Information Disclosure Statement
The information disclosure statement (IDS) submitted on 08/08/2025, 08/22/2024, is/are in compliance with the provisions of 37 CFR 1.97. Accordingly, the information disclosure statement is being considered by the examiner.
Restriction
In view of applicant’s remarks dated 4/22/2026, the restriction requirement dated 02/26/2026 has been withdrawn. Claims 1-20 have been examined.
In this view, the examiner notes that the applicant’s remarks (“the combination (Invention II) includes a light guide beam, a light source, and an imaging host, which are elements not specific limitations for patentability of this combination (to show novelty and unobviousness)” ) dated 4/22/2026 may be relied upon for both anticipation and obviousness determinations. See MPEP 2129.
Claim Objections
Claims 1-20 is objected to because of the following informalities:
The claims are objected to because the lines are crowded too closely together, making reading difficult. Substitute claims with lines one and one-half or double spaced and with appropriate indentations (on good quality paper) are required. See 37 CFR 1.52(b).
Claims 1, 15, 16 are missing “:” after the phrase “comprising” in line 1. These claims should also include indentations at appropriate positions at different instances.
Applicant is recommended to identify similar defects in the entire claim set and provide appropriate corrections in the next office response.
Appropriate corrections are required.
Claim Interpretation
This application includes one or more claim limitations that do not use the word “means,” but are nonetheless being interpreted under 35 U.S.C. 112(f) or pre-AIA 35 U.S.C. 112, sixth paragraph, because the claim limitation(s) uses a generic placeholder that is coupled with functional language without reciting sufficient structure to perform the recited function and the generic placeholder is not preceded by a structural modifier. Such claim limitation(s) is/are: transmission unit, recited in claims 1, 10, 15, and 16.
Drawings
The drawings are objected to as failing to comply with 37 CFR 1.84(p)(5) because they include the following reference character(s) not mentioned in the description -
(a) 315 in FIG. 2
(b) 3142 in FIG. 3
Claim Rejections - 35 USC § 112
Claims 1-20, are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 112(b) or 35 U.S.C. 112 (pre-AIA ), second paragraph, as being indefinite for failing to particularly point out and distinctly claim the subject matter which the inventor or a joint inventor (or for applications subject to pre-AIA 35 U.S.C. 112, the applicant), regards as the invention.
Claim 1 recites the limitation "the illumination optical path is configured to illuminate" in line 6. This phrase/term is unclear because the optical path by itself cannot illuminate.
Claim 1 recites “image signal” in lines 11-16. There is lack of proper antecedent base in this limitation at various instances. Appropriate correction is required.
Claims 10, 15, 16 encompasses similar defect. Appropriate correction is required.
Claim 3 recites “wherein the first flexible board is provided with a through-hole structure, wherein the first sensor is arranged inside said through-hole structure.”
In view of FIG. 5, sensors 314a, 314b are over the flexible board/substrate. Thus, based on this figure, it is unclear how the sensor is arranged inside a through hole in the flexible board/substrate.
Claim 17 encompasses similar defects.
Appropriate correction is required.
Claims 2-20 are rejected for being dependent on a rejected base claim.
Appropriate correction is required.
Claim Rejections - 35 USC § 102
Claim(s) 1-2, 4-5, 7-8, 11, 14-16, 18-20, is/are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 102 as being anticipated by Kuroki (WO 2017169822).
