DETAILED ACTION
Continued Examination Under 37 CFR 1.114
Election/Restriction
Restriction to one of the following inventions is required under 35 U.S.C. 121:
I. Claims 1, 2, 4-6, 10, and 11, drawn to “An electric power apparatus”, classified in F03B 17/06.
II. Claim 7, drawn to “An electric power generation apparatus”, classified in H02N 11/008.
The inventions are independent or distinct, each from the other because:
Inventions I and II are directed to related apparatuses. The related inventions are distinct if: (1) the inventions as claimed are either not capable of use together or can have a materially different design, mode of operation, function, or effect; (2) the inventions do not overlap in scope, i.e., are mutually exclusive; and (3) the inventions as claimed are not obvious variants. See MPEP § 806.05(j). In the instant case, the inventions as claimed have a materially different design, construction, and mode of operation. Furthermore, the inventions as claimed do not encompass overlapping subject matter (due to the use of distinct components) and there is nothing of record to show them to be obvious variants.
Restriction for examination purposes as indicated is proper because all the inventions listed in this action are independent or distinct for the reasons given above and there would be a serious search and/or examination burden if restriction were not required because one or more of the following reasons apply:
although both claimed inventions are intended to be used to transform initial electrical energy into multiple forms of mechanical, hydraulic, mechanical, and electrical energy, the components used in those transformations are different as Invention I uses a rotational “drive transmission power component” while Invention II uses a linear “electro-hydraulic jack system”;
Invention I contains a “first lever mechanism” that is not present in Invention II;
Invention II contains a “compressible flexible chamber” that is not present in Invention I;
Invention II contains “springs” that are not present in Invention I; and
Invention II contains a “flywheel” that is not present in Invention I.
Applicant is advised that the reply to this requirement to be complete must include (i) an election of an invention to be examined even though the requirement may be traversed (37 CFR 1.143) and (ii) identification of the claims encompassing the elected invention.
The election of an invention may be made with or without traverse. To reserve a right to petition, the election must be made with traverse. If the reply does not distinctly and specifically point out supposed errors in the restriction requirement, the election shall be treated as an election without traverse. Traversal must be presented at the time of election in order to be considered timely. Failure to timely traverse the requirement will result in the loss of right to petition under 37 CFR 1.144. If claims are added after the election, applicant must indicate which of these claims are readable upon the elected invention.
Should applicant traverse on the ground that the inventions are not patentably distinct, applicant should submit evidence or identify such evidence now of record showing the inventions to be obvious variants or clearly admit on the record that this is the case. In either instance, if the examiner finds one of the inventions unpatentable over the prior art, the evidence or admission may be used in a rejection under 35 U.S.C. 103 or pre-AIA 35 U.S.C. 103(a) of the other invention.
During a telephone conversation with Mr. Hamilton Oghenekewe Udubra on June 25, 2026, a provisional election was made with traverse to prosecute the invention of group I, claims 1, 2, 4-6, 10, and 11. Affirmation of this election must be made by applicant in replying to this Office action. Claim 7 is withdrawn from further consideration by the examiner, 37 CFR 1.142(b), as being drawn to a non-elected invention.
Response to Arguments
Applicant’s arguments, see pages 2 and 3, filed on July 9, 2026, against inoperability and lack of patentable utility are not persuasive because:
the features upon which applicant relies (i.e., electrical and mechanical power of the components) are not recited in the rejected claims;
the calculations provided are not verifiable because the equation used have not been provided; and
fail to include and consider multiple structural components that are recited in the independent claim and illustrated in Figures 2 and 3.
Applicant’s argument, see page 3, filed on July 9, 2026, against lack of enablement in the Specification is not persuasive because it is not clear which version of the Specification the applicant is referring to. Currently, there are four versions of the Specification as detailed on the table below:
Version
Copies
Filing Date
Entered (Y/N)
Paragraphs
Changes & Errors
Original
1
08/21/2024
Yes
[0001]-[0074]
N/A
2nd
2
06/17/2025
No
[0001]-[0073] *
Errors in "Cross-Reference to Related Applications". P[0011] deleted. "Sufficient to meet" language added throughout.
