DETAILED ACTION
Claim Interpretation
This application includes one or more claim limitations that do not use the word “means,” but are nonetheless being interpreted under 35 U.S.C. 112(f) or pre-AIA 35 U.S.C. 112, sixth paragraph, because the claim limitation(s) uses a generic placeholder that is coupled with functional language without reciting sufficient structure to perform the recited function and the generic placeholder is not preceded by a structural modifier.
Such claim limitation(s) is/are:
work device (claims 1-5, 7, and 8) – work vehicle such as a harvester, tractor, combine, spraying machine, drone, or the like (Published Application, ¶ [0030]
following device (claims 2, 3, and 7) – transport vehicle that follows the work vehicle (¶ [0059])
Claim Rejections - 35 USC § 101
Claims 1-8 are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 101 because the claimed invention is directed to an abstract idea without significantly more.
The claim(s) recite(s) a method of work management including the steps of determine an operation status of a work device, determining a ridge, or location, that the work device has performed work, and outputting information indicating a display image representing the operation status and location that the work device has performed work (claim 1) which is an abstract idea. This judicial exception is not integrated into a practical application because the claim does not recite additional elements. Claims 1-5 and 7 do require a display but merely recites a step of outputting of information “indicating a display image” (claim 1, ¶ 4, l. 1). The steps of observing the operating status of a work device and the location traveled by the work device are observations that can be performed in the human mind. The additional step of outputting information may be reasonably performed by a human recording these observations. The additional elements of a generic “work device” (claims 1-8), “following device” (claims 2, 3, and 7) and a step of “displaying the display image” (claims 6 and 8), considered separately and in combination, are conventional elements that are not sufficient to amount to significantly more than the judicial exception.
Claim Rejections - 35 USC § 102
Claim(s) 1, 4-6, and 8 is/are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 102(a)(2) as being anticipated by Yoshimine et al. (JP 2022-117696 A).
Regarding claim 1, Yoshimine et al. discloses a work management method (¶ [0002]) comprising: determining, based on operation information of a work device (30) that performs work in a field (400; fig. 2), an operation status of the work device (30) at each time (trajectory information output device 100 calculates work data, which is an operation status of work device 30, based on operational information received from work vehicle 30 in field 400; ¶ [0017]); determining, based on the operation information of the work device (30), a ridge (410) on which the work device (30) performed work at each time (trajectory information output device 100 determines a trajectory 410 that work was performed based on position information of work device 30 at each point in time; fig. 2 and ¶ [0017]); and outputting work information indicating a display image representing the operation status of the work device (30) and the ridge (410) on which the work device (30) performed work in association with each other at each time (trajectory information output device 100 outputs display data for displaying an image on terminal 200 showing trajectory 410 and the corresponding work type; ¶ [0018]).
Regarding claim 4, Yoshimine et al. discloses wherein the operation status represents at least one classification of whether the work device (30) is operating and a speed of the work device (operational information represents at least a work type and speed of work vehicle 30; ¶ [0017]).
Regarding claim 5, Yoshimine et al. discloses wherein the display image represents each time in a strip shape and further represents the operation status of the work device (30) at each time and the ridge (410) on which work was performed in association with each other in a position corresponding to a position in which each time is represented (display image may be a map showing trajectory 410 representing each location where work was performed by vehicle 30 at each time in a strip shape; fig. 2 and ¶ [0028]).
Regarding claim 6, Yoshimine et al. discloses further comprising: displaying the display image represented by the work information (image represented by work information of work vehicle 30 is displayed; ¶ [0028]).
Regarding claim 8, Yoshimine et al. discloses a work management method comprising: determining, based on operation information of a work device (30) that performs work in a field (400; fig. 2), an operation status of the work device (30) at each time (trajectory information output device 100 calculates work data, which is an operation status of work device 30, based on operational information received from work vehicle 30 in field 400; ¶ [0017]); determining, based on the operation information of the work device (30), a ridge (410) on which the work device (30) performed work at each time (trajectory information output device 100 determines a trajectory 410 that work was performed based on position information of work device 30 at each point in time; fig. 2 and ¶ [0017]); and displaying a display image (fig. 2) representing the operation status of the work device (30) and the ridge (410) on which the work device (30) performed work in association with each other at each time (trajectory information output device 100 outputs display data for displaying an image on terminal 200 showing trajectory 410 and the corresponding work type; ¶¶ [0018, 0028]).