Regarding claim 1, Kuroki discloses a 3D electronic endoscope (Three-dimensional image is generated from the parallax information; endoscope 11; FIG. 2, annotated below), comprising an insertion portion (FIG. 2) and an operation portion (FIG. 2);
wherein the insertion portion comprises a long tube (FIG. 2), an imaging module (image sensor 34-1; FIG. 2), an illumination optical path (FIG. 2), and a transmission unit (36-1, 36-2 Flexible wiring, 36a wiring, providing transmission; FIG. 2);
the long tube is a tubular structure with a hollow interior (FIG. 2), the imaging module is arranged inside the long tube (FIG. 2), the illumination optical path and the transmission unit are also arranged inside the long tube (FIG. 2);
the illumination optical path is configured to illuminate a designated region of an inspected object with a light (FIG. 2); the imaging module is configured to receive an image light (state imaging device 204) which is reflected or excited by the designated region and obtained by a distal end of the insertion portion, convert the image light into an electrical signal, and transmit the electrical signal to the operation portion through the transmission unit;
wherein the operation portion comprises an operation handle housing (Application example to endoscopic surgery system: FIG. 14, is a diagram illustrating an example of a schematic configuration of an endoscopic surgery system to which the technology (present technology) according to the present disclosure can be applied. FIG. 14, is the application of FIG. 3), a controller (drive circuit 205), and a processing component for image signal (image processing unit 10113 is configured by a processor such as a CPU (Central Processing Unit)); the controller and the processing component for image signal are arranged inside the operation handle housing (FIG. 14);
the controller is configured to implement different functions according to signal(s) which is(are) inputted by an operator (Imaging functions);
the processing component for image signal is configured to process the electrical signal which is transmitted by the transmission unit, so as to obtain an image signal (Three-dimensional image is generated from the parallax information; endoscope 11; FIG. 2);
wherein the imaging module comprises a first optical path component, a second optical path component, a first sensor, a second sensor (34-1, 34-2 Image sensor; FIGS. 2, 3), a first flexible board, a second flexible board (36-1, 36-2 Flexible wiring), and a fixation substrate (Flexible wiring reinforcement resin 35, provides the fixation substrate);
the first optical path component comprises a first objective lens group and a first prism group, the second optical path component comprises a second objective lens group and a second prism group (32-1, 32-2 lens; 33-1, 33-2 Prism mirror);
the first objective lens group (32-1 lens; FIG. 2) is configured to receive the image light along a first path which is reflected or excited by the designated region, the first prism group is configured to reflect or transmit the image light along the first path to the first sensor (sensor 34-1; FIG. 2);
the first sensor is electrically connected with the first flexible board (36-1, 36-2 Flexible wiring), and configured to convert the image light along the first path into a first electrical signal; the second objective lens group is configured to receive the image light along a second path which is reflected or excited by the designated region (36-1, 36-2 Flexible wiring);
the second prism group is configured to reflect or transmit the image light along the second path to the second sensor (sensor 34-2; FIG. 2);
the second sensor is electrically connected with the second flexible board, and configured to convert the image light along the second path into a second electrical signal (36-1, 36-2 Flexible wiring);
the first flexible board and the second flexible board are electrically connected with the transmission unit, so as to transmit the first electrical signal and the second electrical signal to the transmission unit (FIG. 2);
the first sensor and the second sensor are arranged on respective sides of the fixation substrate (flexible wiring reinforcing resin 35; FIG. 2); the first sensor and the first flexible board are arranged on one surface of the fixation substrate (FIG. 2); the second sensor and the second flexible board are arranged on the other surface of the fixation substrate (FIG. 2).
Regarding claim 2, Kuroki discloses wherein the first sensor, the first flexible board, the fixation substrate, the second flexible board and the second sensor are stacked (FIGS. 2, 3).
Regarding claim 4, Kuroki discloses wherein the first prism group comprises right-angle prism(s) or triangular prism(s); and/or the second prism group comprises right-angle prism(s) or triangular prism(s) (FIG. 2).
Regarding claim 5, Kuroki discloses wherein a light-exiting end surface of the first prism group is a rectangle (FIG. 2); wherein a long side of said rectangle is parallel to an axial direction of the long tube, and a short side of said rectangle is perpendicular to the axial direction of the long tube (FIG.2); and/or a light-exiting end surface of the second prism group is a rectangle (FIG. 2); wherein a long side of said rectangle is parallel to an axial direction of the long tube, and a short side of said rectangle is perpendicular to the axial direction of the long tube (FIG. 2).
