DETAILED ACTION
This is a non-final Office Action in response to communications received on 08/22/2024. The present application, filed on or after March 16, 2013, is being examined under the first inventor to file provisions of the AIA .
Preliminary Amendment
The preliminary amendment filled on 08/22/2024 is recognized.
Priority or Provisional
Priority to 09/22/2023 is recognized.
Drawings
The drawings filed on 08/22/2024 are acknowledged.
Claim Objections
Claims 9-11 are objected to because of the following informalities:
Claim 10 recite “A carriage (C) slidable along a main track (T), …”, is not clear if a carriage, a main track, are the same as “a carriage”, “a main track” mentioned in claim 1 or they are different carriage, and different track since claim 10 is dependent on claim 1.
Appropriate corrections are required.
Claim 11 recite “…a main track (T); a carriage (C) according to claim 8, …”, is not clear if a carriage, a main track, are the same as “a carriage”, “a main track” mentioned in claim 1 or they are different carriage, and different track since claim 11 is dependent on claims 1 and 7-8.
Appropriate corrections are required.
Claims 10-11 recite “… comprises a safety device…”, is not clear if a safety device, is the same as “a safety device”, mentioned in claim 1 or it is a different one.
Appropriate corrections are required.
Claim Rejections - 35 USC § 112
Claims 1-12 are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 112(b) or 35 U.S.C. 112 (pre-AIA ), second paragraph, as being indefinite for failing to particularly point out and distinctly claim the subject matter which the inventor or a joint inventor (or for applications subject to pre-AIA 35 U.S.C. 112, the applicant), regards as the invention.
Claims 1-2, and 9 recite “ …. the effect of the centrifugal force produced by the rotation of the auxiliary wheel (3) …”, which lacks antecedent basis and therefore makes the claims indefinite.
Appropriate correction is required.
Claim 11 recites “ …. the support (1) is associated with the frame (10) of the carriage (C) …”, which lacks antecedent basis and therefore makes the claims indefinite.
Appropriate correction is required.
Claim 12 recites “ …. the main wheel (11) is placed in contact with the cable (W) …”, which lacks antecedent basis and therefore makes the claims indefinite.
Appropriate correction is required.
Claim Rejections - 35 USC § 103
Claims 1-5, 10 are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 over Miano (US 2022/0029517) in view of Kolda (US 7,011,6071).
Regarding claim 1, Miano discloses the limitations of claim 1 as follows:
A safety device for a carriage (C) slidable along a main track (T), comprising: a support (1) that is associable with the carriage (C); (Miano, Paras. [0025]-[0034], [0054]-[0056], [0068]-[0069], claim 1, and Figs. 1A-5, a braking system comprising braking masses 4, magnetic masses 5, self-adjusting device 6 (i.e., safety device) for carriage 1 along the cable/rail (i.e., main track). Carriage 1 supporting wheel 2, shaft 3, braking masses 4, magnetic masses 5, self-adjusting device 6 (i.e., support)).
an auxiliary track (2) associable with a section of the main track (T); (Miano, Paras. [0027]-[0034], [0054]-[0056], claim 1, claim 12, and Figs. 1A-5, cable/rail engaged by wheel 2 (i.e., an auxiliary track)).
an auxiliary wheel (3), associated with the support (1) and rotating in contact with the auxiliary track (2) around a first axis of rotation (X); (Miano, Paras. [0027]-[0034], [0054]-[0056], claim 1, claim 12, and Figs. 1A-5, “The self-adjusting device 6 is positioned inside the rotation shaft 3 of the at least one wheel 2 and is connected to the braking masses 4. Preferably, for each wheel 2 of the carriage 1 there are braking masses 4 and self-adjusting devices 6”, where wheel 2 (i.e., an auxiliary wheel) is mounted on carriage 1 (i.e., associated with the support), rolling on cable (i.e., contact with track), and rotating around rotation shaft 3 (i.e., a first axis of rotation X)).
wherein a brake (4), provided with a rotor (4a,4b) integral in rotation with the auxiliary wheel (3) (Miano, Paras. [0026]-[0034], [0037]-[0043], [0054]-[0056], claim 1, claim 12, and Figs. 1A-5, “braking masses 4, magnetic masses 5, self-adjusting device 6”, “… FIGS. 1A and 1B, the self-adjusting device 6 comprises a cam 6a equipped with centrifugal masses 6b. When the speed of rotation of the wheel 2 varies, the cam 6a performs a rotation inside the rotation shaft 3 in such a way as to move the braking masses 4 (which in FIGS. 1A and 1B are in the form of discs) relative to the magnetic masses 5”).
