DETAILED ACTION
Claim Rejections - 35 USC § 103
Claims 1-4 and 6-20 is/are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being unpatentable over Heldberg et al. (US 2009/0114169 A1) and in view of Carns (US 2015/0241884 A1).
In regards to claim 1, Heldberg discloses a thermostatic valve assembly (see figs. 1-3) comprising: a valve body (valve 26 with shafts 28, 30, surface 38, 36 within housing 10) having a chamber (enclosed space within the valve, housing, including upper and lower parts 12, 14, see figs. 1-2); and a thermostatic assembly comprising an expansible element (expansible element 42), a ball valve component (38, 26) having a drive pin (actuating pin 32), and a plunger (transmission rod 46) having a drive opening (slot 48) that is configured to receive the drive pin (pin 32 received in 48, see fig. 1), wherein the plunger (46, 48) is connected to the expansible element (42, see fig. 1) and slideably secured within the chamber (46, 48, within housing 10, see paragraph 30) and configured to move between a first linear position and a second linear position (transmission rod 46 displaces linearly and axially, see paragraph 30; claim 10 and figs. 1-9), wherein the ball valve component is rotatably secured within the chamber (see fig. 2) and configured to move between a first rotational position about an axis when the plunger is in the first linear position (valve element 26 rotates about pivots 28, 30, see paragraph 29, when rod 46 is in first position, see fig. 2) and a second rotational position when the plunger is in the second linear position (valve element 26 rotates about pivots 28, 30, to second position where port 24 is opened, see paragraph 34, when rod 46 is in second displaced position, see figs. 4-9), and wherein the ball valve component comprises a body portion (valve element 26, rim 27, 36, 38) with a cavity (cavity within 26, see figs. 1-9) configured to direct fluid flow (coolant flow through cavity of 26, see paragraph 34-35), the body portion defining a first spherical portion (see below annotated fig. 2 and figs. 4-9) having a first radius defined between the axis and an exterior surface of the first spherical portion (see below annotated fig. 2 and figs. 4-9), and a second spherical portion (spherical portion of element 26, see paragraph 29) having a second radius defined between the axis and an exterior surface of the second spherical portion (see below annotated fig. 2 and figs. 4-9).
However, Heldberg does not explicitly teach that expansible element is wax.
Carns discloses a thermostatic valve assembly (thermostatic valve 100, see figs. 1-4, and paragraphs 31-34) including a thermostatic assembly (valve actuator assembly 170) comprising a wax element (wax element 172), and a plunger (shroud 174 and gear 178), wherein the plunger is connected to the wax element (see fig. 11 and paragraph 28).
It would have been obvious for one of ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date of the claimed invention to have modified the thermostatic valve assembly of Heldberg by providing wax element as the expansible element, wherein the plunger is connected to the wax element, based on the teachings of Carns for the advantage of generating an actuating force for the valve element with temperature changes because wax expands and contracts in response to temperature changes (see paragraph 3, Carns).
In regards to claim 2, Heldberg as modified teaches the limitations of claim 1 and further discloses that the second radius is greater than the first radius (see above annotated fig. 2 and figs. 4-9).
In regards to claim 3, Heldberg as modified teaches the limitations of claim 1 and further discloses that the ball valve component is rotatably mounted relative to the valve body via a pair of pivot shafts (element 26 mounted via pair of shafts 28, 30, see figs. 2-9).
In regards to claim 4, Heldberg as modified teaches the limitations of claim 1 and further discloses that the ball valve component is rotatably secured within the chamber between a first seal and a second seal (element 26 secured within housing via pair of shafts 28, 30 seated within segments 64, sealed by element 62, see figs. 1-9).
In regards to claim 6, Heldberg as modified teaches the limitations of claim 1 and further discloses that the body portion defines a transition portion (see below annotated figs. 7 and 2) between the first spherical portion and the second spherical portion (see transition portion adjacent outer surface of valve element 26, figs. 1-9).