3rd
2
07/25/2025
No
[0001]-[0075] *
Added P[0032] which contains a description of FIG. 1B. and NEW P[0061].
4th
3
08/13/2025
No
[0001]-[0075] *
Added P[0032] which contains a description of FIG. 1B. and NEW P[0061].
It must be noted that the current valid and accepted version of the Specification is the Original Specification filed on August 21, 2024. All amended Specifications have not been entered to the record. Therefore, since the changes made in the amended Specifications (the ones filed on 6/17/2025, 07/25/2025, and 08/13/2025) have not been entered, all changes must be made using the Original Specification filed on August 23, 2023 as the starting point.
The following is a list of errors that must be corrected in the Specification:
The 23/08/2023 date must be changed to either 08/23/2023 or to August 23, 2023 and said change must be made using the Original Specification filed on August 23. 2023;
The changes to P[0001] made on June 17, 2025 must be present in any future annotated version of the Specification and said change must be made using the Original Specification filed on August 23. 2023;
The changes to P[0003] made on June 17, 2025 must be present in any future annotated version of the Specification and said change must be made using the Original Specification filed on August 23. 2023;
The changes to P[0008] made on June 17, 2025 must be present in any future annotated version of the Specification and said change must be made using the Original Specification filed on August 23. 2023;
The changes to P[0010] made on June 17, 2025 must be present in any future annotated version of the Specification and said change must be made using the Original Specification filed on August 23. 2023;
The changes to P[0011] made on June 17, 2025 must be present in any future annotated version of the Specification and said change must be made using the Original Specification filed on August 23. 2023;
The changes to P[0012] made on June 17, 2025 must be present in any future annotated version of the Specification and said change must be made using the Original Specification filed on August 23. 2023;
The changes to P[0013] made on June 17, 2025 must be present in any future annotated version of the Specification and said change must be made using the Original Specification filed on August 23. 2023;
The changes to P[0014] made on June 17, 2025 must be present in any future annotated version of the Specification and said change must be made using the Original Specification filed on August 23. 2023;
The changes to P[0017] made on June 17, 2025 must be present in any future annotated version of the Specification and said change must be made using the Original Specification filed on August 23. 2023;
The changes to P[0022] made on June 17, 2025 must be present in any future annotated version of the Specification and said change must be made using the Original Specification filed on August 23. 2023;
The changes to P[0027] made on June 17, 2025 must be present in any future annotated version of the Specification and said change must be made using the Original Specification filed on August 23. 2023;
The changes to P[0028] made on June 17, 2025 must be present in any future annotated version of the Specification and said change must be made using the Original Specification filed on August 23. 2023;
The changes to P[0032] made on June 17, 2025 must be present in any future annotated version of the Specification and said change must be made using the Original Specification filed on August 23. 2023;
The changes to P[0033] made on June 17, 2025 must be present in any future annotated version of the Specification and said change must be made using the Original Specification filed on August 23. 2023;
The changes to P[0035] made on June 17, 2025 must be present in any future annotated version of the Specification and said change must be made using the Original Specification filed on August 23. 2023;
The changes to P[0040] made on June 17, 2025 must be present in any future annotated version of the Specification and said change must be made using the Original Specification filed on August 23. 2023;
The changes to P[0040] made on June 17, 2025 must be present in any future annotated version of the Specification and said change must be made using the Original Specification filed on August 23. 2023;
The changes to P[0041] made on June 17, 2025 must be present in any future annotated version of the Specification and said change must be made using the Original Specification filed on August 23. 2023;
The changes to P[0042] made on June 17, 2025 must be present in any future annotated version of the Specification and said change must be made using the Original Specification filed on August 23. 2023;
The changes to P[0043] made on June 17, 2025 must be present in any future annotated version of the Specification and said change must be made using the Original Specification filed on August 23. 2023;
The changes to P[0046] made on June 17, 2025 must be present in any future annotated version of the Specification and said change must be made using the Original Specification filed on August 23. 2023;
The changes to P[0047] made on June 17, 2025 must be present in any future annotated version of the Specification and said change must be made using the Original Specification filed on August 23. 2023;
The changes to P[0048] made on June 17, 2025 must be present in any future annotated version of the Specification and said change must be made using the Original Specification filed on August 23. 2023;
The changes to P[0049] made on June 17, 2025 must be present in any future annotated version of the Specification and said change must be made using the Original Specification filed on August 23. 2023;