Miano does not explicitly disclose:
The brake activatable through the effect of the centrifugal force produced by the rotation of the auxiliary wheel (3).
However, Kolda teaches:
The brake activatable through the effect of the centrifugal force produced by the rotation of the auxiliary wheel (3). (Kolda, Col. 6, ll. 27-37, Col. 7, ll. 1-39, “… resistance unit 48 … functions as follows to impart resistance to rotation of …”, (i.e., brake 4), and “The flywheel 124 is fixedly mounted to the shaft 102 …. As best shown in FIGS. 5 and 6, to ensure that the flywheel 124 rotates with the shaft 102…”, (i.e., rotor 4a, 4b) which is integral in rotation. “As the speed of rotation of flywheel 124 increases due to increasing speed of rotation of bicycle wheel 18, magnets 148 are subjected to centrifugal forces which act against the bias of the springs 150, such that magnets 148 slide radially outwardly along the widened portions 144 of grooves 142, to …“, (i.e., activable through …). Therefore, magnets 148 move due to centrifugal force. “With reference to FIGS. 5 8, when an individual operates bicycle 12 to move wheel 18, the wheel 18 causes the roller 98 to rotate. The rotation of the roller 98 consequently rotates the shaft 102, which in turn rotates the flywheel 124 within the housing 104”, (i.e., produced by rotation of auxiliary wheel). Therefore, magnets 148 and springs 150 activates centrifugal mechanism).
Miano and Kolda are combinable, because both are from the same field of Eddy-current braking systems. It would have been obvious to a person having ordinary skill in the art before the effective filling date of the invention to utilize the centrifugal mechanism in which permanent magnets move radially outward as taught by Kolda, in order to provide smoother braking force adjustment or adaptation for different speeds.
Regarding claim 2, Miano and Kolda disclose the limitations of claim1. Miano and Kolda disclose:
The safety device according to claim 1, wherein the brake (4) comprises: a magnetic unit (40), associated with the rotor (4a) integral in rotation with the auxiliary wheel (3) and movable along a direction that is radial relative to the first axis of rotation (X) between an inactive position, in which it is at a shorter distance from the first axis of rotation (X), and an active position, in which it is at a greater distance from the first axis of rotation; a metal plate (5), solidly constrained with the support (1) and so shaped as to face the magnetic unit (40) in the active position; wherein the magnetic unit (40) is movable from the inactive position to the active position through the effect of the centrifugal force produced by the rotation of the auxiliary wheel (3). (Miano, Paras. [0024]-[0034], [0037]-[0043], [0054]-[0056], claim 1, claims 9-12, and Figs. 1A-5, teaches a carriage mounted eddy current braking system which includes magnetic masses 5, braking plates 4, wheel 2, shaft 3. And therefore, braking force varies based on wheel speed relative to positioning of magnetic elements).
(Kolda, Col. 6, ll. 27-37, Col. 7, ll. 1-39, Col. 9, ll. 20-49, Claims 8, 11, 18, and Figs. 5-8, teaches magnetic members 148 mounted on a rotating flywheel 124 for radial outward movement which is related to the axis, and the magnets being biased inward by spring 150 and outward from a position to an active position by centrifugal force which is generated by the rotation of flywheel).
The same motivation to combine utilized in claim 1 is equally applicable in the instant claim.