Regarding claim 7, Kuroki discloses wherein a photosensitive area on a photosensitive surface of the first sensor is greater than or equal to a light-exiting end surface of the first prism group (As seen from FIG. 2, the projection of the light collecting surface of the lens 32-1, 32-2, are smaller than the area of the photosensitive area of the sensor.); and/or a photosensitive area on a photosensitive surface of the second sensor is greater than or equal to a light-exiting end surface of the second prism group (As seen from FIG. 2, the projection of the light collecting surface of the lens 32-1, 32-2, are smaller than the area of the photosensitive area of the sensor.; FIG. 2).
Regarding claim 8, Kuroki discloses wherein the light-exiting end surface of the first prism group is arranged on the photosensitive surface of the first sensor (FIG. 2), and at least part of the photosensitive area on the photosensitive surface of the first sensor is in a closed space (FIG. 2); and/or the light-exiting end surface of the second prism group is arranged on the photosensitive surface of the second sensor, and at least part of the photosensitive area on the photosensitive surface of the second sensor is in a closed space (FIG. 2).
Regarding claim 11, Kuroki discloses wherein the fixation substrate comprises a first fixation substrate and a second fixation substrate; wherein the first sensor and the first flexible board are arranged on the first fixation substrate; the second sensor and the second flexible board are arranged on the second fixation substrate (35 Flexible wiring reinforcement resin).
Regarding claim 14, Kuroki discloses further comprising a support; wherein the first optical path component and the second optical path component are arranged at the support (FIG. 2).
Regarding claim 15, Kuroki discloses a 3D electronic endoscope assembly (Three-dimensional image is generated from the parallax information; endoscope 11; FIG. 2, annotated below), comprising:
an insertion portion (FIG. 2, 3) and an operation portion (FIG. 14);
wherein the insertion portion comprises a long tube (FIG. 2), an imaging module (image sensor 34-1; FIG. 2), an illumination optical path (FIG. 2), and a transmission unit (36-1, 36-2 Flexible wiring, 36a wiring, providing transmission; FIG. 2);
the long tube is a tubular structure with a hollow interior (FIG. 2), the imaging module is arranged inside the long tube, the illumination optical path and the transmission unit are also arranged inside the long tube (FIG. 2);
the illumination optical path is configured to illuminate a designated region of an inspected object with a light (FIG. 2);
the imaging module is configured to receive an image light (imaging device 204) which is reflected or excited by the designated region and obtained by a distal end of the insertion portion, convert the image light into an electrical signal, and transmit the electrical signal to the operation portion through the transmission unit (FIGS. 2, 14);
wherein the operation portion comprises an operation handle housing (FIG. 14, is an application of FIGS. 2, 3), a controller (drive circuit 205), and a processing component for image signal (image processing unit 10113 is configured by a processor such as a CPU (Central Processing Unit));
the controller and the processing component for image signal are arranged inside the operation handle housing (FIGS. 2, 14);
the controller is configured to implement different functions according to signal(s) which is(are) inputted by an operator (Imaging functions; FIG. 14);
the processing component for image signal is configured to process the electrical signal which is transmitted by the transmission unit, so as to obtain an image signal (Three-dimensional image is generated from the parallax information; endoscope 11; FIG. 2);
wherein the imaging module comprises an objective lens group (FIG. 2), a prism group (FIG. 2), a sensor (34-1, 34-2 Image sensor; FIGS. 2, 3), a fixation substrate (Flexible wiring reinforcement resin 35, provides the fixation substrate), and a flexible board (36-1, 36-2 Flexible wiring); wherein the objective lens group is configured to receive the image light which is reflected or excited by the designated region (32-1, 32-2 lens; 33-1, 33-2 Prism mirror););
the prism group is configured to reflect or transmit to the sensor the image light which is received by the objective lens group (FIG. 2); wherein the sensor is electrically connected with the flexible board (FIG. 2), and configured to convert the image light into the electrical signal (FIG. 2); the flexible board is electrically connected with the transmission unit, and configured to transmit the electrical signal to the transmission unit (FIG. 2); the sensor and the flexible board are electrically connected with each other (FIG. 2), wherein the sensor and the flexible board are arranged on the fixation substrate (FIG. 2).