The changes to P[0050] made on June 17, 2025 must be present in any future annotated version of the Specification and said change must be made using the Original Specification filed on August 23. 2023;
The changes to P[0051] made on June 17, 2025 must be present in any future annotated version of the Specification and said change must be made using the Original Specification filed on August 23. 2023;
The changes to P[0052] made on June 17, 2025 must be present in any future annotated version of the Specification and said change must be made using the Original Specification filed on August 23. 2023;
The changes to P[0053] made on June 17, 2025 must be present in any future annotated version of the Specification and said change must be made using the Original Specification filed on August 23. 2023;
The changes to P[0054] made on June 17, 2025 must be present in any future annotated version of the Specification and said change must be made using the Original Specification filed on August 23. 2023;
The changes to P[0055] made on June 17, 2025 must be present in any future annotated version of the Specification and said change must be made using the Original Specification filed on August 23. 2023;
The changes to P[0056] made on June 17, 2025 must be present in any future annotated version of the Specification and said change must be made using the Original Specification filed on August 23. 2023;
The changes to P[0057] made on June 17, 2025 must be present in any future annotated version of the Specification and said change must be made using the Original Specification filed on August 23. 2023;
The changes to P[0061] made on June 17, 2025 must be present in any future annotated version of the Specification and said change must be made using the Original Specification filed on August 23. 2023;
The changes to P[0062] made on June 17, 2025 must be present in any future annotated version of the Specification and said change must be made using the Original Specification filed on August 23. 2023;
The changes to P[0063] made on June 17, 2025 must be present in any future annotated version of the Specification and said change must be made using the Original Specification filed on August 23. 2023;
The changes to P[0064] made on June 17, 2025 must be present in any future annotated version of the Specification and said change must be made using the Original Specification filed on August 23. 2023;
The changes to P[0065] made on June 17, 2025 must be present in any future annotated version of the Specification and said change must be made using the Original Specification filed on August 23. 2023;
The changes to P[0066] made on June 17, 2025 must be present in any future annotated version of the Specification and said change must be made using the Original Specification filed on August 23. 2023;
The changes to P[0069] made on June 17, 2025 must be present in any future annotated version of the Specification and said change must be made using the Original Specification filed on August 23. 2023;
The changes to P[0070] made on June 17, 2025 must be present in any future annotated version of the Specification and said change must be made using the Original Specification filed on August 23. 2023;
The changes to P[0071] made on June 17, 2025 must be present in any future annotated version of the Specification and said change must be made using the Original Specification filed on August 23. 2023;
The changes to P[0072] made on June 17, 2025 must be present in any future annotated version of the Specification and said change must be made using the Original Specification filed on August 23. 2023;
The changes to P[0031] made on July 25, 2025 must be present in any future annotated version of the Specification and said change must be made using the Original Specification filed on August 23. 2023;
The changes to P[0032] made on July 25, 2025 must be present in any future annotated version of the Specification and said change must be made using the Original Specification filed on August 23. 2023;
The changes to P[0061] made on July 25, 2025 must be present in any future annotated version of the Specification and said change must be made using the Original Specification filed on August 23. 2023;
The changes to P[0031] made on August 13, 2025 must be present in any future annotated version of the Specification and said change must be made using the Original Specification filed on August 23. 2023;
The changes to P[0032] made on August 13, 2025 must be present in any future annotated version of the Specification and said change must be made using the Original Specification filed on August 23. 2023; and
The changes to P[0061] made on August 13, 2025 must be present in any future annotated version of the Specification and said change must be made using the Original Specification filed on August 23. 2023.
Applicant’s arguments, see pages 6-10, filed on December 2, 2025, with respect to inoperability and lack of utility have been fully considered but they are not persuasive because:
although the claim language has been amended to remove references of a “self-driven” apparatus that “generates excess power”, the specification as filed on August 21, 2024 (which provides the light under which the claims are interpreted; see paragraphs [0001], [0008], [0013], [0014], [0040], [0047], [0052], [0064], [0070], and [0072]) still provides (because the Specification filed on 6/17/2025, 07/25/2025, and 08/13/2025 have not been entered) multiple instances in which those references are made; and
the basic fluid mechanics (Pascal’s Principle, Force vs. Energy, Example Values, and Analogy: Hydraulic Jack Lifting a Car) information provided by the applicant fails to cure the claim language shortcomings in terms of how the structure is built and how it operates as many of the necessary components are not included.
