Claim Status
The status of claims 1-16 is:
Claims 1-16 are pending.
Claim Rejections - 35 USC § 112
Claims 1-14 are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 112(b) or 35 U.S.C. 112 (pre-AIA ), second paragraph, as being indefinite for failing to particularly point out and distinctly claim the subject matter which the inventor or a joint inventor (or for applications subject to pre-AIA 35 U.S.C. 112, the applicant), regards as the invention.
Regarding claims 1 and 10, the phrase "close to" renders the claim indefinite because it is unclear what would be considered “close to”. There are no standards to determine whether the “RGB gains” are “set close to” each other.
Claims 2-9 and 11-14 are rejected as being dependent on claims 1 or 10.
Claim Rejections - 35 USC § 102
Claim(s) 1-2, 10-11, and 15-16 are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 102(a)(1) as being anticipated by Minoo et al. (U.S. Patent Publication No 2022/0368908, hereinafter “Minoo”).
Regarding claim 1, Minoo discloses an image encoder (Minoo Fig. 5A), comprising:
a tone mapper configured to generate a base image according to an enhanced image and red green blue (RGB) gains (Minoo [0055]: “These systems utilize tone mapping to generate the SDR images. Tone mapping reduces the dynamic range, or contrast ratio, of an entire image or portions of the image while retaining localized contrast. It may also reduce the color gamut by mapping colors that cannot be represented in the SDR image into the color space of the SDR image. The tone mapping may also be performed to subjectively match aesthetics of the SDR image with the HDR image”; Minoo [0043]: “This step adjusts the gain (scaling) and offset of the video data to make the perceptual compression of the video data more uniform across the group of frames and/or frame. Perceptual normalization may also compensate the chrominance samples for processing performed on the corresponding luminance samples to prepare the data in the color space for quantization. The gain and offset values or their inverses, as well as an identification of the portions of the image data to which they were applied, is provided as metadata”) wherein the RGB gains are set close to or the same as each other (Minoo [0043]: “This step adjusts the gain (scaling) and offset of the video data to make the perceptual compression of the video data more uniform across the group of frames and/or frame. Perceptual normalization may also compensate the chrominance samples for processing performed on the corresponding luminance samples to prepare the data in the color space for quantization. The gain and offset values or their inverses, as well as an identification of the portions of the image data to which they were applied, is provided as metadata”);
an enhancement layer configured to generate a tone curve (Minoo [0056]: “The image data used to generate the tone map is acquired prior to the perceptual modifications performed by the coding transfer function block 208 and perceptual normalization block 210 as these blocks adjust the image data in ways that would be more difficult to process using the tone map. The tone map 502 identifies high contrast elements in the video data and generates tone-map values to reduce the contrast of these elements to produce a suitable SDR image. This SDR tone mapping data is transmitted to the decoder 520 as a part of the metadata”) and/or a gain map of the base image and the enhanced image according to the tone mapper and/or a group comprising the base image and the enhanced image;
an image file generator configured to generate an image file according to the base image and at least one member of a group comprising the tone curve and the gain map (Minoo [0056]: “The image data used to generate the tone map is acquired prior to the perceptual modifications performed by the coding transfer function block 208 and perceptual normalization block 210 as these blocks adjust the image data in ways that would be more difficult to process using the tone map. The tone map 502 identifies high contrast elements in the video data and generates tone-map values to reduce the contrast of these elements to produce a suitable SDR image. This SDR tone mapping data is transmitted to the decoder 520 as a part of the metadata”; Minoo [0045]: “The encoder 216 then encodes the pre-processed, quantized and down-sampled data to produce an output bit stream. In one implementation, the metadata is encoded with the bit stream as supplemental enhancement information (SEI) or video usability information (VUI) data”).
Regarding claim 10, it is rejected under the same analysis as claim 1 above.
Regarding claim 2, Minoo discloses the encoder further comprising a first image compressor configured to generate a compressed base image according to the base image (Minoo [0063]: “As described above with reference to FIG. 2A, the transfer function applied by block 204 compresses the video data to make it more suitable for encoding”);
wherein the image file generator generates the image file according to the compressed base image and at least one member of a group comprising the tone curve and the gain map (Minoo [0056]: “The image data used to generate the tone map is acquired prior to the perceptual modifications performed by the coding transfer function block 208 and perceptual normalization block 210 as these blocks adjust the image data in ways that would be more difficult to process using the tone map. The tone map 502 identifies high contrast elements in the video data and generates tone-map values to reduce the contrast of these elements to produce a suitable SDR image. This SDR tone mapping data is transmitted to the decoder 520 as a part of the metadata”; Minoo [0045]: “The encoder 216 then encodes the pre-processed, quantized and down-sampled data to produce an output bit stream. In one implementation, the metadata is encoded with the bit stream as supplemental enhancement information (SEI) or video usability information (VUI) data”).
