DETAILED ACTION
Amended claims 1, 2 and 4 thru 15 have been entered into the record. Claim 3 has been cancelled.
Response to Amendment
The amendments to the specification overcome the specification objections from the previous office action (12/17/2025). The specification objections are withdrawn.
The amendments to the claims cause 35 U.S.C. 112(f) to no longer be invoked, see the previous office action (12/17/2025). The current claims have no interpretations under 35 U.S.C. 112(f).
The amendments to the claims overcome the 35 U.S.C. 112(b) rejections from the previous office action (12/17/2025). The 35 U.S.C. 112(b) rejections are withdrawn.
The office has received the Request for the USPTO to retrieve the priority documents on 3/17/2026. As of the examination of the applicant’s response, the priority documents have not yet been posted to the examiner’s docket. Therefore, the examiner has not yet acknowledged the claim of foreign priority.
Response to Arguments
Applicant's arguments filed 3/17/2026 have been fully considered but they are not persuasive. The applicant argues that the primary reference of Ukai et al do not teach a traveling sate constraint based on temperature range that acts as a condition for maintaining a traveling state, rather than triggering a mode switch (argument page 12 paragraph 4). The examiner respectfully disagrees. Ukai et al do maintain the vehicle driving state when the battery temperature is not lower that a threshold value (Figure 5 steps S103). Additionally Ukai recites, “On the other hand, when it is determined in step S101 that a battery command is being executed for the second battery 320, when it is determined in step S102 that the discharge capacity of the second battery 320 is reduced, or when it is determined in step S103 that the liquid temperature of the second battery 320 is equal to or higher than the threshold value, the mode change processing unit 154 ends the processing without changing the driving mode.” (P[0067] and P[0068]). The driving mode is not changed when the temperature of the battery is higher than the threshold value.
Regarding the claimed temperature range, the examiner addressed the lack of the claimed range in Ukai et al with the secondary reference 5055347 (applicant provides name Tesla). The threshold temperature values of Ukai et al could be interpreted as equivalent to a temperature range. For example, all temperature values below the threshold are in a range that has an upper limit. And, all temperature values above the threshold are in a range that has an lower limit. Tesla was cited to provide an actual range of a specific value to another specific value to be applied to the temperature based on changing of driving mode of Ukai et al. A person having ordinary skill in the art would understand the application of a smaller temperature range to the process of Ukai et al that already changes the driving mode when the temperature is outside of a threshold value.
The applicant further argues that claim 1 is directed to different ranges corresponding to different travelling states (page 12 paragraph 5). The examiner addressed the different temperature ranges with the different temperature ranges recited in Tesla.
The applicant further argues that the limitations related to the navigation device are not taught by Tesla. The examiner agrees because the claimed with and without cooperation with the navigation device would rejected by citations in Ukai et al (see below rejection of claims 1 and 11). Tesla was cited by the examiner to merely teach that temperature ranges may be applied to a vehicle to set the driving mode, instead of just a threshold as taught by Ukai et al.
The same responses to the arguments regarding claim 1 also apply to claim 11. The prior art rejections of independent claims 1 and 11, and dependent claims 2, 4 thru 8 and 12 are maintained.
Regarding the prior art rejections of dependent claims 9 and 10, the applicant argues that Numata et al do not teach the objectives of claim 1 (argument page 15). In response to applicant's argument that Ukai et al, Tesla and Numata et al are is non-analogous art (different control framework), it has been held that a prior art reference must either be in the field of the inventor’s endeavor or, if not, then be reasonably pertinent to the particular problem with which the inventor was concerned, in order to be relied upon as a basis for rejection of the claimed invention. See In re Oetiker, 977 F.2d 1443, 24 USPQ2d 1443 (Fed. Cir. 1992). In this case, all of the references are related battery. Ukai et al, changing the driving mode based on a change in the battery temperature. Tesla, associating different battery temperature ranges with different driving performance modes. And Numata et al, controlling the battery temperature for arrival at a location. The prior art is related to battery temperatures and vehicle driving control, either to react to the temperature or control the temperature. All of the prior art is in the same field and related to one another, therefore, the prior art is analogous and the rejections of claims 9 and 10 are maintained.