In regards to claim 7, Heldberg as modified teaches the limitations of claim 6 and further discloses that the transition portion comprises a sloped region or a planar region (see above annotated figs. 7 and 2).
In regards to claim 8, Heldberg as modified teaches the limitations of claim 6 and further discloses that the transition portion comprises a sloped region and a planar region (see below annotated fig. 2).
In regards to claim 9, Heldberg discloses a thermostatic assembly (see figs. 1-3) for use in a thermostatic valve assembly (see valve and thermostatic element assembly, see figs. 1-3) having a chamber (enclosed space within the housing 10, including upper and lower parts 12, 14, see figs. 1-2), the thermostatic assembly comprising an expansible element (expansible element 42), a ball valve component (38, 26) having a drive pin (actuating pin 32), and a plunger (transmission rod 46) having a drive opening (slot 48) that is configured to receive the drive pin (pin 32 received in 48, see fig. 1), wherein the plunger (46, 48) is connected to the expansible element (42, see fig. 1) and slideably secured within the chamber (46, 48, withing housing 10, see paragraph 30) and configured to move between a first linear position and a second linear position (transmission rod 46 displaces linearly and axially, see paragraph 30; claim 10 and figs. 1-9), wherein the ball valve component is rotatably secured within the chamber (see fig. 2) about an axis (see pivots 28, 30) and configured to move between a first rotational position about an axis when the plunger is in the first linear position (valve element 26 rotates about pivots 28, 30, see paragraph 29, when rod 46 is in first position, see fig. 2) and a second rotational position when the plunger is in the second linear position (valve element 26 rotates about pivots 28, 30, to second position where port 24 is opened, see paragraph 34, when rod 46 is in second displaced position, see figs. 4-9), and wherein the ball valve component comprises a body portion (valve element 26, rim 27, 36, 38) with a cavity (cavity within 26, see figs. 1-9) configured to direct fluid flow (coolant flow through cavity of 26, see paragraph 34-35), the body portion defining a first spherical portion (see below annotated fig. 2 and figs. 4-9) having a first radius defined between the axis and an exterior surface of the first spherical portion (see below annotated fig. 2 and figs. 4-9), and a second spherical portion (spherical portion of element 26, see paragraph 29) having a second radius defined between the axis and an exterior surface of the second spherical portion (see below annotated fig. 2 and figs. 4-9).
However, Heldberg does not explicitly teach that expansible element is wax.
Carns discloses a thermostatic valve assembly (thermostatic valve 100, see figs. 1-4, and paragraphs 31-34) including a thermostatic assembly (valve actuator assembly 170) comprising a wax element (wax element 172), and a plunger (shroud 174 and gear 178), wherein the plunger is connected to the wax element (see fig. 11 and paragraph 28).
It would have been obvious for one of ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date of the claimed invention to have modified the thermostatic valve assembly of Heldberg by providing wax element as the expansible element, wherein the plunger is connected to the wax element, based on the teachings of Carns for the advantage of generating an actuating force for the valve element with temperature changes because wax expands and contracts in response to temperature changes (see paragraph 3, Carns).
In regards to claim 10, Heldberg as modified teaches the limitations of claim 9 and further discloses that the second radius is greater than the first radius (see above annotated fig. 2 and figs. 4-9).
In regards to claim 11, Heldberg as modified teaches the limitations of claim 9 and further discloses that the ball valve component is rotatably mounted relative to the valve body via a pair of pivot shafts (element 26 mounted via pair of shafts 28, 30, see figs. 2-9).
In regards to claim 12, Heldberg as modified teaches the limitations of claim 9 and further discloses that the body portion defines a transition portion (see below annotated figs. 7 and 2) between the first spherical portion and the second spherical portion (see transition portion adjacent outer surface of valve element 26, figs. 1-9).
In regards to claim 13, Heldberg as modified teaches the limitations of claim 12 and further discloses that the transition portion comprises a sloped region and a planar region (see below annotated fig. 2).