Regarding claim 16, Kuroki discloses an imaging system for 3D electronic endoscope (Three-dimensional image is generated from the parallax information; endoscope 11; FIG. 2, annotated below), comprising
a light source (Source device 11203; FIG. 14), a light guide beam (lens barrel 1110), an imaging host (CCU 11201; FIG. 14; The examiner notes here that light beam, light source, imaging host are not specific limitations for patentability as admitted by the applicant on remarks dated 4/22/2026), a cable ( wired communication using the transmission cable 11400; FIG. 15), and a 3D electronic endoscope (Three-dimensional image is generated from the parallax information; endoscope 11; FIG. 2, annotated below);
wherein the light source is connected with the 3D electronic endoscope through the light guide beam (lens barrel 1110; FIG. 14), and one end of the 3D electronic endoscope is connected with the imaging host through the cable (FIG. 14);
wherein the 3D electronic endoscope comprises an insertion portion (FIG. 2) and an operation portion (FIG. 14);
wherein the insertion portion comprises a long tube (FIG. 2), an imaging module (image sensor 34-1; FIG. 2), an illumination optical path (FIG. 2), and a transmission unit (36-1, 36-2 Flexible wiring, 36a wiring, providing transmission; FIG. 2);
the long tube is a tubular structure with a hollow interior (FIG. 2), the imaging module is arranged inside the long tube (FIG. 2), the illumination optical path and the transmission unit are also arranged inside the long tube (FIG. 2);
the illumination optical path is configured to illuminate a designated region of an inspected object with a light (FIG. 2);
the imaging module is configured to receive an image light (imaging device 204) which is reflected or excited by the designated region and obtained by a distal end of the insertion portion, convert the image light into an electrical signal, and transmit the electrical signal to the operation portion through the transmission unit (FIGS. 2, 14);
wherein the operation portion comprises an operation handle housing (FIG. 14, is an application of FIGS. 2, 3), a controller (drive circuit 205), and a processing component for image signal (image processing unit 10113 is configured by a processor such as a CPU (Central Processing Unit)); the controller and the processing component for image signal are arranged inside the operation handle housing (FIG. 14);
the controller is configured to implement different functions according to signal(s) which is(are) inputted by an operator (Imaging functions);
the processing component for image signal is configured to process the electrical signal which is transmitted by the transmission unit, so as to obtain an image signal (Three-dimensional image is generated from the parallax information; endoscope 11; FIG. 2);
wherein the imaging module comprises a first optical path component, a second optical path component, a first sensor, a second sensor (34-1, 34-2 Image sensor; FIGS. 2, 3), a first flexible board, a second flexible board (36-1, 36-2 Flexible wiring), and a fixation substrate (Flexible wiring reinforcement resin 35, provides the fixation substrate);
the first optical path component comprises a first objective lens group and a first prism group, the second optical path component comprises a second objective lens group and a second prism group (32-1, 32-2 lens; 33-1, 33-2 Prism mirror);
the first objective lens group (32-1 lens; FIG. 2) is configured to receive the image light along a first path which is reflected or excited by the designated region, the first prism group is configured to reflect or transmit the image light along the first path to the first sensor (sensor 34-1; FIG. 2);
the first sensor is electrically connected with the first flexible board (36-1, 36-2 Flexible wiring), and configured to convert the image light along the first path into a first electrical signal; the second objective lens group is configured to receive the image light along a second path which is reflected or excited by the designated region (36-1, 36-2 Flexible wiring);
the second prism group is configured to reflect or transmit the image light along the second path to the second sensor (sensor 34-2; FIG. 2);
the second sensor is electrically connected with the second flexible board, and configured to convert the image light along the second path into a second electrical signal (36-1, 36-2 Flexible wiring);
the first flexible board and the second flexible board are electrically connected with the transmission unit, so as to transmit the first electrical signal and the second electrical signal to the transmission unit (FIG. 2);
the first sensor and the second sensor are arranged on respective sides of the fixation substrate (flexible wiring reinforcing resin 35; FIG. 2); the first sensor and the first flexible board are arranged on one surface of the fixation substrate (FIG. 2); the second sensor and the second flexible board are arranged on the other surface of the fixation substrate (FIG. 2).