Applicant’s arguments, see page 4, filed on July 9, 2026, stating that the “Claims now recite measurable values”, it must be noted that the claims Do NOT contain ANY values. Therefore, this argument is not persuasive.
It must be noted that the claimed invention as recited by the amended claims is still, at best, an electrical energy storage or backup machine of the “Rube Goldberg” type because it utilizes a plurality of electricity consuming mechanical means to store, transform, and regenerate energy for later use. It effectively obtains electrical energy from a battery, or solar panel with inverter, or domestic power, or grid power, transforms said electrical energy into mechanical energy for storage using mechanical means (which consumes and dissipates electrical energy), and transforms said stored mechanical energy using additional mechanical means (which consumes and dissipates mechanical energy) back into electrical energy for “use”.
Drawings
The drawings filed on:
November 1, 2024;
June 17, 2025;
July 25, 2025;
August 13, 2025; and
December 2, 2025;
are objected to under 37 CFR 1.83(a). The drawings must show every feature of the invention specified in the claims. Therefore, the “electric power generation apparatus” recited by claim 7 must be shown or the claim must be canceled. No new matter should be entered.
It must be noted that even though Figure 4 does contain multiple jacks (204C), the Figure is not a complete illustration of the claimed apparatus the way Figure 3 is a complete illustration of the apparatus of claim 1.
Additional replacement sheets may be necessary to show the renumbering of the remaining figures. Each drawing sheet submitted after the filing date of an application must be labeled in the top margin as either “Replacement Sheet” or “New Sheet” pursuant to 37 CFR 1.121(d). If the changes are not accepted by the examiner, the applicant will be notified and informed of any required corrective action in the next Office action. The objection to the drawings will not be held in abeyance.
Claim Rejections - 35 USC § 101
Claims 1, 2, 4-6, 10, and 11 are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 101 because the disclosed invention, as recited in the claims and illustrated in Figure 2, is inoperative and therefore lacks utility.
According to the preamble of the claims, the claimed invention is an “electric power generation apparatus”. However, claim 1 recites “the internal power source comprises a battery”. Since each and every one of the recited “internal or external power source” elements/components are the components generating electrical energy, the claimed invention is essentially a battery-, or solar-, or domestic-, or grid-driven device.
Assuming arguendo that the control system provides electrical energy to the electric motor, said motor will consume electrical energy (hereinafter EMe) to provide mechanical energy to a mechanical reducer (hereinafter MRe), which will provide mechanical energy (at a reduced speed and increased torque) to a rotational to oscillatory or linear motion converter. This converter will also consume mechanical energy (hereinafter R2OorLe) before providing said energy to a first lever mechanism which consumes energy (hereinafter FLe) to operate a hydraulic pump. This hydraulic pump will consume energy (hereinafter HPe) to pressurize and store hydraulic energy (hereinafter HFe) in a hydraulic fluid tank. Said stored hydraulic energy will then operate the paddle wheel which consumes energy (hereinafter PWe) to transform hydraulic fluid energy (HFe) into mechanical energy (PWe) for operating a power transmission shaft. This transmission shaft will consume mechanical energy (hereinafter PTSe) before transmitting said mechanical energy to a generator through “connected gears or pulley belts” for generating electrical energy (hereinafter EGeOutput).
According to the intended operation of the claimed system, the energy equation will be as follows:
IPCe – Eme – Mre – R2OorLe – Fle – HPe – Hfe – Pwe – PTSe = EGeOutput
The electromagnetic and mechanical (component weight and friction) losses will substantially reduce the initial IPCe energy during the multiple energy transformations.
The claimed invention is not capable of being “An electric power generation apparatus” as claimed because the initial input of the system is already electrical energy and the output of the invention will always be substantially less, if at all possible, than the total energy provided to the system.
