DETAILED ACTION
Drawings
The drawings are objected to because the present drawings have figures that are drawn, which are not sufficiently dense and dark, and uniformly thick and well-defined.
Figs. 1, 1b, 2-8 and 13, seem to be photocopies, which are not sufficiently dense and dark, and uniformly thick and well-defined. All drawings must be made by a process, which will give them satisfactory reproduction characteristics. Every line, number, and letter must be durable, clean, black (except for color drawings), sufficiently dense and dark, and uniformly thick and well-defined. The weight of all lines and letters must be heavy enough to permit adequate reproduction. This requirement applies to all lines however fine, to shading, and to lines representing cut surfaces in sectional views. Lines and strokes of different thicknesses may be used in the same drawing where different thicknesses have a different meaning see MPEP 37 C.F.R. 1,84(l).
MPEP 37 C.F.R. 1,84(l)
(l) Character of lines, numbers, and letters. All drawings must be made by a process, which will give them satisfactory reproduction characteristics. Every line, number, and letter must be durable, clean, black (except for color drawings), sufficiently dense and dark, and uniformly thick and well-defined. The weight of all lines and letters must be heavy enough to permit adequate reproduction. This requirement applies to all lines however fine, to shading, and to lines representing cut surfaces in sectional views. Lines and strokes of different thicknesses may be used in the same drawing where different thicknesses have a different meaning.
Claim Rejections - 35 USC § 103
Claims 1-9 and 13-18 are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being unpatentable over Sekino et al. (JP 2021190160) (listed in IDS) hereafter Sekino (listed in IDS) in view of Higgins et al. (US 6,045,388) hereafter Higgins.
Regarding claim 1, Sakino discloses a pass-through connector (fig. 3), arranged to be fixed on both faces of a wall 100 and configured for mating with a counter-connector (see paragraph [0016]), the connector comprising: an electrical terminal configured for being removably connected with a counter-terminal of the counter-connector (see paragraphs [0019,0020]); a first head 2 called inner head 2 and a second head 3 called outer head 3, configured for being assembled with each other from either side of the wall 100and across a closed orifice of a shield and/or a wall, so as to bear the terminals and to be mated with the counter-connector, an outer hooking member fixed to or extending from the outer head, and an inner hooking member fixed to or extending from the inner head, the hooking members are arranged to engage with each other so as to retains the heads together, once in their assembled positions 33, 35 (see fig. 6). Sekino does not disclose, a locking element which is mounted on the inner head so as to be movable, between at least an unlocked position, where it allows assembling both heads together and hooking both hooking members together, and a locked position, where it prevents the hooking members from disengage from each other, the locking element comprises one or several assistance members, that cooperates by contact with at least one of the hooking members for disengaging the hooking members from one another, when the locking element is moved from its locked position to its unlocked position.
Higgins discloses a locking element 16, 44, 58 (figs. 1-3, 5-9) which is mounted on the inner head so as to be movable, between at least an unlocked position, where it allows assembling both heads together and hooking both hooking members 24 (fig. 5) ,44, 58 together (see column 3, lines 30-column4, lines 65), and a locked position, where it prevents the hooking members 24, 28 58, 62, from disengage from each other, the locking element comprises one or several assistance members 20, 25, that cooperates by contact with at least one of the hooking members for disengaging the hooking members from one another, when the locking element is moved from its locked position to its unlocked position.
It would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date of the claimed invention to have a locking element which is mounted on the inner head so as to be movable, between at least an unlocked position, where it allows assembling both heads together and hooking both hooking members together, and a locked position, where it prevents the hooking members from disengage from each other, the locking element comprises one or several assistance members, that cooperates by contact with at least one of the hooking members for disengaging the hooking members from one another, when the locking element is moved from its locked position to its unlocked position as taught by Higgins in order to better mechanical engagement between inner and outer housings (heads) and maintain consistant electrical connectivity between connector and mating connector.
Regarding claim 2, (Sakino as modified by) Higgins, discloses the locking element 16, 44, 58 (figs. 1-3, 5-9) is movable, by manual-only operation (see fig. 3 and 6 and column [0019 and [0020] of Higgins) and 16, 44 and 58 of (Sakino, see Sakino, figs. 1-9, column 3, line 30 to column 4, lines 65).
Regarding claim 3, (Sakino as modified by) Higgins, discloses the hooking members are arranged for self-engaging with each other solely by movement of assembling together the inner head and the outer head, wherein the locking element is slidably mounted within a cavity formed in the inner head or between both heads, where it is arranged for being moved from its locked position to its unlocked position through a pulling movement, toward a second abutment position, and from its unlocked position to its locked position through a pushing movement that engage it into the cavity, until a first abutment position (see fig. 3 and 6 and column [0019 and [0020] of Higgins) and 16, 44 and 58 of (Sakino, see Sakino, figs. 1-9, column 3, line 30 to column 4, lines 65) .