Regarding claim 18, Kuroki discloses wherein a light-exiting end surface of the first prism group is a rectangle (FIG. 2); wherein a long side of said rectangle is parallel to an axial direction of the long tube (FIG.2), and a short side of said rectangle is perpendicular to the axial direction of the long tube (FIG. 2); and/or a light-exiting end surface of the second prism group is a rectangle (FIG. 2); wherein a long side of said rectangle is parallel to an axial direction of the long tube, and a short side of said rectangle is perpendicular to the axial direction of the long tube (FIG. 2).
Regarding claim 19, Kuroki discloses wherein a photosensitive area on a photosensitive surface of the first sensor is greater than or equal to a light-exiting end surface of the first prism group (As seen from FIG. 2, the projection of the light collecting surface of the lens 32-1, 32-2, are smaller than the area of the photosensitive area of the sensor.); and/or a photosensitive area on a photosensitive surface of the second sensor is greater than or equal to a light-exiting end surface of the second prism group (As seen from FIG. 2, the projection of the light collecting surface of the lens 32-1, 32-2, are smaller than the area of the photosensitive area of the sensor.; FIG. 2).
Regarding claim 20, Kuroki discloses wherein the light-exiting end surface of the first prism group is arranged on the photosensitive surface of the first sensor (FIG. 2), and at least part of the photosensitive area on the photosensitive surface of the first sensor is in a closed space (FIG. 2); and/or the light-exiting end surface of the second prism group is arranged on the photosensitive surface of the second sensor, and at least part of the photosensitive area on the photosensitive surface of the second sensor is in a closed space (FIG. 2).
Claim Rejections - 35 USC § 103
Claim(s) 6, is/are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being unpatentable over Kuroki (WO 2017169822) in view of Kamo (US 20130155212).
Regarding claim 6, Kuroki does not expressly disclose diaphragm(s), which is(are) arranged on a light-exiting end surface of the first prism group and/or a light-exiting end surface of the second prism group.
Kamo is directed to optical unit (abstract) and teaches wherein further comprising diaphragm(s) (Diaphragm BI; FIG. 8), which is(are) arranged on a light-exiting end surface of the first prism group.
It would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date of the claimed invention to modify Kuroki to include diaphragms in accordance with the teaching of Kamo so that interference and glare due to excess light could be reduced.
Claim(s) 3, is/are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being unpatentable over Kuroki (WO 2017169822) in view of Minami (US 5365268).
Regarding claim 3, Kuroki does not expressly disclose wherein the first flexible board is provided with a through-hole structure, wherein the first sensor is arranged inside said through-hole structure.
Minami is directed to a circuit board of a solid-state image sensor (CCD) (abstract) and teaches wherein the first flexible board is provided with a through-hole structure, wherein the first sensor is arranged inside said through-hole structure (The terminals for connecting the package and the substrate are through-hole terminals 21; The package and the substrate are securely connected to each other by pouring a solder into the through-hole terminals. FIG. 3; Also see 112(b) rejection above.).
It would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date of the claimed invention to modify Kuroki to include through holes in the circuit board in accordance with the teaching of Minami so that the sensors and other elements of the packages may be assembled by using the through holes.
Claim(s) 9, is/are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being unpatentable over Kuroki (WO 2017169822) in view of Khettal (US 20180360297).
Regarding claim 9, Kuroki does not expressly disclose glass plate(s), which is(are) arranged between the first prism group and the first sensor, and/or between the second prism group and the second sensor.
Khettal is directed to a camera objective lens (abstract) and teaches glass plate(s), which is(are) arranged between the first prism group and the first sensor, and/or between the second prism group and the second sensor (A plane-parallel glass plate parallel to the sensor surface for protection thereof is provided. Para [0026]).