Regarding claim 3, Miano and Kolda disclose the limitations of claims 1-2. Miano and Kolda discloses:
The safety device according to claim 2, wherein the magnetic unit (40) comprises a disc (41), integral in rotation with the auxiliary wheel (3), and two or more magnets (42), that are slidable on the disc (41) along a direction that is radial relative to the first axis of rotation (X) between an inner position, in which they are at a shorter distance from the first axis of rotation (X), and an outer position, in which they are at a greater distance from the first axis of rotation and face the metal plate (5). (Miano, Paras. [0024]-[0034], [0037]-[0043], [0054]-[0056], claim 1, claims 9-12, and Figs. 1A-5, teaches a carriage mounted eddy current braking system which includes magnetic masses 5, braking plates 4, wheel 2, shaft 3. And therefore, braking force varies based on wheel speed relative to positioning of magnetic elements).
(Kolda, Col. 6, ll. 27-37, Col. 7, ll. 1-39, Col. 9, ll. 20-49, Claims 8, 11, 18, and Figs. 5-8, teaches magnetic members 148 mounted on a rotating flywheel 124 and is slidable radially within grooves 142 between inner and outer positions related to the axis, and the magnets being biased inward by spring 150 and outward from a position to an active position by centrifugal force which is generated by the rotation of flywheel).
The same motivation to combine utilized in claim 1 is equally applicable in the instant claim.
Regarding claim 4, Miano and Kolda disclose the limitations of claims 1-3. Kolda discloses:
The safety device according to claim 3, comprising elastic means (43) interposed between the disc (41) and the magnets (42) and configured to push the magnets (42) from the outer position to the inner position. (Kolda, Col. 6, ll. 27-37, Col. 6, ll. 55-62, Col. 7, ll. 1-39, Col. 9, ll. 20-49, Claims 8, 11, 14-15, 18, and Figs. 5-8, “A biasing member such as a spring 150 is positioned within the narrow portion 146 of groove 142 outwardly of magnet 148”, “… outward movement of the magnetic element is resisted by a biasing member that engages the magnetic element”, “… wherein the biasing member is a spring”, (i.e., elastic means 43). Spring 150 located in groove 142 behind magnet 148, (i.e., interposed between the disc and the magnets). “Spring 150 functions to bias magnet 148 inwardly towards the hub 128 to …”, “… magnets 148 are subjected to centrifugal forces which act against the bias of the springs 150, such that …”, therefore, Spring 150 biases magnets inward toward hub 128).
The same motivation to combine utilized in claim 1 is equally applicable in the instant claim.
Regarding claim 5, Miano and Kolda disclose the limitations of claims 1-3. Miano discloses:
The safety device according to claim 3, wherein the magnets (42) are permanent magnets. (Miano, Paras. [0026], “The magnetic masses 5 are configured to generate a magnetic field which, …… Preferably, the magnetic masses 5 are permanent magnets”).
The same motivation to combine utilized in claim 1 is equally applicable in the instant claim.
Regarding claim 10, Miano and Kolda disclose the limitations of claim 1. Miano discloses:
A carriage (C) slidable along a main track (T), comprising: a frame (10); a main wheel (11), associated rotatably with the frame (10) around a main axis of rotation (Y) and which is slidable along the main track (T); the carriage comprises a safety device according to claim 1, wherein the support (1) is associated with the frame (10) of the carriage (C). (Miano, Paras. [0025]-[0034], [0054]-[0056], [0068]-[0069], claim 1, and Figs. 1A-5, teaches a carriage movable along a track and comprising a frame and wheels rotatably mounted to the frame for movement along the track. And further teaches that the support carrying the safety device components is mounted to the carriage structure. Therefore, a carriage comprising the safety device , where the support is associated with the frame of the carriage).
Claims 6 is rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 over Miano (US 2022/0029517) in view of Kolda (US 7,011,6071), and further in view of Hermanns (US 2024/0270290).
