DETAILED ACTION
Application, submitted on 08/22/2024, has been received, entered, and make of record. Currently, claims 1-20 remain pending in the application.
Claim Rejections - 35 USC § 103
Claims 1-3 and 7 are rejected under 35 U.S.C.103 as being unpatentable over Tran et al. (hereinafter referred to as Tran, US 2023/0370813 A1) in view of Chakraborty et al. (hereinafter referred to as Chakraborty, US 2023/0062443 A1).
Referring to claim 1, Tran discloses a device (fig.6, computing device 600), comprising:
a processing system including a processor (fig.6, processing unit 610); and
a memory (fig.6, memory unit 615) that stores executable instructions that, when executed by the processing system, facilitate performance of operations ([0031]), the operations comprising:
receiving first channel state information (CSI) from a first user equipment (UE) and receiving second CSI from a second UE ([0020]-[0021]) (Note: the controller obtains Channel State Information (CSI) data associated with plurality of links 120 between plurality of APs 115);
generating a heat map from the first CSI and second CSI ([0028]) (Note: the controller generates a 2D heatmap based on the obtained CSI data associated with plurality of links).
Tran fails to disclose predicting third CSI for a third UE based on the heat map.
However, in the same field of endeavor, Chakraborty discloses a concept of predicting a CSI for a UE based on the heat map ([0057], [0069], and [0076]-[0077]) (Note: the server derives predicted Radio parameters for a UE based on a radio map; wherein the predicted Radio parameters include the Channel state information (CSI)).
Therefore, it would have been obvious to a person of ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date of the claimed invention by the applicant to modify the device of Tran with the concept of Chakraborty to obtain the claimed invention. The suggestion/motivation for doing so would have been to reduce latency and improve energy efficiency.
Referring to claim 2, Tran in view of Chakraborty discloses the device of claim 1. Tran discloses receiving a parameter associated with the first and second UEs, wherein the heat map is generated as a function of the parameter ([0023] and [0028]) (Note: the controller extracts plurality of features from the CSI data to generate a 2D heatmap; wherein plurality of features may comprise correlations between consecutive subcarrier vectors per antenna over time, a ratio of a first singular value of Singular Value Decomposition (SVD), or an absolute difference of consecutive variance across subcarriers over time).
Referring to claim 3, Tran in view of Chakraborty discloses the device of claim 2.
Chakraborty discloses wherein predicting the CSI is in response to receiving the parameter from the UE ([0083] and [0093]) (Note: The ML module 404 updates the predicted Radio parameters in the radio mapping database 402 for a given location of the UE 104 using a refined Radio parameter prediction model).
Therefore, it would have been obvious to a person of ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date of the claimed invention by the applicant to modify the device of Tran with the concept of Chakraborty to obtain the claimed invention. The suggestion/motivation for doing so would have been to obtain reliable CSI results.
Referring to claim 7, Tran in view of Chakraborty discloses the device of claim 1.
Chakraborty discloses wherein the generating the heat map comprises generating the heat map by a machine learning model ([0011]) (Note: the reference uses a Machine Learning model to generate the radio map).
Therefore, it would have been obvious to a person of ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date of the claimed invention by the applicant to modify the device of Tran with the concept of Chakraborty to obtain the claimed invention. The suggestion/motivation for doing so would have been to obtain reliable CSI results to improve beamforming.
Claim 4 is rejected under 35 U.S.C.103 as being unpatentable over Tran in view of Chakraborty, and further in view of Semnani (US 12523729 B1).
Referring to claim 4, Tran in view of Chakraborty discloses the device of claim 2, except wherein the parameter comprises device location.
However, Semnani discloses wherein the parameter comprises device location (Col.4, ll.60-65) (Note: the mapping server 103 may then generate a geohash of the location data. In further implementations, the geohash of the location data may be used to generate a heat map using the accurate device location data point and the inferred locations of the other computing devices 101a-101n at specific points in time).
Therefore, it would have been obvious to a person of ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date of the claimed invention by the applicant to modify the device of Tran in Chakraborty with the concept of Semnani to obtain the claimed invention. The suggestion/motivation for doing so would have been to provide an accurate location.
Claim 5 is rejected under 35 U.S.C.103 as being unpatentable over Tran in view of Chakraborty, and further in view of Nicolas (US 2016/0306025A1).
Referring to claim 5, Tran in view of Chakraborty discloses the device of claim 2, except wherein the parameter comprises device type.
However, Nicolas discloses wherein the parameter comprises device type ([0090]) (Note: If a device intends to determine its position, it identifies its device type first, which determines the radio map that has been generated using the same device type).
Therefore, it would have been obvious to a person of ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date of the claimed invention by the applicant to modify the device of Tran in Chakraborty with the concept of Nicolas to obtain the claimed invention. The suggestion/motivation for doing so would have been to obtain reliable CSI results to increase the accuracy of the positioning algorithm.