Claim Rejections - 35 USC § 112
Claims 1 rejected under 35 U.S.C. 112(a) or 35 U.S.C. 112 (pre-AIA ), first paragraph, as failing to comply with the written description requirement. The claim(s) contains subject matter which was not described in the specification in such a way as to reasonably convey to one skilled in the relevant art that the inventor or a joint inventor, or for applications subject to pre-AIA 35 U.S.C. 112, the inventor(s), at the time the application was filed, had possession of the claimed invention.
Amended claims 1 and 11 recite, “second traveling state in which the vehicle is traveling based on route guidance from the navigation device”. The only reference to route guidance provided in the specification recites, “Alternatively, this second traveling state may be a state in which route guidance is displayed on a display device (not shown) provided in the vehicle M in cooperation with the navigation device.” (PGPub P[0043]). The route guidance is merely displayed, the second traveling state of the vehicle is not based on the route guidance, but just in cooperation with navigation device.
Claim 14 recites, “a restriction on output of the battery when the temperature of the battery is outside the target temperature range associated with the second traveling state is stricter than the restriction on the output when the temperature is outside the target temperature range associated with the first traveling state”. The specification describes only one restriction, “In the first limit control and the second limit control, the output from the battery 52 may be restricted to a greater extent as a degree of deviation from the target temperature range increases.” (PGPub P[0055]). The battery output is restricted to a greater extent when the temperature deviation is farther away from the target temperature range. The restriction is not based on the first or second traveling state. Even looking at Figure 5, where the temperature range limits are smaller for different operation states, does not address higher restriction on one state over another. It merely sets different temperature limits for the different states, it does not restriction the battery output.
Claim 15 states, “determines the target temperature range further based on an outside air temperature of the vehicle”. The only mention of outside or external or exterior air temperature in the specification is “The acquirer 41 also acquires information indicating an operation state of the vehicle M, such as information indicating…an outside air temperature of the vehicle M” (PGPub P[0043]). There is no description of how the outside air temperature is used to determine the target temperature range. The acquirer merely gathers the outside air temperature, but does not recite what is done with the gathered information.
Claim Rejections - 35 USC § 103
Claim(s) 1, 2, 4 thru 8 and 11 thru 14 is/are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being unpatentable over Ukai et al Patent Application Publication Number 2022/0203866 A1 in view of Multi-mode charging system or electric vehicles Japanese Patent Number JP-5055347-B2 (examiner provided translation cited, and provided with the previous office action of 12/17/2025) (hereafter 5055347).
Regarding claims 1 and 11 Ukai et al teach the claimed control device of a vehicle, a vehicle system 1 using a vehicle control device (Figure 1) and the claimed control method, flow of processing executed by a mode determination unit (Figure 5), comprising
the claimed motor to generate a for driving force for the vehicle, “The traveling drive force output device 200 includes, for example, a combination of an internal combustion engine, an electric motor, a transmission, and the like, and an electronic control unit (ECU) that controls these.” (Figure 1 and P[0060]),
the claimed battery to supply electric power to the motor and to be charged with electric power, “The electric motor operates by using electric power generated by a generator connected to the internal combustion engine or discharged electric power of a secondary battery or a fuel cell.” P[0020],
the claimed heat exchanger to adjust a temperature of the battery, decrease the liquid temperature of the second battery 320 P[0065], and the electrolytic solution temperature is referred to as liquid temperature P[0064], and
the claimed navigation device, a navigation device 50 (Figure 1),
the claimed control device comprising a processor configured to execute a program and the claimed computer, “The first control unit 120, the second control unit 160, the third control unit 170, and the battery management unit 180 are respectively realized by, for example, a hardware processor such as a central processing unit (CPU) executing a program (software).” (P[0035] and Figure 1),
to:
the claimed acquire information indicating an operation state of the vehicle and the temperature of the battery, “The state signal acquisition unit 151 acquires a state signal from the battery sensor 321 via the traveling drive force output device 200. A state signal is a signal output by the battery sensor 321 and is a signal indicating a value corresponding to the state of the second battery 320. For example, the state signal is output from the battery sensor 321 to the traveling drive force output device 200, and is output to the automatic driving control device 100 via the traveling drive force output device 200. For example, the battery sensor 321 includes a thermometer and a wattmeter, and outputs a state signal indicating a temperature of the second battery 320 (hereinafter referred to as a “temperature signal”) and a state signal indicating discharged power of the second battery 320 (hereinafter referred to as a “discharge signal”) as state signals.” P[0052] (claimed temperature of the electricity storage device), and “The mode determination unit 150 determines a driving mode of the host vehicle M to be one of a plurality of driving modes having different tasks imposed on the driver. The mode determination unit 150 includes, for example, a state signal acquisition unit 151, a driver state determination unit 152, and a mode change processing unit 154.” (P[0043] and Figure 2) (claimed operation state);
the claimed determine a target temperature of the battery associated with the operation state, “determines whether an electrolytic solution temperature (hereinafter, also simply referred to as a “liquid temperature”) of the second battery 320 is lower than a predetermined threshold value on the basis of temperature information (step S103)” (P[0064] and Figure 5), and “when it is determined that the discharge capacity of the second battery 320 is not reduced and the liquid temperature of the second battery 320 is lower than the predetermined threshold value, the mode change processing unit 154 changes a current driving mode to a driving mode in which a heavier task load is imposed on the driver (step S104)” P[0064]; and
the claimed control operation of the battery based on the temperature of the battery and the target temperature, “a reason for changing the driving mode as in step S104 is that a decrease in the liquid temperature may reduce the discharge capacity of the second battery 320, and the second battery 320 whose discharge capacity is reduced may not supply sufficient power to the third control unit 170 and the third control unit 170 may not be able to operate normally. When a control system of the host vehicle M is switched to the third control unit 170 in such a situation, safety in traveling of the host vehicle M is lowered.” P[0065], wherein
the claimed operation state includes a first traveling state in which the vehicle is traveling without cooperation with the navigation device, “the vehicle is in a state of manual operation that requires a driving operation by the driver in both steering and acceleration/deceleration” (P[0046] and Figure 3), and
the claimed second traveling state in which the vehicle is traveling based on route guidance from the navigation device, “In the mode A, the vehicle is in a state of automatic driving, and neither forward monitoring nor gripping of the steering wheel 82 (steering gripping in FIG. 3) is imposed on the driver. However, even in the mode A, the driver is required to be in a position to quickly shift to manual driving in response to a request from a system centered on the automatic driving control device 100. The term “automatic driving” herein means that both steering and acceleration/deceleration are controlled independently from an operation of the driver.” (P[0045] and Figure 3), and
the claimed target temperature associated with the second traveling state is narrower than the target temperature associated with the first traveling state, “when it is determined that the discharge capacity of the second battery 320 is not reduced and the liquid temperature of the second battery 320 is lower than the predetermined threshold value, the mode change processing unit 154 changes a current driving mode to a driving mode in which a heavier task load is imposed on the driver (step S104)” (P[0064] and Figure 5), the heavier task load is imposed on the driver equates to the manual driving mode, and the temperature below a predetermined threshold value equates to the claimed narrower target temperature;
the claimed processor maintains the second traveling state only while the temperature of the battery is within the target temperature associated with the second traveling state, “determines whether an electrolytic solution temperature (hereinafter, also simply referred to as a “liquid temperature”) of the second battery 320 is lower than a predetermined threshold value on the basis of temperature information (step S103)” (P[0064] and Figure 5), and “when it is determined in step S101 that a battery command is being executed for the second battery 320, when it is determined in step S102 that the discharge capacity of the second battery 320 is reduced, or when it is determined in step S103 that the liquid temperature of the second battery 320 is equal to or higher than the threshold value, the mode change processing unit 154 ends the processing without changing the driving mode” (P[0067], P[0068], and Figure 5); and
the claimed processor switches the operation state from the second to the first traveling state when the temperature of the battery deviates from the target temperature associated with the second traveling state, “the liquid temperature of the second battery 320 is lower than the predetermined threshold value, the mode change processing unit 154 changes a current driving mode to a driving mode in which a heavier task load is imposed on the driver (step S104)” (P[0064] and Figure 5) (claimed second traveling state to first traveling state).
