DETAILED ACTION
Response to Arguments
Regarding claim 1, Applicant's arguments filed 18 December 2025 have been fully considered but they are not persuasive. Applicant argues that Lee fails to disclose “wherein the touch sensing circuit is configured to receive signals transmitted from the touch sensing element, and the bio-feature sensing circuit is configured to receive signals transmitted from the bio-feature sensing element”, since Lee discloses in paragraph [0146] that a touch signal is generated in area FPA (rather than the touch signal being received by the touch sensing circuit). However, the operation of the device of [0146], in addition to the other operational embodiments of figures 21 and 22, anticipate the claimed limitation. First, touch sensing elements TE output signals based on capacitive signal, that is then sent to the touch sensing circuit TP1/TP2 ([0129]). Second, bio-feature sensing elements FPS detect infrared light from the user’s finger to output a detection signal to the bio-feature sensing circuit FPA ([0009], “a sensor layer disposed below black matrix layer includes a plurality of fingerprint recognition sensors that are infrared sensors that receive infrared light emitted by the black matrices and reflected from an external object”). Thus, both TE and FPS electrodes receive signals (capacitance change / IR light, respectively) and transmit them to the respective sensing circuits. Therefore, Applicant’s arguments are not persuasive.
Applicant’s arguments with respect to claim(s) 8-10 have been considered but are moot because the new ground of rejection does not rely on any reference applied in the prior rejection of record for any teaching or matter specifically challenged in the argument.
Claim Rejections - 35 USC § 102
Claim(s) 1-7 are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 102(a)(1) as being anticipated by Lee et al. (US 2020/0133414).
Regarding claim 1, Lee discloses an electronic device (see figures 10-11, 17-18 and 30, for instance), comprising: a first substrate (SUB, comprising area NDA, see fig. 17); a first circuit layer (see figure 18) overlapped with the first substrate; a touch sensing element (SL2) overlapped with the first substrate (SUB) and comprising a plurality of touch sensing electrodes (TE); a touch sensing circuit (TP1/TP2) coupled to the touch sensing element through the first circuit layer (see figure 18, for instance); a second substrate (CW) overlapped with the first substrate (SUB); a bio-feature sensing element (FPS within SL1, including OLED element [0049]), overlapped with the first substrate (SUB) and the plurality of touch sensing electrodes (TE), wherein the bio-feature sensing element comprises at least one first switching element (TFT1 and/or TFT2, see figure 11), and a portion of the plurality of touch sensing electrodes (TE) is not overlapped with the bio-feature sensing element (FPS in area FPA of figure 17); a second circuit layer (including elements of Fig. 11) overlapped with the second substrate (CW); a bio-feature sensing circuit (FPA) coupled to the bio-feature sensing element (FPS) through the second circuit layer (see figure 11); wherein the touch sensing circuit (TP1/TP2) is configured to receive signals transmitted from the touch sensing element (TE; [0129]), and the bio-feature sensing circuit (FPA) is configured to receive signals transmitted from the bio-feature sensing element (FPS; [0009]); see Response to Arguments, above); a plurality of pixels (SP), wherein the plurality of pixels comprises a plurality of second switching elements (120), and the bio-feature sensing element (FPS) overlaps at least two of the plurality of pixels (SP; particularly in overlapping elements 171); and a blocking layer (BM), disposed on the bio-feature sensing element (FPS), simultaneously overlapped with the at least one first switching element (TFT1, since BM completely covers FPS, see figure 30) of the bio-feature sensing element (fig. 11) and at least one of the plurality of second switching elements (120, since BM covers a portion thereof) of the plurality of pixels (PX), wherein the first substrate (SUB) comprises a first side edge farthest away from the touch sensing circuit (top edge of NDA, see modified figure 17, below), the second substrate (CW) comprises a second side edge (adjacent top edge of NDA, as per modified figure 17) farthest away from the bio-feature sensing circuit (RCV / FPA), and a distance between the second side edge and the bio-feature sensing circuit is less than a distance between the first side edge and the touch sensing circuit (With reference to Fig. 17, the side edge is defined as the top edge as noted in the modified figure. The bio-feature sensing circuit is defined within region FPA, as also shown in figure 10, to include element RCV at the top edge of FPA, as noted below. Therefore, D1 is the defined as the distance between the side edge and the bio-feature sensing circuit. With reference to figure 18, touch sensing circuit is defined as including elements TP1 and TP2, since these are connected to an external driving circuit, which would be analogous to element RCV of the bio-feature sensing circuit. Thus, distance D2 is defined as the distance between the side edge and the touch sensing circuit. As Examiner notes in modified figure 17 of Lee above, D1<D2).
