the comforter to the mattress” – see claim 3 and 112(b) rejection below
Claim Objections
Claim 4 is objected to because of the following informalities: the claim fails to end with a period. Appropriate correction is required.
Claim Rejections - 35 USC § 112
Claims 1-7 are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 112(b) or 35 U.S.C. 112 (pre-AIA ), second paragraph, as being indefinite for failing to particularly point out and distinctly claim the subject matter which the inventor or a joint inventor (or for applications subject to pre-AIA 35 U.S.C. 112, the applicant), regards as the invention.
Claim 1 recites the limitation “whereby inserting the foot-end portion of the mattress… while providing draft protection to feet of a person sleeping on the mattress.” As written, it is unclear whether the claim is intending to positively recite feet of a person, which would be improper. The claim should instead recite the limitation without positively reciting a person or a part of a person, for example via claiming –while being configured to provide draft protection to feet of a person sleeping on the mattress--.
Claim 2 recites the limitation “and the head-end portion does not define a pouch and is not configured to couple to the mattress.” It is unclear how the head-end portion is not configured to couple to the mattress when it rests upon the mattress, which is a form of coupling.
Claim 3 recites the limitation “the pouch in the comforter extension configuration being configured to not couple the comforter to the mattress.” It is unclear how this is the case. The pouch is the same pouch and when placed downward couples to the mattress. Therefore, even in the comforter extension configuration, it is still configured (i.e. made and/or designed to) couple the comforter to the mattress.
The claims rejected below are rejected as best understood in view of the above.
Claim Rejections - 35 USC § 102
Claim(s) 1-3 is/are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 102(a)(1) and/or (a)(2) as being anticipated by Bauer (US PG Pub No. 20070151028).
Re Claim 1
Bauer discloses:
A method of using a comforter system, the method comprising:
laying a comforter sheet on a mattress, the comforter sheet having a head-end portion and a foot-end portion disposed opposite from the head-end portion of the comforter sheet, the foot-end portion of the comforter sheet defining a pouch (see figs. 1-3, see [0041], abstract, [0003], [0032]); and
inserting a foot-end portion of the mattress into the pouch (figs. 2-3; [0070]-[0072]),
whereby inserting the foot-end portion of the mattress into the pouch facilitates preventing misalignment of the comforter sheet relative to the mattress while providing draft protection to feet of a person sleeping on the mattress (figs. 2-3; [0070]-[0072]).
Re Claim 2
Bauer discloses:
wherein the pouch is defined by only the foot-end portion of the comforter sheet, and the head-end portion does not define a pouch and is not configured to couple to the mattress (figs. 2-3; [0070]-[0072]).
Re Claim 3
Bauer discloses:
wherein inserting the foot-end portion of the mattress into the pouch includes transitioning the pouch from a comforter extension configuration (prior to installation on the mattress / when not installed on the mattress) to a mattress coupling configuration (during / when installed on the mattress), the pouch in the comforter extension configuration being configured to not couple the comforter to the mattress (see above, see figs. 2-3; [0070]-[0072]), the pouch in the mattress coupling configuration being configured to couple the comforter to the mattress (see above, see figs. 2-3; [0070]-[0072]).
Claim Rejections - 35 USC § 103
Claim(s) 4-7 is/are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being unpatentable over Bauer (US PG Pub No. 20070151028) in view of Lafoux (FR 2905580 A1).
Re Claim 4
Bauer discloses:
wherein a tensioner (302) is coupled to a portion of the foot-end portion of the comforter sheet (figs. 2-3)
However, Bauer does not disclose:
a tension adjuster is coupled to the tensioner, and transitioning the pouch from the comforter extension configuration to the mattress coupling configuration includes increasing tension along the tensioner between the foot-end portion of the comforter sheet and the tension adjuster.
Lafoux teaches the use of a tension adjuster coupled to a tensioner and a pouch in which application of the pouch with the mattress (i.e. transitioning from one configuration to another) includes increasing tension along the tensioner between the foot-end portion of the comforter sheet and the tension adjuster (see figs. 3, 4, and/or 5) for the purpose of securing the bedding / covering to the mattress and minimizing shift. It would therefore have been obvious to one having ordinary skill in the art prior to the effective filing date to modify Bauer to have a tension adjuster is coupled to the tensioner, and transitioning the pouch from the comforter extension configuration to the mattress coupling configuration includes increasing tension along the tensioner between the foot-end portion of the comforter sheet and the tension adjuster as taught by Lafoux for the purpose(s) articulated above. It is noted that such a modification could be a simple substitution of one known part for another, e.g. replacing the elastic in Bauer with the cord within a channel and a lock / tension adjuster as taught by Lafoux. It is noted in Lafoux and generally known to loosen / tighten with appropriate installation steps. It is further noted that it is common and well-known in sheets to use these types of securing arrangements and structures.
Re Claim 5
Bauer as modified above discloses:
transitioning the pouch from the mattress coupling configuration to the comforter extension configuration by decreasing the tension along the tensioner between the foot-end portion of the comforter sheet and the tension adjuster (see modification above; see citations above; commonly known in the art to loosen the lock / tensioner during installation / uninstallation / removal / at the appropriate steps); and
laying the comforter sheet on the mattress while the comforter sheet is in the comforter extension configuration (see citations above).
Re Claim 6
Bauer as modified above discloses:
wherein the foot-end portion of the comforter sheet defines a channel in which the tensioner resides (see modification above; see citations above), the channel extending along a perimeter of the foot-end portion of the comforter sheet (see modification above; see citations above).
Re Claim 7
Bauer as modified above discloses:
wherein the head-end portion is devoid of the tensioner (see Bauer figs. 2-3; see modification above).
Conclusion
The prior art made of record and not relied upon is considered pertinent to applicant's disclosure. Additional foot pouch structures relating to sheets, comforters, blankets, quilts, and/or other types of bedding are provided. Some of the above include a variety of tensioning mechanisms.
/DAVID E. SOSNOWSKI/
Primary Patent Examiner
Art Unit 3673
/David E Sosnowski/Primary Patent Examiner, Art Unit 3673