Ukai et al do not teach the claimed target temperature range, but instead merely designate a predetermined temperature to initiate a change in the vehicle mode (Figure 5 steps S103 and S104). A range of temperature may be applied to the method steps of Figure 5 by implementing the change in mode for a specific range of temperatures to change between modes A, B, C, D and E (Figure 3) in increments of one change step (mode A to mode B), or by larger steps (mode A to mode E).
5055347 teach, in standard mode, the battery pack is operated in a temperature range of 30-35 (translation page 5 Standard mode paragraph), in save mode, the battery pack is operated in a temperature range of 20-25 (page 5 Save mode paragraph), in performance mode, the battery pack is operated in a temperature range of 37-40 (page 5 Performance mode paragraph). The standard mode is equated to the automatic mode of Ukai et al, and the performance mode is equated to the manual driving mode of Ukai et al. The range of 37 to 40 is narrower than the range of 30 to 35, and would change to the performance/automatic mode when the temperature does not meet the threshold level. In other words, the combination of Ukai et al and 50555347 would perform a mode change for a temperature range. When running in standard mode (automatic), and the temperature drops below 30, the mode would be switched to performance (manual) to bring the temperature up to a range of 37 to 40. It would have been obvious to a person having ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date of the claimed invention to combine the vehicle control device of Ukai et al with the temperature ranges associated with different vehicle operation modes of 5055347 in order to, with a reasonable expectation of success, improve battery life (5055347 page 8 paragraph 5).
Regarding claim 2 Ukai et al teach the claimed second traveling state is a state in which the vehicle is automatically driven in cooperation with the navigation device, “In the mode A, the vehicle is in a state of automatic driving, and neither forward monitoring nor gripping of the steering wheel 82 (steering gripping in FIG. 3) is imposed on the driver…The term “automatic driving” herein means that both steering and acceleration/deceleration are controlled independently from an operation of the driver.” (P[0045] and Figure 3), and “The navigation device 50 may provide route guidance using the navigation HMI 52 on the basis of the route on a map.” P[0029], the automatic control of the vehicle would use the route guidance to move along the route automatically.
Regarding claim 4 Ukai et al do not teach the claimed operation state further includes a charging state in which the battery is being charged, but the charging of a vehicle battery is a common and well known operation. 5055347 teach, a charging/operating mode (translation paragraph bridging pages 4 and 5), and an alternative charging/operation mode (paragraph bridging pages 6 and 7). It would have been obvious to a person having ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date of the claimed invention to combine the vehicle control device of Ukai et al with the charging operation modes of 5055347 in order to, with a reasonable expectation of success, improve battery life (5055347 page 8 paragraph 5).
Regarding claim 5 Ukai et al do not teach the claimed target temperature range associated with the second traveling state is the same as the target temperature range associated with a state in which the battery is being charged with a direct current in the charging state. 5055347 teach the claimed target temperature range (see above rejection of claim 1). The performance of charging using direct current or alternating current is common and well known in the art. 5055347 teach, “the charging module 411 typically includes an alternating current (AC) / direct current (DC) rectifier (AC to DC rectifier) to convert the power provided by the power source into the power required by the battery pack 403” (translation page 4 paragraph 3), the power required by the battery pack may be direct or alternating current. It would have been obvious to a person having ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date of the claimed invention to combine the vehicle control device of Ukai et al with the charging operation modes to include direct current of 5055347 in order to, with a reasonable expectation of success, improve battery life (5055347 page 8 paragraph 5).