Regarding claim 6, Miano and Kolda disclose the limitations of claim 1. Hermanns discloses:
The safety device according to claim 1, wherein the auxiliary track (2) comprises a toothed profile and the auxiliary wheel (3) comprises a toothing that is engageable with said toothed profile. (Hermanns, Paras. [0028]-[0032], [0040]-[0047], “… the secondary track to have at least one secondary drive element with a secondary drive tooth profile, …”, “…the secondary drive wheel into engagement with the secondary drive tooth profile when …”, which teaches toothed profile, and a toothing engaging with the toothed profile. “… the robot to be configured to bring the drive wheel … into engagement with at least one track tooth profile of the track surface and …”, “… for the guide tooth profile of this guide to be the drive tooth profile, and for the guide wheel engaging in the guide tooth profile of this guide to be the drive wheel”, “For example, the drive element in this embodiment may be a modified toothed belt and/or a modified toothed rack having a strip line structure”, ).
Miano, Kolda and Hermanns are combinable, because all are from the same field of wheel transport systems with control mechanism. It would have been obvious to a person having ordinary skill in the art before the effective filling date of the invention to utilize the toothed rack and toothed drive wheel engagement as taught by Hermanns, in order to reduce slippage and improve controlled movement.
Claims 7-8, 11 are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 over Miano (US 2022/0029517) in view of Kolda (US 7,011,6071), and further in view of Alldredge (EP 0001182).
Regarding claim 7, Miano and Kolda disclose the limitations of claim 1. Alldredge discloses:
The safety device according to claim 1, wherein the auxiliary track (2) comprises two or more blocks (21), which are constrainable on the main track (T) and connected together in a tiltable manner so as to follow a curved course. (Alldredge, Col. 7, ll. 15-36, Col. 8, ll. 38-60, and claim 1, “… a series of links 33 pivotally connected about vertical axes …”, “…provide controlled bending … through pivotal bending between links”, “A flexible track assembly … adapted to follow a curved path …”, teaches that the segmented trach portions comprising multiple segments 32 (i.e., auxiliary track comprises two or more blocks), and links 33 joining the segments, and are pivotally connected (i.e., connected together in a tiltable manner). Therefore, shows a flexible track assembly adopted to follow a curved path/course).
Miano, Kolda and Alldredge are combinable, because all are from the same field of track components that permit movement along a path. It would have been obvious to a person having ordinary skill in the art before the effective filling date of the invention to utilize the track blocks connected in a pivotable manner as taught by Alldredge, in order to allow the track to follow a curved path while maintaining guided movement of the carriage.
Regarding claim 8, Miano, Kolda and Alldredge disclose the limitations of claim 7. Alldredge discloses:
The safety device according to claim 7, wherein said two or more blocks (21) are connected together, at end zones, by joint means (22) that permit a relative rotation between the blocks (21) on at least one plane. (Alldredge, Col. 7, ll. 15-36, Col. 8, ll. 38-60, and claims 1, 7-9, teaches that adjacent segments are joined through pivoting links 33, the pivots permit angular rotation between the adjacent segments, and the rotation occurs in the plane used to create the curved path).
The same motivation to combine utilized in claim 7 is equally applicable in the instant claim.
Regarding claim 11, Miano, Kolda and Alldredge disclose the limitations of claims 7-8. Miano and Alldredge disclose:
A conveying system, comprising: a main track (T); a carriage (C) according to claim 8, which is slidable along the main track (T); wherein the system comprises a safety device according to claim 1, wherein the support (1) is associated with the frame (10) of the carriage (C), and wherein the auxiliary track (2) is associated with a section of the main track (T). (Miano, Paras. [0025]-[0034], [0054]-[0056], [0068]-[0069], claim 1, and Figs. 1A-5, teaches a conveying system comprising a main track and a carriage movable along the main track. And further teaches a carriage including a frame, a support associated with the frame, a safety device mounted to the support, and an auxiliary track associated with the track).
(Alldredge, Col. 7, ll. 15-36, Col. 8, ll. 38-60, and claims 1, 7-9, teaches a track assembly with a plurality of track segments 32 connected together by links 33, where the links are pivotally connected and permit angular movement between adjacent segments. The segmented track is adapted to a curved path through controlled bending).