Modified Figure 30 of Lee.
Modified Fig. 10 of Lee
Modified Fig. 17 of Lee
Modified Fig. 18 of Lee
Regarding claim 2, Lee discloses the electronic device of claim 1, wherein the bio-feature sensing element (SL1) comprises an ultrasonic fingerprint sensor ([0046]).
Regarding claim 3, Lee discloses the electronic device of claim 1, wherein the bio-feature sensing element (SL1) comprises a plurality of bottom electrode layers ([0108]-[0109]; “control electrode”).
Regarding claim 4, Lee discloses the electronic device of claim 1, further comprising a self-light-emitting medium layer ([0049]), and the self-light-emitting medium layer is overlapped with the touch sensing element (SL1).
Regarding claim 5, Lee discloses the electronic device of claim 4, wherein the self-light-emitting medium layer ([0049]) comprises an organic light-emitting diode or an inorganic light-emitting diode (“OLED”).
Regarding claim 6, Lee discloses the electronic device of claim 4, wherein the electronic device comprises a foldable electronic device or a flexible electronic device (since peripheral areas can be bent, see [0047]; see also figure 18, elements TL1, which are bent as part of a printed circuit board).
Regarding claim 7, Lee discloses the electronic device of claim 1, wherein the blocking layer (BM) comprises a black matrix layer.
Claim Rejections - 35 USC § 103
Claim(s) 8 is rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being unpatentable over Lee in view of Ishizaki et al. (US 2018/0284513).
Regarding claim 8, Lee discloses the electronic device of claim 1, wherein the second substrate (CW) is disposed on a surface of the first substrate (SUB), and in a direction parallel to the surface. However, Lee does not expressly disclose wherein a width of the second substrate is less than a width of the first substrate.
Ishizaki discloses an electronic device (see figures 1-2, for instance), wherein a width of the second substrate (SUB2) is less than a width (particularly adjacent elements T1) of the first substrate (SUB1).
It would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date of the claimed invention to use the substrate width relationships as Ishizaki in the device of Lee. The motivation for doing so would have been to make the frame narrower for a sensor-equipped display device, as taught by Ishizaki ([0130]).
Claim(s) 9-10 are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being unpatentable over Lee in view of Han et al. (US 2018/0113346).
Regarding claim 9, Lee discloses electronic device of claim 1. However, Lee does not expressly disclose wherein at least a portion of the touch sensing circuit is not overlapped with the bio-feature sensing circuit.
Han discloses an electronic device (see figure 5, for instance), wherein at least a portion of the touch sensing circuit (TSU) is not overlapped with the bio-feature sensing circuit (FSU).
It would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date of the claimed invention to use the placement of the touch sensing and bio-feature sensing circuits as Han in the device of Lee. The motivation for doing so would have been to obtain a touch screen panel having a narrow bezel area since the touch screen panel does not require a separate fingerprint sensor area in the bezel area, as taught by Han ([0107]).
Regarding claim 10, Lee discloses the electronic device of claim 1. However, Lee does not expressly disclose wherein the touch sensing circuit is not overlapped with the second substrate.
Han discloses an electronic device (see figure 4, for instance), wherein the touch sensing circuit (20) is not overlapped with the second substrate (TSP).
It would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date of the claimed invention to use the substrate and touch sensing circuit arrangement as Han in the device of Lee. The motivation for doing so would have been to obtain a touch screen panel having a narrow bezel area since the touch screen panel does not require a separate fingerprint sensor area in the bezel area, as taught by Han ([0107]).
Conclusion
Applicant's amendment necessitated the new ground(s) of rejection presented in this Office action. Accordingly, THIS ACTION IS MADE FINAL. See MPEP § 706.07(a). Applicant is reminded of the extension of time policy as set forth in 37 CFR 1.136(a).
/NATHANAEL R BRIGGS/Primary Examiner, Art Unit 2871 1/27/2026