Claim Rejections - 35 USC § 103
Claims 1, 2, 4-6, 10, and 11 are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being unpatentable over U.S. Patent Application Publication No. 2016/0301295 A1 to Regier et al. in view of U.S. Patent Application Publication No. 2011/0215588 A1 to Gilbert, Jr.
Regier et al. discloses Power Generation Systems, comprising:
a manual start switch (see paragraph [0016] and [0022]) configured to connect an internal power source (118) to an input drive transmission power component (180), wherein the internal power source comprises a battery (“Battery Bank”);
a hydraulic system (see Figure 1) comprising:
a paddle wheel (within motor 140);
a hydraulic fluid tank (130);
check valves (see paragraph [0022]);
pressure regulators or a spring valve (see paragraph [0022]); and
a cooling system (132);
wherein the paddle wheel is hydraulically actuated by high-pressure fluid impingement;
a power transmission shaft connected to the paddle wheel;
an electrical generator (170) connected to said power transmission shaft through gears or pulley belts (146); and
an electronic control system (see paragraph [0016]) for controlling the electric power apparatus.
However, it fails to disclose:
said electric motor being coupled to a mechanical reducer;
a converter mechanically coupled to the output of the mechanical reducer and configured to convert rotational motion to oscillatory or linear motion;
a first lever mechanism connected to the converter and configured to drive a hydraulic pump; and
said hydraulic system comprising:
one or more hydraulic cylinders; and
pistons and rods.
Gilbert, Jr. discloses a Linear Hydraulic and Generator Coupling System and Method, comprising:
an electric motor (“the hydraulic cylinder/motor network is initiated by a battery”, see Abstract) being coupled to a mechanical reducer (see Figure 1);
a converter (see Figure 1) mechanically coupled to the output of the mechanical reducer and configured to convert rotational motion to oscillatory or linear motion;
a first lever mechanism (13) connected to the converter and configured to drive a hydraulic pump (3); and
said hydraulic system (see Figure 1) comprising:
one or more hydraulic cylinders (3); and
pistons and rods (13).
It would have been obvious to one skilled in the art before the effective filling date of the invention to use the Linear Hydraulic and Generator Coupling System disclosed by Gilbert, Jr. on the Power Generation Systems disclosed by Regier et al., for the purpose of smoothing the operation of the system via the accumulation and controlled release of hydraulic pressure.
With regards to claim 2, Regier et al. in view of Gilbert, Jr. disclose:
the paddle wheel being configured to amplify torque based on the ratio between the diameter of the paddle wheel and that of the transmission shaft.
With regards to claim 4, Regier et al. in view of Gilbert, Jr. disclose:
the internal power source includes an inverter (175 of Regier et al.) for converting DC power from the battery to AC power to drive an AC electric motor.
With regards to claim 5, Regier et al. in view of Gilbert, Jr. disclose:
a battery charging circuit (112 of Regier et al.; see claim 14 of Gilbert, Jr.).
With regards to claim 6, Regier et al. in view of Gilbert, Jr. disclose:
the converter comprises a gear-driven (see Figure 1 of Gilbert et al.) or cam-based mechanism.
With regards to claim 10, Regier et al. discloses:
an external power source (110) being selected from the group consisting of a solar panel with inverter, domestic power, and grid power.
With regards to claim 11, Regier et al. in view of Gilbert, Jr. disclose:
the input drive transmission power component is selected from the group consisting of an electric actuator, an electromechanical press, an electric jack, an electric motor (120 of Regier et al.), and an electric hydraulic pump (2 of Gilbert et al.).
Models - 37 CFR § 1.91
(a) A model or exhibit will not be admitted as part of the record of an application unless it:
(1) Substantially conforms to the requirements of § 1.52 or § 1.84; or
(2) Is specifically required by the Office.
(b) Notwithstanding the provisions of paragraph (a) of this section, a model, working model, or other physical exhibit may be required by the Office if deemed necessary for any purpose in examination of the application.
The applicant is requested to furnish a working model of the claimed invention for the purpose of demonstrating operability, utility, and patentability.
Conclusion
/PEDRO J CUEVAS/Primary Examiner, Art Unit 2896 July 15, 2026