Regarding claim 6 Ukai et al do not teach the claimed target temperature range associated with the second traveling state is the same as the target temperature range associated with a state in which the battery is being charged with an alternating current in the charging state. 5055347 teach the claimed target temperature range (see above rejection of claim 1). The performance of charging using direct current or alternating current is common and well known in the art. 5055347 teach, “the charging module 411 typically includes an alternating current (AC) / direct current (DC) rectifier (AC to DC rectifier) to convert the power provided by the power source into the power required by the battery pack 403” (translation page 4 paragraph 3), the power required by the battery pack may be direct or alternating current. It would have been obvious to a person having ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date of the claimed invention to combine the vehicle control device of Ukai et al with the charging operation modes to include alternating current of 5055347 in order to, with a reasonable expectation of success, improve battery life (5055347 page 8 paragraph 5).
Regarding claim 7 Ukai et al teach the claimed target temperature associated with the state in which the battery is being charged is narrower than the target temperature associated with the state in which the battery is being charged, the mode change processing unit 154 determines whether a discharge capacity of the second battery 320 is reduced on the basis of discharge information (step S102), and determines whether an electrolytic solution temperature (hereinafter, also simply referred to as a “liquid temperature”) of the second battery 320 is lower than a predetermined threshold value on the basis of temperature information (step S103). Here, when it is determined that the discharge capacity of the second battery 320 is not reduced and the liquid temperature of the second battery 320 is lower than the predetermined threshold value, the mode change processing unit 154 changes a current driving mode to a driving mode in which a heavier task load is imposed on the driver (step S104).” (P[0064] and Figure 5).
Ukai et al do not teach the claimed target temperature range, but instead merely designate a predetermined temperature to initiate a change in the vehicle mode (Figure 5 steps S103 and S104). A range of temperature may be applied to the method steps of Figure 5 by implementing the change in mode for a specific range of temperatures to change between modes A, B, C, D and E (Figure 3) in increments of one change step (mode A to mode B), or by larger steps (mode A to mode E). 5055347 teach, in standard mode, the battery pack is operated in a temperature range of 30-35 (translation page 5 Standard mode paragraph), in performance mode, the battery pack is operated in a temperature range of 37-40 (page 5 Performance mode paragraph).
Ukai et al do not teach the claimed charging state in which the electricity storage device is being charged, but the charging of a vehicle battery is a common and well known operation. 5055347 teach, a charging/operating mode (translation paragraph bridging pages 4 and 5), and an alternative charging/operation mode (paragraph bridging pages 6 and 7).
Ukai et al do not teach the claimed direct current charging and alternating current charging. The performance of charging using direct current or alternating current is common and well known in the art. 5055347 teach, “the charging module 411 typically includes an alternating current (AC) / direct current (DC) rectifier (AC to DC rectifier) to convert the power provided by the power source into the power required by the battery pack 403” (translation page 4 paragraph 3), the power required by the battery pack may be direct or alternating current. It would have been obvious to a person having ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date of the claimed invention to combine the vehicle control device of Ukai et al with the charging operation modes to include direct and alternating current of 5055347 in order to, with a reasonable expectation of success, improve battery life (5055347 page 8 paragraph 5).
Regarding claim 8 Ukai et al do not teach the claimed control the heat exchanger so that the temperature of the battery is included in the target temperature range. 5055347 teach, “the power control subsystem 401 further monitors the temperature of the battery pack 403 and uses the battery cooling subsystem 405 to control its temperature” (translation page 3 last paragraph), “The cooling system then operates to keep the temperature within the range of about 37 [° C.] to 40 [° C.].” (page 5 paragraph 3), and “during operation of the vehicle, the battery pack temperature is allowed to rise to a temperature in the range of about 37 [° C.] to 40 [° C.] and thereafter to maintain the temperature within this range” (page 5 paragraph 4). It would have been obvious to a person having ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date of the claimed invention to combine the vehicle control device of Ukai et al with the charging operation modes to control the battery temperature within a range of temperature of 5055347 in order to, with a reasonable expectation of success, improve battery life (5055347 page 8 paragraph 5).