In regards to claim 14, Heldberg discloses a ball valve component (38, 26 with housing 10) for use in a thermostatic assembly (see figs. 1-3) having an expansible element (expansible element 42), a plunger (transmission rod 46) having a drive opening (slot 48), the ball valve component comprising:
a drive pin (actuating pin 32) configured to engage the drive opening (pin 32 received in 48, see fig. 1);
a pair of pivot shafts (pivot shafts 28, 30); and
a body portion (26) configured to rotate about an axis via a pair of pivot shafts (26 rotated about pivot shafts 28, 30) to direct fluid flow (coolant flow through cavity of 26, see paragraph 34-35),
wherein the body portion comprises a first spherical portion (see below annotated fig. 2 and figs. 4-9) having a first radius defined between the axis and an exterior surface of the first spherical portion (see below annotated fig. 2 and figs. 4-9), and a second spherical portion (spherical portion of element 26, see paragraph 29) having a second radius defined between the axis and an exterior surface of the second spherical portion (see below annotated fig. 2 and figs. 4-9).
However, Heldberg does not explicitly teach that expansible element is wax.
Carns discloses a thermostatic valve assembly (thermostatic valve 100, see figs. 1-4, and paragraphs 31-34) including a thermostatic assembly (valve actuator assembly 170) comprising a wax element (wax element 172), and a plunger (shroud 174 and gear 178), wherein the plunger is connected to the wax element (see fig. 11 and paragraph 28).
It would have been obvious for one of ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date of the claimed invention to have modified the thermostatic valve assembly of Heldberg by providing wax element as the expansible element, wherein the plunger is connected to the wax element, based on the teachings of Carns for the advantage of generating an actuating force for the valve element with temperature changes because wax expands and contracts in response to temperature changes (see paragraph 3, Carns).
In regards to claim 15, Heldberg as modified teaches the limitations of claim 14 and further discloses that the second radius is greater than the first radius (see above annotated fig. 2 and figs. 4-9).
In regards to claim 16, Heldberg as modified teaches the limitations of claim 14 and further discloses that the ball valve component is rotatably mounted in a valve body (housing 10) via a pair of pivot shafts (element 26 mounted via pair of shafts 28, 30, see figs. 2-9).
In regards to claim 17, Heldberg as modified teaches the limitations of claim 14 and further discloses that the body portion defines a transition portion (see below annotated figs. 7 and 2) between the first spherical portion and the second spherical portion (see transition portion adjacent outer surface of valve element 26, figs. 1-9).
In regards to claims 18-20, Heldberg as modified teaches the limitations of claim 17 and further discloses that the transition portion comprises a sloped region and/or a planar region (see below annotated fig. 2).
Claim 5 is/are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being unpatentable over Heldberg et al. (US 2009/0114169 A1) in view of Carns as applied to claim 4 above and further in view of Meier (US 2017/0175928 A1).
In regards to claim 5, Heldberg as modified teaches the limitations of claim 4 and further discloses that the one of the first and second seal is a polytetrafluoroethylene (PTFE) seal (seal ring 60 made of PTFE, see paragraph 31). However, Heldberg is silent about the material of one of the seals being polytetrafluoroethylene (PTFE).
Meier teaches a ball valve component (ball valve 26) is rotatably secured within a chamber (valve housing 2) between a first seal (first seal 24) and a second seal (second seal 24), wherein each of the first seal and the second seal is a polytetrafluoroethylene (PTFE) seal (PTFE ring seals 24 on first and second sides of the ball valve 26, see figs. 1-8 and paragraphs 22).
It would have been obvious for one of ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date of the claimed invention to have modified the thermostatic valve assembly of Heldberg by providing first and second seal of polytetrafluoroethylene (PTFE) seal to rotatably secure the ball valve within the chamber between the seals as taught by Meier in order to provide sealing surfaces for pressure resistant seal, so that the chamber is also sealed against pressure building up in the clearance volume between the ball valve component and the chamber (see paragraph 13, Meier).
Conclusion
/MERAJ A SHAIKH/Examiner, Art Unit 3763
/JIANYING C ATKISSON/ Supervisory Patent Examiner, Art Unit 3763