Claim Rejections - 35 USC § 103
Claim(s) 2, 3, and 7 is/are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being unpatentable over Yoshimine et al. (JP 2022-117696 A) in view of Brinker et al. (US 2023/0189689 A1).
Regarding claim 2, Yoshimine et al. discloses the invention as set forth above with regard to claim 1.
Yoshimine et al. is silent on a determining position information of a following device.
Brinker et al. teaches determining, based on position information of the following device (120), the following device (120; fig. 1) that follows a work device (102) at each time (based on position information of implement 120 from position sensors 142 and 144, the implement 120 that follows tractor 102 is determined; ¶ [0035]), wherein work information represents the following device (120) that follows the work device (102) in association with a ridge on which the work device (102) performed work at each time (work information represents implement 120 that follows tractor 102 in association with a ridge, or row position, on which tractor 102 performed work at each time from position sensors 142 and 144; ¶ [0048]).
It would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art at the time of filing to modify the apparatus of Yoshimine et al. with the following device position information of Brinker et al. to improve crop yield mapping by allowing an operator to determine effective positioning of equipment at different parts of a field (Brinker et al., ¶¶ [0002, 0008]).
Regarding claim 3, Yoshimine et al. discloses the invention as set forth above with regard to claim 1.
Yoshimine et al. is silent on a determining harvested crop information.
Brinker et al. teaches wherein operation information of a work device (102) includes harvested crop information (yield map) representing an amount of yield of a crop harvested by the work device (102) at each time (a yield map includes an amount of yield of a crop harvested by tractor 102 over time; ¶ [0050]), the work management method further includes determining, based on the harvested crop information (yield map), an amount of a crop stored by the following device (120) when the following device (120) follows the work device (102), and the work information represents information representing the amount of the crop stored by the following device (120) when the following device (120) follows the work device (102) in association with a period in which the following device (120) follows the work device (a yield map is combined with the row position map of implement 120, is work information representing an amount of a crop planted by implement 120 in association with a period in which implement 120 follows tractor 102; ¶ [0051]).
It would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art at the time of filing to modify the apparatus of Yoshimine et al. with the harvested crop information of Brinker et al. to improve crop yield mapping (Brinker et al., ¶ [0002]).
Regarding claim 7, Yoshimine et al. discloses a work management method (¶ [0002]) comprising: determining, based on operation information of a work device (30) that performs work in a field (400; fig. 2), an operation status of the work device (30) at each time (trajectory information output device 100 calculates work data, which is an operation status of work device 30, based on operational information received from work vehicle 30 in field 400; ¶ [0017]); outputting work information indicating a display image representing the ridge (410) on which the work device (30) at each time (trajectory information output device 100 outputs display data for displaying an image on terminal 200 showing trajectory 410 and the corresponding work type; ¶ [0018]).
Yoshimine et al. is silent on a determining position information of a following device.
Brinker et al. teaches determining, based on position information of a following device (120), the following device (120; fig. 1) that follows a work device (102) at each time (based on position information of implement 120 from position sensors 142 and 144, the implement 120 that follows tractor 102 is determined; ¶ [0035]), and outputting work information indicating a display image representing a ridge (location) on which the work device (102) performed work and the following device (120) that follows the work device (102) in association with each other at each time (information of a yield map is combined with the row position map of implement 120, which is a display image representing the location on which tractor 102 performed work and implement 120 in association with each other at each time; figs. 7-9 and ¶ [0051]).
It would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art at the time of filing to modify the apparatus of Yoshimine et al. with the following device position information of Brinker et al. to improve crop yield mapping by allowing an operator to determine effective positioning of equipment at different parts of a field (Brinker et al., ¶¶ [0002, 0008]).
Contact Information
/ERIKA J. VILLALUNA/Primary Examiner, Art Unit 2852