DETAILED ACTION
Priority
Receipt is acknowledged of certified copies of papers required by 37 CFR 1.55.
Claim Rejections - 35 USC § 112
Claims 1-12 are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 112(b) or 35 U.S.C. 112 (pre-AIA ), second paragraph, as being indefinite for failing to particularly point out and distinctly claim the subject matter which the inventor or a joint inventor, or for pre-AIA the applicant regards as the invention.
Regarding claim 1, the applicant claims the stop is “fixed with respect to a first lens group”. The first lens group, which comprises a first and second lens, is adjusted via an adjustment mechanism, which is understood to mean translation along the optical axis. Therefore, it is unclear if the applicant means that the distance from the first lens group to the stop is constant during translation (i.e. the stop moves with the group) or if it is fixed in place during translation such that the distance is variable.
For the purposes of this action the office will interpret the claim such that the stop is fixed in position.
Further, with respect to claim 1, the applicant claims a “chord” without defining the term. Some definitions of “chord” require additional structural portions (such as a truss), while others do not.
For the purposes of this action the office will interpret “chord” to be a structure on a curve having a straight line, which appears similar to applicant’s use in their drawings.
Regarding claim 2, the applicant claims “a second eccentricity pin”, which is unclear due to there not being a “first” pin.
For the purposes of this action the office will interpret the claim such that there is one pin.
Regarding claim 6, the applicant claims the “eccentricity pin is press-fitted into each of the plurality of press-fitting holes”, which is unclear. The applicant shows press-fitting holes 45A-C in Fig. 4 that are located approximately 120 degrees from one another along the circumference of 26. It is not clear how the pin, 81, could be press-fitted into teach of these holes. Fig. 11 shows 81 engaging a single hole, 45B, and Fig. 12 shows it engaging 45A.
Therefore, given the language of claim 2, it is not clear to the office if there are 3 different pins that each engage respective holes, if there is 1 pin that engages each hole based on a specific embodiment, if the holes overlap and allow for a single pin to engage each of them, or if there is another “pin” that somehow engages each hole, like a ring.
Additionally, applicant claims “with at least one second eccentricity pin rotated…” it is unclear if there is an additional eccentricity pin since the applicant did not claim “with the at least one second…pin”.
Given all of the above, the office is unsure of how many pins, what kind of pins or the how the structure that contains the press-fitting holes should appear.
Claims 2-12 are rejected due to at least their dependence on claim 1.
Claim Rejections - 35 USC § 102
Claim(s) 1 is/are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 102(a)(1) as being anticipated by Yumiki et al. (PGPUB 20070242940).
Regarding claim 1, as best understood, Yumiki discloses a lens device comprising:
a first lens frame (6) that holds a first lens (any of L2) and that includes a first chord portion (Fig. 4, 6a/b);
a second lens frame (9) that holds a second lens (L3) positioned on an image plane side with respect to the first lens (Fig. 5) and that includes a second chord portion (Fig. 4, 9a/b or 10);
a first adjustment mechanism that performs first adjustment of the first lens frame (17);
a second adjustment mechanism that performs second adjustment of the first lens frame and the second lens frame (7, [0213]-[0214] and Fig. 2 where L2 and L3 are separately moved); and
a stop mechanism that is positioned on the image plane side with respect to the second lens (22),
wherein the first lens includes a first surface positioned on an objective side and a second surface positioned on the image plane side (Fig. 4),
the first adjustment mechanism and the second adjustment mechanism are disposed at positions that are closer to the image plane side than a first position is and closer to the objective side than the stop mechanism is, the first position being a position at which the second surface and a first optical axis of the first lens intersect each other (Figs. 3 and 4 where 17 and 7 are shown to be located between the first lens and the stop), and
a position of the stop mechanism in an optical axis direction is fixed with respect to a first lens group including the first lens and the second lens ([0210]).
Claim Rejections - 35 USC § 103
Claim 2-5 is/are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being unpatentable over Yumiki in view of Harada et al. (PGPUB 20140022654).
Regarding claim 2, as best understood, Yumiki discloses wherein the second adjustment mechanism includes a second eccentricity pin of which a head portion is eccentric with respect to a shaft portion (8 and Fig. 4 indicates 8 having a large head), the second lens frame includes an end surface portion positioned radially outward of the second lens and a hole formed in the end surface portion, and the shaft portion of the second eccentricity pin is fitted into the hole (Fig. 4).
Yumiki does not disclose wherein the pin is press fit into a polygonal press-fitting hole.
However, Harada teaches a lens barrel device that comprises a press-fitting shafts through polygonal press-fitting holes ([0011]).
It would have been obvious to one having ordinary skill in the art as of the effective filing date of the invention to combine Yumiki and Harada to include the polygonal press-fitting holes motivated by improving the ease of assembly.
Regarding claim 3, modified Yumiki discloses wherein the second lens frame includes a recess portion recessed in the optical axis direction, and the press-fitting hole is connected to the recess portion (Fig. 4 of Yumiki where the recess is formed to have depth towards the optical axis and width along it).
Regarding claim 4, modified Yumiki discloses wherein, in a state where the second eccentricity pin is press-fitted into the press-fitting hole, the shaft portion is exposed at the recess portion as seen in the optical axis direction (Fig. 4 where 8 must extend out of the side sufficiently far enough to engage 17).
Regarding claim 5, modified Yumiki discloses further comprising:
a support member that supports the second lens frame , wherein the support member includes a regulation portion that regulates a position of the head portion in the optical axis direction, and the second adjustment mechanism performs the second adjustment with the second eccentricity pin, of which the shaft portion is press-fitted into the press-fitting hole and of which the head portion is positionally regulated by the regulation portion, rotated around a central axis of the head portion so that a position of the shaft portion is displaced in the optical axis direction (Fig. 4 where 17 regulates the location of the lens via 8. [0216]-[0217]).
Examiner Notes
Examiner cites particular columns and line numbers in the references as applied to the claims below for the convenience of the applicant. Although the specified citations are representative of the teachings in the art and are applied to the specific limitations within the individual claim, other passages and figures may apply as well. It is respectfully requested that, in preparing responses, the applicant fully consider the references in entirety as potentially teaching all or part of the claimed invention, as well as the context of the passage as taught by the prior art or disclosed by the examiner.
Conclusion
/TRAVIS S FISSEL/Primary Examiner, Art Unit 2872