Claim 6 is rejected under 35 U.S.C.103 as being unpatentable over Tran in view of Chakraborty, and further in view of dos Santos et al. (hereinafter referred to as dos Santos, US 2014/0340405 A1).
Referring to claim 6, Tran in view of Chakraborty discloses the device of claim 2, except wherein the parameter comprises device velocity.
However, dos Santos discloses wherein the parameter comprises device velocity ([0056]) (Note: generating a useful heatmap may depend upon the velocity of the subjects).
Therefore, it would have been obvious to a person of ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date of the claimed invention by the applicant to modify the device of Tran in Chakraborty with the concept of dos Santos to obtain the claimed invention. The suggestion/motivation for doing so would have been to obtain reliable CSI results to increase the accuracy of the positioning algorithm.
Claims 8, 12 and 13 are rejected under 35 U.S.C.103 as being unpatentable over SHAHMOHAMMADIAN et al. (hereinafter referred to as SHAHMOHAMMADIAN, US 2023/0336225 A1) in view of WANG et al. (hereinafter referred to as WANG, US 2025/0374081 A1).
Referring to claim 8, SHAHMOHAMMADIAN discloses a non-transitory machine-readable medium, comprising executable instructions that, when executed by a processing system including a processor (figs.7A-7B and [0142]), facilitate performance of operations, the operations comprising:
receiving first channel state information (CSI) from a first user equipment (UE) ([0122]) (Note: receiving a first Channel State Information Reference Signal (CSI-RS));
receiving second CSI from a second UE ([0122]) (Note: receiving a second CSI-RS)); and
receiving, from a model, a third CSI for a third UE ([0074] and [0122]) (Note: calculating a predicted channel state information based on the first CSI-RS and the second CSI-RS).
SHAHMOHAMMADIAN fails to disclose providing the CSI to a generative artificial intelligence (Gen AI) model; and receiving, from the Gen AI model, a CSI.
However, WANG discloses a concept of providing the CSI to a generative artificial intelligence (Gen AI) model; and receiving, from the Gen AI model, a CSI ([0082]) (Note: generative artificial intelligence may be used to perform channel state information estimation).
Therefore, it would have been obvious to a person of ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date of the claimed invention by the applicant to modify the operations of SHAHMOHAMMADIAN with the concept of WANG to obtain the claimed invention. The suggestion/motivation for doing so would have been to quickly obtain reliable CSI results and improve channel state information estimation.
Referring to claim 12, SHAHMOHAMMADIAN in view of WANG discloses the non-transitory machine-readable medium of claim 8.
WANG discloses wherein the first UE comprises an Internet of Things (IoT) device ([0051]) (Note: UE 115 may include or be referred to as an Internet of Things (IoT) device, an Internet of Everything (IoE) device).
Therefore, it would have been obvious to a person of ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date of the claimed invention by the applicant to replace the UE of SHAHMOHAMMADIAN with the UE of WANG to obtain the claimed invention. The suggestion/motivation for doing so would have been to offer seamless automation, real-time data collection, and improved remote control.
Referring to claim 13, SHAHMOHAMMADIAN in view of WANG discloses the non-transitory machine-readable medium of claim 8.
SHAHMOHAMMADIAN discloses wherein the first UE comprises a smartphone (fig.8 and [0123]).
Claims 9 and 10 are rejected under 35 U.S.C.103 as being unpatentable over SHAHMOHAMMADIAN in view of WANG, and further in view of ZHENG et al. (hereinafter referred to as ZHENG, US 2026/0143389 A1).
Referring to claim 9, SHAHMOHAMMADIAN in view of WANG discloses the non-transitory machine-readable medium of claim 8, except wherein the first CSI includes first location information describing a location of the first UE.
However, ZHENG discloses wherein the CSI includes location information describing a location of the UE ([0079]) (Note: location information included in channel state information of the electronic apparatus 100).
Therefore, it would have been obvious to a person of ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date of the claimed invention by the applicant to modify the operations of SHAHMOHAMMADIAN in view of WANG with the concept of ZHENG to obtain the claimed invention. The suggestion/motivation for doing so would have been to allow the network to track the exact location of devices.
Referring to claim 10, the same ground of rejection provided for claim 9 is applicable herein.
Allowable Subject Matter
Claim 11 is objected to as being dependent upon a rejected base claim, but would be allowable if rewritten in independent form including all of the limitations of the base claim and any intervening claims.
Claims 14-20 are allowed.
The following is an examiner’s statement of reasons for allowance:
Referring to claim 14, the searched prior arts individually or combined fail to disclose or make obvious the claimed subject matter. That is, Examiner did not find any reference that discloses or would have rendered obvious: “creating, by the processing system, a multi-layer heat map based on the plurality of sets of measured radio parameters; and predicting, by the processing system, a channel state information (CSI) of a UE not in the plurality of UEs using the multi-layer heat map.”
Referring to claims 15-20, it follows that the claims are inherently allowed for being depend on base claim 14.
Conclusion
/MOUSTAPHA DIABY/
Primary Examiner, Art Unit 2683