Regarding claim 12 Ukai et al and 5055347 teach the claimed method of claim 11 (see above), Ukai et al teach the method further comprising:
the claimed switching the operation state of the vehicle from the second to the first traveling state when the operation state is the second traveling state and it is estimated that the temperature of the battery deviates from the target temperature associated with the second traveling state, “the liquid temperature of the second battery 320 is lower than the predetermined threshold value, the mode change processing unit 154 changes a current driving mode to a driving mode in which a heavier task load is imposed on the driver (step S104)” (P[0064] and Figure 5) (claimed second traveling state to first traveling state).
Ukai et al do not teach the claimed target temperature range, but instead merely designate a predetermined temperature to initiate a change in the vehicle mode (Figure 5 steps S103 and S104). A range of temperature may be applied to the method steps of Figure 5 by implementing the change in mode for a specific range of temperatures to change between modes A, B, C, D and E (Figure 3) in increments of one change step (mode A to mode B), or by larger steps (mode A to mode E).
5055347 teach, in standard mode, the battery pack is operated in a temperature range of 30-35 (translation page 5 Standard mode paragraph), in performance mode, the battery pack is operated in a temperature range of 37-40 (page 5 Performance mode paragraph). It would have been obvious to a person having ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date of the claimed invention to combine the vehicle control device of Ukai et al with the temperature ranges associated with different vehicle operation modes of 5055347 in order to, with a reasonable expectation of success, improve battery life (5055347 page 8 paragraph 5).
Regarding claim 13 Ukai et al teach the claimed switches the operation state from the second to the first traveling state when it is estimated that the temperature of the battery will deviate from the target temperature associated with the second traveling state, “When a difference between a measurable temperature of the second battery 320 and an actual liquid temperature of the second battery 320 is large, the mode change processing unit 154 may be configured to estimate the liquid temperature on the basis of a measured temperature, and compare the estimated liquid temperature with the threshold value.” P[0066], and “the liquid temperature of the second battery 320 is lower than the predetermined threshold value, the mode change processing unit 154 changes a current driving mode to a driving mode in which a heavier task load is imposed on the driver (step S104).” (P[0064] and Figure 5), when the temperature is estimated instead of an actual temperature measurement, the driving mode will still be changed based on the estimate.
Ukai et al do not teach the claimed target temperature range, but instead merely designate a predetermined temperature to initiate a change in the vehicle mode (Figure 5 steps S103 and S104). A range of temperature may be applied to the method steps of Figure 5 by implementing the change in mode for a specific range of temperatures to change between modes A, B, C, D and E (Figure 3) in increments of one change step (mode A to mode B), or by larger steps (mode A to mode E).
5055347 teach, in standard mode, the battery pack is operated in a temperature range of 30-35 (translation page 5 Standard mode paragraph), in performance mode, the battery pack is operated in a temperature range of 37-40 (page 5 Performance mode paragraph). It would have been obvious to a person having ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date of the claimed invention to combine the vehicle control device of Ukai et al with the temperature ranges associated with different vehicle operation modes of 5055347 in order to, with a reasonable expectation of success, improve battery life (5055347 page 8 paragraph 5).
Regarding claim 14 Ukai et al teach the claimed restriction on output of the battery is more when the temperature is outside of the range in the second traveling state than in the first traveling state, “when it is determined that the discharge capacity of the second battery 320 is not reduced and the liquid temperature of the second battery 320 is lower than the predetermined threshold value, the mode change processing unit 154 changes a current driving mode to a driving mode in which a heavier task load is imposed on the driver (step S104)” (P[0064] and Figure 5), and “a reason for changing the driving mode as in step S104 is that a decrease in the liquid temperature may reduce the discharge capacity of the second battery 320, and the second battery 320 whose discharge capacity is reduced may not supply sufficient power to the third control unit 170 and the third control unit 170 may not be able to operate normally” P[0065].
Claim(s) 9 and 10 is/are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being unpatentable over Ukai et al Patent Application Publication Number 2022/0203866 A1 and Multi-mode charging system or electric vehicles Japanese Patent Number JP-5055347-B2 (examiner provided translation cited, and provided with the previous office action of 12/17/2025) (hereafter 5055347) as applied to claims 1 and 8 above, and further in view of Numata et al Patent Application Publication Number 2024/0262249 A1.