Regarding claim 11, it is rejected under the same analysis as claim 2 above.
Regarding claim 15, Minoo discloses an image decoder (Minoo Fig. 5B), comprising:
a file parser configured to parse an image file to generate a base image and a tone curve (Minoo [0057]: “FIG. 5B shows how the SDR image is recovered at the decoder 520. As with FIG. 5A, blocks having the same numbers as in the system 420 shown in FIG. 4B operate in the same way and are not described herein in detail. It is contemplated, however, that the decoder 222 in FIG. 2B may be substituted for the decoder 422 shown in FIG. 5B to modify the implementation shown in FIG. 2B to use an inverse tone map. The tone map in the decoder 520 is applied to the data produced by inverse coding transfer function 230 to produce the reconstructed SDR data. As shown, the tone map may also employ the reconstructed linear HDR RGB signal to determine the modifications to the Y′CbCr signal to be provided by the inverse transfer function 230. For easier processing, it may be desirable for the block 524 to convert the reconstructed linear HDR RGB data to the Y′CbCr color space before applying it to the tone mapping function”; Minoo Fig. 5B); and
a tone mapper configured to generate an enhanced image according to the tone curve and the base image (Minoo [0057]: “FIG. 5B shows how the SDR image is recovered at the decoder 520. As with FIG. 5A, blocks having the same numbers as in the system 420 shown in FIG. 4B operate in the same way and are not described herein in detail. It is contemplated, however, that the decoder 222 in FIG. 2B may be substituted for the decoder 422 shown in FIG. 5B to modify the implementation shown in FIG. 2B to use an inverse tone map. The tone map in the decoder 520 is applied to the data produced by inverse coding transfer function 230 to produce the reconstructed SDR data. As shown, the tone map may also employ the reconstructed linear HDR RGB signal to determine the modifications to the Y′CbCr signal to be provided by the inverse transfer function 230. For easier processing, it may be desirable for the block 524 to convert the reconstructed linear HDR RGB data to the Y′CbCr color space before applying it to the tone mapping function”; Minoo Fig. 5B).
Regarding claim 16, Minoo discloses the decoder, further comprising:
a first image decompressor configured to decompress the base image to generate a decompressed base image (Minoo [0057]: “As shown, the tone map may also employ the reconstructed linear HDR RGB signal to determine the modifications to the Y′CbCr signal to be provided by the inverse transfer function 230. For easier processing, it may be desirable for the block 524 to convert the reconstructed linear HDR RGB data to the Y′CbCr color space before applying it to the tone mapping function”);
wherein the tone mapper generates the enhanced image according to the tone curve and the decompressed base image (Minoo [0057]: “FIG. 5B shows how the SDR image is recovered at the decoder 520. As with FIG. 5A, blocks having the same numbers as in the system 420 shown in FIG. 4B operate in the same way and are not described herein in detail. It is contemplated, however, that the decoder 222 in FIG. 2B may be substituted for the decoder 422 shown in FIG. 5B to modify the implementation shown in FIG. 2B to use an inverse tone map. The tone map in the decoder 520 is applied to the data produced by inverse coding transfer function 230 to produce the reconstructed SDR data. As shown, the tone map may also employ the reconstructed linear HDR RGB signal to determine the modifications to the Y′CbCr signal to be provided by the inverse transfer function 230. For easier processing, it may be desirable for the block 524 to convert the reconstructed linear HDR RGB data to the Y′CbCr color space before applying it to the tone mapping function”; Minoo Fig. 5B).
Claim Rejections - 35 USC § 103
Claim(s) 3-4 and 12-13 are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being unpatentable over Minoo in view of Chan et al. (U.S. 2024/0223910, hereinafter “Chan”).
Regarding claim 3, Minoo does not explicitly disclose the encoder further comprising a second image compressor configured to generate a compressed gain map according to the gain map generated by the enhancement layer;
wherein the image file generator generates the image file according to the base image and at least one member of a group comprising the tone curve and the compressed gain map.
