Response to Amendment
Applicant’s 7-17-2026 Amendment was received. Claims 1, 14, and 16 were amended. Claims 18-20 were cancelled. Claims 1-17 are examined in this action.
Claim Interpretation
This application includes one or more claim limitations that do not use the word “means,” but are nonetheless being interpreted under 35 U.S.C. 112(f) or pre-AIA 35 U.S.C. 112, sixth paragraph, because the claim limitation(s) uses a generic placeholder that is coupled with functional language without reciting sufficient structure to perform the recited function and the generic placeholder is not preceded by a structural modifier. Such claim limitation(s) is/are: a locking member in Claim 2; a biasing member in Claim 5; and a limiting member in Claim 12.
Claim Rejections - 35 USC § 102
Claims 1, 6-8, and 15-17 are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 102(a)(1) as being anticipated by US 5,370,025 to Itzov.
In re Claim 1, Itzov teaches a cutting device, comprising
a cutting system configured to complete workpiece cutting (see the miter saw in Fig. 1) wherein the cutting system comprises:
a motor configured to provide power for the cutting system (#74);
a cutting assembly comprising a cutting member (#78) and a shield at least partially surrounding the cutting member (#86), wherein the cutting member is driven by the motor to rotate (the motor drives the saw blade in Itzov – see abstract); and
a first handle provided with a switch assembly configured to control the motor to switch a state (#62 – incorrectly labeled #70 in Fig. 1);
wherein, in a case where the switch assembly is in a first state, the cutting system is powered off and the shield is positioned at a first position (see Fig. 5 with the switch “off”) and, in a case where the switch assembly is in a second state, the cutting system is started and the shield is positioned at a second position (see Fig. 2 with the switch “on”),and
wherein the shield is substantially open at the first position (see Fig. 5), and the shield is substantially closed at the second position (see Fig. 2).
In re Claim 6, Itzov teaches wherein the first handle is formed with a grip portion (see Fig. 1, surfaces which the user’ grips), and the switch assembly is disposed on the grip portion (see Fig.1, structure incorrectly labeled #70 – the switch is #68 in the text of the specification).
In re Claim 7, Itzov teaches wherein the first handle comprises a housing (see 1, handle surfaces comprise a housing), the grip portion is formed on the housing and has an opening, and the switch assembly is disposed in the opening (see Fig. 1, the switch is located in an opening in the handle housing).
In re Claim 8, Itzov teaches wherein, in a case where the shield is positioned at the first position, the first handle is located on one side of the shield (See Fig. 5).
In re Claim 15, Itzov teaches wherein the cutting assembly further comprises a fixed cover disposed above the cutting member and at least partially surrounding the cutting member, and the fixed cover is disposed between the shield and the cutting member (see Figs. 1-6, #82).
In re Claim 16, Itzov teaches a cutting device (see Figs. 1-10), comprising a cutting system configured to complete workpiece cutting (see Figs. 1-10), wherein the cutting system comprises:
a motor (#74) configured to provide power for the cutting system;
a cutting assembly (#74) comprising a cutting member (see Figs. 1-2, #9) and a shield (#86) at least partially surrounding the cutting member (see Figs. 1-6),
wherein the cutting member is driven by the motor to rotate (the motor drives the saw blade in Itzov – see abstract); and
a switch assembly configured to control the motor to switch a state (#62 – incorrectly labeled #70 in Fig. 1);
wherein, in a case where the switch assembly is in a first state, the cutting system is powered off and the shield is positioned at a first position (see Fig. 5 with the switch “off”) and, in a case where the switch assembly is in a second state, the cutting system is started and the shield is positioned at a second position (see Fig. 2 with the switch “on”) and
wherein the shield is substantially open at the first position (see Fig. 5), and the shield is substantially closed at the second position (see Fig. 2).
In re Claim 17, Itzov teaches wherein the cutting assembly further comprises a fixed cover disposed above the cutting member and at least partially surrounding the cutting member and the fixed cover is disposed between the shield and the cutting member (see Figs. 1-6, #82).
Claim Rejections - 35 USC § 103
Claims 9-14 are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being unpatentable over US 5,370,025 to Itzov in view of US 5,969,312 to Svetlik.
In re Claim 9, Itzov does not teach wherein the switch assembly comprises a first pressed portion and a second pressed portion, the first pressed portion is connected to the second pressed portion through a connecting portion, and a gap exists between the first pressed portion and the second pressed portion.
However, Svetlik teaches wherein the switch assembly comprises a first pressed portion (see Fig. 3, #21) and a second pressed portion (see Fig. 3, portion of 21 that contacts step #43), the first pressed portion is connected to the second pressed portion through a connecting portion (see Fig. 3, structure of #21 between the first and second pressed portions), and a gap exists between the first pressed portion and the second pressed portion (see Fig. 3, portions of #21 where the user grips are spaced from the portion of #21 that contacts step #43).