Regarding claim 9 Ukai et al teach the claimed processor is further configured to:
the claimed acquire server information related to a destination of the vehicle or an area the vehicle is scheduled to travel from an external server, “The communication device 20 communicates with other vehicles present in the periphery of the host vehicle M or communicates with various server devices via a wireless base station by using, for example, a cellular network, a Wi-Fi network, Bluetooth (a registered trademark), or dedicated short-range communication (DSRC).” P[0026], and “The navigation device 50 may transmit a current position and a destination to the navigation server via the communication device 20 and acquire a route equivalent to the route on a map from the navigation server.” P[0029].
Ukai et al and 5055347 do not teach the claimed control the heat exchanger based on the acquired server information (position/navigation information). Numata et al teach, “in step S1, an arrival time situation at the time when vehicle A will arrive at the charging station CS is estimated using the environmental information acquired from the navigation device 70, the cloud server 100” (P[0091] and Figure 3), “In step S2, the target battery temperature TbO at the charging station CS related to an arrival time situation in step S1 is calculated.” (P[0093] and Figure 3), “In step S3, a battery temperature adjustment amount required for the battery temperature Tb at an arrival time at the charging station CS to become the target battery temperature TbO when the vehicle travels to the charging station CS at the current travel speed is calculated. When calculating the battery temperature adjustment amount, the amount of heat generated by the battery B due to the travel of the vehicle A and the temperature control capability of the temperature adjustment system 42 can be estimated as approximate numerical values. Therefore, in order to cool the battery to the target battery temperature TbO, it is possible to specify the execution period of temperature adjustment by the temperature adjustment system 42.” (P[0095] and Figure 3), “In step S4, the battery temperature at the arrival time estimated in step S1 is compared with the target battery temperature TbO calculated in step S2. By comparing the battery temperature at the arrival time and the target battery temperature TbO, it is determined whether a temperature adjustment execution time by the temperature adjustment system 42 until arriving at the charging station CS is sufficient to reach the target battery temperature TbO.” (P[0096] and Figure 3), and “in step S8, the temperature adjustment capacity of the temperature adjustment system 42 performed between the current location and the charging station CS is adjusted” (P[0108] and Figure 3).
The temperature adjustment/predictions of Numata et al would be combined with Ukai et al as changes to the operation mode between modes A to E to arrive at the destination at the desired temperature of the battery. It would have been obvious to a person having ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date of the claimed invention to combine the vehicle control device of Ukai et al and the temperature ranges associated with different vehicle operation modes of 5055347 with the temperature adjustments of a battery management program of Numata et al in order to, with a reasonable expectation of success, reduce the time required to complete charging (Numata et al P[0023]).
Regarding claim 10 Ukai et al teach the claimed when the operation state of the vehicle is the second traveling state, “In the mode A, the vehicle is in a state of automatic driving, and neither forward monitoring nor gripping of the steering wheel 82 (steering gripping in FIG. 3) is imposed on the driver. However, even in the mode A, the driver is required to be in a position to quickly shift to manual driving in response to a request from a system centered on the automatic driving control device 100. The term “automatic driving” herein means that both steering and acceleration/deceleration are controlled independently from an operation of the driver.” (P[0045] and Figure 3).
Ukai et al and 5055347 do not teach the claimed destination of the vehicle is a power supply facility, and pre-cooling control of the battery is performed by control of the heat exchanger, the processor is configured to execute the program to maintain the operation state of the vehicle in the second traveling state even if the temperature of the battery deviates from the target temperature range associated with the second traveling state as a result of the pre-cooling control.