It would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date of the claimed invention to modify Kuroki to include a glass plate parallel to the sensor surface in accordance with the teaching of Khettal for the protection of the sensor surface.
Claim(s) 10, is/are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being unpatentable over Kuroki (WO 2017169822) in view of Takahashi (US 8462202).
Regarding claim 10, Kuroki does not expressly disclose wherein the transmission unit comprises a signal amplification circuit, which is configured to amplify the first electrical signal and/or the second electrical signal, and transmit the amplified signal(s) to the processing component for image signal.
Takahashi is directed to camera objective lens (abstract) and teaches wherein the transmission unit comprises a signal amplification circuit, which is configured to amplify the first electrical signal and/or the second electrical signal, and transmit the amplified signal(s) to the processing component for image signal (AMP 40 amplifies the imaging signal output from CCD 23 by a gain to output to a correlation double sampling programmable gain amplifier (hereinafter, abbreviated as CDS/PGA) 42.).
It would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date of the claimed invention to modify Kuroki to include an amplifier in the imaging circuit in accordance with the teaching of Takahashi for the purpose of amplifying image signals.
Claim(s) 12, is/are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being unpatentable over Kuroki (WO 2017169822) in view of Krivopisk (US 20170242240).
Regarding claim 12, Kuroki does not expressly disclose wherein the fixation substrate is a heat conduction plate for conducting heat which is generated by the sensor(s).
Krivopisk is directed to a circuit board design uses CMOS sensors (abstract) and teaches wherein the fixation substrate is a heat conduction plate for conducting heat which is generated by the sensor(s) (Metal frames 705, 706, 707 also serve as heat sinks to the sensors incorporated in the endoscope; Para [0085]).
It would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date of the claimed invention to modify Kuroki to include a heat plate along with the fixation substrate accordance with the teaching of Krivopisk so that heat generated by the sensor is absorbed and sinked outside the system.
Claim(s) 13, is/are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being unpatentable over Kuroki (WO 2017169822) in view of Ishikawa (US 20160029879).
Regarding claim 13, Kuroki does not expressly disclose wherein the fixation substrate is a ceramic plate or a metal plate.
Ishikawa is directed to an image pickup unit for an endoscope (abstract) and teaches wherein the fixation substrate is a ceramic plate or a metal plate (Substrate connection portions are metal pads; Para [0057]).
It would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date of the claimed invention to modify Kuroki to include metal as a fixation substrate/portion so that the substrate can function as heat sink for the system.
Claim(s) 17, is/are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being unpatentable over Kuroki (WO 2017169822) in view of Minami (US 5365268).
Regarding claim 17, Kuroki discloses wherein the first sensor, the first flexible board, the fixation substrate, the second flexible board and the second sensor are stacked (FIGS. 2, 3);
Kuroki does not expressly disclose wherein the first flexible board is provided with a through-hole structure, wherein the first sensor is arranged inside said through-hole structure; and/or the second flexible board is provided with a through-hole structure, wherein the second sensor is arranged inside said through-hole structure.
Minami is directed to a circuit board of a solid-state image sensor (CCD) (abstract) and teaches wherein the first flexible board is provided with a through-hole structure, wherein the first sensor is arranged inside said through-hole structure (The terminals for connecting the package and the substrate are through-hole terminals 21; The package and the substrate are securely connected to each other by pouring a solder into the through-hole terminals. FIG. 3; Also see 112(b) rejection above.).
It would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date of the claimed invention to modify Kuroki to include through holes in the circuit board in accordance with the teaching of Minami so that the sensors and other elements of the packages may be assembled by using the through holes.
Conclusion
The prior art made of record and not relied upon is considered pertinent to applicant's disclosure. See PTO – 892. See Kagawa (WO 2014171284) for flexible printed circuit board (FPC) 80, and pair of objective lens units used for stereoscopic imaging.
/SHANKAR RAJ GHIMIRE/Examiner, Art Unit 3795
/ANH TUAN T NGUYEN/Supervisory Patent Examiner, Art Unit 3795 05/16/26