In the same field of invention, miter saws, it would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art, at the earliest effective filing date, to replace the handle of Itzov with the handle of Svetlik. Doing so provides a power tool with an ambidextrous lock-out mechanism to prevent unintended actuation of a power switch operatively associated with a motor that operates the power tool (see Svetlik, Abstract).
In re Claim 10, modified Itzov, in re Claim 9, teaches wherein the first handle is formed with a grip (see Svetlik, Fig. 3, #18), the grip has an opening (see Svetlik, Fig. 3, #27) and the first pressed portion and the second pressed portion are separately disposed on two sides of the opening (see Fig. 3, showing surfaces of #21 that the user grips on one side opening and the surfaces and the surfaces that contact #43 on the other side of the opening).
In re Claim 11, Itzov does not teach wherein the switch assembly is connected to the first handle through a second spindle, and the switch assembly rotates around the second spindle.
However, Svetlik teaches wherein the switch assembly is connected to the first handle through a second spindle, and the switch assembly rotates around the second spindle (see Svetlik, Col. 3, ll. 5-10, teaching trigger -first handle- is connected through s second spindle – pivot axis of handle).
In the same field of invention, miter saws, it would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art, at the earliest effective filing date, to replace the handle of Itzov with the handle of Svetlik. Doing so provides a power tool with an ambidextrous lock-out mechanism to prevent unintended actuation of a power switch operatively associated with a motor that operates the power tool (see Svetlik, Abstract).
In re Claim 12, Itzov does not teach wherein the first handle comprises a limiting member, and, in the case where the switch assembly is in the first state, the limiting member exerts a force on the switch assembly to keep the switch assembly still relative to the shield.
However, Svetlik teaches that it is known in the miter saw art to provide a handle wherein the first handle comprises a limiting member (see Fig. 3, #44/45), and, in the case where the switch assembly is in the first state, the limiting member exerts a force on the switch assembly to keep the switch assembly still relative to the shield (the spring #45 keeps the switch assembly in the “first state” until a force for overcoming the spring allows the user to move trigger #21).
In the same field of invention, miter saws, it would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art, at the earliest effective filing date, to replace the handle of Itzov with the handle of Svetlik. Doing so provides a power tool with an ambidextrous lock-out mechanism to prevent unintended actuation of a power switch operatively associated with a motor that operates the power tool (see Svetlik, Abstract).
In re Claim 13, modified Itzov, in re Claim 12, teaches wherein the switch assembly comprises a first pressed portion (see Svetlik, Fig. 3, portion of #21 that #43 contacts) and a second pressed portion (see Svetlik, Fig. 3, portion of #21 that the user grips), and the limiting member abuts against one end of the first pressed portion (see Svetlik, Fig. 3, showing #43/42 which is part of limiting member #44/45, abuts against the second pressed portion).
In re Claim 14, modified Itzov, in re Claim 12, teaches wherein the limiting member includes an elastic member (see Svetlik, Fig. 3, spring #45 deforms under force), and the elastic member protrudes outward and abuts against one end of the switch assembly when the switch assembly is in the first state and when the switch assembly moves to the second state under that action of the external force the elastic member is reset (the side of #21 contacts the side of arm #42 and provides a force on the spring that is more than the spring force when the user moves trigger #21).
Allowable Subject Matter
Claims 2-5 are objected to as being dependent upon a rejected base claim but would be allowable if rewritten in independent form including all of the limitations of the base claim and any intervening claims.
Claim 2 was interpreted under 35 USC 112(f) – see above.
The closest prior art includes:
US 6,662,695 to Bettacchini.
US 5,370,025 to Itzov.
US 5,969,312 to Svetlik.
US 2012/0067185 to Weusthof.
However, None of the cited prior art teach a locking member structure which is disposed between the switch assembly and the shield and linked to the switch assembly, that can perform the function of positioning the shield at the first when the switch assembly is in the first state and releasing the shield when the switch assembly moves to the second state. As such, Claims 2-5 would be allowable if rewritten in independent form including all of the limitations of the base claim and any intervening claims.
Response to Arguments
Applicant’s arguments with respect to the amended claims have been considered but are moot because the new ground of rejection does not rely on the combination of references applied in the prior rejection of record for any teaching or matter specifically challenged in the argument.
Applicant’s amendments to Claim 14 have obviated the prior drawing objection.
Applicant’s amendments to Claims 1 and 16 have overcome the US 6,662,695 to Bettacchini reference. However, as noted above US 5,370,025 to Itzov reads on the amended Claims. The Examiner notes that Claims 2-5 are objected to as being dependent upon a rejected base claim but would be allowable if rewritten in independent form including all of the limitations of the base claim and any intervening claims.
Conclusion
Applicant's amendment necessitated the new ground(s) of rejection presented in this Office action. Accordingly, THIS ACTION IS MADE FINAL. See MPEP § 706.07(a). Applicant is reminded of the extension of time policy as set forth in 37 CFR 1.136(a).
/JONATHAN G RILEY/Primary Examiner, Art Unit 3724