Numata et al teach,
the claimed destination of the vehicle is a power supply facility, “in step S1, an arrival time situation at the time when vehicle A will arrive at the charging station CS is estimated using the environmental information acquired from the navigation device 70, the cloud server 100” (P[0091] and Figure 3),
the claimed pre-cooling control of the electricity storage device is performed by control of the temperature adjustment device, “in step S8, the temperature adjustment capacity of the temperature adjustment system 42 performed between the current location and the charging station CS is adjusted. By improving the temperature adjustment capacity (cooling capacity) of the temperature adjustment system 42, the battery temperature of the battery B is adjusted by the temperature adjustment system 42 so that the battery temperature at the arrival time becomes the target battery temperature TbO even when the temperature adjustment execution time is insufficient.” (P[0108] and Figure 3),
the claimed maintain the operation state of the vehicle in the second traveling state even if the temperature of the electricity storage device deviates from the target temperature range associated with the second traveling state as a result of the pre-cooling control, “If the battery temperature at the arrival time is higher than the target battery temperature TbO, it means that the battery B has not been cooled down to the target battery temperature TbO, so it can be determined that the temperature adjustment execution time is insufficient. If it is determined that the temperature adjustment execution time is insufficient, the process proceeds to step S6.” (P[0098] and Figure 3), “In step S6, it is determined whether the temperature adjustment capacity of the temperature adjustment system 42 is improvable.” (P[0099] and Figure 3), “If the battery temperature at the arrival time even in such case is higher than the target battery temperature TbO, the process proceeds to step S7” (P[0101] and Figure 3), and “In step S7, the travel speed of the vehicle A when heading from the current location to the charging station CS is adjusted so that the battery temperature at the arrival time becomes the target battery temperature TbO.” (P[0102] and Figure 3)
The temperature adjustment/predictions of Numata et al would be combined with Ukai et al as the automatic driving mode is kept to arrive at the destination with the speed changes of Numata et al functioning to change the battery temperature instead of the driver having a heavier load of Ukai et al. It would have been obvious to a person having ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date of the claimed invention to combine the vehicle control device of Ukai et al and the temperature ranges associated with different vehicle operation modes of 5055347 with the temperature adjustments of a battery management program of Numata et al in order to, with a reasonable expectation of success, reduce the time required to complete charging (Numata et al P[0023]).
Claim(s) 15 is/are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being unpatentable over Ukai et al Patent Application Publication Number 2022/0203866 A1 and Multi-mode charging system or electric vehicles Japanese Patent Number JP-5055347-B2 (examiner provided translation cited, and provided with the previous office action of 12/17/2025) (hereafter 5055347) as applied to claim 1 above, and further in view of Oofune et al German Patent Document Number DE aa 2020 003 709 T5 (translation cited).
Regarding claim 15 Ukai et al and 5055347 do not teach the claimed determine the target temperature range further based on an outside air temperature of the vehicle. Oofune et al teach, “The temperature simulation unit 74 calculates the initial setting value of the target battery temperature Tb by referring to the environmental information such as the outside air temperature and the amount of solar radiation, the remaining amount information and the temperature information of the main battery 22 , and the air conditioning information of the HVAC 41 . The temperature simulation unit 74 changes the target battery temperature from the initially set value based on the new information acquired by the external information acquisition unit 71 and the internal information acquisition unit 72 among the pre-effect information, the start-time effect information, and the after-effect information. The temperature simulation unit 74 updates the target battery temperature from time to time.” (translation page 9 paragraph 5). It would have been obvious to a person having ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date of the claimed invention to combine the vehicle control device of Ukai et al and the temperature ranges associated with different vehicle operation modes of 5055347 with the referencing of the outside air temperature of Oofune et al in order to, with a reasonable expectation of success, reduce an excess or deficit in the adjustment of the battery temperature (Oofune et al translation page 3 paragraph 1).
Related Art
The examiner points to Tsuchiya PGPub 2021/0376402 A1 as related art, but not relied upon for any rejection. Tsuchiya is directed to battery temperature adjustment for different restriction mode operation of vehicles (see Figures 9 and 12).
Conclusion
THIS ACTION IS MADE FINAL. Applicant is reminded of the extension of time policy as set forth in 37 CFR 1.136(a).
/DALE W HILGENDORF/Primary Examiner, Art Unit 3662