However, Chan teaches the encoder further comprising a second image compressor configured to generate a compressed gain map according to the gain map generated by the enhancement layer (Chan [0022]: “The HDR mapping system generates the gain map as a mapping between luminosity values of the SDR digital image (SDR) and luminosity values of the HDR digital image, e.g., as ratios performed using a log.sub.2 operation. This is performable for a single color plane for a grayscale example above, performable for each color channel (e.g., RGB), and so forth. The gain map is configured, for instance, such that a value of zero indicates no change, negative values darken, and positive values brighten. In an implementation, constants are included to avoid potential computational issues such as “divide by zero,” which are separately selectable per color plane”; Chan [0083]: “Gain maps are storable as uncompressed, lossless compressed, or lossy compressed. These techniques are configured to adapt dynamically to current display capabilities and viewing conditions. The gain map does so by supporting dynamic scaling (e.g., between [0,1]) to interpolate between SDR and HDR renditions. This ability, coupled with the metadata, supports runtime decisions by an application based on current display conditions”);
wherein the image file generator generates the image file according to the base image and at least one member of a group comprising the tone curve and the compressed gain map (Chan Fig. 2: digital image file).
It would have been obvious to someone of ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date of the claimed invention to incorporate the compressed gain map as taught by Chan with the encoder of Minoo because using a gain map can be used to increase or decrease the luminosity values when rendering and displaying digital images (Chan [0020]). This motivation for the combination of Minoo and Chan is supported by KSR exemplary rationale (G) Some teaching, suggestion, or motivation in the prior art that would have led one of ordinary skill to modify the prior art reference or to combine prior art reference teachings to arrive at the claimed invention and rationale (D) Applying a known technique to a known device (method, or product) ready for improvement to yield predictable results.
Regarding claim 12, it is rejected under the same analysis as claim 3 above.
Regarding claim 4, Minoo discloses the encoder further comprising a first image compressor configured to generate a compressed base image according to the base image (Minoo [0063]: “As described above with reference to FIG. 2A, the transfer function applied by block 204 compresses the video data to make it more suitable for encoding”);
wherein the image file generator generates the image file according to the compressed base image and at least one member of a group comprising the tone curve and the gain map (Minoo [0056]: “The image data used to generate the tone map is acquired prior to the perceptual modifications performed by the coding transfer function block 208 and perceptual normalization block 210 as these blocks adjust the image data in ways that would be more difficult to process using the tone map. The tone map 502 identifies high contrast elements in the video data and generates tone-map values to reduce the contrast of these elements to produce a suitable SDR image. This SDR tone mapping data is transmitted to the decoder 520 as a part of the metadata”; Minoo [0045]: “The encoder 216 then encodes the pre-processed, quantized and down-sampled data to produce an output bit stream. In one implementation, the metadata is encoded with the bit stream as supplemental enhancement information (SEI) or video usability information (VUI) data”).
Minoo does not explicitly disclose the encoder further comprising:
a second image compressor configured to generate a compressed gain map according to the gain map.
However, Chan teaches the encoder further comprising a second image compressor configured to generate a compressed gain map according to the gain map generated by the enhancement layer (Chan [0022]: “The HDR mapping system generates the gain map as a mapping between luminosity values of the SDR digital image (SDR) and luminosity values of the HDR digital image, e.g., as ratios performed using a log.sub.2 operation. This is performable for a single color plane for a grayscale example above, performable for each color channel (e.g., RGB), and so forth. The gain map is configured, for instance, such that a value of zero indicates no change, negative values darken, and positive values brighten. In an implementation, constants are included to avoid potential computational issues such as “divide by zero,” which are separately selectable per color plane”; Chan [0083]: “Gain maps are storable as uncompressed, lossless compressed, or lossy compressed. These techniques are configured to adapt dynamically to current display capabilities and viewing conditions. The gain map does so by supporting dynamic scaling (e.g., between [0,1]) to interpolate between SDR and HDR renditions. This ability, coupled with the metadata, supports runtime decisions by an application based on current display conditions”).
It would have been obvious to someone of ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date of the claimed invention to incorporate the compressed gain map as taught by Chan with the encoder of Minoo because using a gain map can be used to increase or decrease the luminosity values when rendering and displaying digital images (Chan [0020]). This motivation for the combination of Minoo and Chan is supported by KSR exemplary rationale (G) Some teaching, suggestion, or motivation in the prior art that would have led one of ordinary skill to modify the prior art reference or to combine prior art reference teachings to arrive at the claimed invention and rationale (D) Applying a known technique to a known device (method, or product) ready for improvement to yield predictable results.
Regarding claim 13, it is rejected under the same analysis as claim 4 above.
Allowable Subject Matter
Claims 5-9 and 14 would be allowable if rewritten to overcome the rejection(s) under 35 U.S.C. 112(b) or 35 U.S.C. 112 (pre-AIA ), 2nd paragraph, set forth in this Office action and to include all of the limitations of the base claim and any intervening claims.
Conclusion
/AIDAN KEUP/Examiner, Art Unit 2666 /Molly Wilburn/Primary Examiner, Art Unit 2666