Regarding claim 4, (Sakino as modified by) Higgins discloses a clearly and unambiguously visible mark shows that the locking element is actually in its locked position. (see fig. 7) and (see fig. 3 and 6 and column [0019 and [0020] of Higgins and 16, 44 and 58 of (Sakino, see Sakino, figs. 1-9, column 3, line 30 to column 4, lines 65)
Regarding claim 5, (Sakino as modified by) Higgins discloses, the inner hooking member may be moved toward a direction called "upward" so as to be disengaged from the outer hooking member, wherein the assistance member 56 (figs. 5 and 7) bears at least one assistance cam arranged for cooperating with a surface of the inner hooking member along a movement of the locking element from its locked position toward its unlocked position, so as to uplift the inner hooking member towards the upward direction and thus disengage it out of the outer hooking member.
Regarding claim 6, (Sakino as modified by) Higgins discloses, the inner hooking member 22 (fig. 2) may be moved toward a direction called "upward" so as to be disengaged from the outer hooking member, wherein the assistance member 22, 25 bears at least one closing surface arranged for cooperating with a surface of the inner hooking member when the locking element is in its locked position, so as to prevent the inner hooking member from being uplifted and thus preventing it to be disengaged from the outer hooking member.
Regarding claim 7, (Sakino as modified by) Higgins discloses, the inner hooking member 22 cooperates with the surface of the inner hooking member for driving it downwards into its engaged position when the locking element is moved from its unlocked position toward its locked position (see fig. 3 and 6 and column [0019 and [0020] of Higgins) and 16, 44 and 58 of (Sakino, see Sakino, figs. 1-9, column 3, line 30 to column 4, lines 65).
Regarding claim 8, (Sakino as modified by) Higgins discloses, the assistance member 22 has at least a closing protrusion that bears the closing surface, and that is inserted between an assistance protrusion of the inner hooking member when the locking element is moved from its unlocked position toward its locked position, while the assistance member is itself prevented from uplifting by a fixed part of the inner head (see fig. 3 and 6 and column [0019 and [0020] of Higgins) and 16, 44 and 58 of (Sakino, see Sakino, figs. 1-9, column 3, line 30 to column 4, lines 65).
Regarding claim 9, (Sakino as modified by) Higgins discloses, an assurance member 22 provided with a nose N which, when the locking element is 16, 44, 58 (figs. 1-3, 5-9) moved from its unlocked position toward its locked position, is inserted between the inner hooking member and a fixed part of the inner head, wherein the nose has an forward abutment surface that comes in abutment with a rear abutment surface of the inner hooking member when the inner hooking member has not fully engaged with the outer hooking member.
Regarding claim 13, (Sakino as modified by) Higgins discloses, the assurance member 22 and the assistance member 20 (fig. 2) are made as parallel separate arms extending toward the outer head from a same handling plate 23 of the locking element, which is a stand-alone part slidably inserted within a pass-through and all-around closed cavity of the inner head (see figs. 5-9.
Regarding claim 14, (Sakino as modified by) Higgins discloses, the outer head 3 is configured to be fixed to a shield and/or wall 100, and the inner head 2 bears all the electrical terminals, and the inner head 2 is assembled to the outer head by being inserted and fixed into a pass-through cavity of the outer head.
Regarding claim 15, (Sakino as modified by) Higgins discloses, the inner head 2 is fixed only to the outer head 3.
Regarding claim 16, (Sakino as modified by) Higgins discloses, a connecting assembly, comprising: the pass-through connector 1 according to claim 1 fixed to a shield and/or a wall 100; and a counter-connector mated with the pass-through connector (fig. 2, 3).
Regarding claims 17-18, (Sakino as modified by) Higgins discloses, all the structural limitations except for a method steps for fixing and disassembling a pass-through connector on a wall, such as providing; connecting; and locking the assembly, (claim 17) moving the locking element and extracting.
It would have been obvious to follow the method steps such as providing; connecting; and locking the assembly as required by the steps of claim 17 in order to properly assemble and disassembling all the parts of the pass-through connector as intended.
Allowable Subject Matter
Claims 10-12 are objected to as being dependent upon a rejected base claim but would be allowable if rewritten in independent form including all of the limitations of the base claim and any intervening claims.
Regarding claim 10, the prior art of record does not discloses the inner hooking member has to be moved toward an "upward" direction so that an inner hooking part of it may travel over an outer hooking part 26 of the outer hooking member, in particular raised by a fixed slope, when the locking element is moved toward its locked position, and where the inner hooking part has to be moved downward in order to come in abutment engagement with a retention surface of the outer hooking member,
wherein an assurance member has an abutment surface that comes in abutment with a rear abutment surface of the inner hooking member when the inner hooking member has not fully moved over the outer hooking part, including its final downward movement of engaging with the retention surface.
Conclusion
The prior art made of record and not relied upon is considered pertinent to applicant's disclosure. See attached PTO 892.
/HARSHAD C PATEL/Primary Examiner, Art Unit 2831