The same motivation to combine utilized in claim 7 is equally applicable in the instant claim.
Claims 9 is rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 over Miano (US 2022/0029517) in view of Kolda (US 7,011,6071), and further in view of Noh (US 2010/0001112).
Regarding claim 9, Miano and Kolda disclose the limitations of claim 1. Noh discloses:
The safety device according to claim 1, wherein the brake (4) comprises: a ring (410), associated with the support (1); two or more braking bodies (411), associated with the rotor (4b) integral in rotation with the auxiliary wheel (3) and movable along a direction that is radial relative to the first axis of rotation (X) between an inactive position, in which they are at a shorter distance from the first axis of rotation (X), and an active position, in which they are at a greater distance from the first axis of rotation and are in contact with the ring (410); in which the braking bodies (411) are movable from the inactive position to the active position through the effect of the centrifugal force produced by the rotation of the auxiliary wheel (3). (Noh, Paras. [0023]-[0036], [0045]-[0050], [0061]-[0064], Figs. 1-2, Claim 1, brake ring 151 mounted in spool cover 150 (i.e., ring 410), plurality of brake shoes 113 (i.e., two or more braking bodies), brake shoes 113 mounted in shoe housing 110 which rotates with spool shaft 20 (i.e., associated with the rotor). Shoe housing 110 rotates together with spool shaft 20 (i.e., integral in rotation …), brake shoes 113 are radially disposed and radially spread outward (i.e., movable radially), brake shoes held/restricted by stopper ribs 132 (i.e., inactive position), brake shoes contact brake ring 151 (i.e., active position), and brake shoes spread outward by centrifugal force. Therefore, teaches a well-known centrifugal braking mechanism in which brake shoes mounted on a rotating member, move radially outward under centrifugal force into contact with brake ring).
Miano, Kolda and Noh are combinable, because all are from the same field of mechanical motion control systems. It would have been obvious to a person having ordinary skill in the art before the effective filling date of the invention to utilize the centrifugal brake arrangement as taught by Noh, in order to provide automatic speed adapted braking and rotational speed control.
Claim 12 is rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 over Miano (US 2022/0029517) in view of Kolda (US 7,011,6071), and further in view of Alldredge (EP 0001182) and Zonglin (CN 102431559A).
Regarding claim 12, Miano, Kolda and Alldredge disclose the limitations of claim 11. Zonglin discloses:
The conveying system according to claim 11, wherein the main track (T) comprises a cable (W), and wherein the main wheel (11) is placed in contact with the cable (W) to roll on the cable (W). (Zonglin, Paras. [0013]-[0014], [0045]-[0050], [0061]-[0064], “The system is characterized by two parallel cables for supporting the train …, with the train's wheels resting on the cables”, “In this cableway train system, the train wheels roll on cables”, (i.e., main track comprises a cable …main wheel is placed in contact with the cable). Therefore, teaches a cableway train system having cables to support the train while the wheels are resting on the cables).
Miano, Kolda, Alldredge and Zonglin are combinable, because all are from the same field of guided transportation and conveying systems. It would have been obvious to a person having ordinary skill in the art before the effective filling date of the invention to employ the cable supporting structure as taught by Zonglin, in order to provide a flexible guided path while maintaining the carriage movement.
References Considered But Not Relied Upon
Allington (US 2021/0367498) teaches an eddy current brakes having a kinematic relationship with at least two rotational degrees of freedom used to tune operation of the brake.
McGowan (US 2019/0144244) teaches a braking mechanism including a rotor assembly coupled to the at least one sheave, at least one conductive element, and at least one magnetic element.
Conclusion
Accordingly, claims 1-12 are rejected.
The examiner can normally be reached M-F, 9:00 - 5:00. Examiner interviews are available via telephone using a USPTO supplied web-based collaboration tool. To schedule an interview, applicant is encouraged to use the USPTO Automated Interview Request (AIR) at http://www.uspto.gov/interviewpractice.
/P.B./Examiner, Art Unit 3615
/S. Joseph Morano/Supervisory Patent Examiner, Art Unit 3615