DETAILED ACTION
Claim Rejections - 35 USC § 112
Claims 5-8 rejected under 35 U.S.C. 112(b) or 35 U.S.C. 112 (pre-AIA ), second paragraph, as being indefinite for failing to particularly point out and distinctly claim the subject matter which the inventor or a joint inventor (or for applications subject to pre-AIA 35 U.S.C. 112, the applicant), regards as the invention.
Claim 5 recites the limitation "the shaft" in line 2. There is insufficient antecedent basis for this limitation in the claim. It has been read as -a shaft-.
Claim 7 lacks antecedent basis for “the minute wheel” in line 2. The limitation has been read as -a minute wheel-.
Claim 8 recites “it” in line 2. What “it” refers to is unclear. The limitation has been read as -the movement-.
Claim 10 recites “a horological movement” in lines 1-2. Whether this limitation refers to a new movement or the previous one is unclear. The limitation has been read as -the horological movement-.
Claim Rejections - 35 USC § 102
Claims 1-3 and 5-8 are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 102(a)(1) as being anticipated by Philippon (US 20170075304).
Regarding claim 1, Philippon teaches (Figs. 1, 4, 6) a horological movement (title) comprising a mechanism for setting and winding said horological movement (abstract and [0002]), the setting and winding mechanism comprising a winding stem (1) with an axis of revolution X (longitudinal axis of 1), having a first end (outer end of 1) cooperating with a winding button ([0009]-[0012] discloses the stem will occupy multiple axial positions), and a second end (inner end of 1) opposite the winding button, said winding stem being movable rotatably and translatably ([0032])along the axis of revolution X between a first axial position ([00010: “a winding position”) of the winding stem in which a rotation of the winding stem winds the horological movement, and a second axial position ([0011]: “a date correction position”) of the winding stem in which a rotation of the winding stem sets a function of the horological movement, wherein the setting and winding mechanism comprises a positioning stop (8, shaft of 4) configured to cooperate, by contact, with said second end of the winding stem to stop said winding stem axially in said first axial position ([0032]).
Regarding claim 2, Philippon teaches (Fig. 1) the horological movement according to claim 1, wherein said positioning stop (8) extends perpendicularly relative to a general plane P1 formed by a pull-out piece jumper (6) comprised in the setting and winding mechanism, or relative to a general plane formed by a bridge (plane of 8) or by a plate comprised in the horological movement. The stop 8 has a thickness, so it extends perpendicularly.
Regarding claim 3, Philippon teaches (Fig. 1) the horological movement according to claim 2, wherein said positioning stop (8) is integral with said bridge (8), said plate (8), or the pull-out piece jumper.
Regarding claim 5, Philippon teaches (Fig. 6) the horological movement according to claim 1, wherein said positioning stop (shaft of 4) is the shaft about which a moving part (4) of the horological movement pivots. 4 is a sliding pinion ([0032]).
Regarding claim 6, Philippon teaches (Fig. 6) the horological movement according to claim 5, wherein said moving part (4) is configured to mesh with a sliding pinion (2) carried by the winding stem when the latter is positioned in said second axial position (Fig. 3).
Regarding claim 7, Philippon teaches the horological movement according to claim 5, wherein said moving part (4 in Fig. 1) is an intermediate wheel for a minute wheel. Paragraph [0037] discloses that the moving part 4 is used to set the time. The moving part is therefore an intermediate wheel that can be used for a minute wheel to set minute time.
Regarding claim 8, Philippon teaches the horological movement according to claim 7, wherein it comprises a motion-work train cooperating with the intermediate wheel (4 in Fig. 1) for the minute wheel. The gears downstream of 4 in Fig. 1 form a motion-work train that transfers rotations from 4 to set the time ([0037]). The motion-work train can therefore be for a minute wheel.
Claim Rejections - 35 USC § 103
Claim 10 is rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being unpatentable over Philippon.
Regarding claim 10, Philippon discloses the horological movement according to claim 1.
Philippon does not explicitly show a timepiece comprising the horological movement.
Philippon teaches that the horological movement is for a timepiece (title).
It would have been obvious for one of ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date of the claimed invention to have used Philippon’s movement in a timepiece. One of ordinary skill in the art would have been motivated to apply Philippon’s invention in this way to fulfill the invention’s purpose.
Claim 9 is rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being unpatentable over Philippon in view of Kramer (US 20060130938).
Regarding claim 9, Philippon discloses the horological movement according to claim 1.
Philippon does not show the positioning stop being made of steel.
Kramer teaches steel being used for watch components ([0002]).
It would have been obvious for one of ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date of the claimed invention to have made Philippon’s stop out of steel, as suggested by Kramer. One of ordinary skill in the art would have been motivated to make this material selection as a known material for manufacturing watches.
Allowable Subject Matter
Claim 4 is objected to as being dependent upon a rejected base claim, but would be allowable if rewritten in independent form including all of the limitations of the base claim and any intervening claims.
The following is a statement of reasons for the indication of allowable subject matter: regarding claim 4, Philippon discloses pins (16, 18 in Fig. 1) being used to stop levers, plates, and bridges ([0048]). The prior art does not show a positioning stop that is a pin, stud, or screw contacting a second end of a winding stem to stop the winding stem axially in an axial position, in combination with the other limitations.
Conclusion
The prior art made of record and not relied upon is considered pertinent to applicant's disclosure. Lagorgette (US 20180373204) discloses a push-piece winding button that occupies different axial positions (title, abstract).
/MATTHEW DANIEL HWANG/Examiner, Art Unit 2831
/EDWIN A. LEON/Primary Examiner, Art Unit 2831